Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Man vs. New York
Bill Murray has devised the perfect bank caper. He enters the bank in full clown costume and make-up taking the occupants hostage and locking them in the vault. He conducts negotiations with the police outside by phone. He makes his escape by shedding the clown gear and simply walking out as a 'released' hostage. His plan is to keep the police out front thinking he is...
Published on May 20 2002

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars a little disappointing
I don't know if it's because I bought this movie with expectations too great for a comedy released in early 90's. Or because I saw it after having seen all other great masterpieces of Bill Murray including Groundhog Day, What About Bob and The Man Who Knew Too Little. But this one was a little disappoining. In contrast to most the reviews you'll see here, I'll say it...
Published on May 13 2001 by Grigory Chupin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars ¡Flores! ¡Flores de los muertos!, June 2 2002
By 
Robert J. Steele "moforising" (Phoenix, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quick Change (VHS Tape)
It's always fun to introduce people to this movie. It doesn't take much, surprisingly few have seen it.
In a nutshell, a clown walks into a bank and robs it. It goes off without a hitch and he escapes with his two accomplices. All that's left is for them to make it to the airport and get out of the country. Sounds simple doesn't it?
I don't think anybody in the theater I saw this at was prepared for what followed. At the best of times, this movie is so hilarious you'll be doubled over in your seat. The "jousting" scene ranks as one of my favorite moments of screen comedy of all time. Yes, during the final arc of the film there are several flat scenes, but they're still pretty funny, and don't detract from the overall film.
See it for the wealth of abundance in it's details. Tony Shaloub's cab driver is burned into my brain. The music is upbeat, instantly recognizable. Jason Robards is unflappable. Watch the policeman pose for applause as he steps out of the monster truck. See a clown point a gun at a small dog.
Really, the best you can say about this movie is that it brings the funny. If you haven't seen it, go out and rectify the situation. And let's see a DVD! I'd love to hear some director's commentary on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Man vs. New York, May 20 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Quick Change (VHS Tape)
Bill Murray has devised the perfect bank caper. He enters the bank in full clown costume and make-up taking the occupants hostage and locking them in the vault. He conducts negotiations with the police outside by phone. He makes his escape by shedding the clown gear and simply walking out as a 'released' hostage. His plan is to keep the police out front thinking he is still inside by making calls from payphones as he heads to the airport and freedom. There is just one problem - the setting is New York City. That means to escape Murray and two cohorts(Geena Davis and Randy Quaid) must first deal with city workers who have removed street signs, and no longer remember which way the arrows pointed. Cab drivers whose English consists only of "where to?" and even the local mob. Jason Robards is great as the police chief on the other side of the bank and Bob Elliot is very funny as a cowardly bank Security Guard. This film, which is endlessly clever, is a great ride as both a comedy and somthing of a crime/thriller as it never plays the comedy TOO broadly, a unique and very entertaining combination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bill Murray's most Underrated Comic Creation., April 26 2001
By 
Bradley Tobin (Penrith, Sydney NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Quick Change (VHS Tape)
"Quick Change" is Absolutely Hysterical. The 3 principle actors give the Performances of their Comedy Careers. Bill Murray also Co-directs, proving what a true cinema legend he is.
Bill Murray, Geena Davis and Randy Quaid star as 3 would-be Bank robbers who Succeed in their well-laid robbery plans, yet Fail in their plans for Escape. The Robbery is over in about 10 minutes of screen time, the rest of the film deals with their Futile Escape attempts from the Isle of Manhattan. Whatever could go wrong, does go wrong as they deal with Foreign Cab drivers, Slick Stick-up men, Gun wielding Couples, Malicious Mobsters and Determined Police.
Bill's Straight-faced Sarcastic comedy styling has Never been used to such full effect as they are here. The role suits him like James Bond suits Pierce Brosnan. Geena and Randy support him Wonderfully, as do Tony Shalhoub, Stanley Tucci, Jason Robards and Kurtwood Smith. The Writing and Directing are Snappy, Witty and Fast Paced.
"Quick Change" is Criminally Underrated. So many people I know have never heard of it, I show it to them and they Immediately Adore it. Everything in it works Perfectly and virtually Everyone should enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, see it for yourself, Nov. 17 2001
This review is from: Quick Change (VHS Tape)
Without the mass appeal of "What about Bob?" or "Groundhog Day", this film is still very enjoyable and entertaining but perhaps is geared to the audience that is a bit more sophisticated than average. Not relying on silliness/slapstick or situation as it's engine, this movie starts out as if it is a serious "bank heist" action thriller and then quickly moves into the actual plot; three robbers lead by comedy superstar Murray have to "get out of Dodge".
Murray remains the cream of the crop of early SNL stars going on to screen and while others like Chase and Aykroyd play entertaining characters, they don't have the range that Murray does and this film is an example of that. Being both convincingly serious and downright funny at the same time is not easy to pull off. The rest of the cast is great and this movie was both well written and acted, a definite strong recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ONCE UPON A TIME BILL MURRAY WAS A LEADING MAN., Aug. 12 2002
This review is from: Quick Change (VHS Tape)
BEFORE LENDING TOP SUPPORT IN THE LIKES OF 'WILDTHINGS', 'CHARLES ANGELS',& 'THE ROYAL TENENBAUMS'. MR. MURRAY WAS A HELLA GOOD LEADING MAN. I'M SURE WE HAVEN'T SEEN THE LAST OF HIM IN TOP BILLING. THIS IS MURRAY AT HIS BEST (IN FRONT & BEHIND CAMERA). I ASSUMMED THIS MOVIE WAS A BIG HIT. HOWEVER AFTER READING SOME OF THE OTHER... REVIEWS, I REALIZED IT'S A LOST COMEDY GEM THAT MANY HAVEN'T SEEN. IT'S ASHAME COZ IT'S SUCH A GREAT COMEDY. MURRAY, GEENA DAVIS AND RANDY QUAID ARE A WONDERFUL COMEDIC TRIO. THE TRUTH IS I SAW THIS MOVIE TEN YEARS AGO AND LOVED IT SO MUCH.. THAT I BOUGHT IT AND WATCH IT A NUMBER OF TIMES. IT HAS SOME OF THE FUNNIEST DIALOGUE, WHICH CAN'T BE PRINTED HERE DUE TO PROFANITY.. IT REALLY SHOCKS ME THAT THERE IS A WAREHOUSE FULL OF MOVIES ON DVD THAT NO ONE CARES ABOUT, BUT THIS GREAT COMEDY CLASSIC IS BEING IGNORED. SOMEBODY NEEDS TO GET THEIR ACT TOGETHER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New York's Finest Thieves, June 7 2004
By 
Rocco Dormarunno (Brooklyn, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quick Change (VHS Tape)
Bill Murray, Geena Davis and Randy Quaid play New York's perfect criminals. They have the perfect bank robbery plan. It's perfectly executed. The only thing that gets in the way is the city in which they operate. The city that spawned these crooks, also spawned the madness (the same madness that frustrated Jack Lemmon and Sandy Dennis in THE OUT OF TOWNERS) that get in the way of their getaway. From the opening scene of Bill Murray in a clown costume, I knew I was in for a quirky film, but it was much more than that. This was a surprisingly funny movie that captures the essential oddities of the city. Philip Bosco plays a bus driver who would better be suited as a Marine drill sergeant at Parris Island, and he's just one of the eccentrics. I won't give anything else away. Just take my advice and give this underrated film a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless, Feb. 2 2001
This review is from: Quick Change (VHS Tape)
This is one of my all-time favorite movies - it didn't make much of a splash when it was first released, nor did it become a cult film later, even though it probably should have. It's a great example of what happens when a top-notch cast (led by Bill Murray, Geena Davis and Randy Quaid) teams up with a talented directors working with a great screenplay. "Quick Change" contains what seem like perfectly measured amounts of comedy, satire and suspense that makes it almost a flawless and very enjoyable film. The city of New York, shown as the rather surreal place that it is, provides the ideal back-drop for the entire story. I can't praise this one enough, I watch it at least once every few months - see it by all means in any format...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars a little disappointing, May 13 2001
By 
Grigory Chupin (Moscow, Russia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quick Change (VHS Tape)
I don't know if it's because I bought this movie with expectations too great for a comedy released in early 90's. Or because I saw it after having seen all other great masterpieces of Bill Murray including Groundhog Day, What About Bob and The Man Who Knew Too Little. But this one was a little disappoining. In contrast to most the reviews you'll see here, I'll say it wasn't funny. The plot was way too predictable. There is however an element of suspence, which I guess I did not expect of a comedy. So, in a word, a great movie anyway for die-hard fans of Bill Murray. Yes, it should be noted he is still the good ole Bill Murray you'll see in any good comedy. Hope you enjoy it and can beat my impression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Murray Classic, March 6 2004
By 
Plurabelle (Egg Harbor Twp, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Quick Change (VHS Tape)
Although not very well known, this remains one of Bill Murray's funniest & most original films. Feeling frustrated with his life and NYC in general, a city planner comes up with the perfect bank robbery scheme, with the help of his girlfriend and best friend. Getting away with the money ends up being the easiest part of their day. Everything imaginable that can go wrong, does as the three attempt to make it to the airport. Quaid is especially good as the dimbulb best friend, and Murray is dead-on perfect as the subdued brains behind the almost perfect crime. Murray also co-directed.
Highly underrated, & more then worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick Change DVD, Sept. 12 2011
This review is from: Quick Change [Import] (DVD)
The DVD came very fast and there were no issues or problems. The movie was very funny and the whole family enjoyed it very much. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quick Change [Import]
Quick Change [Import] by Howard Franklin (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 18.74 CDN$ 4.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews