Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!
My theater class and I saw this after I finished reading the play TWELFTH NIGHT, and I must say, it kept to the script really well. But the depth that it had was great- when I read the play, it was kind of like 'Hmmm... okay, this is cool, love triangles!' And then it skipped to the servant scenes and I started racing through those to get to the, I supposed, 'better'...
Published on May 19 2004 by Theatre Kidd

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Inch Away From Ruination
I was greatly disappointed by this, Trevor Nunn's attempt at a film of Shakespeare's Twelfth Night, or What You Will. If you are a true Shakespeare fan, you probably will feel the same. The acting is certainly a treat, especially during scenes with Imogen Stubbs and Toby Stephens playing off of each other as Viola and Orsino respectively, Mel Smith as Sir Toby under the...
Published on Nov. 30 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Inch Away From Ruination, Nov. 30 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Twelfth Night [Import] (VHS Tape)
I was greatly disappointed by this, Trevor Nunn's attempt at a film of Shakespeare's Twelfth Night, or What You Will. If you are a true Shakespeare fan, you probably will feel the same. The acting is certainly a treat, especially during scenes with Imogen Stubbs and Toby Stephens playing off of each other as Viola and Orsino respectively, Mel Smith as Sir Toby under the influence, the hilarious facial expressions of Ben Kingsley as Feste, and the always-wonderful Helena Bonham Carter as the ornery Lady Olivia. However, in he area of comedy, this film falls tragically short. Scenes and characters of great comic potential are made into deep dark messes. This is most painfully obvious in the character of Maria, a maid in Olivia's household who is quite taken by Sir Toby. What should be a saucy and strong character is reduced to a mushy and gushy ball of tears, suffering from her unrequited love for Toby, something that Nunn foolishly created (the original play called for an affair between the maid and the noblman). In another instance, the imprisonment of Malvolio, written by Shakespeare to be a comedic event, is shown here to be something sinister. Luckily, enough of the comedy is preserved to make it tolerable. See it to get an idea of the story, but not if Twelfth Night is a story you already know and love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Revenge is Sweet, Jan. 22 2004
By 
~*Leasha*~ (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Twelfth Night [Import] (VHS Tape)
When i first watched this movie I fell in love with it! First of all, the Duke Orsino (Toby Stephens) Looks really good in this movie, and second of all.. ITS BASED ON A SHAKESPEARE PLAY! Yet, Even so, the acting in this movie was beautiful. Everyone did a SUPERB job with the making of this film, and I just loved it!
Throughout the whole film it just seemed so passionate. Oh and did I mention there's sword fights? Fist Fights? Actual vengeance? And most of this film stays true to the actual Shakespearean play. This is such a good movie, I'm not going to give any of it away, you all have to see it for yourselves! TRUST ME... GREAT MOVIE! If you like the play, You'll LOVE the movie.. REVENGE IS SWEET in TWELFTH NIGHT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Translation of Shakespeare to Screen, May 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twelfth Night [Import] (DVD)
This has got to be my most favourite rendition of any Shakespeare play on movie. It takes place not in Tudor time, but probably around the 1800s. This actually works really well. Faithful to the script of the play and its inherent cross-gender conundrums. It's many years old now, but it holds up wonderfully. I also really enjoyed the fact that many of the ditties in the play were actually sung in this production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, Dec 26 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twelfth Night [Import] (DVD)
This was the first Shakespeare play that I watched live. The actors brought it to life and I fell in love with William Shakespeare on the spot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HE'S really a SHE: a movie that proves that sometimes clothes REALLY do make the man!!, Oct. 5 2012
By 
Stephen Pletko "Uncle Stevie" (London, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Twelfth Night [Import] (DVD)
XXXXX

"A while ago the world began,
With hey, ho, the wind and the rain,
But that's all one, our play is done,
And we'll strive to please you every day."

The above are the last words spoken (actually sung) in this well-acted movie based on William Shakespeare's (1564 to 1616) last romantic comedic play of the same name (written circa 1600).

With a lavish estate, plenty of amorous encounters, upper class--lower class plotting, and two cases of mistaken identity, this movie is like a house party where no one goes home. However, there is something sweetly sad, unsettling, and even bitter about this movie.

Both this movie and the play are festive but they also dabble in madness, despair, sexual ambiguity, and even cruelty.

The play is about love and grief, their pains and their pleasures, and how the two emotions are often difficult to distinguish. This movie captures all this quite well.

This movie features an all-star cast with perhaps Helena Bonham Carter (as the as the rich countess Olivia "of beauty truly blent") and Ben Kingsley (as her clownish sometimes singing "allowed fool" named "Feste") being the most identifiable. All the actors do good jobs in their roles but both Imogen Stubbs (as the very female Viola turned male "page" Cesario) and Nigel Hawthorne (as Olivia's self-loving attendant Malvolio) do, in my opinion, outstanding jobs in their roles.

Note that this movie trims down Shakespeare's original play. This had to be done or this movie would have been way too long. This movie also updates the play costume-wise to the late nineteenth century.

The background music & cinematography are beautiful and add to each scene.

Finally, the DVD released in 2005 has no subtitles or closed-captioning. However, it does have a few extras. I also noticed that on the DVD case, the movie has the title "Twelfth Night." However, the opening credits tell us that its real title is "Twelfth Night or What You Will."

Bottom-line:

This movie is a worthy addition to William Shakespeare's cinematic canon.

(1996; 2 hr, 10 min; wide screen; 22 scenes)

<<Stephen PLETKO, London, Ontario, Canada>>

XXXXX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A guilty pleasure, July 9 2011
By 
R3aLiTY_bYt3s "R3aLiTY_bYt3s" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twelfth Night [Import] (DVD)
We recently watched this film again (we watch it once a year or so) and we enjoy it every time we do. This time we watched it on our PS3 and the scenery and colours are even more striking.

Other reviewers have explained the plot and the characters, so I'll give those a miss.

We like the acting, the pace, the scenery, the costumes, and most of the actors in this film. It's quirky and funny without trying to be, and it will remain one of our guilty pleasures in years to come. It also makes us think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twelth Night, Feb. 16 2009
By 
Kurt Schmidlin (Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twelfth Night [Import] (DVD)
Can a Shakespearian play be made into a movie? They surely did and an splendid job they mad of itl. If you possess `Shakespeare in Love' you would appreciate this film as a logic sequence as one feeds right into the other. Well worth the money, all the more when compared with the other much inferior versions with the same title. If in doubt - get it anyway it is will not be a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Let's kiss it once and twenty...., Feb. 7 2003
By 
Susan E. Neill (Alexandria, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twelfth Night [Import] (VHS Tape)
Shakespeare "experts" will beg to differ, but Trevor Nunn has done 12th Night as it was meant to be done: witty and funny and manic, of course, but also wistful and melancholy. Orsino and Olivia make fools of themselves as they pine away in self-absorption, while Sir Toby and Aguecheek reek havoc, with help from Feste and Maria, in pathetic attempts to hold on to youth that's already passed them by. Feste is the soul of the show, and it's hard to imagine anyone doing Feste better than Ben Kingsley.
The setting (filmed in Cornwall) is breathtaking, the music unforgetable and the acting fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Adaptation, Dec 25 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Twelfth Night [Import] (VHS Tape)
This is a very tolerable incarnation of Shakespeare's most well-known comedies.
It was rather boring for around the first half an hour, but then it started getting funny. Some of the characters aren't quite what they are like in the play, but it doesn't really hurt it at all.
The acting quality ranges from descent to good, and I think Helena Bonham Carter did a splended job as Olivia.
The timeframe was put forewards around 200 years, but it didn't hurt any.
Overall, I think that it is a good production and worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED it!, March 9 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Twelfth Night [Import] (VHS Tape)
See this film if you like Shakespeare, excellent acting and the Victorian era. I had to watch it twice in a row! Imogen Stubbs was superb! It was funny, romantic and beautiful. (sigh)
My only dismay is in the fact that it is not offered in DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twelfth Night [Import]
Twelfth Night [Import] by Trevor Nunn (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 199.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews