summer boutiques-francophones Learn more snsflyout Home All-New Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars253
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 7, 2003
"The Emperor's New Groove" is a unique film in the vaults at Disney. It plays with the audience instead of in front of the audience, and the burning sarcasm of the emperor's character isn't found in any other Disney flick. Unfortunately, this movie seems to be cursed by the idea that any Disney movie has to be done on a grand scale and end with some great moral truth. Why can't a Disney movie just be fun?
"The Emperor's New Groove" doesn't seem to draw as much attention as other Disney fare. It just kind of quietly appeared and then went away. That's a shame. It got the same treatment from Disney that a lot of their direct-to-video/DVD movies received. At least "Hercules" got headlines for its bad, although undeserved, reviews. "Hercules" has always been erroneously treated like a red-headed stepchild compared to other Disney movies, "The Emperor's New Groove" is treated like an abortion. You rarely here anything about this film. Like "Hercules," it doesn't fit the bill as a standard Disney movie. It doesn't try to force it's morals upon you, and you won't be enlightened by any of the dialogue, but you will laugh. Kids will love it for the emperor-turned-llama silliness and adults will love it for the relationship between Spade and John Goodman. Eartha Kitt is glorious as Yzma, the villain in this tale. Patrick Warburton is perfect as Kronk, her sidekick.
Spade talks directly to the viewer as he narrates his tale, and makes sure throughout that you know the story is about him, and no one else. There is also a lot of adult humor in the film as well, much like in "Hercules."
So, this movie is a fun-time film. You won't be sorry to watch it, and your kids will love it as well. They may not be drawn to the characters as much as they would to a Belle, Snow White, or Simba, but they will enjoy this story. So will you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2003
The Emperor's New Groove is a hilarious tale of a spoiled Emperor by the name of Kuzco, who fires his long-time advisor, Yzma ("living proof dinosaurs once roamed the earth" says Kuzco in the introduction), who, angered by the disrespect, plots to kill Kuzco and take over the emperor, with her dimwitted sidekic, Kronk. Fortunately for Kuzco, through a mix-up, Kuzco is turned into a Llama instead, and his only chance at survival is a kindly peasant, Pacha, whom Kuzco had just days earlier told that his house was going to be destroyed to make way for Kuzco's summer house.
Madcap adventure ensues, completely differing from Disney's usual style, making this my favortie animated feature of all time.
The voice acting is perfect--Eartha Kitt and David Spade really shine in their roles... really getting into the character, and breathing life and hilarity into them. Patrick Warbutton's character, Kronk, is an absolute scene-stealer, and has many funny moments.
I hgihly reccomend this movie to... well, ANYONE! If you haven't seen it already, you must listen to what you have been hearing about it, and rent it! Or, better yet, buy it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2003
This is my second favorite Disney movie (Aladdin is my first). What I like about this movie has mostly to do with the slapstick comedy. Not too many Disney animated movies have this much slapstick in it. Even my (soon-to-be) two year old son laughs at it. He loves when they show Yzma explaining why she "has gotten into this bad habit of running the country behind my back" (Kuzco's words), and they show a close-up of something that was stuck between her teeth!
Yzma has to be my favorite Disney villain. Sure, she's "living proof that dinsaurs once roamed the earth", but it's due to the fact that she has to be the most humorous of all the villains, other than Jafar from Aladdin. Also, I think that Kronk is hilarious as her right-hand man.
I also like the character Pacha. He didn't want to help the emporer in the first place (the emporer did want to destroy his village and put his summer home--Kuzcotopia--there), but he did it out of the kindness of his heart. I always like characters like that.
If you are a big Disney fan, you should get this even if you haven't seen it. Or, if you don't want to buy it, rent it. I guarantee you'll be laughing!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon February 7, 2014
I had NEVER seen this movie before today (Feb. 7th 2014), and somehow was always interested in it... only now, it seems it was a great time to do. The characters are all fun, the direction is very adequate and the flow of the animation, like most of Disney's celluloid animated movies, is competent and active. Comedy here is the name of the game, and this has plenty, with a few touching moments thrown in. With a short 78 minutes length, there's definitely no wasted time. Though the plot is simple enough, this feels like Disney taking on a vacation and having fun, loads of it. And for better or worse, we're in for a ride. Voice actors also give a wonderful performance as their respective characters. Cusko is particularly effective and had me laughing along the way, especially when meeting with Kronk.

If you're looking for a special edition, this 2-disc DVD edition is what you most want to get since neither future DVD or Blu-ray contains anything of relevance. A commentary track, deleted scenes, featurettes, trailers, games, storyboards, animation process, etc.

I didn't think I'd enjoy the film as much as I did and it was a blast. Anyone wanting to watch this, you're more than welcome to give it a chance. It's wonderful comedy and animation altogether for kids and adults alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 14, 2015
This movie is an underrated(by Disney standards) comedy gem. With an amazing voice cast this movie is among the most wonderful of Disney's "B" class hits. You have David Spade, John Goodman, Patrick Warburton, and that's just a few. Everyone who is familiar with this movie knows the comedy gold that Kronk is. In my opinion his side character feel is where he excels in the Emporer's New Groove over him starring in his own like Kronk's New Groove. That being said this dual pack is wonderful and a treat to watch again after all these years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2014
What's not to love about David Spade as a royal llama and John Goodman as a simple farmer trying to do the right thing? Yeah, yeah... there's a good lesson here for the kids and the animation is great, but the best part is the whacky hijinks of a llama and a farmer being perused by a crabby old lady and her slow witted but noble assistant.

The whole movie fills you with that warm fuzzing feeling. So the next time everything goes wrong and you feel awful, sit down with a big bag of gummy candy and watch this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2004
When I was a kid, Disney's movies were enjoyable for me to watch, but not really funny (the "Little Mermaid" is a good case in point-I love the movie, but there was little ha-ha humor in there.) But, over the years Disney has slowly gotten funnier; they had already perfected the dramatic moments. Now, you have to look at each movie individually. "Aladdin" was meant to be mostly funny, which is why they contracted Robin Williams to play a major part. Likewise, "The Hunchback of Notre Dame" was meant to send you into giggles at random moments, and it is my opinion that the gargoyles and Phoebus pulled that off perfectly. But "Pocahontas" and "The Lion King" were mainly dark, introspective-sort of pieces. Some humor, but when you have star-crossed lovers in the midst of a war and a sympathetic character death, the humor is lost.
However, the "Emperor's New Groove" is a laugh riot. I can't remember the last time I laughed so hard at a Disney movie. Even though he spends most of the film as an absolute jerk and a spoiled brat, Kuzco is absolutely tongue-in-cheek hilarious. And the witch and her henchman had me holding my sides several times. Even Pacha's family was funny! I especially love his wife-she was really on top of things, even though she was pregnant and trying to control two small children and help outwit the bad guys.
The animation is superb! The colors are bright and clear, and the movements are very fluid. I had to suspend belief with the llama's movements, but he was a talking llama, so who am I to say that he can't sit like that or walk on two legs.
The voices were entirely appropriate to the character; Disney did a fantastic casting job. John Goodman did an excellent job with the calm, down-to-earth llama herder Pacha, David Spade is probably the only one who could have pulled off Emperor Kuzco, and Earth Kitt was the perfect choice for the put-upon, cynical advisor Yzma.
All in all, this movie is another in a very long line of Disney Greats.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2003
Disney's movie The Emperors New Groove was a great movie that was hilarious. When I watch new animated disney movies, usually I really don't like them, I really only like the classic animated ones like Aladdin and The Little Mermaid. But, this movie definetly didn't fall under the list of bad movies. This is a great comedy that parents and kids will love...
Kuzco is an emperor who gets what ever he wants and only cares about himself and no one else. So, when he desides to build himself his own pool he finds a location thats home to dozens of people, one in particular is Pacha who's family has lived on the hill for hundreds of years, when he comes to visit the emperor he finds out about Kuzco's plan and is furious. Later when Ezma an old "Scary Beyond All Reason" advisor to the emperor is fired she must get back at him. So, she decides she will poisen him and then become empress herself. So, Ezma at dinner tells her flakey sidekick to give the emperor his drink which of course has poisen in it. When he drinks it he doesn't get poisened he gets turned into a Llma. When Ezma's sends her side kick to get rid of the emperors Llma body...He does...but, Ezma said to finish off the job which ment to kill the emperor...but, of course her sidkick doesn't, and both the emperor and Ezma go on roadtrips to find one another, (Kuzco looking for Ezma for help changing him back while Ezma plans to kill him). This was a great movie that was funny and everyone in the family will love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2003
Of all of the animated films Disney has released in the 21st century, "The Emperor's New Groove" just might be the best thus far. The story centers around a young, self-centered South American emperor named Kuzco who rules his kingdom with the motto "it's all about me!" Kuzco's perfect world is shattered when his disgruntled former advisor, Yzma, casts a magic spell on him that turns him into a llama and plans to do him in. To regain his human form, he must work together with Patcha, a humble and steadfast peasant, and get back to Kuzco's palace before Yzma finds them and finishes the job. The result is a fast and fun irreverent comedy with a smart script and great acting. Eartha Kit and Patrick Warburton, who play the evil Yzma and her dim-witted sidekick Kronk, are a highlight of the film. Both bring the characters to life wonderfully and provide some of the film's funniest moments. While not the most artistic or technologically advanced film Disney has ever released, it is certainly one of its most fun. I would recommend this for just about anyone looking for a great comedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2003
I haven't enjoyed a Disney animated feature this much since ALADDIN.
Instead of a single standout performance (Robin Williams in ALADDIN) carrying the show, this one features an outstanding ensemble voice cast supported by some of the most frenetic animation ever to come out of Disney. This just might be my favorite animated film, ever.
Definitely a Disney film at heart (no jabs at anyone are intended to be taken seriously), THE EMPEROR'S NEW GROOVE is peppered with the kind of sight gags, action and dialogue that we're accustomed to seeing in classic Warner Brothers Looney Toons--it particularly shows in the diner scene, complete with the monotone career waitress who wouldn't get excited if her hair was on fire, the disgruntled chef who's heard one too many critiques of his greasy-spoon cooking, and heroic, sweet, dimwitted Kronk taking over in the kitchen in the midst of flapping doors and shouted orders.
Credit goes to David Spade, John Goodman, Eartha Kitt and Patrick Warburton for making this odd collection of circumstances and locations pull together into a madcap film the whole family can enjoy. It all feels like the animation is there to support the great performances--to deliver on the promise of the masterful voice tracks. Of particular note are Kitt's wonderfully manic Yzma and Warburton's Kronk...the huge, hapless, genial guy who just happened to end up working for the wrong side.
Ultimately, this oddball buddy picture feels like something out of the Hope & Crosby heyday, poking fun at itself as it goes and firing off throwaway gags that hit more often than they miss.
It ends with the requisite Disney happy ending with moral, but it handles it with subtlety, without leaving that cloying Disney after-taste.
Not to be missed, but not for everyone: people who like this one tend to love it. If your tastes run to the wacky side, this one's for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse