Customer Reviews


207 Reviews
5 star:
 (166)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars This movie had me laughing all the way through
Adam Sandler, despite what many critics will say about him, has definitely hit the mark with this outrageously funny comedy. Many years after its release, I still watch it with friends; we all get a kick out of Happy Gilmore. Basically, Gilmore is a mostly talentless hockey player who discovers that he has a powerful tee shot that he can use to pay back the huge IRS...
Published on June 14 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Five-Star Movie on a One-Star DVD
Okay, so I finally broke down and bought a copy of "Happy Gilmore" on DVD. Seeing that it has been more than a year since I have been waiting for a better version to come out, it seems like such a copy will not come out for a while. It's a movie I absolutely love, so I decided to finally purchase it. Besides, the day they re-release this on a more appropriate DVD, I...
Published on Nov. 27 2002 by Michael Crane


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars This movie had me laughing all the way through, June 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Happy Gilmore (VHS Tape)
Adam Sandler, despite what many critics will say about him, has definitely hit the mark with this outrageously funny comedy. Many years after its release, I still watch it with friends; we all get a kick out of Happy Gilmore. Basically, Gilmore is a mostly talentless hockey player who discovers that he has a powerful tee shot that he can use to pay back the huge IRS debt his grandmother has incurred. He is completely out of his element, and that alone creates some very hilarious moments (In one of his putting scences at his first tournament, Happy is being ridiculed by some guy in the audience. When Happy finally sinks the ball, the guy says "It's about time," to which Happy approaches him, saying, "Yeah, it is about time, I mean, I just couldn't get the ball in the hole! I wanted to, but I just couldn't do it! *He then proceeds to punch the crap outta that guy, stirring up the audience and many laughs). Ben Stiller is one of many great actors in this movie ("You can trouble me for a warm glass of SHUT THE HELL UP! Now you will go to sleep, or I will put you to sleep!"). I could go on for hours, but I think you get the point. This is a great movie that everyone should watch in their lifetime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great golf comedy, Sandler is a natural (In acting i mean), April 22 2004
By 
This review is from: Happy Gilmore (Full Screen) (DVD)
This movie is truely funny, Sandlers best and it doesn't get funnier than this, which honestly is true 'cause Sandler is comin' up with stinker scripts now. A lose cannon hokey wannabe stunk at the draft practice and was dropped from the leauge, thinking he is a one of a kind like Tony Williams, His temper grows everytime people tease him of being a bad hockey player. So he goes to his grandma after being dumped by his girlfriend for being a has been loser in hockey with no money whatsoever, he finds his granny interrogated and all her products including her house is taken because of cheating on her taxes and not paying it as usual as any of us normal american citezens would do (God it's a pain in the ass to pay those damn taxes) he vows to get $236, 000 to pay off the tax, so he picks up golf and becomes a laughing stock sensational player, wins about two pro championship, including chart topples and cash, he pays off the debt and the movie ends. But the whole senario is undoubtly funny and his battles with all star golfers and other charecters are hillarious. This movie is definitely unmissable, if you're a Adam Sandler Fan, rent or buy this, whatever you do, don't miss this because it is one of the most funniest and gut busting Adam Sandler movies you'll come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Could be the Caddyshack of the 90's., March 24 2004
By 
This review is from: Happy Gilmore (VHS Tape)
Of all the great movies Adam Sandler has done throughout the years, this would just about have to be the best - and funniest!
Happy Gilmore is a good hearted but short-tempered guy who has always wanted to be a hockey player. He was raised by his grandma after his dad died. Flash forward to present times: His life isn't so great, he didn't make the hockey team yet again, his girlfriend leaves him, and worst of all, his sweet grandmother's house gets repossessed by the IRS when she didn't pay her taxes. She has to stay in a retirement home (run by a very mean orderly).
Meanwhile, Happy somewhat accidentally discovers he has the abilty to drive a golf ball really far! While at a driving range, he gets discovered by retired pro Chubbs Peterson, who offeres to show him how to play golf and to get a sopt on an upcoming PGA tour, but he's not interested and thinks it's dumb.
Long story short, he decides to do it anyway, in order to get the $250,000 needed to save his grandma's house. From here on is where it really gets good. He adds a bit of fun into the sport: cussing like a sailor when he misses the ball, and occasionally throwing clubs and hitting a few guys. As mean spirited as that sounds, it's all done in such a way you can't help but to laugh.
Meanwhile, longtime player Shooter McGaven takes an instant disliking to Happy and does all he can to assure he gets kicked off the tour. Also, he meets a nice public relations girl named Virginia, who somewhat befriends him and tries to get him to calm down. They may or may not get closer (i.e. more romantic) later on...you'll have to watch to find out!
Also, if you can watch the miniature golf scene or the one with Bob Barker and not laugh, you have no sense of humor!
Without ruining it, I can't really give much else away, but in short, if you've ever been really frustrated at golf (*raises hand*) or anything, and/or just want a good, non-thinking type silly comedy, you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just tap it in, Jan. 24 2004
By 
Levi Stofer (Lawrenceville, GA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Happy Gilmore (Full Screen) (DVD)
Happy Gilmore is one of those fun comedies I can watch over and over again and still laugh all the way through. This is Adam Sandler at his best: playing an easily angered, sarcastic hero. Unlike many other Sandler movies, the rest of the cast shines as well. Christopher McDonald is perfectly cast as the uppity villian Shooter McGavin and Carl Weathers is excellent as the retired golf pro Chubbs Peterson. Also, look out for Ben Stiller as the evil intern at Grandma's retirement home. Just his mustache alone will crack you up!
The plot is a simple one: Happy Gilmore's grandmother needs money to win her house from the IRS so Happy must win at golf (even though he's a hockey player at heart) to save the day. Sounds like nothing new, but it doesn't matter. The joy of the movie is in all the little things... like when Shooter threatens Happy by saying "Stay out of my way or you'll pay. Listen to what I say..." and then Happy replies "How 'bout I eat some hay? I could make things from clay or lay by the bay. I just may. Whattaya say?" Great comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Stupid Gilmore, Jan. 14 2004
By 
Eric T. Miller, aka Eman (Thorofare, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Happy Gilmore (Full Screen) (DVD)
Adam Sandler deserved his beating on the golf course; he's an unfunny, over-rated hack comic who's been in ten plus movies without producing more than two genuine, funny moments in all of them. How does such a bone-head get to make million dollar movies? And why do you bean heads keep supporting him? What? Do you feel the need to pepper your DVD collection with more trash? The only thing this DVD is good for is a frisbee game, and one can not pray hard enough for it to take an arrant flight pattern and land on an unreachable roof. Or, the other thing the DVD is good for is sunbeam reflection, just so one can be mesmerized by all the pretty colors. Adam Sandler is like having malignant cancer; he's painful and death producing to humor. It stupifies my mind that anyone would give this movie five stars. For what? For what? For what? For what? For what? For what? Now, if anyone needs me, I'm going to go put this stupid, borrowed movie in my DVD player and then light myself on fire. Good bye cruel, dippy-do world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest sports films ever, Oct. 15 2003
By 
Matthew Edmundson (Winter Haven, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Happy Gilmore (Full Screen) (DVD)
Everybody has this mental picture of the game golf. You think of rich guys, in nice clothes, who have nice cars, and live in country clubs. The last thing you think of his a punk wanna be hockey player. That's Happy Gilmore for you.
Happy Gilmore(Sandler) is a man who was raised by her grandmother. She owes money to the IRS and can't pay it. They take her house from her and give them a limited amount of time to get it back. Happy joins the PGA pro tour and must get his grandmas house back.
The way he plays golf is great. He's loud and obnoxious. He has a running into the drive. He's known for his long drive and horrible putting skills. He treats golf like hockey and is a crowd favorite.
Only Adam Sandler could play this role. He is absolutely amazing. He had me laughing like crazy. The scene with him and Carl Weathers in the putt putt course with the clown almost made me puke from laughing so hard.
It's a great Adam Sandler film. You can argue it as the best that he had done. Don't miss out on a garunteed laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You'll never watch golf the same way again, Sept. 26 2003
This review is from: Happy Gilmore (Full Screen) (DVD)
Adam Sandler stars as aspiring hockey star Happy Gilmore, the guy with an amazing slapshot that just can't seem to keep his feet while on his skates. Very much against his will, Happy abandons his hockey dreams to join the pro golf tour in order to earn the money to repurchase his grandmother's house from the IRS. In the meantime, his sweet elderly grandmother gets to spend some quality time in a nursing home/sweat shop run by a demonic orderly (Ben Stiller).
Now the only thing standing between Happy and getting the money he needs, the beautiful lady (Julie Bowen), winning the masters, and a successful golfing career is the fact that... well... he can't golf. Compounding his misery is the fact that he's also blessed with a horrific temper, and a vocabulary that would make a sailor blush. His growing pains and the ensuing drama make for one of the funniest movies I've ever seen. One of the biggest highlights of the movie has to be the fist fight between Happy and gameshow host Bob Barker, but the entire movie is nonstop laughs.
Of note is that there is definitely some language/violence to the movie, so the easily offended should avoid "Happy Gilmore", and pretty much any Adam Sandler movie in general, but no fears... I'm sure disney has released something appropriately fluffy for you. If you like great comedy though, or have any understanding of golf (or any sense of humor at all for that matter), than "Happy Gilmore" will be a thoroughly enjoyable experience for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The price is wrong, Bobby!, April 5 2003
By 
This review is from: Happy Gilmore (VHS Tape)
What an entertaining film! Say what you want about Sandlers humor, but I like it. Probably my favorite part of this film was Ben Stiller as the retirement home guy. He expanded "Arts and crafts time," and made the old people make quilts. It was laugh out loud when an eightly year old woman said, "My fingers hurt." Like most Sandler material, the key lies in the delivery. Roger Ebert accused this film of being too commercial (He spotted Heineken, Diet Pepsi, Pepsi, Pepsi Max, Subway sandwich shops, Budweiser (in bottles, cans, and Bud-dispensing helmets), Michelob, Visa cards, Bell Atlantic, AT&T, Sizzler, Red Lobster, Wilson, Golf Digest, the ESPN sports network, and Top-Flite golf balls.). He said that at the middle of the film, after seing so much Subway stuff, he didn't know if he wanted laughs or mustard (his review is available on
suntimes.com/ebert/ebert_reviews/1996/02/1020768.html). I didn't mind the advertising because it is almost impossible to go on a golf course without advertising. Although I respect Mr. Ebert, I disagrre with his *1/2 review. If you don't know the plot, it's about Happy Gilmore (Sandler) who needs $275,000 to save his Grandma's house. After that, he goes to the driving range, and discoveres that he can hit a golf ball very far. Although it has a lot of dumb jokes, it has a lot of good one's, too. I understand that it's not The Graduate, Some Like it Hot, or A Shot in the Dark. Who cares? Thank you for taking the time to read my review and feel free to leave me a helpful/not helpful feedback. God Bless America!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Gilmore, Jan. 14 2003
By 
Scott (Windsor, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Happy Gilmore (VHS Tape)
The movie Happy Gilmore is the funniest laugh-out loud golf comedy since Caddy Shack. From the very first scene to the last, Adam Sandler and his cast will keep you in stiches and gasping for a breath. Unlike other of his comedies, Adama Sandler is not the only one delivering the laughs. A cast, who isn't that famous yet, but hilarious and meant for each role that they play accompany Sandler. The movie follows the entertaining career change of Happy Gilmore (Adam Sandler) who goes from being a brutal hockey player to a golf sensation. After finding out that his grandma has lost her house as the result of not paying her taxes, Happy vows to get the house back. After being cut from the local hockey team, Happy is discovered by an old golf pro, Chubs Peterson. He tells Happy that he has the potential to make a large sum of money playing golf. A light bulb goes off in Gilmore's head and he decides to put his hockey career on hold for a while to pursue this idea of becoming a golfer and thereby raising the money to get his grandma's house back. After winning a local tournament Gilmore makes the pro tour and is ready to start making money. His journey through the tour takes many comedic ups and downs as he battles with the villian of the movie, Shooter McGavin (Christopher McDonald). Shooter will do anything to prevent Happy Gilmore from succeeding. This movie is a classic and undoubtedly one of the best comedies of all time. There is not a dull moment in the movie and anybody who dosen't laugh at Gilmore's antics on the course must surely have no sense of humour. There is no stop to the endless number of sidesplitting actors in this movie. Even when Adam Sandler is not in the scene, Christopher McDonald amuses you with his arrogant yet comical style and the cameo by Bob Barker is icing on the cake. I give the movie five out of five stars and recommend it for anyone who likes to laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hey, Bob Barker had it coming, Dec 14 2002
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Happy Gilmore (VHS Tape)
It's an idea crazy enough to work. Take Adam Sandler and put him on the PGA tour, then sit back and wait for the hilarity to ensue. Happy Gilmore is one of the funniest films of the 1990s, and it is actually pretty uplifting to all of us who love to cheer for the underdog. There's nothing really intellectual about this film, and that's perfectly OK. We have our underdog, Happy Gilmore; his only dream in life is to be a professional hockey player, but the only thing he brings to the ice is a quick temper. Then we have the lovable grandmother put in a precarious situation-her house, which her own late husband built, has been seized by the government as a result of her not paying taxes for ten years. Happy accidentally discovers his ability to hit a golf ball very, very far, tries to rustle up some money off of bets at the local links, and almost accidentally, with the help of Chubbs, the local pro who saw his own promising golf career come to and end after an unfortunate encounter with an alligator, finds himself on the pro golf tour. Then there is the undeniably arrogant and completely unlikable bad guy, Shooter McGowan, whose place atop golf's elite is threatened by the young upstart Happy. Of course, this kind of story calls for a leading lady, as well, and the businesslike yet increasingly desirable tour media director Virginia Venit (Julie Bowen) fits the bill to a tee (I swear this pun was entirely unintentional).
Of course, the funniest parts of the movie take place on the golf course when the hockey-minded Happy takes out his early frustrations. At his first pro event, he launches into one profanity-laced (mostly bleeped) tirade after another, throwing clubs, having in-your-face discussions with his uncooperative golf balls, and generally being very ungolfer-like. Of course, the fans love it, so the PGA decides not to throw him out. With Virginia's help, he manages to keep his behavior at a PG level, at least until the pro-am tournament. Faced with a relentless heckler and a constantly complaining partner in Bob Barker, he snaps and has a go at Bob. Hey, Bob Barker had it coming. Faced with a month-long suspension, everything is on the line, both his grandmother's house and his own future golf career, at the PGA championship where he and Shooter compete for the gold jacket. If you take away some of the profanity early on, Happy Gilmore is actually a pretty family-oriented little movie, and I for one certainly enjoy seeing the biggest underdog imaginable come out on top over the arrogant and despicable favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Happy Gilmore (Special Edition)
Happy Gilmore (Special Edition) by Dennis Dugan (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 4.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews