Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT---NEEDS TO BE RE-RELEASED
I would LOVE to have this movie on DVD, but it's out of print and now going for a princely sum on the secondary market. This great period piece of early 1960's nostalgia is one of the better ghost stories you will ever see.
It pops up occasionally on TV still. Lukas Haas plays a young boy...perhaps around 4th or 5th grade maybe, who gets locked in his schools cloak...
Published on Feb. 18 2004 by Tim Janson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Tonysoprano's movie review
Well to sum it up the movie could have been better. I think the script was well written by Frank LaLoggia, but poorly acted out by the actors. And of course I higher budget for the film wouldn't have hurt either. Poor special affects took away from some of the chilly and scary moments in the film. With better actors playing Luke Haas's brother and his, plus a slightly...
Published on Oct. 27 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT---NEEDS TO BE RE-RELEASED, Feb. 18 2004
This review is from: Lady in White (DVD)
I would LOVE to have this movie on DVD, but it's out of print and now going for a princely sum on the secondary market. This great period piece of early 1960's nostalgia is one of the better ghost stories you will ever see.
It pops up occasionally on TV still. Lukas Haas plays a young boy...perhaps around 4th or 5th grade maybe, who gets locked in his schools cloak room around Halloween. While locked inside he is terrified to see a spectral play acted out before him as a little girl is murdered by an unknown man.
The killer returns to the cloak room to look for something and finds Haas and tries to kill him as well. He's rescued but now he is haunted by the little girl who wants him to find her killer.
He receives messages from her typed out on his typewriter and the record player goes on by itself much to the terror of Haas. Then there is the mysterious Lady in White, living in the old, run down home who seems a ghost herself.
As Frankie (haas) and his older brother try and solve the mystery, somewhere the killer knows who he is and is waiting.
Wonderful piece. Great 1960's midwest nostalgia. Fantastic performances and a genuine feeling of dread make this a great ghost story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, March 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lady in White (DVD)
This movie is amazing in every way, has a bit of everything. It will keep you guessing, jumping and laughing a must see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FILM, May 24 2004
This review is from: Lady in White (DVD)
I REALLY LIKED THIS FILM I THINK ITS THE BEST HORROR MOVIE MADE, THE ONLY PROBLEM IS IT HASNT BEEN IN THE UK FOR A WHILE AND WOULD REALLY LIKE TO KNOW WHEN IT WILL COME THIS END AGAIN OR IF THERES ANY WEBSITES THAT I CAN BUY IT ON!!
pLEASE EMAIL ME ON FUNLOVIN_AMY@YAHOO.CO.UK IF YOU HAVE ANSWERS!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ghost story/murder mystery., Aug. 10 2002
By 
Kim F. (Goleta, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lady in White (DVD)
A young boy witnesses the ghostly reinactment of a murder then has a run-in with the murderer who almost kills him as well. His near-death experience seems to link him to the murder victim (a young girl) who asks him to help her find her mother.
As the story unfolds there are lots of little twists and turns before everything comes together at the end. There is suspense & mystery mixed in with everyday events. It is surprisingly well done. The only complaint I have is that there are parts of this film that are over the top but, overall, this is a well-done mystery/ghost story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly griping!, Dec 15 1998
By 
This review is from: Lady in White (DVD)
At first I expected a typical ghost story but was greatly impressed by the depth of the storyline and attention to character development. If you enjoy mysteries and the unknown this movie is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, March 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lady in White (DVD)
Very good quality, it was a favorite of mine when I was younger. Now I can enjoy it all over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Terrific Ghost Story, March 18 2004
By 
J. Reynolds (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lady in White (DVD)
I'm not the type who succumbs much to movie presentations -- but when I saw this in the theater during its first run, the scene in the cloak room literally caused chills. It's time for a re-release of the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for viewing for Halloween, Oct. 29 2003
By 
This review is from: Lady in White (DVD)
When thinking of my favourite Halloween films, this has to be at the top. It works on so many levels. A warm, loving, tale that just demands repeat viewing. Writer/director/musical composer/costar Frank LaLoggia did it his way and it's such a masterpiece. Ite shown as a flashback of Frankie's life, and the ghost he met as a child. When he was 9, he was accidentally locked in the cloakroom at school on Halloween night. There he comes face to face with the ghost of a little girl who was murdered. Later in the night, he is almost killed. The night changes his life.
He soon begins seeing the ghost, and later learns it was a little girl Melissa Montgomery who was murder years ago. Since that time more children have died. As he begins to solve the riddle of the murders, accusations falls to the janitor - a black man - a touch very reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird. Franklie suspects the accusations against the man were false, that it was someone else, someone very close to him responsible for the murders.
It's haunting, atmospheric, but also such a touching family drama, like the running battle Frankie's grandmother has trying to get her husband to stop smoking, and the closeness between Frankie and his brother.
Just a touching, brilliant movie that never loses its fascination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Ghost Story!!, Feb. 20 2003
By 
Lindsay (Lakeside, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lady in White (DVD)
I've loved this movie ...Something about it grabs your
attention. The small town, unsolved murder mysteries,and halloween. I guess that about says it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well done, Dec 5 2002
By 
Brian P. Kelley (Missoula, MT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lady in White (DVD)
A well written story of murder, ghosts and small towns. This movie didn't much attention upon release that remember, but my family watched it when it hit HBO or Showtime. We all loved it and quickly found a VHS copy to own. Upon seeing it released on DVD I snatched up a copy. The picture and sound are nicely restored. The extra scenes on the DVD are not neccesary, but are nice to see. Certainly worth the pickup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lady in White
The Lady in White by Frank LaLoggia (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 66.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews