Customer Reviews


487 Reviews
5 star:
 (395)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dude Abides
"Way out west there was this fella... fella I wanna tell ya about. Fella by the name of Jeff Lebowski."

Ahh, who am I kidding? If you're a fan, you don't need me to sell you on this DVD. Hence, I shall review this movie in two parts: For fans, and for non-fans. Dudes and Un-dudes.

FOR DUDES:

The new "bowling ball" edition of Lebowski...
Published on May 10 2010 by LeBrain

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hardly outstanding
O.K this is a pretty funny film, but why is it so damn popular?. It lacks the Coens' usual flair. The main reason being a completely motionless plot. Don't get me wrong some bits are laugh out loud funny but others get bogged down in a dumb storyline.It is a fine no-brainer comedy with a touch of the brothers quality, and some excellent characters, notably Jesus. But I...
Published on April 8 2001 by Mr X


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dude Abides, May 10 2010
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Big Lebowski (DVD)
"Way out west there was this fella... fella I wanna tell ya about. Fella by the name of Jeff Lebowski."

Ahh, who am I kidding? If you're a fan, you don't need me to sell you on this DVD. Hence, I shall review this movie in two parts: For fans, and for non-fans. Dudes and Un-dudes.

FOR DUDES:

The new "bowling ball" edition of Lebowski is awesome. Finally we're given the special features that we've been asking for, for years! No audio commentary track, but the Coens and the Dude himself will give you some insight to the film and its characters. After two disappointing editions, this is so overdue. Two discs, featurettes, that weird intro, Lebowskifest, an interactive map of Los Angeles, it's all here. Most of your questions will be answered, but of course not all...some mystery must always remain. Plus the bowling ball just looks cool. I have mine on my entertainment centre, and it's a conversation starter. "What is that bowling ball doing there?" It's sturdy and it houses the DVDs in two slip cases. Life does not stop and start at your convenience, so be sure to pick this up and enjoy when you can.

FOR UN-DUDES:

One important thing about this film that I must stress is, don't try to understand the plot at first. It's every bit as stupifying as anything you can think of. My feeling (and this is just my feeling) is that The Dude himself (Jeff Bridges) doesn't know what the heck is going on, so neither should you. The plot is not complicated, but your thinking about it might be very uptight. I don't nessesarily recommend that you stick to a strict drug regimen to keep you mind limber, but having a few white Russians might help.

The Dude is unemployed (or "a bum" to some) and spends most of his time having acid flashbacks and bowling with Walter (John Goodman) and Donny (Steve Buscemi). One day his home is broken into by two thugs looking for money. They have mistaken The Dude for a millionaire with the same given name: Jeff Lebowski. During this break-in, Wu micturates on The Dude's rug. That rug really tied the room together. Walter tells The Dude to try to take up the rug issue with the other Jeff Lebowski, the millionaire (David Huddleston). And then is where our tale begins.

An amazing soundtrack featuring Dylan, Santana, Costello, Sons of the Pioneers, and more backs a hilariously confusing movie about a guy in way over his head. There are a lot of facets, a lot of ins and outs, a lot of interested parties and strands to keep in Duder's head. Along the way you will meet The Stranger (Sam Elliot), Brant (Philip Seymore Hoffman), Bunny Lebowski (Tara Reid) and a group of nihilists lead by Peter Stormare. Things are complicated by the appearance of Maude Lebowski (Julianne Moore), a kidnapping, and a ransom note. Can The Dude recover the million dollars? All he wants is a finder's fee. Perferably in cash. He has to check with his accountant on this, but he's worried about being put in a higher tax, uhh, you know. All this with next round-robin of the bowling tournament starting. And The Jesus (John Turturro) is ready to take them down.

Brilliantly written, brilliantly directed, brilliantly performed. Yes, you will be confused on first watch, as it should be. By second, third, and fourth, those stands in Duder's head come together, supported by musical cues (listen for CCR), odd bits of dialogue ("Johnson") and clues. Every strand fits like a puzzle, you just need to look.

I can't recommend this movie enough. If you let it click, you too will become a Little Lebowski Urban Achiever, and perhaps even an obsessive fan, dressing up and going to conventions. You never know. At the very least you might just find a new enjoyment of white Russians. Just don't run out of non-dairy creamer. Is there a Ralph's around?

5 stars. Genius movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic film, but the Blu-ray presentation is merely adequate, Aug. 16 2011
By 
Steven Aldersley (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The Big Lebowski (Comedy, Crime)
Directed by Joel Coen and Ethan Coen
Starring Jeff Bridges, John Goodman and Steve Buscemi

Universal Studios | 1998 | 119 min | Rated R | Released Aug 16, 2011

Video:
Video codec: VC-1
Video resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 1.85:1

Audio:
English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1
French: DTS 5.1

Subtitles:
English SDH, French, Spanish

Disc:
Single 50GB Blu-ray Disc
Digital Copy
BD-Live

The Film 4/5

The Big Lebowski is essentially about mistaken identity if you care about the plot. Jeffrey Lebowski is known to his friends as The Dude (Bridges) and a gang of criminals pay him a visit thinking that he's another Lebowski who happens to be a millionaire. After they urinate on his rug, he seeks out the millionaire to claim compensation.

The millionaire's wife goes missing and the gang asks for a million dollars in ransom. The Dude is chosen as the courier.

That's about it. The plot is incidental; this is a movie about a way of life.

The Dude hangs out with two of his bowling buddies, Walter (Goodman) and Donny (Buscemi). Walter is a Vietnam veteran who has anger management issues; Donny hardly says a word and is told to shut up every time he tries to make a comment.

The Dude is a mellow kind of a guy. He shops in his robe, gets high, and talks like he's permanently stoned. Walter is a mystery to him because he is so easily annoyed. When a competing team puts a toe over the line during a bowling game, Walter pulls out a gun and insists that it is marked down as a zero. It's a league game after all.

The movie doesn't take itself too seriously and can be classed as a comedy more than anything, but the style of comedy may be different to the type you are used to. Many of the jokes are clever and subtle, and it's rare for the humor to be aimed too low.

Watching The Big Lebowski is an experience. You're never quite sure what it is or where it is going. The plot elements aren't very important, but everything adds up and provides a reason for the characters to do what they do. It's the sort of movie where nothing happens, but you find yourself thinking about it days later.

Fargo and No Country for Old Men are exceptional movies from the Coen Brothers, but many fans would argue that The Big Lebowski is better. I'm not among them, but it amuses me and I'm glad to finally own it on Blu-ray.

Video Quality 3.5/5
Although the Blu-ray is a vast upgrade over the DVD, I'm a little disappointed with the overall look. Colors are much improved and everything looks brighter and cleaner, but the VC-1 presentation could have been better. Fine detail is present in a few scenes, but is lacking for the most part. Faces in particular seem badly defined. It just about earns a passing grade, but don't expect to be dazzled.

Audio Quality 4.5/5
The English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 track sounds great. The songs carry a lot more weight than in previous releases. Dialogue is clear throughout and the predominantly front-heavy mix blends well with the action. No complaints about the sound.

Special Features 4/5

Worthy Adversaries: What's My Line Trivia - A game for one or two players in which you have to supply missing dialogue from The Dude and Walter.

An Exclusive Introduction (4:40, SD)

The Dude's Life (10:08, HD)

The Dude Abides: The Big Lebowski Ten Years Later (10:26, HD)

Making of The Big Lebowski (24:35, SD)

The Lebowski Fest: An Achiever's Story (13:53, SD)

Flying Carpets and Bowling Pin Dreams: The Dream Sequences of The Dude (4:20, HD)

Interactive Map

Jeff Bridges Photo Book (17:30, HD) - Bridges took shots while filming and explains them here.

Photo Gallery (3:25, SD)

U-Control: Three features with PiP, text and a profanity counter.
Scene Companion
The Music of The Big Lebowski
Mark It, Dude

28-page digibook

The Big Lebowski is a typically quirky effort from the Coen Brothers. While not their very best work, it deserves a place in your collection. Bridges and Goodman excel in their roles and hold the whole thing together. The Blu-ray presentation enhances the experience, but not quite as much as I had hoped. The packaging is good and there's plenty of behind the scenes information if The Big Lebowski is your kind of film.

Overall score 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, Oct. 20 2009
By 
Joost (Montreal, QC, Canada) - See all my reviews
A wonderful cult classic, full of witty dialogue and anecdotes that give the film a personality of its own. And the amazing thing about this film is that it manages to entertain even though it doesn`t really have a story. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hardly outstanding, April 8 2001
By 
Mr X (Nottingham U.K) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Big Lebowski, the (VHS Tape)
O.K this is a pretty funny film, but why is it so damn popular?. It lacks the Coens' usual flair. The main reason being a completely motionless plot. Don't get me wrong some bits are laugh out loud funny but others get bogged down in a dumb storyline.It is a fine no-brainer comedy with a touch of the brothers quality, and some excellent characters, notably Jesus. But I for one expect more invention from directors as clever as the Coens'. I would like to say yeah great film like I usually do. But this time I just can't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It wasn't properly advertised, it is in a European format and can only be played in European devices., Nov. 16 2013
By 
B. Kirby (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Big Lebowski (DVD)
It wasn't properly advertised, it is in a European format and can only be played in European devices. Solution to mail back to Europe wasn't feasible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ???, Jan. 21 2003
By 
"verona@hinet.net.au" (Wingello, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
I dont get why everyone loves this movie so much, it has some good moments but never really goes anywhere and it seems way too long (whether or not it is long doesnt matter, it felt like many many hours to me).
Alos whats up with that irritating cowboy? He should of been cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny but structurally weak, Nov. 1 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Big Lebowski, the (VHS Tape)
The acting is terrific, and the film has some extremely funny moments. (Jon Goodman's turn is hysterical). Overall , though, the film individual moments are stronger than the movie overall. The Coen's are emotionally distant filmmakers, and their style works better in their "serious" films like "Fargo" and "Blood Simple" and "Millers Crossing" {still their best, I believe} than in some of their comedy. On the whole, I don't think the film sucesully competes with "Raising Arizona" in terms of sustaning absurdist lunacy for the course of the film. Its much much better than the Hudsucker Proxy. Make no mistake, it is absolutely worth seeing, and probaly deserves more than one viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ., Nov. 22 1999
By A Customer
The Coen brothers are okay in my book, but I'm not crazy about this one. I strongly disagree that the dialogue is anywhere near as wonderful as it's been said to be. Since it's the Coen brothers it's a given that there are going to be some very clever and funny moments, but a great deal of the dialogue seems painfully forced and awkward, especially during the first half-hour or so. John Goodman is especially bad. I *like* John Goodman, and he was incredible in Barton Fink, but here, it just seems like he's trying too hard. During one of the opening scenes in the bowling alley, when Goodman's character is introduced, I felt like I was watching one of his not-so-funny Saturday Night Live skits, but with loads of profanity added in. And that's another thing ... the profanity. Now don't get me wrong, I have no problem with excessive profanity whatsoever in and of itself, but ... it just feels very forcefully inserted in this film. The style of the dialogue reminded me of Quentin Tarantino's, but ... in a really poorly done way. However, the film does have things going for it. The awkwardness of the script lessens as you get into the movie a bit, and there are some wonderful scenes. John Turturro is hilarious (and such a fine, fine actor!) The visual style is as rich as can be. The in-jokes and references are generally amusing, though they give the movie a self-indulged sort of feel. In any case, take it for what it's worth, but ... there are better films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars These are Nihilists, March 19 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Big Lebowski, the (VHS Tape)
The Coen's tackle Noir in Gulf War-era Los Angeles. It's certainly no Chinatown, and I'm sure James Ellroy probably disapproved, but The Big Lebowski is one charmer of a movie, excluding Jesus the Bowler. Highly underrated, apparently by fans of the Coen Brothers, and perhaps understandably so. John Goodman's acting is ever so forceful, Steve Buscemi's turn as the weak-hearted Donnie is rather limp, and there are too many unanswered questions. But these quirks go by mostly unnoticed, as the sheer novelty of the story and colourful cast of characters should charm the pants of those with a sense of humor - a questionable sense of humor, of course. The Big Lebowski earns the title of Semi-Great Flick, perhaps missing Great Flick status simply because of the power of the Coen's earlier work. It's not quite up there with other Coen classics like Barton Fink or The Hudsucker Proxy, but it's still an original slice of...well, pick your term. It's like a pie in the face: it tastes good, probably smells alright, but it tends to get annoyingly stuck in those hard to clean areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "The Dude", June 30 2014
such a funny movie to ad to my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big Lebowski (Widescreen Collector's Edition) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 6.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews