Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wes Craven classic!
I love this movie! Of course because Its a Wes Craven film, and also because its about werewolfs. But everything else about it is great too. A star filled cast featuring Joshua Jackson, Christina Ricci, and Jesse Eisenberg! Despite being a critical and commercial failure, it gained a cult following among Wes Craven fans and later found more success on the unrated DVD...
Published on Dec 10 2012 by JillyAE

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars At times this movie is so bad that it is actually good...
Some of my friends saw "Cursed", and hated it so much that I ended up wanting to watch it. Truth to be told, I didn't hate it, and I even had fun sometimes. This may seem strange but... at times this movie is so bad that it is actually good.

The plot isn't terribly realistic, as the story is about Ellie (Christina Ricci) and her young brother (Jesse Eisenberg),...
Published on Jan. 8 2007 by M. B. Alcat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars At times this movie is so bad that it is actually good..., Jan. 8 2007
By 
M. B. Alcat "Curiosity killed the cat, but sa... (Hanoi, Vietnam) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Some of my friends saw "Cursed", and hated it so much that I ended up wanting to watch it. Truth to be told, I didn't hate it, and I even had fun sometimes. This may seem strange but... at times this movie is so bad that it is actually good.

The plot isn't terribly realistic, as the story is about Ellie (Christina Ricci) and her young brother (Jesse Eisenberg), both bitten by a werewolf. One is in denial, the other isn't, and the most extraordinary things happen to them as they get to terms with the curse of the werewolf. Add to that Ellie's mysterious boyfriend (Joshua Jackson), a werewolf on the loose, a few murders, somewhat exaggerated special effects, and you have the recipe for "Cursed".

The major flaw in this movie is probably the ending, but I think that you can live with that if you just want to see an uncomplicated movie that keeps you entertained. Don't take "Cursed" seriously, and enjoy it. If you think you can do that, and you like horror/paranormal movies with some comic elements, then this is likely to be a good movie for you.

Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The cinematic equivalent of a lukewarm cup of coffee, July 26 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Christina Ricci, Shannon Elizabeth, Wes Craven running the show, a script by Kevin Williamson, perhaps the best werewolf special effects ever seen - sounds like a sure winner, doesn't it? Somehow, though, Cursed plays as flat as a fritter. It's almost painfully predictable, shows no spark of life whatsoever, and comes off as nothing more than exceedingly competent. I really don't know much about the troubled production of the film, but it seems to me that it could have used at least one more rewrite. I have a hard time getting past the ending when I think of this film - not the climax, but the very final scene which goes so far out of its way to cover all of the old Hollywood cliches that it (unlike the actual werewolf scenes) almost made me cringe. And where did they dig up Scott Baio? More importantly, why did they dig up Scott Baio?

Things started off on a bad foot for me. I've never seen Shannon Elizabeth actually look plain before, and I just could not buy Portia de Rossi as a fortune-telling gypsy. Was the old crag gypsy union on strike or something? Then you've got the prototypical high school outcast with a crush on a little cutie just happens to be dating your typical high school athlete/bully. Hmmm, do you think a little supernatural strength would come in handy for this guy? Ricci plays his big sister Ellie; she works on the Late Show with Craig Kilborn and dates this sort of mystery guy (well, actually, there's no mystery about him at all for anyone with a functioning brain). The gloom and doom siblings get bitten by a werewolf (although Ellie doesn't believe it until she can't deny it any longer), after which point we get yet another confused litany of werewolf "truths," wait to get a look at the obligatory "change," and then wonder why some werewolves transform into the beast while others keep scurrying around in their completely human forms. If I'm a werewolf, and another werewolf attacks me, I'm going to turn into a werewolf myself, by gum.

The only thing this movie does well is the special effects - with one exception, which is not really wolf-related. Early on, you only get quick snatches of the beast, and that strategy of delayed impact always works well. Through the magic of CGI, the werewolf transformation is really quite impressive (gone forever are the days of time lapse photography), but by far the best effects are those of the dog werewolf - Cujo would have turned tail and run from this fellow.

It's hard to say why this movie doesn't seem to work. In the end, it comes down to the fact that there just isn't any oomph here. I was about as emotionally invested in Cursed as I would be in any old After-School Special - what makes that especially unusual is the fact that I love Christina Ricci. With that pale white skin and dark hair, she almost always has an aura that dials right in to my frequency, but that aura just wasn't there in this film. And forget about that Kevin Williamson snappy dialogue, as the script doesn't do the movie any real favors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars You can't blame it all on production woes..., March 9 2006
By 
John E. Lawson "bizarro author" (Hyattsville, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: NEW Cursed (DVD) (DVD)
Well, I'll start by saying I'm a fan of Craven's older work (Serpent and the Rainbow is a true classic of film), Rick Baker, and many of the cast members. Sadly, Cursed is a real squandering of talent. It can be entertaining, but the plot is so weak and transparent that it becomes distracting, and is there really a need to continue pillaging plot points out of Cheney's werewolf films from 70 years ago? During the commentary Ricci states that you can't do a "serious" werewolf film anymore, which I can understand, but you can still attenpt to make a *quality* film that also has werewolves in it. Or, just have the wherewithal to make an all-out comedy. The filmmakers are too uncommitted here to creep you out when they're trying to, or to get the laughs they aim for. With the recent reinvention of so many genres, and the popularity of weird takes on supernatural themes (such as the Bizarro movement) there's no excuse to persist with the 1950's monster movie archtypes. There are some good moments when Ricci is at the office and smells blood, the scene with Shannon Elizabeth trapped in her car, and the hilarious werewolf flipping the bird. The shoddy teen drama with the younger brother adds nothing (aside from showcasing the brother's underdeveloped acting ability). Overall: formulaic, predictable, and forgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More fun than scary, Oct. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I liked the story line and Jesse Eisenberg was great as we Joshua Jackson; however, I felt Christina Ricci's performance was very poor and forced. I was surprised the Director was not able to get a better performance out of her. Judy Greer was a funny character. I felt the ending came too quickly after the climax of the movie. Loved Joshua Jackson in this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wes Craven classic!, Dec 10 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this movie! Of course because Its a Wes Craven film, and also because its about werewolfs. But everything else about it is great too. A star filled cast featuring Joshua Jackson, Christina Ricci, and Jesse Eisenberg! Despite being a critical and commercial failure, it gained a cult following among Wes Craven fans and later found more success on the unrated DVD. This 2005 comedy horror film, (written by screenwriter Kevin Williamson, who along with Craven, both collaborated on Scream), focuses on two young adults who are attacked by a werewolf loose in Los Angeles. The film received largely negative reviews, earning a 17% "Rotten" rating on Rotten Tomatoes, which concluded that "[a] predictable plot and cheesy special effects make Cursed a less-than-scary experience." But I disagree! Ricci is stunning, and Jackson is sexy as ever! The twist ending is great, and it has a creepy, dark, sexy vibe all the way thru. I say its a must own on dvd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new Horror movie, June 23 2005
This review is from: NEW Cursed (DVD) (DVD)
when i bought this i was sceptical at frist becasue of alot of bad press i had heard concerning this movie, but after seening this uncencored version i loved it, great effects, cool werewolves and an interesting story. Keep of the great work WES Craven. Come to think of it this movie is half like Scream with more blood and cool werewolves. Get this one now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cursed with Christina Ricce (Adams Family), Oct. 2 2014
Great show. Fast moving with twists and turns to keep you in suspense. I'll be watching this again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, Oct. 24 2014
Really good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won't find it on bluray., June 19 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ok, so they just don't want to edit the unrated version on bluray, so you should get this DVD before it's too late. The movie didn't was a success, so it's unlikely they put any effort on giving us the full uncut version on bluray.

Nice fun movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good movie not so good Bluray, May 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cursed [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Love this movie for it's cool take on werewolves, my favorite monsters, but this disc loses points for being a bare bones release. Not even a menu. Have to keep my old DVD as the bluray has none of the special features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NEW Cursed (DVD)
CDN$ 46.33
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews