Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Out with a bang!
I just re-watched Revenge of the Sith on my new widescreen flatscreen screen in 5.1 surround and was surprised how much I enjoyed it. I purposely avoiding watching any Star Wars movies in the last year or so (too much Star Wars is overkill) so it was fairly fresh and enjoyable, albeit not without flaws.

Star Wars Episode III (in case you didn't know, but I...
Published on July 2 2010 by LeBrain

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Odd Soundtrack
Its a great movie, except that almost halfway through the movie the volume goes really low and when we are in the car the kids can hardly hear the movie. Not sure whey they do that with the sound
Published 15 months ago by Bestead


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Out with a bang!, July 2 2010
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
I just re-watched Revenge of the Sith on my new widescreen flatscreen screen in 5.1 surround and was surprised how much I enjoyed it. I purposely avoiding watching any Star Wars movies in the last year or so (too much Star Wars is overkill) so it was fairly fresh and enjoyable, albeit not without flaws.

Star Wars Episode III (in case you didn't know, but I imagine everyone does) is the "final" film in the Star Wars saga to be made, and completes the transformation of Anakin Skywalker into Darth Vader. It also illustrates for the first time ever how the Republic decayed into the first Galactic Empire. Along the way, there are some of the greatest lightsaber battles in Star Wars history.

First of all this transfer is great, as is the 5.1 surround sound. I have no complaints there. The surround sound is especially effective during the opening battle when things are exploding all over the place around you.

As per usual, the acting and dialogue leave something to be desired and the plot is ham-fisted at trying to connect the two trilogies together. For example, Chewbacca: I don't know anyone who didn't think it was great to see Chewbacca defending his home planet from an invading droid army, but meeting Yoda was a moment that nobody needed and failed to achieve any kind of spinal shivers. It felt ham-fisted, it is ham-fisted, and it's just an example of many such moments.

Other scenes are quite well written and performed. In particular I single out the scene at the Coruscant opera, when Palpatine is relaying the tale of Darth Plageus the Wise to a naive Anakin. Ian McDiarmid's performance here is among the best in the entire series. McDiarmid could be spellbinding just reading out his grocery list. Unfortunately, Hayden Christonsen remains complete uncharismatic as Anakin. This renders the emotions felt during his fall to be flat and one-dimensional.

Other scenes are horrifically badly scripted, such as the final battle between Yoda and the Emperor. "I've been waiting for this a long time, my little green friend." "Not if anything to say about it, I have!" Just terrible dialogue for a battle scene that seemed extraneous at best.

The climactic duel between Obi-Wan Kenobi and Anakin Skywalker truly was everything we dreamed of for so many years. Aside from that bad in-battle dialogue ("It's over for you, my master") this is the fastest paced most exciting lightsaber battle we've ever seen, and rightfully so. After this battle scene, which sets the stage for the next three movies, the film somberly settles into a series of scenes designed to give fans everything they wanted to see since 1977. The film ends very satisfactorily.

DVD extras are vastly inferior to previous Star Wars discs. The "big" documentary that we always look forward to this time was a boring expose into everything that went into the making of a brief moment of film, from the top on down to the caterers. Very dull considering the bonus features on Phantom Menace were so good. Of course, you also get your typically dull Star Wars audio commentary track. Why does Lucas and company feel they have to repeat the same talking points over and over? Some finished "deleted scenes" redeem the disc. The best of which shows Yoda finally arriving in exile on Dagobah.

Quibbles aside, Episode III is the only film of the prequel trilogy that lives up to the original films. It has the same imperfections as Episodes I and II, but greatly reduced. I feel that eventually it will be almost as well appreciated as the classic trilogy, perhaps moreso than Return of the Jedi. Time will tell.

4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Birth Of The Empire", Sept. 1 2007
By 
Tommy Skylar (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
INTRO:After the first two prequels out of three,"The Phantom Menace" in 1999 and "Attack Of The Clones" in 2002,comes the final prequel and movie(at least for now)of the legendary Star Wars serie episode III:"Revenge Of The Sith".The first two prequels didn`t exactly meet fans of the original trilogy`s expectations and receved mixed reviews,would episode III share the same fate?Read on to find out.

After "Attack Of The Clones" we knew it was near,Anakin Skywalker would meet his destiny and become the evil Darth Vader in the third prequel,"Revenge Of The Sith".With this episode we would see Anakin`s transformation to Darth Vader,see why and how it happened,and much more making of episode III a must see movie as it holds the answers to many questions.

STORYLINE:Anakin and Obi-Wan must find and stop Count Doku and droid leader General Grevious who captured Supreme Chancellor Palpatine.After a succesful mission Anakin and the Jedi council are in disagreement over wheter or not he can become a Master Jedi,Anakin turns to Chancellor Palpatine(his interrest in Anakin,is a hint of who he really is)for help and he and Anakin develop a strong relation wich cause Obi-Wan to fear for the worst.Anakin has dreams in wich pregnant Padme,his love dies when giving birth,to make sure those visions don`t come true Anakin ask Palpatine for advice,who tells him that he can protect Padme if he joins the dark side...

REVIEW:Even after seing episode III once(Like i did in theater,but i own the movie),you could tell that it was a great movie,connecting the entire Star Wars prequels trilogy to the original trilogy,and giving a sense to everything.The storyline for one,is much better than episode I and II,the final lightsabres battle is epic,seeing Anakin becoming Darth Vader is iconic and nearly everything about this movie is excellent.

OVERRAL:Revenge Of The Sith sets everything in place for episode IV:A New Hope and the rest of the original trilogy,it all make sense now how it happened and if one thing,the prquels make the original trilogy even better movies.Its a great movie worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bring on part 7...., Aug. 8 2005
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
It's probably not the best way to gain credibility as a reviewer but I genuinely think this is as good as "Empire".In fact it might possibly be even better (only repeated viewings will be able to decide this either way). Once the action starts to unfold "Sith" is a non stop assault on the senses of even the most cynical viewer. I thought Ian McDiarmid was superb hamming it up as Palpatine and Hayden Christensen was very convincing as Anakin / Vader. Contrary to what other reviews have said I was genuinely moved at times. Some of the scenes were really quite sad. Minor gripes would be that the tying up of loose ends at the end is rather hurried and the "Noooo" is a bit cringeworthy but necessary. It will be a shame if the Star Wars legacy really does come to an end here. I heard that the final three parts might yet still be made based on some of the novels. Rumour has it that part 7 could be based on "Dante's Last March". The thing is I think that the first two films proved one thing, a point that was rammed home in Revenge of the Sith - if Vader ain't in it, it probably ain't worth making
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars chapter 3, Sept. 23 2007
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
of the 3 prequels,this one is the best.Anakin is now a young man,very
close to the dark side.helping him to get there is supreme chancellor
Palpatine(Ian Mcdiarmid)a dark lord of the sith.Mcdiarmid clearly
relishes his role as he brings an intensity and believability that must
be seen to be believed.this is an Oscar worthy performance.the movie
does a fairly good job of tying things up,as the saga concludes.there
are,a few problems with the time line,of course,but despite that,the
movie works.what everybody was waiting for was the reveal of Anakin
into Darth Varder:so was it worth the wait?for the most part yes. the
last scene treads close to being funny,but stops just short.as for the
movie itself,the best of the prequels,and closer in quality to the
original trilogy. 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Widescreen snobs, Nov. 7 2005
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
I think the widescreen snobs need to take a rest. It's difficult to watch a movie as intricate and detailed (special effects wise) in widescreen format when you don't have a very big tv. It makes it VERY difficult to see. This movie especially. Full screen is not like watching "half the movie". The edges are trimmed, you're not missing anything vital. Just some extra eye candy. So please, relax and respect other peoples opinions. I purchased the widescreen version and found it annoying to watch. So I bought the fullscreen too. And, trust me, I'm getting WAY more than half the movie. I don't notice very much missing at all to be honest.
That said, it's an excellent movie with some bad lines and some even worse acting. But still great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Star Wars movie!, Nov. 3 2005
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
This is the best of all the Star Wars movies I think, even better than the original three. It has everything, great action, awesome special effects, a good love story, and what the last two episodes were lacking, which is an emotional connection with the characters so that you actually care about what's happening to them in the film. Great movie!!
And full screen isn't better, it cuts off the sides of the film so you only see the middle, so you miss stuff, they don't cut the tops off by adding the black bars. I don't have a widescreen television but I would never watch full screen, you don't get to see all the wonderful things that they worked so hard to film and edit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars End of an epic series, Sept. 13 2005
By 
Warhorse "_warhorse" (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
While some may be critics Star Wars merely because the series had so much hype, the reality is there has never been any other set of movies like these. Lucas, working independly of studio control, is able to see that his projects are as he envisioned them without compromise.
I had to see Episode III twice to soak it in. A lot happens in this film. I almost wished the film was twice as long. More stuff occurs in this film than the two previous combined.
Personally I liked Episode I and II. Ironically, I actually had some issues with III. I think it would have been more effective that Darth Sidius only revealed himself to Anakin after he had already been his student for a while. Generally it takes longer to tell the story of someone going bad than the inverse. Anakin's descent seems rapid and I had to pounder how realistic it was. Mind you, if you pay closer attention to Episode II you can see the seeds of his undoing.
I have to agree with Ebert and Roeper that the weak spot in this film (as well as others in the series) is the dialogue. Someone other than Lucas should have directed. He had too much to focus on aside from the acting.
One thing about this film is that it makes scenes in Episode IV much more significant.
Is this really the end of the series? There was once talk of doing stories involving Han and Leia's offspring. The worst thing for Lucas to do is let someone else take over the series and kill it as was done with Jurassic Park and Aliens.
Lucas has created a universe onto itself, much as Rodenbury had done, which Rick Berman took over and made other series. It is conceivable that other movies set in the Star Wars universe could be made. After playing the fanstastic Star Wars caomputer game 'Knights of the Old Republic', I keep thinking that they would make an awesome basis for a film or films or at the very least an excellent 26-episode TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The second best of the new., Feb. 11 2007
Ce commentaire est de: Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
Still going through the series again.

Quickly: best of the prequels. Some great stuff here and some disapointing, still doesn't live up to the originals. 7.5/10

Summary: You know this one too, even if you haven't seen it. Anakin turns to Vader, the who, what, when, how and why. Also ties up a bunch of loose ends that tie the old series to the new.

The Good: definately the best of the sequels. It's much darker and there is a ton more action then the others. The end fight between Obi and Anny is awesome to see. The fall of Anakin is done well, though it does seem a bit silly that they made it all for love. Tons of great fighting including Kashyyk. The effects are even better in this then clone wars, and there is stuff they CGed that you would never think they did. The line "Good relations with the wookies, have I" will live with me allways.

The Bad: A few of the Palpatine/Anakin dialoges were drawn out a little to long. The lizzard thing Obi rides on his way to battle Grevious is just annoying. The acting though better then the other prequels was still bad.

The Ugly: The plot was just too contrived. There were too many things done to tie it to the other movies, and that got annoying. Things like C-3P0 having his memory wiped and given to Wedge's dad. The fact Chewbacca was there on the wookie plannet and was good friends with Yoda. Things like that, just stood out as annoying. The fight with Count Dooku and the later battle against Grevious were both lame, neither baddy put up much of a fight at all (especially Grevious, even though it was 'explained' in The Clone Wars).

Overall: the best of the three prequels, but it still doesn't live up to expectations. It was enjoyable but contrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEST SCIENCE FICTION MOVIE EVER, Aug. 25 2007
Ce commentaire est de: Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
This is the best of the Star Wars movies. The story is terrific (Goerge Lucas finaly got the new ones right), the acting is actualy good and the special effects are brilliant. I can't believe this movie got bad reviews. My only problem is that Natalie Portman's role was too small.

In the end Revenge of the Sith is an amazing movie and will not leave you disapionted even if you aren't a fan of Star Wars. It is a brillint close to the greatest movie series of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars 3 in wide screen rocks!, Nov. 3 2005
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
it is awesome when this show is in wide screen! full screen cuts off almost a quarter of the movie! crap! lets have a wide screen nation! star wars 3 is so much more entertaining in wide screen.
i escpeciallee love the part wen Darth Vader breaths for the first time. it sends chills down your spine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith (Widescreen Edition)
Used & New from: CDN$ 9.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews