Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Still worth the purchase!!
As a 1970s kid, I grew to appreciate the occasional import from Canada and around the world. In the early 1970s, New York City's WNEW-TV, Metromedia 5 had an awesome weekday afternoon lineup for the kids. Among the afterschool stuff was a double-dose serving of the original Mickey Mouse Club, with Annette and the gang...and, from Canada, The Hilarious House of...
Published on Feb. 28 2012 by Christopher E. Moniz

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Here's the deal with this DVD release
The show was originally produced as a one-hour show, with no laugh track. This is how it was broadcast in Canada in the early 70's. When it was later syndicated in the US, the episodes were cut to a half-hour and a laugh track was added. Unfortunately, the four episodes on this DVD are from the US syndication package.
Published on Dec 14 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Here's the deal with this DVD release, Dec 14 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hilarious House of Frightenstein [Import] (DVD)
The show was originally produced as a one-hour show, with no laugh track. This is how it was broadcast in Canada in the early 70's. When it was later syndicated in the US, the episodes were cut to a half-hour and a laugh track was added. Unfortunately, the four episodes on this DVD are from the US syndication package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, Jan. 24 2006
By 
This review is from: The Hilarious House of Frightenstein [Import] (DVD)
I wish I'd read the reviews before ordering. As already stated, these are indeed the half-hour US syndicated versions. They are sloppily edited and include a terrible laugh track. I'm still almost tempted to recommend these for purchase, if only to enourage the rights-holders to re-issue more episodes on DVD(the proper, full, one-hour Canadian eps with NO laugh track) but, really... this is a disappointment and the great work of Billy Van deserves better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Need For Entire Series To Be Reissued, May 22 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hilarious House of Frightenstein [Import] (DVD)
Just a brief taste of a great show. The 'rights holder' to this wonderful tv series, should make all 130 1-hour episodes avaialable (in their original format) in a box-set. There is indeed an adult audience who watched and remebered this great canadian tv series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars outta sight!, Dec 8 2005
By 
brucie boy (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hilarious House of Frightenstein [Import] (DVD)
This was my favorite morning show as a kid throughout the '70s. Looking back, its slapstick humour plays just as well to adults as to kids! Grizelda and the Librarian rank as my favourite characters ... even today! Like the other reviewers I too am disappointed that there are only 4 episodes (how about a boxed set?) and what's with the laugh track??? There was no laugh track when the show was first aired! It definitely takes away from the mood. Imagine "Frankenstein" with a laugh track! Also, the editing is a bit sloppy. Hopefully they'll get it right ... or should I say ... fright! on Volumes 2,3,4, etc... To answer the Librarian: I'm not "terrified" ... just disappointed. Nevertheless, I'm glad that the show has been at least been remembered and is now available on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Had I paid full price... I'd be pi$$ed!, Feb. 7 2006
By 
Riddler (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hilarious House of Frightenstein [Import] (DVD)
I TOTALLY agree with the last guy! I should have read the reviews first. I've recently been watching the reruns on cable television, and this dvd just doesn't cut it. The laugh track, as well as additional audio sounds, interfere with the audibility of the characters. During a Grizelda the cook sketch, I had a hard time hearing her dialogue over the added bubbling cauldron noises, and unnecessary laugh track. It was a great campy show, but it wasn't THAT funny! There's childrens laughter before the jokes and punch lines are delivered.
For the same amount of money, you could add the Drive-In Classics channel to your cable subscription, and receive about 130 days of complete 1 hr canadian episodes... with equal or better visual quality, and NO added audio!!! Highly disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could Have Been Better....., Nov. 5 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hilarious House of Frightenstein [Import] (DVD)
It's great to finally see this issued on DVD, but I was a little disappointed. It's not that i expected the parting of the red sea...but there are a few problems:
1) the insert has the 4 episodes listed, but 1 is repeated twice! (Only on the paper insert, not the DVD itself)
2) the actor Fishka Rais is listed as Rais Fishka.
3) the horrible laugh track is on this DVD. Imagine the Librarian with a laugh track! Takes away from the whole experience. (Now that is scarey...no?)
4) the quality varies. Episodes 1 and 4 are great. 2 & 3 seem shakey..and jerky and you can see lines from the VHS source running through the segments.
5) the star of the show was Billy Van, but you get the impression it features Vincent Price more prominently.
6) the closing credits are replaced with a screen shot that states the syndicator.
Suggestions: fix the above but more importantly - GET RID OF THE LAUGH TRACK. It's awful.
Still I am not disappointed in buying this DVD. Billy Van is just such a brilliant performer. If there was ever star that Canada has produced....it's Billy Van!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No need for laughtrack, Dec 13 2006
By 
David T. Mathias (Red Deer, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hilarious House of Frightenstein [Import] (DVD)
The newer version released in 2006 has the original sparkle and appeal for kids of all ages. The Wolfman, the Professor, Griselda...it's wonderfull to revisit those far-off happy days when children's television was unbounded by political correctness and didn't underestimate the audience. Don't buy this. Get the 2006 version and you will be pleased. There's no laugh-track (which is put there so the audience doesn't have to think!), and it's as fresh and funny as ever. Vincent Price is classic. This has to be where Michael Jackson got his "inspiration" for "Thriller".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still worth the purchase!!, Feb. 28 2012
This review is from: The Hilarious House of Frightenstein [Import] (DVD)
As a 1970s kid, I grew to appreciate the occasional import from Canada and around the world. In the early 1970s, New York City's WNEW-TV, Metromedia 5 had an awesome weekday afternoon lineup for the kids. Among the afterschool stuff was a double-dose serving of the original Mickey Mouse Club, with Annette and the gang...and, from Canada, The Hilarious House of Frightenstein! It was a gas, man!! Billy Van and the whole crew put in a solid half-hour of fun...we loved every minute of it.
You see ignorance is not only bliss, it allows for fun. None of us were aware that HOF was originally a one-hour Canadian show...and we could have cared less. Just as we never knew about wide-screen/letterbox movies, and accepted full-frame/pan and scan on television...and still enjoyed our movies...so we loved and accepted whatever FUN, FUN shows came on televison.
So, by all means, seek out the full-hour DVD box sets of HOF...go on. But, why not grab a copy of this New York favorite, too. So it's only half an hour. Watch it on the days when you're short on time...and have some FUN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Groovy Baby!, Nov. 6 2005
By 
JLA (Hamilton, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hilarious House of Frightenstein [Import] (DVD)
I use to love this show as a kid! I was so excited about ordering this on DVD but it only has 4 episodes. :( They should have picked the best ones from the bunch. I myself enjoy this show especially considering that it is canadian! The parts where the commercials were are cut out and should have kept on playing rather then waiting a bit. The sound and picture is great! My fave part is the 60s and 70s rockin wolfman! EECH!!!!!! All in all there should have been more episodes added and more bonus features. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ooga! booga!, Dec 3 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hilarious House of Frightenstein [Import] (DVD)
I loved this show as a kid, and I still love it. My kids are now enjoying all the wonderful caracters and using all their catch phrases around the house. Granted it is a bit dated, but what do you expect it's from the early eighties. These shows are totally re-viewable and my kids watch it at least three times a week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hilarious House of Frightenstein [Import]
The Hilarious House of Frightenstein [Import] by Riff Markowitz (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 222.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews