Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Chris
Very happy with this product and its fast delivery. Hard to believe that he has been dead for so long. I have all Farley's stuff.
Published 8 months ago by Kirk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The best of the Farley/Spade films-3 1/2 stars.
Tommy Boy(released Mar/95),stars SNL actors David Spade and Chris Farley in their first and best movie together.Chris Farley is at least given somewhat of a decent plot to work with and,unlike Black Sheep,Spade wasn't comedically emasculated and his acerbic wit and sarcasm are left intact and make a good counterpoint to Farley's character of a man-child.
The plot...
Published on Oct. 10 2011 by Robert Badgley


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Chris, Aug. 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tommy Boy (DVD)
Very happy with this product and its fast delivery. Hard to believe that he has been dead for so long. I have all Farley's stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The best of the Farley/Spade films-3 1/2 stars., Oct. 10 2011
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tommy Boy (Holy Schnike Edition) (DVD)
Tommy Boy(released Mar/95),stars SNL actors David Spade and Chris Farley in their first and best movie together.Chris Farley is at least given somewhat of a decent plot to work with and,unlike Black Sheep,Spade wasn't comedically emasculated and his acerbic wit and sarcasm are left intact and make a good counterpoint to Farley's character of a man-child.
The plot involves the Callahan family.Tommy(Farley)graduates college,finally after seven years(!),and returns home to Sandusky to his father's car parts business.His father Tom Sr.(Brian Dennehy) welcomes the newly graduated Tommy home with open arms and gives him an office position right away.Tom Sr.has been widowed for some time and he decides to get married to one Beverley Burns(Bo Derek),who has a "son" Paul(Rob Lowe).At the wedding reception Tom Sr.takes a heart attack and passes away leaving the entire business to Beverley.But the business needs a loan it can't get and the only hope the firm has of staying afloat is for Tommy to hit the road to try and sell their new line of quality brake pads.With the aid of Tom Sr.'s former assistant Richard(Spade)they travel the open roads but get no where fast,due to Tommy's inexperience and Richards lack of delivery.Finally through perseverance the pair come up with a winning strategy and the orders start coming in.Eventually they compile enough to virtually save the company.
Things are looking good for Callahan auto parts but a wrench is thrown into things in the form of Beverley's son Paul.He changes the computer records and out going shipments get all fouled up and the customers are cancelling orders.In the meantime both Richard and the former receiver/shipper have seen Paul and Beverley kissing in a very non-motherly/son way.It is found out they are husband and wife.Into the mix comes Ray Zalinsky(Dan Akroyd),the auto parts "king" out of Chicago,who offers to buy up Callahan.At the takeover board meeting Tommy and Richard come in in a very unconventional manner and force Ray to listen to what's been going on;such as the changing of their records and the fact Beverley is married to Paul which makes the marriage to Tommy's father illegal.Callahan's actually belongs to Tommy now and he isn't selling it to Ray.But he does manage to finagle an order for an astounding 500,000 brake pads out of him.The company is saved.
The film has lots of Farley-esque touches like his "holy schnike" line(pronounced like Nike,the shoe),his "for the love of Gawwwd" line,his hyperactive gesturing and his getting so mad it looks like every blood vessel in his body will burst.Spade of course is in fine form with his dry humour and rolling but slit eyes at Farley's faux pauxs.The story is one you can get behind even though it's as see through as tissue paper.There are some laughable moments here and there like the deer in the car and the slow but steady trashing of Spade's 60s car/baby.Michaels,the creator of SNL,goes back to his old stomping grounds and filmed this one in and around the Toronto area.The Gooderham and Worts Distillery there is the home of Callahan's auto parts.
Technically this film looks good and is clear and crisp.It is in its w/s a/r and there are two DVDs.Extras include:four featurettes,6 deleted scenes,8 alternate takes,15 extended scenes,a gag reel,the trailer and more.
All in all a reasonably good film from the Farley/Spade duo.The plot is simple but the stars make the most of their screen time.Brian Dennehy is very good as Tommy Sr. and Dan Ackroyd makes a nice surprise visit as Ray the auto parts king.For fans of this film,this edition is certainly all the schnike you can get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars High Five, here's another one!, July 13 2004
By 
Michael Roffman "pinball wizard" (Haddonfield, Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tommy Boy (Widescreen) (DVD)
Amongst the classics of 90's comedy arrive Wayne's World, P.C.U., Billy Madison, Happy Gilmore...and of course, Tommy Boy. Where would the world of comedy be, without this movie? Well, it'd be a notch down as far as range goes, but other than that, it'd just be missing a great film.
Coming home, fresh, actually well done, from college, Tommy Callahan arrives to his hometown to find everything...the same. His father owns the big ol' auto business and everyone's great, until his father dies. With the town leaping on Tommy's back for safety of their jobs, he must take it to the streets and save the business and become the salesman he was meant to be. This would be a great drama film, but it's a Farley comedy, so expect one wild ride.
The film takes a dive into some of the greatest and most memorable scenarios. From Tommy slamming into doors, burning models, and ruinings cars to the memorable lines and bickering between he and fellow co-star, David Spade. The film also has a fine supporting cast, from Dan Ackroyd, Brian Dennehy, and even Rob Lowe as the antagonist.
I could sit here and point out my favorite scenes, but what good does that do. Anyone knows any impersonation or recreation cannot even equal the amount of good fortune one will have when watching the film, for the first time. All I can say is, this is a fine film. This is comedy when it was still important to introduce bold characters, great storyline, and even some drama to tie in emotional aspects. If it were up to me, this film would be sitting on AFI's shelves. But, it's not...so take my word.
You can get a good look at a bull's---
No wait...
It's your buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Most underated comedy of 90's, June 24 2004
By 
D. Marcoot (Baltimore, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tommy Boy (Widescreen) (DVD)
I love this film. it ishould be a classic. Too bad farley died so young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funniest movie, June 20 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Tommy Boy (Widescreen) (DVD)
I remember when I first saw this movie I laughed my butt off.
And now 9yrs later I still laugh whenever I watch the movie.
I especially love the part when tommy Goes Cow tipping w/ his new step brother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Follow up to Black Sheep, April 16 2004
By 
Chris (St.Louis,MO) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tommy Boy (Widescreen) (DVD)
This was a movie with Farley and Spade with Brian Denehy and the legend Dan Ackroyd as the big bussiness.This is a good movie
not as good as Black Sheep and its Adam Sandler similar movie
Billy Madison but is deffinantly a good movie for all.
Story 10 Acting 9 Direction 9 Action 8 Entertainment 9
Overall= 45/90 wich is good for 4.5 stars album give 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FARLEY WAS ONE OF THE BEST, March 7 2004
By 
This review is from: Tommy Boy (Widescreen) (DVD)
I saw Tommy Boy in the theater the day it came out!I loved it.
I thought it would do for Chris's career what"Ace Ventura" did for Jim Carey's career.Unfortunately that wasn't the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Chris Farley and David Spade. . .can you imagine?, Feb. 25 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Tommy Boy (VHS Tape)
This is a movie that just cranks up one laugh after another. When you take an overweight, hysterical, crazy, out-of-your mind party animal person such as Chris Farley and put him next to the cynical, laid back, smug little character of David Spade, and you're in for a good time. This movie makes me laugh harder every time I watch it, discovering new little funny things that I never even noticed before!
Thumbs up for Chris Farley's acting - it takes a skilled person nontheless to portray someone like this. And David Spade plays his roll exceptionally well, too. Chris Farley's character is funny just because of WHO he is. David Spade is funny because of WHO Chris is, too. It's a pretty funny combo.
Chris Farley's character is the dopey yet loveable Tommy Callahan, a recent college grad. who has just come off seven years in school. ("A lot of people go to college for seven years," he says. "I know," David Spade replies. "They're called doctors.") His father is the owner of Callahan Auto Parts, which is a top seller of brakpads.
And when his father remarries, and Tommy finds out that she has a son (his new brother that he never had!), his life seems like it couldn't get any better. But when his father suddenly dies after the wedding ceremony, and the company is in jeaporday, Tommy himself must go out and sell brake pads to save the company, with poor Richard (Spade's character) at his side. Believe me, this would have been a lame plot had it not been a comedy. But it works very nicely for this movie.
There are several innapropiate scenes with women, such as when Tommy first meets his future step-mother (Bo Derek - get the picture?), and when Richard sees a woman skinny-dipping in a pool. And there's some innapropiate jokes along the way, so this movie probably wouldn't be very good for kids. But for preteens and up, this is a fun comedy that's sure to make you wet your pants, at least!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Histarical but still................., Feb. 16 2004
By 
newfound32 (los angeles ca) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tommy Boy (Widescreen) (DVD)
No ... special features, what the [heck] dude. This movie is so hilarious but then again....you know. Fat guy in little coat, now thats a truely number 1 hit single. This movie is so hilarious. It is sad,funny,smart and just plain tommy boy. Im serious this movie I cant really even say it in words its just plain hilarious. The cow tipping part. That was so great, that reminds me of my old days in the 70's. The 1870's that is we use to ride horses instead of this new invention called bikes.
Horses are better. You go to get this dude...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fat Guy, Feb. 15 2004
By 
"iz1312" (Fishers, IN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tommy Boy (Widescreen) (DVD)
This movie is hilarious Chris Farley is so funny I laughed so hard i cried
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa82140d8)

This product

Tommy Boy (Holy Schnike Edition)
Used & New from: CDN$ 2.37
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews