Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars the return
of course it is not a philosophical movie but sometimes it is good to just relax and enjoy a movie.
Published 13 days ago by fernand

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly mastered video
No need to comment on the plot which is hilarious, just the DVD picture quality.
While it's in letterbox, the image is fuzzy (as in VHS quality). I suspect that instead of using 35mm film, Artisan Entertainment simply pulled this from a laserdisc and burned it down to DVD. If you see it in a bargain bin it's ok for the kids, otherwise wait for a newer version to be...
Published on April 10 2004 by The Bruce


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly mastered video, April 10 2004
No need to comment on the plot which is hilarious, just the DVD picture quality.
While it's in letterbox, the image is fuzzy (as in VHS quality). I suspect that instead of using 35mm film, Artisan Entertainment simply pulled this from a laserdisc and burned it down to DVD. If you see it in a bargain bin it's ok for the kids, otherwise wait for a newer version to be released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Artisan does it again, Jan. 24 2004
By 
Yarby "yarby" (Medina, OH United States) - See all my reviews
Artisan has released yet another low quality DVD of a classic movie. Regardless of your feelings about Seller and the "Panther" series, this one is to be avoided, based solely on a non-anomorphic picture with the quality of an EP-recorded VHS tape and sound with a continual hiss throughout.
Hopefully the original studio will see fit to give this movie a decent transfer in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DVD Picture Quality - TERRIBLE!, Jan. 15 2003
By 
Rafael Pertierra (Pembroke Pines, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
No question, if you are a Peter Sellers fan this movie is a must-have. But why such a lousy transfer to DVD. My laserdiscs of "Shot in the Dark" and "The Pink Panther Stirkes Again" were much better. Now I'm completely gun-shy about buying these DVD's until someone improves their quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the return, April 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Return of the Pink Panther (DVD)
of course it is not a philosophical movie but sometimes it is good to just relax and enjoy a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The return of the pink Panther, Jan. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Return of the Pink Panther (DVD)
This DVD was missing from our collection. We thoroughly enjoyed watching it and intend to watch the entire Peter Sellers series quite often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing video quality, July 19 2001
By A Customer
A very good movie but the DVD quality is really disappointing compared to the rest of the Pink Panther series. It is just like watching a video copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DA DUM DA DUM, DA DUM, DA DUM DA DUM DA DUM..., June 20 2004
By 
Michael Butts (Berkeley Springs, WV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Has there ever been a more catchy theme than Mancini's "Pink Panther?" I can't think of any off hand, and in this third entry in the Clouseau series, the music and the animated panther are back in fine form.
Mainly a vehicle for the superb Peter Sellers, this sequel is tired in plot, and struggles for some of its laughs, but one cannot deny the superlative hijinks of Sellers as the impossibly inept Inspector Clouseau. He has so many brilliant moments, it's hard to think of them all, but Sellers is in top form. Christopher Plummer and Catherine Schell do okay, but Herbert Lom and Burt Kwouk as Dreyfuss and Kato are outstanding in their supporting roles. Lom's slow decline into mental illness is hilarious in its cartoonish way, and Kato's fights with Sellers are priceless.
It's an entertaining if inconsequential movie, but I had lots of fun watching it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fair to middlin' sequel, May 31 2004
By 
K. Gittins (CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The movie had a few humorous moments, but I found some of it tedious. Cato and Dreyfus are still a riot. though. Cato and Clouseau have their karate fights, culminating in Cato dressing as a Japanese waitress. Clouseau finally drives Dreyfus into the nuthouse after Dreyfuss repeatedly shoots himself with a cigarette lighter.

I still prefer "A Shot in the Dark" and think it is the best of the series. I did not care for the original "Pink Panther" as I found it unfunny.
Although the picture was not razor-sharp, it is not as bad as the one-star whiners would have you believe. With minimal extras, if you don't have high expectations, then the low-priced DVD may be worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspector Clouseau strikes again..., May 25 2004
By 
Joseph H Pierre "Joe Pierre" (Salem, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Return of the Pink P. (VHS Tape)
Peter Sellers is great as Inspector Clouseau, with his mispronunciations and bumbling, especially when teamed up with Chief Inspector Charles Dreyfus (Herbert Lom), who hates him.

The wonderful David Niven, of course, is gone from the series, but is replaced by Christopher Plummer as Sir Charles Lytton (The Phantom).

Both Lom and Sellers are a great comedy team and provide a laugh a minute, as they try to catch a jewel thief in Lugash.

I suggest you see the whole pink panther series.

Joseph (Joe) Pierre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Vaaaa Vaaaa Voooom, April 10 2004
By 
Pen15 (Huntington Beach, California) - See all my reviews
The Return of the Pink Panther
DVD ~ Peter Sellers
Tell us what you think. Write a review of this item and share your opinions with others. Please be sure to focus your comments on the DVD. Read our review guidelines for more information. You can also look at some example customer reviews before you write your own.
OK. Let's get started!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xf4ad870)

This product

The Return of the Pink Panther
The Return of the Pink Panther by Blake Edwards (DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews