Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A true story of a man's struggle for freedom
Papillon (drama, biography, crime)
Directed by Franklin J. Schaffner
Starring Steve McQueen and Dustin Hoffman

Warner Bros. | 1973 | 151 min | Rated PG | Released May 24, 2011

Video:
Video codec: MPEG-4 AVC
Video resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 2.40:1

Audio:
English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1...
Published on May 24 2011 by Steven Aldersley

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Character Study by McQUEEN but much Too Long
I felt this film had two great things going for it: Steve McQueen's performance and a beautiful and dramatic score composed by Jerry Goldsmith. McQueen's performance here as Papillon is much different from that of his "Cooler King" Hilts in THE GREAT ESCAPE. Here he is much more world-weary with no signs of flamboyancy but still determined and dogged. I felt McQueen's...
Published on Oct. 3 2000 by gobirds2


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars On my top ten all-time favorite movies, Nov. 23 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Papillon (VHS Tape)
The struggle of man and how he can be thrown into unfair circumstances. The hot tropical setting, and Mcqueen with Hoffman make this an extrordinary film. Buy it!, Rent it, don't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Incredible!!, May 23 2003
By 
Jason.Kelleher (Cranleigh School, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Papillon (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is one of the best movies that I have ever seen. Dustin Hoffman's Best, in my opinion. An absolute classic, which should be part of any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific movie, Oct. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Papillon (Sous-titres franais) (DVD)
It is a great movie! Well written, terrific locations and fantastic acting. One I will watch time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, Nov. 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Papillon (Sous-titres franais) (DVD)
I saw this in theaters when I was in my childhood. I just couldn't get into it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling in every respect, March 7 2004
By 
John Lease (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Papillon (Widescreen) (DVD)
Steve McQueen stars as "Papillion" a French safe-cracker whose butterfly tattoo earned him the title nickname. Framed up on a murder charge he is packed off to the infamous Devils Island prisoner colony. On the ship over he meets Dustin Hoffman, a notorious counterfitter with the means (money) to stay alive but not the muscle to back him up, that is where McQueen comes in. Papillion however has a single-minded outlook on life - freedom. He quickly devises escape plans by any means possible. The settings are exotic, the stories of friendship heart-rendering, the brutality of the prison shocking, the stories of escape, attempt, capture, escape, defiance and the soaring human spirit timeless. Simply a classic of cinema that will stand the test of time, could have been made yesterday and been a blockbuster smash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful film - I'm still here you bastards!, July 13 2001
By 
Lindsay Lafady (Lake Oswego, Oregon United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Papillon (Widescreen) (DVD)
Very sad movie, but beautiful at the same time! Best performance by Steve McQueen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I red the book and I saw the film many ..., Oct. 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I red the book and I saw the film many years ago, it is what we call a must see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a great film. The Blueray copy looks and sounds just ..., Nov. 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wow, what a great film.
The Blueray copy looks and sounds just fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Words cannot explain how good this film is. Just watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Oct. 5 2014
This review is from: Papillon (Sous-titres franais) (DVD)
very good a classic just loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Papillon (Sous-titres franais)
Papillon (Sous-titres franais) by Franklin J. Schaffner (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 9.93 CDN$ 8.65
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews