biss Up to 40% Off CBC's Canada Reads 2016 Shortlist boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars63
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:$7.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 24, 2013
from the writers to the actors.
the story line is disquietening.
the acting is superb.
the script is amazing.
dustin Hoffman is wonderful.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2003
This is one of the best movies that I have ever seen. Dustin Hoffman's Best, in my opinion. An absolute classic, which should be part of any collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2014
Excellent movie. The only thing I did not like, is the french sub-title. I tought it came in both language without the sub-title
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2015
The beginning of this version has been cropped as if you have not seen the film before one has no idea about the plot!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2014
It is a great movie! Well written, terrific locations and fantastic acting. One I will watch time and time again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2015
bought this for my husband and he's a fan of both main actors. He didnt like it as much as i had hoped.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2014
Mc QUEEN is the best, I SA==saw this movie when I was a teen and watching it again was even better
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2004
Steve McQueen stars as "Papillion" a French safe-cracker whose butterfly tattoo earned him the title nickname. Framed up on a murder charge he is packed off to the infamous Devils Island prisoner colony. On the ship over he meets Dustin Hoffman, a notorious counterfitter with the means (money) to stay alive but not the muscle to back him up, that is where McQueen comes in. Papillion however has a single-minded outlook on life - freedom. He quickly devises escape plans by any means possible. The settings are exotic, the stories of friendship heart-rendering, the brutality of the prison shocking, the stories of escape, attempt, capture, escape, defiance and the soaring human spirit timeless. Simply a classic of cinema that will stand the test of time, could have been made yesterday and been a blockbuster smash.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2001
Very sad movie, but beautiful at the same time! Best performance by Steve McQueen.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2014
I red the book and I saw the film many years ago, it is what we call a must see
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse