Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars just as disturbing and creepy as the first,and a bit better (4.2/5)
for me,this updating of the original 1976 movie of the same name,is
just as good.obviously it's been changed somewhat,given the advances in
technology since 1979.however,it is no less scary.i also think that
Ryan Reynolds(George Luts)and Melissa George(Kathy Luts)were at least
as good as James Brolin and Margot Kidder,maybe a bit better.the...
Published on Feb. 3 2008 by falcon

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars No, No..they did it all wrong!!!
First of all, there was no need for a remake, but since everything in movies right now is about being lazy and not coming up with new ideas and just trying to find ways to make easy money fast, you get this film.
Since i was a little kid, i've read, watched and studied everything on the amityville house...and even though i don't believe that those things actually...
Published on Oct. 13 2005 by S. Vecera


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars just as disturbing and creepy as the first,and a bit better (4.2/5), Feb. 3 2008
This review is from: Amityville Horror (DVD)
for me,this updating of the original 1976 movie of the same name,is
just as good.obviously it's been changed somewhat,given the advances in
technology since 1979.however,it is no less scary.i also think that
Ryan Reynolds(George Luts)and Melissa George(Kathy Luts)were at least
as good as James Brolin and Margot Kidder,maybe a bit better.the
children were all acted well enough,but they didn't really stand out or
anything.this time Philip Baker Hall plays the Priest(played by Rod
Steiger in the original).i actually liked him in the role a bit more
job than Steiger.not to take anything away from Steiger.i had just as
many chills running down my spine this time,as in the original.there is
a bit of CG,but i don't think it detracts from the overall
effectiveness of the movie.i guess i actually liked this version a bit
better than the 1979 version,but that's just me.i give The Amityville
Horror(2005)a 4.2/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was pleasantly surprised!, April 23 2006
By 
E. L. LaBerge (Ottawa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amityville Horror (DVD)
Everyone I knew who had seen this movie said it was awful.. but then I watched it and actually liked it BETTER than the original movie. Not everyone thinks this movie is crap! I am a great fan of haunting-related horror movies, my favorites being the Exorcist, Blair Witch project, Ju-on, the Eye, the Ring (#1, #2 in my opinion was ridiculous), and other such flicks.
Pros:
It was well made, great graphics, great atmosphere, great emotional tangibility... I really enjoyed how they portrayed the evil in this movie. It's a clean looking movie, aesthetically pleasing, and just plain well done in post-production. The acting was good, believable, and I thought it was more organic than the original. Great direction.
Cons:
I was a little disappointed that they didn't have the creepy "Get Out" scene at the beginning of the book (in the movie) with the priest.. There are a few other scenes that could/should have made it into the new film, but I think it's good that they went a "different" route to distinguish the film from the original.
Overall, I say that you read the book first. It gives you insight into the matter, and helps you form your own opinion of the infamous haunting.
Like original Ju-On and the Grudge, the original Ringu and the Ring, the original Amityville horror movie and the New Amityville movie kind of "complete" one another. They explain things that the other doesn't, they go "places" that the other doesn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars " Not 100% True to the Story but a extremely effective Horror ", Aug. 7 2006
By 
K. A. Gillespie (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Amityville Horror (Full Screen Special Edition) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
Few horror films are true to the original story, because they need to grasp the audiences attention for two hours. Look at this film as strictly a haunted house story. If you enjoy this type of setting, you will not be dissapointed with the film.

The special effects of today outweigh the original in 1977. Best to enjoy this film in a dark room alone; or with the girlfriend / boyfriend close.

I've seen a fair amount of horror and spooky films over the last good 30 years. This film does rank with the best, such as the original Haunting back in 1965, (but much more frightening), and The Shining, although the Shining was shy of 3 hours and had more time to evolve.

Hat's off to the actors and producer that made a effective horror with less time. The film keeps you on the edge pretty well all the way through and does not lag. What I enjoyed was the effective chilling moments. Usually it was in the background and sometimes difficult to see if you don't quickly spot them. Critics of this film give it much less credit then due, and usually base it on the book.

Few will ever really know the Amityville stories truth. Aside; this remake of Amityville Horror deserves top marks for its chilling effects! In 10 or so years, this is destined to become one of those classic horrors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars No, No..they did it all wrong!!!, Oct. 13 2005
By 
S. Vecera "djsteviev@hotmail.com" (Montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amityville Horror (DVD)
First of all, there was no need for a remake, but since everything in movies right now is about being lazy and not coming up with new ideas and just trying to find ways to make easy money fast, you get this film.
Since i was a little kid, i've read, watched and studied everything on the amityville house...and even though i don't believe that those things actually happened, i still enjoy a good scare once and a while and ladies and gentleman, boys and girls, this movie doesn't have any.
First of all, what's with the change of the look of the house, the famous "eyes" of the house that are really on the side, now got transfered to the front, i guess it's easier to film that way but man does the house look ugly and may i add FAKE LOOKING too.
This movie that was supposed to be based on a "true story" ADDED some made-up stuff that the original movie never had, nor the book, and even the Real Lutz family said these things never happened (they actually tried to sue the filmakers of this 2005 version over these false accusations, if that's what you wanna call them) like the father making coffins for every member of the family, or killing their dog, and many more.
But forget all that, let's just say this was an ordinary horror film, why wasn't it good? Well, it wasn't scary or creepy, dragged on too long to get to the point, the acting was ok, but they still should've gotten an unknown to play George Lutz, "Van Wilder" Ryan Reynolds was too hard for me to take seriously.
This movie was made for the MTV crowd that never heard of this story or movie, and chances are, if your 21 or younger..this relates to you.
So watch it, but remember, 60% of that stuff you see in the film are all made up fiction and never happened.
Wanna be really scared, read the book, it's awesome and for more information on what really happened in that house and more, go check out the official website www.amityvillehorror.com .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Haunted House Movie... SCARY!, July 5 2010
By 
This review is from: Amityville Horror (DVD)
I saw the original Amityville Horror movie and was scared to death, so I wanted to see this remake, especially after learning that Michael Bay, producer of "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre" was producing it. He did a frightening job with that one.

This movie is based on the fact that a family of six was brutally murdered in a real house in Amityville, New York in 1974. It starts with an unsuspecting young couple and their children moving into the house which is now haunted by an evil, murderous presence intent on killing them.

I gripped the arms of my chair as I watched the couple struggle against pure evil for twenty-eight days of terror, complete with demonic visions of the dead, creepy photography, screams of terror... In other words, all the trappings of modern, high-tech visuals that go into producing a good horror movie. Another plus is that the actors were good and seemed well suited for their roles.

"The Amityville Horror" did what a horror movie is supposed to do: kept me gasping as I urged the people to escape from the house before it killed them.

Even though this is my favorite haunted house film, I give only four stars because it didn't frighten me as much as the original. Please consider that I was much younger then, so probably scared more easily. Also, since I had seen the first one I knew a little about what was coming. I recommend you to see it and judge for yourself.

Endnote: Shirley Jackson's "The Haunting of Hill House" is another spooky haunted-house horror.

Reviewed by Betty Dravis, July 5, 2010
Author of "Dream Reachers" (with Chase Von) and other books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another Bad Remake, Dec 12 2008
By 
Greg Curtis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amityville Horror (DVD)
The Amityville Horror is a remake of the 1979 film, in which a family is terrorized by demonic forces after moving into their dream home.

For the uninitiated, this true story began with a series of grisly murders on Long Island in 1974, when Ronald DeFeo shot all six members of his family to death as they slept. One year later, George and Kathy Lutz moved into the infamous house with their three children, but fled after only 28 days because of the strange goings-on. Their story was told in a best-selling 1977 book by Jay Anson, which led to the original film (starring James Brolin and Margot Kidder), a prequel and six sequels.

The first cinematic version, however, cut most of the book's scariest moments in order to obtain a PG rating. While the 1979 treatment was hardly a masterpiece, the 2005 attempt pales in comparison. Though it purports to stay faithful to the book, most of the original incidents have been replaced with what have quickly become standard elements in such contemporary films as The Ring and The Grudge. In fact, first-time director Andrew Douglas relies so heavily on mimicry of other films he shows no imagination of his own. Even the soundtrack is cliched, replacing the old version's chilling theme.

Canadian Ryan Reynolds stars as George Lutz; though his charm is undeniable, he suggests he is incapable of anything more than flexing his ripped physique. As he is slowly driven insane by the curse within the house, one fully expects him to burst through a door and exclaim, "Heeere's Johnny!"

The house we see bears little resemblance to the real one, save for the distinct quarter-round attic windows. While the events therein have proven to be an enduring tale, The Amityville Horror is an atmospheric film that is heavy on mood, but light on fright. Rating: 3 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2d75c9c)

This product

The Amityville Horror (Full Screen Special Edition) (Bilingual) [Import]
CDN$ 16.40 CDN$ 10.18
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews