Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent war drama, with timely elements
Richard Burton stars in this excellent war drama, directed by Robert Wise. James Mason reprises his role as Rommel, from "The Desert Fox."
I have to admit, I watched this in the hopes that I might gain some additional insight into the desert fighting in Iraq.
And I did. Even though this is a 50-year old movie, the desert scenes...the horrible reality...
Published on March 27 2003 by M J Heilbron Jr.

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor production values
Richard Burton turns in a very strong performance, as usual, but the low-budget production values in this picture take it down a couple of notches. There is nothing even approaching original German equipment. In fact, the uniforms and equipment would have been unacceptable poor in a TV episode of the "Rat Patrol" made 15 years later. The whole point of Afrika...
Published on May 21 2004 by David C. Read


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent war drama, with timely elements, March 27 2003
By 
M J Heilbron Jr. "Dr. Mo" (Long Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Desert Rats (Full Screen) (DVD)
Richard Burton stars in this excellent war drama, directed by Robert Wise. James Mason reprises his role as Rommel, from "The Desert Fox."
I have to admit, I watched this in the hopes that I might gain some additional insight into the desert fighting in Iraq.
And I did. Even though this is a 50-year old movie, the desert scenes...the horrible reality of a "war in a desert"...gives this film another subtext for the viewer, and makes it all the more gripping.
Yes, there are the standard war-movie subplots, but for the most part, there's a lot of uncommonly good elements to this movie. The Aussie aspect, the procedural details to the raids and attacks. It's constantly involving...
Consider this a safe bet for war film fans, and an equally safe bet for those who simply enjoy a good story well told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor production values, May 21 2004
By 
David C. Read (Keene, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Desert Rats (Full Screen) (DVD)
Richard Burton turns in a very strong performance, as usual, but the low-budget production values in this picture take it down a couple of notches. There is nothing even approaching original German equipment. In fact, the uniforms and equipment would have been unacceptable poor in a TV episode of the "Rat Patrol" made 15 years later. The whole point of Afrika Korps desert warfare is that the uniforms and equipment have to be cool looking.
Frankly, this is not a film you'd ever need to see twice, much less own on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a good WWII Movie, Nov. 27 2003
This review is from: Desert Rats (Full Screen) (DVD)
This is a very good WWII movie set in North Africa. Richard Burton is very good in his role. It seems that he put a lot more depth into his characters in his earlier pictures as you can see here. As for Mason, he is one of a handful of actors that are always good no matter what role they play. Robert Wise also demonstrates why he is such a gifted director turning in a film with both a good story and character development. This is a notch above many other war movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sand! So Much Sand!, Aug. 30 2013
This review is from: Desert Rats, The (Bilingual) (DVD)
Grim-faced Shakespearean actors criss-crossing the Sahara trying to outwit each other and save their ways of life. Bullets fly. Eyes squint. Grit in everything. It's great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Desert Heroes, Dec 19 2002
This review is from: Desert Rats (Full Screen) (DVD)
If you enjoy WWII movies you certainly want to catch this one with Richard Burton and James Mason. The cast, sets, and music are great. It is true classic WWII movie. Even if you aren't a war movie fan if you enjoy documentaries about the war you will enjoy this well told story of the battle for Tobruk. I was never a big fan of Burton's but I think he did a good job in this movie and "Where Eagles Dare".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars burton's best, Aug. 25 2000
By 
Leonard Anseaume Jr. (North Little Rock, Arkansas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Desert Rats (VHS Tape)
Plenty of action. One of Burton's finest performances in a war drama. A must see for anyone who likes war pictures. Very convincing. James Mason also portrays a fine role as "The Desertfox" once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Desert Rats, Aug. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Desert Rats, The (Bilingual) (DVD)
Good show would recommend it to any whom like history and war movies. I am happy to have it in my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, April 2 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Desert Rats (Full Screen) (DVD)
This is a WWII classic featuring tank warfare and strategy with excellent performances by Richard Burton and James Mason. A must see for any war movie buff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Widescreen or Full Format?, May 21 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Desert Rats (Full Screen) (DVD)
It's a fine film and certainly a good one for those of us who like exciting war films. I don't think you'll be disappointed. Mason's Rommel is every bit as good as his Rommel in the earlier superb Desert Fox. But, you should know the information on the back of the case has conflicting information about the film's DVD format. In the orange box listing features it clearly notes it's Full Frame at 1.33:1. But in the small white print at the bottom it says Widescreen Version. The 1.33:1 (full screen) is the same as The Desert Fox and many other BW films of the same general time. Considering the action and character exchanges fit nicely into the full screen format, my guess is that the film was filmed in this format and the widescreen note is a typo on the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 5 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Desert Rats, The (Bilingual) (DVD)
Fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Desert Rats, The (Bilingual)
Desert Rats, The (Bilingual) by Robert Wise (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews