Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good Cd
This is a very good Live CD. The Balance is so good that it feels like you are right there in Dortmund, Germany.
Top Notch Job, a must for any true Maiden Fans
Published on Aug. 30 2005 by Bruce Rules

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars We didn't need this one, did we?
Death On The Road is Iron Maiden's 7th live album (count them :Live After Death, A Real Live One, A Real Dead One, Live At Donington, Rock In Rio, BBC Archives, that's six) and was recorded during the band's 2003-2004 world tour supporting the "Dance Of Death" (2003) album. It was recorded and filmed at Westenfalenhalle in Dortmund, Germany on November 24th 2003 and...
Published on March 15 2010 by Tommy Sixx Morais


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Very good Cd, Aug. 30 2005
By 
Bruce Rules (Calgary Alberta) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Death On The Road: Live 2003 (2CD) (Audio CD)
This is a very good Live CD. The Balance is so good that it feels like you are right there in Dortmund, Germany.
Top Notch Job, a must for any true Maiden Fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Scream For Me, Dortmund!, April 23 2010
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Death On The Road: Live 2003 (2CD) (Audio CD)
When Death On The Road came out, I ws very excited. When a band of Iron Maiden's age (or Rush's, for that matter) put out great new studio albums, a live album tends to follow. Back in the 80's I would have found this unnesessary. However, let's face it -- how many more Maiden tours will be there be? How many times will Maiden play "Passchendale" live? It may never happen, so a souvenir like this is important to me. Shame it didn't happen with the Matter Of Life And Death tour -- they played the whole album live, but no live album followed. (Except Flight 666 which was actually from the Somewhere Back In Time tour, but I digress.)

Anyway, what I'm getting at is: If you don't want it, don't buy it. If you love Maiden, and if they never play these songs again, then why miss out? New fans would be better off picking up Live After Death, Rock In Rio or Flight 666 for a better overview of the whole Maiden shebang. For fans, this is solid gold.

Death On The Road, recorded in Germany 2003, has a good mix of newer "reunion" era Maiden with the classics. Yes, I could probably go the rest of my life without ever hearing another version of "Run To The Hills" or "Running Free", but it's a double CD and you may as well get the whole setlist. If Maiden didn't play those songs live, there would be riots. The real treats here are the Dance Of Death material, particularly the title track and "Passchendale", an epic of epics. "Journeyman" is a brave choice to play live as well, and it shines.

Another treat is more Blaze Bayley era material. From the Ed Hunter reunion tour to 2003, Bruce has sung Blaze material live. On various singles and live albums, you can find Bruce doing "Futureal", "Man On The Edge", "The Clansman" and "Sign Of The Cross". The fans begged him to do more, so here we have "Lord Of The Flies". And man, do these Blaze songs sound awesome with Bruce's pipes. The only thing is there seems to be this awkward time change partway through the song. It just doesn't sound right to me. Still, with Maiden's career now heading into its twilight years, I think it very unlikely we will ever hear Blaze era songs live again. I'm glad to have live versions of these tunes with Bruce at the mic.

Production by Kevin "Caveman" Shirley and Steve Harris is fine, but a little bit more dull than the stellar Rock In Rio CD. Cover art is a bit cheesy and I'm not too much into the choice of colours. The booklet, as always, is loaded with awesome live shots.

The single from this live album was "The Trooper" (a ferocious storming version). As with all Maiden singles, it is worth picking up due to the non-album live B-sides. These were recorded in Iceland, and there are some surprises here in some obscure Paul Di'Anno songs. "Prowler", "Another Life", and "Murders in the Rue Morgue" were all released on various analog and digital formats. These are all from the Eddie Rips Up the World Tour. There was also a great, very rare alternate non-album live take of "The Trooper" available only by paid download. Good luck finding that now, but isn't that half the fun of collecting?

4 stars. Not a good setlist for beginners. For fans only. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars We didn't need this one, did we?, March 15 2010
By 
Tommy Sixx Morais (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Death On The Road: Live 2003 (2CD) (Audio CD)
Death On The Road is Iron Maiden's 7th live album (count them :Live After Death, A Real Live One, A Real Dead One, Live At Donington, Rock In Rio, BBC Archives, that's six) and was recorded during the band's 2003-2004 world tour supporting the "Dance Of Death" (2003) album. It was recorded and filmed at Westenfalenhalle in Dortmund, Germany on November 24th 2003 and later released in 2005 on CD and in 2006 on DVD. The band had previously reunited with singer Bruce Dickinson and guitarist Adrian Smith, released the acclaimed "Brave New World" in 2000 and an excellent live album "Rock In Rio" in 2002.

There are 16 songs here of which 6 are from the Dance Of Death album, the rest is classic Maiden songs that were already on previous live album. Except "Lord of The Flies" and perhaps "Brave New World" from the previous album, I'd say that there are no surprises here at all. It's a really classic set list for the band with an emphasis on what was at the time their new album. The songs from DOD are just like the album superb, "Rainmaker", "No More Lies" and "Dance of Death" are the superior ones in my opinion they are very strong live songs and the reason to get the album if you ever do. The classics like "Hallowed Be Thy Name" and "Fear of The Dark" are here and are very good live versions but this doesn't justify another live album with the use of same songs again.

If you're reading this, you should know already that Maiden are an incredible band in the studio AND live. This live album was not really necessary for Iron Maiden who already a few released before this one but you should still check out the DVD version of the concert, they had quite a stage show and it's a very good concert. The fact is that this live album is not bad at all, it sounds great, is kind of what you would expect from Maiden and the Dance Of Death songs are great but this is perhaps one live album fans could have done without. Buy it for the DOD songs that are on it or buy another of the band's live albums, the rest has been heard before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST MAIDEN LIVE CD HANDS DOWN!, Aug. 9 2008
By 
G. Castonguay "Drummers Rule!" (Sherbrooke, QC CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death On The Road: Live 2003 (2CD) (Audio CD)
Every true Iron Maiden Collector knows that their studio albums are great but for some reason their live albums were attrocious: the music sounded like the band was on speed dial playing like chipmunks way to fast thus killing the songs or it was the sound quality that sounded like it had been recorded on an old, cheap cassette recorder, soooooo disappointing for such a great metal giant.(I know the Maiden die hards will want my head for this objectivity...tough!) But this CD buries all the previous live recordings a thousand feet deep. This live recording for Maiden does for them what Made In Japan and Made In Europe did for Deep Purple. The sound quality is exceptional, the tempo is right on the money, the guys are in top shape...simply the best! Rock On and keep 'em comin'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why Bother?, Oct. 17 2005
By 
Michael Beveridge (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death On The Road: Live 2003 (2CD) (Audio CD)
I lvoe Iron Maiden, one of my top favorite bands...
BUT
Lately, all they seem interested in doing is making more money by putting out YET ANOTHER live album. First off, I think the whole History of Part 1 is a rip off. You know there will be like another 3 DVDs at least.. Part 2, 3 and so on. Now this, a live album with another live DVD commin soon too.
I think all Iron Maiden is interested in these days is putting out stuff so no one forgets about them. thats it. the live album is great.... sounds just like Rock in Rio.. just with 3 or so new songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death On The Road:  Live 2003 (2CD)
Death On The Road: Live 2003 (2CD) by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews