Customer Reviews


155 Reviews
5 star:
 (124)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review
5 out 5
love the first blues brothers movie better then the second movie.
Recommend to anybody who likes older videos.
Published 6 months ago by Nathaniel Riddoch

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I want the original version!
I love The Blues Brothers. This is one of the all-time great comedies; a truly epic comedy. In it's original form, it is flawless from beginning to end. Five Stars easily.
Unfortunately, this "Special Edition" dvd includes 15+ minutes of scenes. Not under a "deleted scenes" section, which would have been appropriate and very welcome, but inserted into the movie...
Published on May 21 2003 by SpookyChick


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I want the original version!, May 21 2003
By 
SpookyChick (in tha' world!) - See all my reviews
I love The Blues Brothers. This is one of the all-time great comedies; a truly epic comedy. In it's original form, it is flawless from beginning to end. Five Stars easily.
Unfortunately, this "Special Edition" dvd includes 15+ minutes of scenes. Not under a "deleted scenes" section, which would have been appropriate and very welcome, but inserted into the movie itself. To be fair, the extra footage doesn't really hurt the music scenes. But did we really need to see Elwood at his place of employment? Did we really need to see where the Blues-mobile is stored when not being driven? None of the extra footage adds anything to the movie. In fact, it really ruins the perfect pacing of the regular cut.
I truly hope Universal sees the error of their ways and reissues this film on DVD with the original cut. They could even make the added footage viewable within the movie, through seamless branching, but for the love of Pete, give us the option!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review, Jan. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Blues Brothers: 25th Anniversary Edition (DVD)
5 out 5
love the first blues brothers movie better then the second movie.
Recommend to anybody who likes older videos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars En Blue Ray c'est vraiment le blues..., Jan. 4 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
C'est un très bon film à regarder ,je l'avais vu au cinéma quand il est sorti en 1980, un bon souvenir...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Quality - An Amateur Bootleg?, June 23 2012
By 
From the Musician's Pen (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Blues Brothers (DVD)
I was excited to see this release, a full concert of the original Blues Brothers Band from 1978. I couldn't find any reviews (Warning sign!) so I took a chance and bought it for cheaper at Wal-Mart. I was shocked at how poor the quality was. At first I thought it was a bootleg filmed by someone in the audience, but then the on-stage footage and editing showed there were more cameras.

The sound may be taken "off the board", as the mix is way off at the beginning and eventually the mix comes together. To explain what I mean... you can't hear bass guitar at all until later on in the concert; often when someone is singing or soloing you can't hear them until the person working the mixer raises their level... it's annoying how often this happens; there's a loud feedback that keeps returning, sometimes during songs and sometimes inbetween songs, and the soundman is never able to find where it's coming from; sometimes an instrument suddenly gets loud in the mix for no apparent reason... the piano, the rhythm guitar, etc. all had moments of suddenly being louder than almost anything else.

As for the performance itself, you can tell the Blues Brothers act was very new and inexperienced in front of a live audience. Neither Belushi nor Akroyd can work a crowd yet and the singing is just okay at best. The band is quite good (but the mix is not) but you can tell they haven't played together long enough to be able to "read each other" yet. There are moments where they're caught off guard by the singers, as well as a few sour spots musically... like the closing "Can't Turn You Loose" where Paul Shaeffer's organ isn't even in the same key as the rest of the band.

It occurred to me while watching this that members of this band had played and recorded with the original Stax and R&B artists, whose songs are being covered by the Blues Brothers. After performing songs like "Soul Man" with Sam & Dave and hearing those great vocalists, it must somehow hurt to hear "Jake & Elwood"'s version. It's both bittersweet and ironic that the Blues Brothers outsold those original artists and went on to have the best selling Blues records to date. Still, it's great that there was a Blues Brothers act and that they used the original players, since they were very important and responsible for bringing about a blues "revival" during in the late 70's and early 80's.

It's neat to see footage of the band in it's rawest stage of infancy, but I feel "ripped off" because this is not a properly filmed nor produced DVD. I doubt this footage was ever meant to be sold to the public, as it does not represent them well and the product is sub par, even for 1978 standards of concert film and sound. It appears to be German made, and probably off a videotape because the DVD ends abruptly, as if the film just ran out.

Buyer beware!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Synchronisation, Feb. 5 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
La version cinéma, d'une exceptionnelle qualité, fait aisément oublier l'impossibilité de regarder la version prolongée en français car celle-ci présente un défaut de synchronisation de la bande sonore. Dommage car Universal aurait signé là un sans faute. Quoi qu'il en soit ne boudez pas votre plaisir, la version originale n'a aucunement besoin qu'on étire la sauce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing to the true BB enthusiast., July 31 2003
Yes, its great that Universal FINALLY released this movie on DVD, but they really should have included with it a copy of the originally edited film. I love this film so much that I will have to go buy a VCR just to watch my old wore out copy of BB (my 4th copy lol) because the unedited one just screws up the whole flow and feel to the movie. The extended scenes are interesting, but this movie is NOT the blues brothers. My recommendation to you, if by some chance you havent seen it yet is to buy this film on VHS first, watch it, then get the DVD....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Movie, Dec 11 2013
By 
Eddie Nguyen (Toronto Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blues Brothers (DVD)
I first saw this flick many years ago & showed it to my young children - telling them to ignore the swearing - because the premise is good. This is Belushi humor at it's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2 of a kind, Aug. 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Blues Brothers (DVD)
The blues brothers offers so much more than a film. The music is so great and the musicians are awesome. I could watch this movie every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable, Sept. 3 2012
By 
cbgb (Southern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Blues Brothers: 25th Anniversary Edition (DVD)
Appealing & endearing & sweet but intentionally fanciful/unbelievable storyline. A showcase of musicians and singers, many of whom are in their prime, with many in 2012 no longer among the living. If you love music icons from the 60's and beyond, and if your sense of humour is joyful and accepting this is the perfect medium for seeing the superstars of yesteryear. Aretha Franklin is young and alive, and if anyone doesn't understand the appeal of James Brown you'll see him in his most remarkable phase, and will no longer wonder. Sam without Dave; Steve Cropper Paul Schaeffer, the Good Old Boys...really, too many to mention. In this gem of a movie you'll see something new every time, and you will watch it over and over and over. If you weren't around then, or may not have been into such things, you'll long to have been!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Junk DVD, Jan. 12 2012
The DVD I bought was junk! It skipped all the time and would stall for long periods of time, then jump ahead. I would not recommend this reseller!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Blues Brothers: 25th Anniversary Edition
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 11.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews