Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot in Perfection.
Hercule Poirot is one of the most famous detectives in literary history. Yet, strangely, except for his portrayal by Albert Finney in the star-studded movie version of "Murder on the Orient Express," for a long time there did not seem to be an actor who could convincingly bring to life the clever, dignified little Belgian with his unmistakable egg-shaped head, always...
Published on Sept. 7 2006 by Themis-Athena

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing quality control/broken DVDs
Disappointing quality control. Have now returned this product twice. One disc cracked each time and one disc inoperable in one spot due to (subsurface) misty spot on disc. We take great pride in caring for our movies and have video tapes over 20 years old still in pristine (or nearly) condition. DVDs are generally much less robust, and while we take great care of those as...
Published on July 1 2010 by M. Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot in Perfection., Sept. 7 2006
By 
Themis-Athena (from somewhere between California and Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Poirot Classic Collection (DVD)
Hercule Poirot is one of the most famous detectives in literary history. Yet, strangely, except for his portrayal by Albert Finney in the star-studded movie version of "Murder on the Orient Express," for a long time there did not seem to be an actor who could convincingly bring to life the clever, dignified little Belgian with his unmistakable egg-shaped head, always perched a little on one side, his stiff, military, slightly upward-twisted moustache, and his excessively neat attire, which had reached the point that "a speck of dust would have caused him more pain than a bullet," as Agatha Christie introduced him through his friend Captain Hastings's voice in their and her own very first adventure, "The Mysterious Affair at Styles" (1920). But leave it to British television to finally find the perfect Poirot in David Suchet, who after having had the dubious honor of playing a rather dumbly arrogant version of Scotland Yard Chief Inspector Japp in some of the 1980s' movies starring Peter Ustinov as Poirot, was finally allowed to move center stage in the Granada/ITV series broadcast from 1989 onwards, which to date also includes seventeen movie-length features based on a number of Christie's most celebrated Poirot novels. (Not yet? -- included are, most notably, [new] adaptations of "Murder on the Orient Express" [1934], "Appointment with Death" [1938], and Poirot's final case, "Curtain" [published 1975, but written in the 1940s].)

And the match is spot-on, not only physically but also, and more importantly so, in terms of personality. Suchet shares Poirot's inclination towards pedantry: "I like things to be symmetrical ... If I put two things on the mantelpiece, they have to be exactly evenly spaced," he said in an interview, comparing his real-life persona to that of Poirot. But, he added, unlike his on-screen alter ego, "I don't need the same sized eggs for breakfast!" Although previously not interested in mysteries, his habitually meticulous research allowed him to quickly become familiar with Christie's Belgian sleuth and the workings of his little grey cells -- and to slip so much into Poirot's skin that I, for one, can no longer pick up a Poirot book without instantly hearing Suchet's voice as that of the great little detective.

This collection brings together the series's 36 short episodes; all in all, adaptations of roughly 75% of the Poirot entries contained in Christie's various collections of short stories and novellas -- or more precisely, almost all short stories except for the twelve mysteries from Poirot's self-declared "last" decameron of cases, "The Labors of Hercules" (1947), and three stories from the 1926 collection "The Underdog." Next to Mr. Suchet, Hugh Fraser stars as the detective's indefatigable sidekick Captain Hastings, whom the screenplays, alas, make come across as more of a well-educated but vacuous gentleman than do the written originals narrated from his point of view. (This is virtually my only quibble with the series -- and that although Granada and ITV did so well in debumblifying Sherlock Holmes's friend and chronicler Dr. Watson!) Philip Jackson, on the other hand, gives us an admirably sturdy, down-to-earth incarnation of Chief Inspector Japp, and Pauline Moran virtually inhabits Poirot's epitome of a secretary, Miss Lemon; whose role, like those of Hastings and Japp, is added into a number of episodes not originally featuring them, thankfully without greatly disturbing the stories' narrative flow and setting.

The episodes contained in this set are, in the order of Christie's original short story collections:

From POIROT INVESTIGATES (1924):

"The Disappearance of Mr. Davenheim"

"The Veiled Lady"

"The Lost Mine"

"The Adventure of the Cheap Flat"

"The Kidnapped Prime Minister"

"The Adventure of the Western Star"

"The Million Dollar Bond Robbery"

"The Tragedy at Marsdon Manor"

"The Mystery of Hunter's Lodge"

"The Adventure of the Egyptian Tomb"

"The Case of the Missing Will"

"The Adventure of the Italian Nobleman"

"The Chocolate Box"

"Jewel Robbery at the Grand Metropolitan"

From THE UNDERDOG and OTHER STORIES (1926):

"The Cornish Mystery"

"The Plymouth Express"

"The Affair at the Victory Ball"

"The Underdog"

"The Adventure of the Clapham Cook"

"The King of Clubs"

From MURDER IN THE MEWS (1937):

"Dead Man's Mirror"

"Murder in the Mews"

"Triangle at Rhodes"

"The Incredible Theft"

From THE REGATTA MYSTERY and OTHER STORIES (1939):

"How Does Your Garden Grow?"

"The Mystery of the Spanish Chest" (a/k/a "The Mystery of the Baghdad Chest")

"Yellow Iris"

"Problem at Sea"

"The Dream"

From THREE BLIND MICE and OTHER STORIES (1950):

"The Adventure of Johnnie Waverly"

"Four and Twenty Blackbirds"

"The Third Floor Flat"

From DOUBLE SIN and OTHER STORIES (1961):

"Double Sin"

"Wasps' Nest"

"The Double Clue"

"The Theft of the Royal Ruby"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot Classic Collection, Aug. 1 2010
This review is from: Poirot Classic Collection (DVD)
I looked forward to the arrival of this collection in great anticipation. I could not wait to view all of the Poirot episodes that had enjoyed such success and acclaim on the TV networks. The great David Suchet is the ultimate Poirot - there will never be another for me. I am sure that Agatha Christie would have been delighted by his interpretation of her great detective with the "little grey cells".

Disappointment in this purchase lies in the poor quality of the picture. Crisp colour in this DVD package is not evident which is a real shame in such a wonderful collectors' edition. The packaging also leaves a great deal to be desired. I am constantly irritated by the flimsy "cover" page that keeps creasing and sliding beneath its plastic. Most annoying. Nevertheless, the wonderful performances of David Suchet, Hugh Fraser, Pauline Moran and Philip Jackson more than compensate. Make the purchase and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing quality control/broken DVDs, July 1 2010
By 
M. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poirot Classic Collection (DVD)
Disappointing quality control. Have now returned this product twice. One disc cracked each time and one disc inoperable in one spot due to (subsurface) misty spot on disc. We take great pride in caring for our movies and have video tapes over 20 years old still in pristine (or nearly) condition. DVDs are generally much less robust, and while we take great care of those as well as our video tapes, they often arrive already damaged or flawed. Frustrating that one must watch every disc in a set in order to discover the flaws! Seems such a waste to return and get a new one (and 2nd return Amazon requires a refund not a replacement), for customer, Amazon and manufacturer. P.S. Poirot movies are great, these DVDs not so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fond memories, July 30 2008
This review is from: Poirot Classic Collection (DVD)
I love all of Hercule Poirot shows. They brought back a lot of memories. Our family use to always watch these shows every week. They are very well done and the DVD's have great clarity. It would be a wonderful collection for any family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All of the short stories, March 10 2011
By 
Paulina Medeiros (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poirot Classic Collection (DVD)
I love David Suchet as Poirot. He is adorable, loveable, pleasantly irritating and amusingly self-centered, not to mention brilliant! Suchet leaves nothing to be desired to an avid fan that has read every single Agatha Christie book and play published and finds in Poirot her favourite fictional detective of all times.

This collection includes all of the Poirot short stories turned into hour long episodes. They are all very loyal to Agatha's written texts and done very tastefully. I know that some people complain about the quality of the image, but it does not bother me. They were, after all, made for TV in the early 90's. All the entertainment value is intact for me. The episodes included in this set are (in order of TV air date):

Season 1
The Adventure of the Clapham Cook;
Murder in the Mews;
The Adventure of Johnnie Waverly;
Four and Twenty Blackbirds;
The Third Floor Flat;
Triangle at Rhodes;
Problem at Sea;
The Incredible Theft;
The King of Clubs;
The Dream.

Season 2
The Veiled Lady;
The Lost Mine;
The Cornish Mystery;
The disappearance of Mr. Davenheim;
Double Sin;
The Adventure of the Cheap Flat;
The Kidnapped Prime Minister;
The Adventure of the Western Star.

Season 3
How Does Your Garden Grow?;
The Million Dollar Bond Robbery;
The Plymouth express;
Wasps' Nest;
The Tragedy at Marsdon Manor;
The Double Clue;
The Mystery of the Spanish Chest;
The Theft of the Royal Ruby;
The Affair at the Victory Ball;
The Mystery of Hunter's Lodge.

Season 5
The Adventure of the Egyptian Tomb;
The Underdog;
Yellow Iris;
The Case of the Missing Will;
The Adventure of the Italian Nobleman;
The Chocolate Box;
Dead Man's Mirror and
Jewel Robbery at the Grand Metropolitan.

All of the Poirot series episodes that have been released on DVD are included in this set along with "Agatha Christie's Poirot: The Classic Collection 2", "Agatha Christie's Poirot: The Definitive Collection", "Poirot Set 4 Classic Collection" and "Agatha Christie's Poirot: The Movie Collection - Set 5". I found this the best way to have them all, pay the best price and not get one single repeat. The Season 12 episodes "The clocks", "Three-act tragedy" and "Hallowe'en party" have not yet been released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable mystery set, Jan. 8 2012
By 
Duchess "Duchess" (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Poirot Classic Collection (DVD)
I bought this DVD set when it first came out (2005). When I played it I realized that this did not have closed captioning (as it says on the website that it does have CC) and when the website does this, I am not impressed. Regardless of that issue though, I can say that I have still enjoyed this series many times over, and maybe some day will invest in another set that DOES have closed captioning. This is still a good to have when you can't find anything interesting on TV to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Décevant, June 4 2008
By 
This review is from: Poirot Classic Collection (DVD)
Même si le contenu du produit demeure excellent, la facture de celui-ci, soit la qualité de l'image, est vraiment médiocre. En effet, l'image est embrouillée et semble parfois même voilée par un rideau de pluie ou de brouillard qui n'existe pas sur l'image originale.

Je me faisais une grande joie de visionner cette série que j'ai tant aimée, mais la qualité du produit m'a tellement déçue, que je n'ai pas pu l'apprécier à sa juste valeur et que j'ai dû le retourner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Poirot Classic Collection
Poirot Classic Collection by David Suchet (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 1,785.57
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews