Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A true story of a man's struggle for freedom
Papillon (drama, biography, crime)
Directed by Franklin J. Schaffner
Starring Steve McQueen and Dustin Hoffman

Warner Bros. | 1973 | 151 min | Rated PG | Released May 24, 2011

Video:
Video codec: MPEG-4 AVC
Video resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 2.40:1

Audio:
English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1...
Published on May 24 2011 by Steven Aldersley

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Character Study by McQUEEN but much Too Long
I felt this film had two great things going for it: Steve McQueen's performance and a beautiful and dramatic score composed by Jerry Goldsmith. McQueen's performance here as Papillon is much different from that of his "Cooler King" Hilts in THE GREAT ESCAPE. Here he is much more world-weary with no signs of flamboyancy but still determined and dogged. I felt McQueen's...
Published on Oct. 3 2000 by gobirds2


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Incredible!!, May 23 2003
By 
Jason.Kelleher (Cranleigh School, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Papillon (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is one of the best movies that I have ever seen. Dustin Hoffman's Best, in my opinion. An absolute classic, which should be part of any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling in every respect, March 7 2004
By 
John Lease (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Papillon (Widescreen) (DVD)
Steve McQueen stars as "Papillion" a French safe-cracker whose butterfly tattoo earned him the title nickname. Framed up on a murder charge he is packed off to the infamous Devils Island prisoner colony. On the ship over he meets Dustin Hoffman, a notorious counterfitter with the means (money) to stay alive but not the muscle to back him up, that is where McQueen comes in. Papillion however has a single-minded outlook on life - freedom. He quickly devises escape plans by any means possible. The settings are exotic, the stories of friendship heart-rendering, the brutality of the prison shocking, the stories of escape, attempt, capture, escape, defiance and the soaring human spirit timeless. Simply a classic of cinema that will stand the test of time, could have been made yesterday and been a blockbuster smash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful film - I'm still here you bastards!, July 13 2001
By 
Lindsay Lafady (Lake Oswego, Oregon United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Papillon (Widescreen) (DVD)
Very sad movie, but beautiful at the same time! Best performance by Steve McQueen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Words cannot explain how good this film is. Just watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Prison Escape Film, Feb. 16 2004
By 
K. Mollahan "ZooKeeper Kevin" (Topeka, KS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Papillon (Widescreen) (DVD)
Franklin J. Schaffner felt that the obligation of motion pictures is to entertain, it's as basic as that, and that is exactly what Papillon does. It is also a movie that really triggers your emotions from start to finish. I feel this is one of Steve McQueen's best acting roles. It was probably the most physically demanding and emotionally challenging role of his career. Dustin Hoffman is simply magnificent as Louis Dega, a role that demonstrates how versatile the actor really can be. It eventually earned him a best supporting actor nomination. Unfortunately, McQueen was overlooked by the Academy that year. Another example of their stupidity!!
The film is emotionally draining, but I find myself watching this film time and time again because of its portrayal of one man's quest to gain his freedom no matter what it takes. Freedom always comes at a price. It is not something that is handed to us or exists freely. It must be earned and that is exactly what his character does by the time the credits role on this film. The viewer will not believe what the character of Papillon had to endure to gain his freedom. The trials he goes through are unforgettable and often left me wondering if I would persevere if I had to undergo the trials he faced.
For me, Steve McQueen is one of those actors who really has a great on screen presence. I will almost always watch a movie just because he appears in it, good or bad. Papillon is no exception. Although Papillon is a character driven film, the movie must be viewed for more than just the characters. It also has wonderful cinematography, direction and a memorable, and at times haunting, musical score by Jerry Goldsmith. It is right up there with the best of the prison escape films.
Henri Charrière, the real life Papillon and author of the novel, talked about society and his real life experiences in this way:
"Society does not want free men. They talk freedom, democracy, anything you want, but they do not want free men. Society wants conditioned men, men who march in step." It's up to the viewer to agree or disagree with that statement while viewing the film.
I highly recommend you watch this film today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How good is this really?, Oct. 29 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Papillon (Widescreen) (DVD)
Papillon is a very good movie, although depressing. For the occasional individual of Portuguese decent, this film may remind them of the "old country", and I can understand where they might find a morsel of encouragement in this 3 hour metaphor for: "Life really stinks, then you die". But, if you're looking for a good escape flick, then I would recommend Billy Wilder's Stalag 17 instead. Papillon features many escape attempts; all are short-lived, and the escapee's subsequent sentence/punishment is further increased. People can be very cruel. Papillon's butt-buddy (Dustin Hoffman) breaks his glasses, loses his mind, and ends up feeding chickens for the remainder of his natural life somewhere in the South Pacific. Papillon (Steve McQueen) is beaten, starved, beaten again, but somehow never loses his desire to be free. Fantastic. I closing, I'd like you to consider that a raft made of coconuts, lashed together with pubic hair is an unlikely recipe for a successful ocean voyage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Story Ever - Meilleure histoire à jamais!!!!, April 18 2004
By 
Joel Charriere (Manitoba, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Papillon (Widescreen) (DVD)
Quite easily one of the greatest stories ever!! I came about this movie since my dad had a big dusty book on the shelves downstairs called: Papillon. Once opened, I realized the author, Henri had the same last name as I did, and it turns out that I am of the same bloodline as he was. This sparked my interest, but of all due honesty, this is one of the GREATEST STORIES EVER!!!! Easily comparable to the Shawshank Redemption, which is also a great movie. I HIGHLY recommend the movie (and book as well) to anybody and everybody!!!
Nicole, tu voulais savoir si une version francaise serait disponible. Je ne crois pas qu'une version francaise a été produite, mais la version anglaise contient des sous-titres franco. Je recommende TRES fortement que tu visionne le filme, car ca vaut la peine de lire chaque phrase!!!! EXCELLENT FILME!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tristesse, March 4 2004
By 
Nicole St-Yves (Louiseville, Québec) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Papillon (VHS Tape)
Je suis Québécoise et j'ai lu et relu le livre de Papillon en français. Ce livre me fascine par la vie de cet homme (Henri Charrières) et tout ce qu'il a vécu pour enfin retrouver la liberté. Malheureusement, je ne trouve ce film nulle part en français et pourtant il est passé au Québec, donc il doit exister en français quelque part. j'en rêve et je désire de tout mon coeur retrouver ce vidéo afin de pouvoir voir ce que j'ai lu.
Y a-t-il une possibillité quelconque de le trouver en français, c'est mon plus grand désir.
Merci infiniment
Nicole
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST MOVIE EVER, March 10 2009
By 
D. Amyotte "Movie Lover" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Papillon (Widescreen) (DVD)
Papillon is one of the best movies ever.
I had been looking for it for years , sure enough
AMAZON had it.
THANK YOU AMAZON LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Papillon, Jan. 18 2010
By 
Joshua Winfield "ALEXANDRE SUPERTRAMPP" (Edmonton, Ab, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Papillon (Widescreen) (DVD)
Well when I first started buying stuff online I was skeptical at the least, however, buying from amazon is the only way to do it I think. Once again I have purchased something, and had no problems. By the way your the best seller i've encountered, the DVD got here before any other orders I placed, so I give you 5 stars because it was worth it. Thank's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Papillon
Papillon by Franklin J. Schaffner (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 9.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews