Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars high speed romance comedy chase movie with predictable but satisfying ending
"The Chase" is sort of an action adventure romance with some light
comedy.it is a case of mistaken identity (sortof).Charlie Sheen and
Kristi Swanson play the two leads in the movie.Charlie Sheen is Jackson
Davis Hammond,a falsely convicted armed bank robber who escapes from
custody.As Jackson makes a quick stop at a gas station to fill up(in a...
Published on Oct. 19 2007 by falcon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, with a good cast
This movie may be one of those movies you'll hate to love. The plot of the movie is simple and unoriginal, yet you'll find yourself really getting into it. The movie begins with the introduction of Jack Hammond (Charlie Sheen), who's background we know little about. But we do know he is a criminal of some sort; on the run. And as he stops for gas (with a stolen car)...
Published on March 4 2003 by wellwellwell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, with a good cast, March 4 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Chase, the (VHS Tape)
This movie may be one of those movies you'll hate to love. The plot of the movie is simple and unoriginal, yet you'll find yourself really getting into it. The movie begins with the introduction of Jack Hammond (Charlie Sheen), who's background we know little about. But we do know he is a criminal of some sort; on the run. And as he stops for gas (with a stolen car) he is noticed by two cops. He panics and kidnaps the girl standing next to him (Kristy Swanson, the original 'Buffy the Vampire Slayer'), and takes off.
As it turns out, midway through the freeway car chase, Hammond was found guilty of a crime that he didn't commit. And he does anything and everything to keep from getting caught. The movie does provide for a few satisfactory surprises, but for the most part you'll know what's going to happen. And while all this is going on--the fighting between Hammond and Natalie Voss (Swanson)--they begin to fall in love. And if you think that sounds impractical or just plain stupid, you're right. But you have to realize: without the cheap love you really have no movie. So you must look beyond the sometimes too-fake plot in order to enjoy the movie.
As you can imagine, you'll find yourself saying "yeah right" during certain parts of the movie. And the 'sex' scene (if you want to call it that) is so horrible you will laugh out loud. I won't spoil the fun for you, though. All in all, 'The Chase' is a pretty average film with no plotline. But on a brighter note, the cast is very diverse. Aside from Sheen and Swanson, you have Henry Rollins (singer of Rollins' Band) and Josh Mostel (who you may remember from smaller parts in 'Big Daddy' and 'Billy Madison'); both of which who play the cops following the car. Also, there's Red Hot Chili Peppers' Flea and Anthony Kiedis.
'The Chase' is a decent movie, one that may go overlooked. But if you enjoy Charlie Sheen's work, or have always been intrigued by those infamous high-speed chases, you will enjoy this movie. It got 3 stars from me because there's really no plot and it's mostly unoriginal. Yet 3 stars still makes a movie worth seeing; and you should look into this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars high speed romance comedy chase movie with predictable but satisfying ending, Oct. 19 2007
Ce commentaire est de: The Chase [Import] (DVD)
"The Chase" is sort of an action adventure romance with some light
comedy.it is a case of mistaken identity (sortof).Charlie Sheen and
Kristi Swanson play the two leads in the movie.Charlie Sheen is Jackson
Davis Hammond,a falsely convicted armed bank robber who escapes from
custody.As Jackson makes a quick stop at a gas station to fill up(in a
stolen car) the report of the stolen car is heard by two police
officers in the store.the officers attempt arrest Jackson,and rather
than go back to jail,he kidnaps the woman standing next to him in
line.This woman just happens to be Natalie Voss,(Kristi
Swanson)daughter of wealthy industrialist DaltonVoss.(Ray Wise)Jackson
escapes with Natalie and leads the police on a much publicized car
chase,which takes up most of the movie.the ending is predictable but
satisfying.Obviously,there is a lot of action,some of it quite
intense.there is also humour,courtesy of Sheen and Swanson.much of what
occurs in the movie is somewhat improbable but the movie is
entertaining and fun. 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Chase Soundtrack, Jan. 12 2003
By 
Isaias Munguia Jr. (Modesto, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Chase, the (VHS Tape)
I have noticed people posting their troubles in attempting to locate "The Chase" Original Soundtrack. I too have attempted to locate this soundtrack with great trouble. However, I did not locate the soundtrack but did find a webpage that took the time to post the titles and artist of the music from the movie. And adding to my speculation the page also posted their being unable to locate the soundtrack aswell, making me belive there might not have been an acual soundtrack released. Oh, yeah, oh yeah, and the movie was cool to.
The Soundtrack is as follows:
1. Breakdown - One Dove
2. The Next Life - Suede
3. Macho Man - Stephen Stuart Short
4. Two Babies in the Dark - Bad Religion
5. Forever and A Day - Offspring *
6. Our Own Way - Down by Law
7. Shine - The Rollins Band
8. House - Dan Carlson
9. Adina - Rancid
10. Take It Like a Man - Offspring
11. The Bottle - Rancid
12. Please Play This Song on the Radio - NoFX
13. Warm - NoFX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorites!, Oct. 18 2000
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Chase, the (VHS Tape)
Every time I see this movie, it just gets better and better. Whenever it plays on television I watch it. Whenever I rent it, I watch it at least three times all the way through and I watch the Charlie : "What are you doing?" Kristy : "Falling in love with you." scene over and over and over again. I don't know what their off-screen chemistry is like but on screen I can't get enough of Kristy and Charlie together...even if it's the few words they exchange in Hot Shots. I'm trying to find information on a soundtrack for the movie...but not having much luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable satire, Aug. 16 2000
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Chase, the (VHS Tape)
More like 3.5 stars.
Even though this movie was more or less universally reviled, I enjoyed it. Lots to quibble about, but it's basically a satirical take on both the movies and especially the news media - lots of right-on jabs at news anchormen, etc. Also, there are plot points that are ludicrous/cheesy, but people who complain about them are basically missing the point: IT'S SATIRE! THEY'RE MAKING FUN OF MOVIE CLICHES!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars JUST ENJOY, May 26 2000
By 
F. Gutierrez "ArtyPotterette" (ONTARIO, CALIFORNIA United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Chase, the (VHS Tape)
I DONT UNDERSTAND THE POINT OF HAVING TO JUDGE A FILM AS IF IT WAS THE END OF THE WORLD. IT CENTERS AROUND SHEEN AND SWANSON, GIVING THE PUBLIC A LOOK AT HOW DESPERATE THE PUBLIC IS FOR ENTERTAINMENT. WE SHOUL LAUGH AT THEM AND AT US FOR BEING SO GREEDY FOR ANY SORT OF NEWS. ONCE IT SHOWS HOW MEDIA CREATES MOST OF SOCIETY'S STUPIDITIES, ITS HARD NOT TO LAUGH AT ITS PREDICTABLE SLAPSTICK COMEDY AND SIMPLY ENJOY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest satire flicks ever, June 11 2002
By 
Nadia Martinez (Arlington, VA USA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Chase, the (VHS Tape)
This movie is so awesome. Asside from the kick [butt] cameos by Henry Rollins, Anthony Kiedis, and Flea, this movie is just a great fun movie to watch. The first time I watched it I was 10 years old and I loved it then and Im 17 and I love it now. I was looking for the soundtrack but I can't find it? :( Anyways awesome awesome movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Just entertainment, March 22 2000
Ce commentaire est de: Chase, the (VHS Tape)
A fast actioncomedy , focused totally on the cartrip of charlie sheen and kristy swanson . Sheen plays as always solid,but seems to follow the footsteps of his father who after 'apocalypse now' played often in simular budget movies .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable to watch, April 7 2002
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Chase, the (VHS Tape)
The chase has one thing going for it.Charlie Sheen now it is not his best work but enjoyable to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should have been entered at Trencianske., Feb. 4 2001
Ce commentaire est de: Chase, the (VHS Tape)
A misunderstood work -- It's actually an art film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chase [Import]
The Chase [Import] by Adam Rifkin (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 43.41
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews