Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who are the Warriors ? I want all the Warriors !
Walter Hill ( 48 hrs, Hard Times ) shows his directing flair for action, drama and style in this crackling 1979 movie about a Coney Island gang falsely accused of murder and fleeing from their accusers....including the other NYC gangs and the New York City Police Department.
Hill successfully adapted the moderately popular novel by author Sol Yurick who worked with...
Published on Oct. 17 2000 by P. Ferrigno

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Comic-Book Style Movie
"The Warriors" isn't really as much a street/urban/trash of the streets drama as some of its critics and preceeded reputation have put it. It is, however, a good watch.
The plot basically is a survive-the-night story: the Warriors, far from their homes in Coney Island, are framed for the murder of a powerful gang lord and are hunted by every gang and cop in the city...
Published on Oct. 7 2003 by TrezKu13


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who are the Warriors ? I want all the Warriors !, Oct. 17 2000
By 
P. Ferrigno "firehouse444" (Melbourne, Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Warriors, the (VHS Tape)
Walter Hill ( 48 hrs, Hard Times ) shows his directing flair for action, drama and style in this crackling 1979 movie about a Coney Island gang falsely accused of murder and fleeing from their accusers....including the other NYC gangs and the New York City Police Department.
Hill successfully adapted the moderately popular novel by author Sol Yurick who worked with the NYC Dept of Welfare in the 1950's. Yurick used the basis of ancient Greek history and the torturous trek home by Greek soldiers after their leader , Cyrus the Younger, was killed in the Persian Wars...and simply updated the setting to modern day NY and it's raging gang warfare embracing the five boroughs !
Set amongst a hostile, nocturnal world of neon lit train stations, baseball bat wielding gang members and lethal, gun toting women "The Warriors" moves along at a frenetic pace with a fine selection of young actors taking the lead. Michael Beck plays the cool headed, "war chief" Swan, seeking to get the other members back home to Coney Island alive and in one piece. James Remar is unforgettable as the woman chasing, hot headed Ajax...always out to prove his manhood with his fists. And David Patrick Kelly is perfect as the murderous, but ultimately cowardly leader of the Rogues.
Attending a combined gangs meeting deep in the South Bronx to hear the Gramercy Riffs plans to control the streets of New York, the Warriors are wrongly accused of the shooting death of their charismatic leader, Cyrus. The finger of blame pointed their way, they flee via any means they can and upon their way back to home base encounter violent opposition from the low life Orphans, the shaven headed Turnbull AC's, the face painted Baseball Furies, the seductive all female gang, the Lizzies and even rifts within their own ranks lead to trouble.
The film was roundly savaged by several sections of the community (mainly law enforcement & welfare groups) upon it's release for apparently inciting gang violence and it's poor depiction of inner city street kids, and yes, there were several nasty incidents at theatre's upon the film's release, but these have been blown well out of all proportion. Although, I must say when the film was released in my country (Australia) it was already riding a wave of notoriety, and attracted "bad boys" in their droves to watch this "infamous" gang flick. When viewed in the cold light of day, the film is actually fairly cartoon like in it;s depiction of urban violence and most anyone who cop's a hiding seems to be left just rubbing his head and moaning (a la Daffy Duck) in discomfort !
Interestingly, out of a on screen line up of strong young talent, very few of the cast went on to any sort of fame & fortune in Hollywood. James Remar has had the most success (with about 70 movies under his belt ) and has continued his motif of tough, aggressive leads in films like "48 Hrs", and plenty of "straight to video" action fare...plus he even crops up regularly on "Sex and the City" & "Third Watch" re-runs ! It's good to see that hard hitting Ajax never left New York ! Actor Marcellino Sanchez who played graffiti artist "Rembrandt" died from cancer only a few years after the films release, and David Patrick Kelly has continued in roles as evil, criminal types...see him in "Commando", "The Crow" & "Wild at Heart" !
I think "The Warriors" occupies quite a sentimental place in my film heart, as I was in my late teens, and hanging around with a group of testosterone filled guys when this film came out, and could somewhat identify with these on screen tough guys and their night time exploits...but I'm much more civilised now !
A colorful, exciting and fast paced film...albeit corny in places with that silly love story sub plot with bee stung lipped, Deborah Van Valkenbergh...it is one of the better made and better remembered teen gang movies !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The features made it worth the wait!!, Oct. 7 2005
By 
Chris J. Perrin "Chris" (Nova Scotia, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Warriors (Ultimate Director's Cut) (DVD)
One of the common complaints about the original dvd release of The Warriors was always about the lack of features, mono sound and the overall presentation of such a cult classic. Paramount obviously listened and convinced Walter Hill to re-visit the film. The results are very nice. Not only, has the picture been remastered (much sharper than the previous) but the audio has been upgraded to DD 5.1 (really nice range from high to low). Four featurettes tell The Warriors story from the beginning to how the film became a surprise success. Too bad they couldn't track a lot more of the cast for interviews but the main ones are there (Swan, Ajax, Mercy and of course, Luther). I'm not going to spoil how the film has been modified but it definitely gives it a different feel and I enjoyed it. I first saw The Warriors when I was 12 and I've watched it numerous times over the years and the film never feels dated because Hill's vision had a very futuristic element to it and it still holds that magic even to this day. Buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish cult classic, June 20 2004
By 
Jeffrey Leach (Omaha, NE USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Warriors (Widescreen) (DVD)
It is difficult to take Walter Hill's 1979 classic "The Warriors" seriously today. Ostensibly a picture about various street gangs in New York City, the movie paints a rather quaint, almost cartoonish portrait of crime in the Big Apple. I knew from the start the movie wasn't going to give us a gritty interpretation of the thug lifestyle. Why? A gang traveling to a big summit in the Bronx takes time out of their busy schedule to purchase and then feed subway tokens into the turnstile so all the members can board the train. How's that for a big, bad group of street goons? I imagine now that a gang doing this would be marked for extermination just on the principle of the thing. Still, that doesn't mean "The Warriors" isn't entertaining; it is, massively so. It's so entertaining, and made such a big splash at the time, that Italian filmmakers began ripping it off in their low budget films. "The Bronx Warriors," for example, contains several scenes obviously lifted from this movie. The only difference is that Hill's movie manages to work despite its flaws while the Italian effort looks unconvincingly cheesy. Whatever your take on this movie, we must admit it has been influential.
The plot is simplicity itself. A gang from Coney Island called the Warriors gets an invite to attend a massive rally twenty-seven miles away. All the big gangs in the city will be there, including the Riffs, the most powerful band of street thugs in New York. The leader of the Riffs, Cyrus, plans to consolidate the various crews of street criminals under his benevolent rule. Through a mix of charisma and charged oratory-lots of "can you dig it" thrown around for the benefit of the goons-Cyrus brings the crowd to its feet. Unfortunately for him and for the Warriors, Luther (David Patrick Kelly), with his gang called the Rogues, assassinates Cyrus in the middle of his speech. In the resulting chaos the Warriors take the blame for the murder. Even worse, the leader of the Warriors, Cleon (Dorsey Wright) falls in the resulting melee. The rest of the Warriors make a run for it, now with Swan (Michael Beck) leading the gang. Every street thug in the city wants a piece of the Warriors, especially the Riffs. Swan and his crew must make it back to Coney Island before falling prey to the Turnbull AC's, the Lizzies, the Orphans, the Baseball Furies, the Boppers, the Rogues, and a hundred other gangs big and small. Too, the men in blue wish to ask the Warriors a few questions about Cyrus's sudden demise.
The rest of the film recounts the Warriors' journey home. Their efforts center on the subway, but everyone else knows this is the method the hunted crew will take. Every time the Warriors finally get on a train, some incident arises that stops them cold. A fire on the track forces the crew to make their way to the next train on foot, opening them up to the murderous retribution of the other gangs. In one neighborhood, our heroes run up against a "minor league" gang called the Orphans and a mouthy harridan named Mercy (Deborah Van Valkenburgh), and must battle their way free. An encounter with the cops at the subway forces the Warriors to split up. Eventually, a few of the members fall prey to other gangs, to the police, or narrowly escape doom at the hands of knife and gun wielding women. As if things couldn't get worse, a radio disc jockey (Lynne Thigpen) sends out artfully coded messages about the location of the Warriors, thereby urging other thugs to join in the free for all. Will the surviving members of the Warriors get home in the end? And will it really matter if they do?
Xenophon's "Anabasis," the tale of a band of Greeks caught behind Persian lines that had to battle their way back home, forms the basis of Hill's "The Warriors." Everything from naming the king of the gangs Cyrus to the final showdown on the beach comes right out of this ancient Greek text. Most viewers won't know this of course (I didn't at first; I read it somewhere), but would be content to merely sit back and watch the antics unfold. You've got gang members dressed like baseball players with painted faces swinging bats in a park, the leader of the Orphans looks like Eric Bogosian with a hangover, and plot holes run through this movie like subway tunnels. The flaws in "The Warriors" are epic in scope. Why, for instance, doesn't the gang simply take a cab or steal a car and get home in a hurry? Are we to assume that a street gang has no money to hire a driver or the ability to hotwire an automobile? Some hoods these guys are! Too, I always thought New York City is the town that never sleeps. Well, the denizens of the Big Apple snoozed the night away when this film was made. No one appears on the streets, no cars drive by, and no one comes out of their apartment buildings to see what's going on. And if the police are so interested in stopping the Warriors, why not just stop the trains from running? It's to the film's credit that despite myriad plot problems, "The Warriors" still works.
The DVD's picture transfer looks great. Unfortunately, it is a Paramount release with only a trailer as an extra. That's right; no commentary, interviews, behind the scenes fun, or anything else diehard fans would like to see. While I can't say this is my favorite movie, many people swear by it. It's another example of the larger problem with Paramount's DVD department. "The Warriors," despite Paramount's lack of attention, is a must have for fans of cult classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Why yes, I can really dig it!, May 29 2004
This review is from: The Warriors (Widescreen) (DVD)
It's hard to imagine it now but when The Warriors first came out in '79 it was hugely controversial. Some theaters refused to show the movie because they feared arson and gang activity. Others were afraid that it might give disaffected teens crazy ideas but the word of mouth on the movie was so strong people just had to see it.
Okay, it's got some flaws. Most gangs weren't muliracial back then and they certainly aren't now. NYC is a tough town but even back in the 70s it wasn't the absolute hell hole depicted in the movie and since when do gangs get their marching orders from thelocal radio stations?
Those are just tiny quibbles. Sit back and enjoy. Michael Beck played the role of his career as Swan, the leader of the Warriors a small Coney Island gang who head way up town to attend the city's biggest gang summit. Cyrus (Can you dig it?) wants to put aside petty differences and form one big super gang but he's cut down but a vicious and annoying little weasel who blames Swan's gang for the killing. The rest of the movie has the Warriors trying to get home. They run for their lives through what looks like miles of empty(!) New York streets pursued by every gang, large, small and minor league in town.
At one point the trip started reminding me of Odyseus coming home from Troy. They run into one danger after another including two traps in the forms of females. Ajax, like the Greek fighter from Troy is strong, brave but dumber than a box of rocks and he blunders into one of the biggest surprises of the night. Other members of the group run into a group of cute girls and go merrily to a party that almost turns out the be their last and Swan, like Odyseus ends up with his own version of the ever faithful Penelope.
I was 10 when I saw the Warriors and came away with a couple of useful tidbits :
1. Don't take the subway. There's a war zone down there.
2. If you see a guy in a heavy makeup and a baseball uniform at midnight, run for your life.
3. Listen to the radio. They might be talking about you.
4. On big gang movement nights the citizens of New York go to bed early and don't come out again until the next morning to clean up the bodies.
5. That red spot in the sand really is blood.
The Warriors is funny, a little sad and still after all these years it's the movie equivalent of an amusement park ride. It's not War & Peace but it is a cult classic and once you watch it if you have any kind of sense of humor you'll really dig it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Cult Classic Supreme !, May 9 2004
This review is from: The Warriors (Widescreen) (DVD)
One of the most horrifying experiences I've ever had in my life was playing the English langauge version of this DVD at my club in TOKYO and suddenly a bunch of customers doing the WARRIORS... COME OUT AND PLAY-AYYYYYY... WAHHHHHHHRIORS... COME OUT AND PLAY-AYYYYYYY... thing, even with the bottles... in Japanese... aside from being strange though it made one thing clear... Even in Japan, where action type films and animation are taken very seriously, THE WARRIORS is considered a classic... Though its true that the DVD lacks many extras (*commentary would have been great, or even alt takes, deleted scenes, making of info, or even the news reports about the "riots" and controversy the film ignited) the fact that you can actually watch your favorite scenes at the flick of a button even without many extras, makes the Dvd well worth the purchase... (*Can youuuuuuuuu dig it !) - - Though I'm still disappointed that dispite all the ridiculous gang get ups and uniforms they didn't have a gang dressed up like Orthodox Jewish Rabbis or Ballerinas... The Riffs, Lizzies and Turnball ACs more than made up for it... not to mention the rockin' soundtrack.
The Warriors is more than just a film... like THE WALL and ROCKY HORROR its just one of those late night films you watch with your buddies over... and over... and over... and over again... (or even annoy them by quoting from whenever the opportunity arrives...)
If you dig this film, keep your fingers crossed and pray that the late 70's (or was it early 80's) NYC gang documentary "120(?) Blocks from Tiffany's" eventually makes it back to print !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars .....awesome!, May 8 2004
By 
Max "Max" (Union Square, Manhattan, New York, NY, USA, North America) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Warriors (Widescreen) (DVD)
Picture this: West Side Story - Leonard Bernstein and Stephen Sondheim - Dancing - Singing + Gangs who look cool + actual fighting. Thats....sorta the warriors. also take out Shakespeare. There you go.
The Warriors finds a gang attempting to get across 27 miles of enemy gang territory until they reach their home of beautiful Coney Island.
Also, every other gang in New York is on their tale (having been set up for murdering the leader of a conference trying to establish peace, so the gangs can overtake the cops, and rule the city - don't worry, this is all during the opening credits).
Considering how different each gang had to be, the director just went nuts. My personal favorite is the "Baseball Furies" (think of the Yankees + Kiss).
And while it is actually filmed in New York, it isn't 100% geographically accurate (the 72nd st 1/2/3/9 line is used as 96th st - but it comes pretty close. Union Square actually is Union Square (he's running up the steps of the 4/5/6 platform - I should know, I live there....no, not on the tracks)
All in all, this movie is awesome and cool. Very cool.
CAN YOU DIG IT?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best gang flick ever., April 4 2004
By 
JimjamKrotz (San Marcos, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Warriors, the (VHS Tape)
OK suckahs, it goes down like this. This flick has it all goin' on. See there's this dude, calls himself Cyrus, who get all the big gangs of NYC to send a group of nine soldiers each to a big powow in Central Park. See, Cyrus thinks that if the gangs all band together, they can form a SuperGang and take over the whole city. Cyrus has the chops, but one crazy dude, Luther (played by David Patrick Kelley, a familiar heavy if you like this kind of flick) shoots him. Dead, can you dig it?
Then chaos erupts and during it all, Luther spots one of the Warriors and screams out it was the Warriors who japped Cyrus. This leads to the meat of the flick which involves the Warriors trying to make it back to Coney Island, their home turf, alive.
Michael Beck, in what arguably was his only intelligent decision in his acting career (Megaforce, Xanadu) plays Swan, the sudden leader after The Warriors' warlord goes down in the park. James Remar, who has become a familiar face over the years plays Ajax, a single-minded lackey to Beck. One of the best scenes in the movie, IMO, is when Ajax gets his due.
The other gangs are a mix of believable gangs and some gangs who like that stepped off of a chorus line in some Broadway gig. I refer here to the Baseball Furies, who wear white pasty make-up and Yankee threads. The climax of the movie is worth the wait. Jimjam sez check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LIGHTEN UP AJAX SWAN'S LEADER !, March 26 2004
By 
The Critic "Movie Maniac" (Windsor, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Warriors (Ultimate Director's Cut) (DVD)
The Riffs, the Turnbull AC's, the Furies, the Rogues, the Warriors; tonight the armies of the night will collide. I still feel a rush of adrenaline run through me the moment the Warriors logo appears on screen and the music starts.

This sleeper hit from 1979 directed by Walter Hill created quite a controversy at its time of release causing tension between police and local street gangs. For me the Warriors is filled with great action and memorable dialogue. It's too bad that some of the original opening scenes on the Warriors turf at Coney Island are still missing even in this new Director's Cut DVD version.

For this special Director's cut DVD the picture has been remastered, it's crystal clear and the newly upgraded sound is a definite improvement over the previous DVD release. Given its memorable soundtrack it should have always been in 5.1 Dolby Digital. In my opinion the new 5.1 soundtrack definitely enhances the fight and chase scenes as well as the overall mood of the film. To this day my favorite scenes are still the chase with the Turnbull AC's and the memorable fight with the Baseball Furies, these guys were very menacing looking and they swung a mean piece of lumber.

It appears that Paramount Studios finally convinced Walter Hill to revisit his work and make some needed upgrades for the fans. The Director's Cut now contains an introduction by Walter Hill and some extra frames giving the movie a comic book feel in certain scenes. The special features this time around include four short documentaries; basically one documentary broken into four parts. Also included are interviews with Director Walter Hill, actors Michael Beck, James Remar, David Patrick Kelly, and Deborah Van Valkenburgh.

The DVD also includes some great comments of how the movie evolved during filming by many of the people associated with the film. After 29 years of repeated viewing this movie is still a classic for me and worthy of a place in my DVD collection. I've never seen another gang film like the Warriors and I give it 5 stars for pure action and entertainment. You "Warriors" Are Good, Real Good!

DVD Special Features:
Widescreen Version
Enhanced for 16:9 TVs
Dolby Digital: English 5.1
English 2.0
Subtitles
Introduction by Walter Hill
4 Featurettes:
The Beginning, Battleground, The Phenomenon, Original Theatrical Trailer

The Warriors:
Michael Beck.... Swan
James Remar.... Ajax
Dorsey Wright.... Cleon
Brian Tyler.... Snow
David Harris.... Cochise
Tom McKitterick.... Cowboy
Marcelino Sánchez.... Rembrandt
Terry Michos.... Vermin
Thomas G. Waites.... Fox
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars When We See The Ocean We Figure We're Home, Feb. 5 2004
By 
Richard Ballard "rjballard" (Saint Louis, Missouri USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Warriors, the (VHS Tape)
"The Warriors" starring Michael Beck is a street gang version of a Navy shore leave gone horribly wrong. The Warriors are a nine-member Coney Island street gang that take the train to the Bronx under a flag of truce. They are attending a New York Citywide gang powwow -- their first trip out of Coney Island. Cyrus, the largest NYC gang's leader, is assassinated at the powwow and the assassins blame the Warriors. The Warriors must fight their way back to Coney Island chased by the New York City Police and every other New York City street gang.
"The Warriors" is a testosterone-filled cult film that concentrates on the gang members' return odyssey. The Warriors are unarmed and outnumbered, and everybody wants to play -- fists, chains, clubs, knives and guns. The Warriors' caution is tempered by the exhilaration of new places -- exhilaration that brings additional trouble.
Citywide street gang unity is an interesting and significant film theme ("An American Mogadishu"?). This 1979 film features street gang coordination over a gang-run FM broadcast radio station. Speculating how today's street gangs use Internet-accessible text-enabled cellular telephones and Internet chat rooms is interesting.
IMO "The Warriors" is a heroic epic film. And IMO "The Warriors" is less violent than traditional Western or war films, "Buffy The Vampire Slayer" or other common 21st Century television fare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Comic-Book Style Movie, Oct. 7 2003
By 
This review is from: The Warriors (Widescreen) (DVD)
"The Warriors" isn't really as much a street/urban/trash of the streets drama as some of its critics and preceeded reputation have put it. It is, however, a good watch.
The plot basically is a survive-the-night story: the Warriors, far from their homes in Coney Island, are framed for the murder of a powerful gang lord and are hunted by every gang and cop in the city. If you're expecting the Bloods and the Crypts to come out in their colorful attire and start shooting up the scene, guess again. The gangs in "The Warriors" consist of clowns with baseball bats, 30 year old men in toddler outfits, and raging packs of mimes. And I didn't make any of that up. However, I always took that cartoony aspect of the film as some thing of a spoof for real life gangs, inadvertingly making fun of groups like the Bloods and the Crypts without saying any names.
As a survive-the-night-story, it comes out good, and definately has some exciting action and some characters or dialogue you may never forget (whether you want to or not). I own a copy of this film, although having read some of the past reviews I wish I had waited for another DVD with deleted scenes...however I still enjoy the film as it is, and it is definately just a film to watch and have fun.
I would also like to thank David Patrick Kelly for this line, which is edged in my brain for all eternity:
"Warriors...come out to PLAAAAAY~AAAAAAAAY!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Warriors (Ultimate Director's Cut)
The Warriors (Ultimate Director's Cut) by James Remar, Dorsey Wright, Brian Tyler, David Harris, Michael Beck (DVD)
CDN$ 29.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews