Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A true story of a man's struggle for freedom
Papillon (drama, biography, crime)
Directed by Franklin J. Schaffner
Starring Steve McQueen and Dustin Hoffman

Warner Bros. | 1973 | 151 min | Rated PG | Released May 24, 2011

Video:
Video codec: MPEG-4 AVC
Video resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 2.40:1

Audio:
English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1...
Published on May 24 2011 by Steven Aldersley

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Character Study by McQUEEN but much Too Long
I felt this film had two great things going for it: Steve McQueen's performance and a beautiful and dramatic score composed by Jerry Goldsmith. McQueen's performance here as Papillon is much different from that of his "Cooler King" Hilts in THE GREAT ESCAPE. Here he is much more world-weary with no signs of flamboyancy but still determined and dogged. I felt McQueen's...
Published on Oct. 4 2000 by gobirds2


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Pure mcQueen, April 6 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Papillon (VHS Tape)
Hoffman and McQueen are together looking over that big cliff with the sea below.. Hoffman Says" You,ll die......you know..." McQueen: Does it matter"? Pure Escapism Pure McQueen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, March 17 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Papillon (VHS Tape)
Papillon is a moving story, although not for the faint of heart. Understanding one man's injustice in a corrupt world is the captivating stronghold of the film. Both McQueen and Hoffman do an excellent job in this biographical portrayal of Henri (Papillon). I would suggest the purchase of this movie, however catching it on the late-late show is a thrill in itself. (Who says noone reads the after-midnight section of Readers Digest?!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On my top ten all-time favorite movies, Nov. 24 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Papillon (VHS Tape)
The struggle of man and how he can be thrown into unfair circumstances. The hot tropical setting, and Mcqueen with Hoffman make this an extrordinary film. Buy it!, Rent it, don't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST MOVIE EVER, March 10 2009
By 
D. Amyotte "Movie Lover" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Papillon (Widescreen) (DVD)
Papillon is one of the best movies ever.
I had been looking for it for years , sure enough
AMAZON had it.
THANK YOU AMAZON LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling in every respect, March 7 2004
By 
John Lease (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Papillon (Widescreen) (DVD)
Steve McQueen stars as "Papillion" a French safe-cracker whose butterfly tattoo earned him the title nickname. Framed up on a murder charge he is packed off to the infamous Devils Island prisoner colony. On the ship over he meets Dustin Hoffman, a notorious counterfitter with the means (money) to stay alive but not the muscle to back him up, that is where McQueen comes in. Papillion however has a single-minded outlook on life - freedom. He quickly devises escape plans by any means possible. The settings are exotic, the stories of friendship heart-rendering, the brutality of the prison shocking, the stories of escape, attempt, capture, escape, defiance and the soaring human spirit timeless. Simply a classic of cinema that will stand the test of time, could have been made yesterday and been a blockbuster smash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Story Ever - Meilleure histoire à jamais!!!!, April 18 2004
By 
Joel Charriere (Manitoba, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Papillon (Widescreen) (DVD)
Quite easily one of the greatest stories ever!! I came about this movie since my dad had a big dusty book on the shelves downstairs called: Papillon. Once opened, I realized the author, Henri had the same last name as I did, and it turns out that I am of the same bloodline as he was. This sparked my interest, but of all due honesty, this is one of the GREATEST STORIES EVER!!!! Easily comparable to the Shawshank Redemption, which is also a great movie. I HIGHLY recommend the movie (and book as well) to anybody and everybody!!!
Nicole, tu voulais savoir si une version francaise serait disponible. Je ne crois pas qu'une version francaise a été produite, mais la version anglaise contient des sous-titres franco. Je recommende TRES fortement que tu visionne le filme, car ca vaut la peine de lire chaque phrase!!!! EXCELLENT FILME!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Papillon, Jan. 18 2010
By 
Joshua Winfield "ALEXANDRE SUPERTRAMPP" (Edmonton, Ab, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Papillon (Widescreen) (DVD)
Well when I first started buying stuff online I was skeptical at the least, however, buying from amazon is the only way to do it I think. Once again I have purchased something, and had no problems. By the way your the best seller i've encountered, the DVD got here before any other orders I placed, so I give you 5 stars because it was worth it. Thank's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How good is this really?, Oct. 29 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Papillon (Widescreen) (DVD)
Papillon is a very good movie, although depressing. For the occasional individual of Portuguese decent, this film may remind them of the "old country", and I can understand where they might find a morsel of encouragement in this 3 hour metaphor for: "Life really stinks, then you die". But, if you're looking for a good escape flick, then I would recommend Billy Wilder's Stalag 17 instead. Papillon features many escape attempts; all are short-lived, and the escapee's subsequent sentence/punishment is further increased. People can be very cruel. Papillon's butt-buddy (Dustin Hoffman) breaks his glasses, loses his mind, and ends up feeding chickens for the remainder of his natural life somewhere in the South Pacific. Papillon (Steve McQueen) is beaten, starved, beaten again, but somehow never loses his desire to be free. Fantastic. I closing, I'd like you to consider that a raft made of coconuts, lashed together with pubic hair is an unlikely recipe for a successful ocean voyage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf4afaec)

This product

Papillon
Papillon by Franklin J. Schaffner (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 9.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews