Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Crawford
Here is the story of your average post-World War II housewife who believes that nothing is too good--or too much--for her two precious daughters. By the time this great soap opera is over, she has buried one child, experienced the murder of a cheating, mooching sleazeball of a husband, sent the other daughter off to prison, and gone into bankruptcy. But at least Eve...
Published on May 21 2004 by sherebiah

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Warner Brothers DVD Poor Production Quality
My review is not for the movie but for Warner Brothers and the series of DVDs they have been issuing. I have Big Sleep, Kiss Me Kate, Mildred Pierce, Annie Get Your Gun. The picture quality on all is good, BUT they ALL have the picture cut off at both sides, even on the letterbox version of Kiss Me Kate. Is someone at Warner Bros. asleep at the wheel? It isn't hard to...
Published on June 10 2003 by BobA.


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Crawford, May 21 2004
By 
sherebiah (Santa Ana, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mildred Pierce [Import] (VHS Tape)
Here is the story of your average post-World War II housewife who believes that nothing is too good--or too much--for her two precious daughters. By the time this great soap opera is over, she has buried one child, experienced the murder of a cheating, mooching sleazeball of a husband, sent the other daughter off to prison, and gone into bankruptcy. But at least Eve Arden's character is good for a few laughs. At the end, though, she seems to reconcile with her first husband, whom she kicked out of the house in the first reel for losing his job. It's nice to know one can sometimes start out all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for Old-Movie Fans, May 5 2004
By 
C. Norris (Mesquite, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mildred Pierce [Import] (VHS Tape)
Everyone who has a weakness for old movies should have this one in his/her collection.
Steely Joan Crawford evokes sympathy as an abandoned, financially-strapped wife and mother, though you know all along that Mildred will make it somehow.
Make it she does, stumbling into the restaurant business and making a success of it in spite of the fact that men find her so darned irresistible that she has to stop and peel one off every few steps.
Adding to Mildred's troubles is the fact that oldest daughter Vida(played by dewy-eyed young beauty Ann Blyth) has become an insufferable snob somewhere along the line, in spite of her middle-class upbringing. Mildred worships Vida, in spie of the fact that Vida is moody, verbally abusive, and impossible to please.Vida wants to be "rich", but when Mildred makes lots of money, it still doesn't suit Vida because her mother worked (ew, yuck) for it. You wish that Mildred would shake her, or at least ground her.
Eve Arden, one of my all-time favorites, is her usual wonderful self as Mildred's shrewd secretary and loyal friend.
Butterfly McQueen gets wasted once again in the role of the family's maid.
Even if you're not a Joan Crawford fan, buy this one; it makes terrific rainy-night viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True classic!, Jan. 27 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mildred Pierce (Full Screen) (DVD)
I've seen many movies of Joan Crawford, but I think that this movie gives a true glimpse of her character (not at all portrayed in "Mommie Dearest"). This movie shows Joan as a caring loving woman to her husband and children, a mother who will go to any length to have a better life for her and her family, who seems to show true emotion and tears when her little daughter dies, to win her daughter Veda's love -- even to go as far enough to protect her when Veda does murder! Realistically, if I acted that way, my mother would have made true those words, "Get out before I kill you." LOL It's a classic that's not to be missed. Strike up the fireplace, put your feet up on the couch, get your hanky ready and enjoy this classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Eve with Joan & Mildred, Dec 28 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mildred Pierce (Full Screen) (DVD)
Watching Mildred Pierce became (somehow) a Christmas Eve tradition for me a few years ago. A classic battle-of-wills story, you can't help cheering for Mildred when she tells her scheming, selfish daughter "Get out before I kill you!" (the little tramp comes back though). Great fun and melodrama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The original Mildred Pierce wins, Jan. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mildred Pierce [Import] (VHS Tape)
I ordered this move after I watched the mini series based on the Mildred Pierce story. I found the mini-series to be attenuated, bland and the acting was surprisingly stilted. This movie version starring Joan Crawford is as I remembered it, stylized black and white, slightly delightfully melodramatic and very much a classic of its era. It wins hands down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood at its best, Sept. 15 2013
By 
Cattieluver (Ottawa, Ontario) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mildred Pierce (DVD)
This is another fine example of Hollywood at its best. The movie is well-acted and a great story. I've watched it time and time again. A definite must for those who enjoy movies from this era, but I probably don't have to say that because they already know. If you are just venturing into this era, then this would be a fine one to add to your collection. Great support acting by two of the best: Jack Carson and Eve Arden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good for an "oldie", March 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mildred Pierce (DVD)
The movie was good from start to finish. I can see why Joan Crawford won, an Oscar, for best actress on this one. She carried the movie. The young lady who played her daughter was quite good as well. Next up...the re-make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a marvellous movie -- rivetting!!!!!!!, June 22 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mildred Pierce (DVD)
I am not a Joan Crawford fan -- having said that, she is superb in "Mildred Pierce". As are Ann Blythe as "Veda" and Bruce Bennett, as "Bert". And we mustn't forget the incomparable Jack Carson as "Wally" or Eve Arden's portrayal of "Ida" -- wonderful!!!!!

I purchased this movie because I had seen it several times recently on television and decided I wanted it in my collection. I also bought James M. Cain's novel. Read the book, watch the movie. The movie IS different, because Hollywood would never have allowed the exact transfer to occur. Be prepared for surprises if you read the book.

Both are musts in any collection!!!! Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic!, June 7 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mildred Pierce (Full Screen) (DVD)
A fantastic movie! Beautifully directed, wonderfully acted, and a great story!
If you enjoyed the movie, read the original by James Cain. There are a few things about Mildred that the movie didn't tell - it may surprise you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mildred pierce a true gem who never directed Douglas Sirk, March 23 2004
By 
Hiram Gomez Pardo (Valencia, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mildred Pierce (Full Screen) (DVD)
Mildred pierce in his spirit the film together with The Pastoral Symphony of Jean Delanoy who better explores the female world in this decade so filled with trouble and fear.
The close experience of the Second World war in a certain way was a crossroad for a huge crowd of directors. 1945 is the birth of the italian neorealism, the full comittment of the film noir, the first aproximations of the social film (Remember Kazan , Wilder , Dmytrik , Losey, Wyler,) and I think it was the starting point of the sparkle for the new wave cinema ten years after.
If you watch this movie, you`ll forget you`re in the a a film from the forties. Because the story is told so perfectly and the matter in question is so related with everyone of us that all the explored universe of feelings , the proud, the anger and the constance of the main character in a ravishing performance of Mrs. Crawford and the astonishing Anne Blyth, makes that film not only a cult movie but a obligated reference for those who love the art of cinema.
If I coukd, I`d give it ten stars instaed of just five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mildred Pierce
Mildred Pierce by Michael Curtiz (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 24.95 CDN$ 20.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews