Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cancelled too soon; just like the original.
As a long time Trek and Science Fiction fan I watched this from the first episode. By the middle of the second season the show had hit it's stride, and aside from what I consider a below par last episode, was consistently excellent. I know far too many Trek fans who never watched it, considering it wrong to set the series before the original, the irony is all those...
Published on Jan. 21 2007 by Corvus cornix

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek
I am up to Season three atm, watching a few shows a day and I have found that many disc skip and also season 2 disc six wont play at all. Some disc's seem to freeze and I have to skip till next chapter which does not make me happy. The dvds arrived quick and looked in great conditions my only problems is the fact that some of the dvds freeze or won't work. When I...
Published 1 month ago by Kevin Marchildon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cancelled too soon; just like the original., Jan. 21 2007
By 
Corvus cornix (At a disputed barricade.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Trek Enterprise: The Complete Series (DVD)
As a long time Trek and Science Fiction fan I watched this from the first episode. By the middle of the second season the show had hit it's stride, and aside from what I consider a below par last episode, was consistently excellent. I know far too many Trek fans who never watched it, considering it wrong to set the series before the original, the irony is all those people watch it in syndication, and love it. I know many non Trek fans who began watching it in the afternoon, and enjoy it. All of this reminds me so much of the series of events which befell the original Star Trek. The writing was uneven in the first season, but by the second each character had developed their voice. The third season story arc about an attack on Earth brought the acting and writing to the highest level. To me, Jolene Blalock and her portrayal of the brave and loyal Vulcan second oficer Commander T'Pol is the resonant moral compass and yes, emotional heart of a show, like all Science Fiction, about the human condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IN THE BEGINNING..., April 2 2009
By 
Stargazer (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Enterprise: The Complete Series (DVD)
This edition to the Star Trek saga is interesting because it confronts ethical dilemmas in a rather 'open-ended' way. This is quite different from "The Next Generation" or "Voyager" both of which are about restraint and non-interference in the 'life-ways' of inter-planetary cultures.

Captain Archer and his crew often stumble in their attempts to define the as yet unwritten 'Prime Directive' and in doing so, reveal the American cultural origins of the show. This is the only show of all the Star Trek series (with the exception of Kirk and his crew) that reveals more about an American perspective of the world, much like the wild west mythology that is so inscribed in the American narrative of self-justification.

The cast is not as strong as "Deep Space Nine" or "Voyager," but a few characters are well defined. Jolene Blalok as T'Pol and John Billingsley as Dr. Phlocks are interesting actors, as is Scott Bakula as Captain Archer.

The production values are clearly higher, as they've shot this quite lovingly with interesting lighting plots. Special effects are reasonably muted to make the technology appear authentic to the late 22nd Century. They've also taken care of the sound design, much more so than "The Next Generation."

We are enjoying the series, only wish Paramount had decided to continue it beyond the 4 seasons. We are now looking forward to purchasing "Andromeda: Slipstream" when it is reissued.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars star trek enterprise, July 27 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Enterprise: The Complete Series (DVD)
As all the other Star Trek series, this one is unique as is its underlying theme. It took me awhile to get accustomed to the different personalities of the different actors and to realize that it was actually a prequel to the Star Trek Voyager series in the Star Trek timeline even though it was the latest and last Star Trek production in real time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I new fan, April 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Enterprise: The Complete Series (DVD)
I didn't get a chance to watch more than a few episodes when this show was on the air, but I am a Star Trek fan so even though this complete set is a little pricey it was still a great value as buying just season 1 was 90$
Either way I am glad I bought the complete set the packaging is beautiful and even though navigating through the discs is awkward ( you can only access 1 episode at a time) the quality of the disc is exceptions
Delivery was warp speed fast not joking , it arrived 5 days after I ordered it and Canada post just isn't that fast.

Whether your a die hard Trekkie or just looking to be entertained this set is worth the money , so sit back relax and see what's out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visiting the Star Trek universe is like seeing old friends., Aug. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Enterprise: The Complete Series (DVD)
I bought the entire series after reading a book that referenced back to the television episodes. I realized how much I missed Enterprise. I thought the shows were well done, creating the footsteps that the later (earlier) Starship Enterprise crews would follow.
The third season did not have the information/episode guide that the other seasons had. I miss that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the series..., Feb. 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Enterprise: The Complete Series (DVD)
I was never a Star Trek fan until I watched the latest Star Trek movie from 2009. It was that movie that made me want to watch the latest (and last) Star Trek TV series called "Star Trek Enterprise". I was pleasantly surprised on how much I enjoyed watching it. It's not without its flaws, but from a person who use to hate everything Star Trek...this series is the ONLY one I ever enjoyed watching. I guess the reason is that there is very little pomp and elitest snobishness in this series. The characters are the most "human", if that makes any sense. And four seasons is long enough. It's great when a series can end with its dignity still in tact, as oppose to over staying its welcome. A very good series. Hardcore Star Trek nerds will like this series the least. But for those who would normally hate Star Trek (like me) this series is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars * Best Star Trek Series Ever *, July 21 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Enterprise: The Complete Series (DVD)
*****

Star Trek: Enterprise (TV Series)

Original Run: September 26, 2001 - May 13, 2005

Plot Summary:
A prequel series, set 100 years before the original Star Trek series, which focuses on the early years of Starfleet, leading up to the formation of the Federation and the Earth-Romulan Wars. The series is set aboard the Earth ship Enterprise NX-01, captained by Jonathan Archer.

Plot Summary for Season Three:
The Xindi have attacked Earth. Seven million people are dead. They will attack again, and this time, they will destroy Earth... NX-01 has been recalled, her mission of exploration is over, now she is being sent into The Expanse, a deadly region of space, to find these Xindi... and destroy them before they can destroy Earth.

*****

Enterprise became my favorite show as soon as I saw it, the opening song, the characters, the design... All ran through my mind every day after viewing it. Enterprise is at its core a show about exploration, about breaking the boundaries that other people have put on you. Its also about discovery, which as its turns out isn't always a good thing. The characters Don't start out set in stone, and then have problems thrown at them, they change over the course of the show, and the writers were not afraid to shake their lives up; sometimes is horrific ways.

We get to see Earth meet new alien cultures, go through its first interstellar war, and see it develop. The show doesn't pull its punches either, when things die they are dead, characters can be irrational, immoral, and generally very realistic.

Enterprise succeeds where much TV fails, it created a cast of interesting, developing characters while still delivering the action that makes TV fun. But without people, action is Empty. Enterprise is perfect in my eyes at least, and deserves to be seen. Even if you don't normally like Sci-Fi, you might enjoy this show. A lot.

I love the technology - a grappler instead of tractor beams, phase pistols and EM rifles, airlocks and shuttle-pods deployed from bomb bay doors underneath. When you're at a disadvantage, you have nothing but your wits to rely on and this show was about as far from Voyager's technobabble saves the day approach as it was possible for Trek to realistically get.

Season three is an adrenaline pumping action packed non-stop thrill ride!!! I really enjoyed season three.

This series ran for 4 years (4 seasons) which is pretty standard for TV Shows. A total of 98 episodes were produced and broadcasted.

This series was designed to grab a new audience, and keep all or most of the Star Trek buffs on-board as well.

UPN pretty much wanted the show to die. They wanted to make their image more female and move away from Sci-Fi. UPN stopped advertising the show and moved it around a couple times on the schedule.

*****

Star Trek Enterprise The Complete Series DVD Boxset is well worth the purchase.

Released by Paramount Pictures (Official Release).

This is not a Bootleg set (Asian release or Otherwise).

Paramount Pictures calls this the (Definitive Release).

98 Episodes!
76 Hours Of Entertainment Including 22 Featurettes!
Own All 4 Seasons!

Features:
22 Featurettes
5 Commentaries
Deleted Scenes
Outtakes
Photo Galleries
And Much More!

Over 9 Hours of Bonus Features.

Video:
Widescreen 1.85:1 Color (Anamorphic)

Audio:
ENGLISH: Dolby Digital Stereo [CC]

Studio: Paramount Pictures
Release Date: 11/1/2005
UPC: 097360330144
Length: 4560 mins
Rating: NR (USA) / PG (Canada)
Region: 1
Packaging: Special Design
Number of Discs: 27 (Single Sided, Dual Layered) DVDs
Retail LIST Price: $299.99 (Various Online Internet Shops)
Amazon.ca List Price: $193.25

Actors:
- Scott Bakula (Quantum Leap, Men of a Certain Age, ETC.)

- Jolene Blalock (Slow Burn, Starship Troopers 3: Marauder, ETC.)

- Connor Trinneer (Stargate Atlantis, Star Runners, ETC.)

- Dominic Keating (The Immortal, Species IV, ETC.)

- Linda Park (Raines, Women's Murder Club, ETC.)

- Anthony Montgomery (Popular, Leprechaun: In the Hood, ETC.)

- John Billingsley (The Nine, The Man from Earth, ETC.)

Production Budget (Per Episode):
Season One, Two and Three - $4 Million (US Dollars)
Season Four - $2 Million (US Dollars)

Total Production Cost (All 98 Episodes): $348 Million (US Dollars)

Reception (Viewers):
Seasonal rankings (based on average total viewers per episode) of
Star Trek: Enterprise on UPN.

Viewers in millions of people.

Season One: 5.9
Season Two: 3.94
Season Three: 3.3
Season Four: 2.81

The Pilot Episode - Broken Bow:
- 12.54 Million viewers watched it, on the day it premiered (September 26, 2001). Enterprise scored a 9.1/13 overnight for series premiere 'Broken Bow', which secured UPN its second most-watched night ever after 1995's Voyager debut. Not only do these ratings represent a 46% drop from the two-hour premiere, but they are also 18% less than the 6.0/9 overnight scored by Voyager's season seven opener, 'Unimatrix Zero, Part II.'

- If, it had been a feature film that completed it's global theatrical run at 12.54 Million ticket sales, it would have made over $120 Million (US Dollars). It would have been a global box office hit.

Note: The above box office figure is based on a movie ticket selling for $10 Dollars (American). This is the standard price for a movie ticket in (The USA).

Awards (Short List):
Emmy Awards > Wins: 4 (2002 and 2004) / Nominations: 17 (2002 - 2005)

ASCAP Film and Television Music Awards > Top TV Series (2002).

Hugo Awards > Nominated twice in (2003) - Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form.

*****

The audio and video quality of each DVD is (10 out of 10).

The package design is amazing. Hard plastic futuristic looking individual season set housing cases. Inside each housing case is a hard plastic DVD flip case with hubs and an episode booklet, with a nice looking plastic DVD slipcover over it. All 4 individual season sets sit in a nice looking cardboard tray.

Delivery was fast I paid for (Priority Shipping) and
it was delivered in (3 business days).

It was shipped from (Amazon.ca - Mississauga, Ontario, Canada) to
my house in (New Brunswick, Canada).

How Much Did (Amazon.ca) Charge Me:
$193.25 (Star Trek Enterprise The Complete Series DVD Boxset)
$12.48 (Priority Shipping)
$26.74 (Tax)

Total: $232.47 (Canadian)

Best Price On The Internet. Thank-You (Amazon.ca).

Amazon.ca packed it really well in the box, they used
(Fill-Air inflatable packaging).

It arrived by courier undamaged and completely intact.

The Most Realistic Star Trek Series.

I absolutely loved this series, and I'm not a big Star Trek fan.

The Best Star Trek Series Ever!

Enjoy :)

*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, Feb. 12 2010
By 
This review is from: Star Trek Enterprise: The Complete Series (DVD)
Great TV series, to bad that it got canceled I was really starting to enjoy this at the end of season 4

I wish they would make a better box set then what this came in, the plastic that holds the discs is very fragile. Instead of making a hard box outer shell case that is useless with crappy packaging inside why not make a better dvd disk holder and incorporate all the lables on the box instead of having them plop right out when you want to change a disk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series / Great value, March 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Enterprise: The Complete Series (DVD)
Very good idea to have all four seasons in one package.
All Trekkies would enjoy seeing this series from end to end.
I enjoyed every minute of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek, March 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Enterprise: The Complete Series (DVD)
I am up to Season three atm, watching a few shows a day and I have found that many disc skip and also season 2 disc six wont play at all. Some disc's seem to freeze and I have to skip till next chapter which does not make me happy. The dvds arrived quick and looked in great conditions my only problems is the fact that some of the dvds freeze or won't work. When I purchased it was stated it was brand new ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaea13144)

This product

Star Trek Enterprise: The Complete Series
Star Trek Enterprise: The Complete Series by Jim Charleston (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 249.99 CDN$ 200.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews