Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Bring on part 7....
It's probably not the best way to gain credibility as a reviewer but I genuinely think this is as good as "Empire".In fact it might possibly be even better (only repeated viewings will be able to decide this either way). Once the action starts to unfold "Sith" is a non stop assault on the senses of even the most cynical viewer. I thought Ian McDiarmid was superb hamming...
Published on Aug. 8 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Odd Soundtrack
Its a great movie, except that almost halfway through the movie the volume goes really low and when we are in the car the kids can hardly hear the movie. Not sure whey they do that with the sound
Published 12 months ago by Bestead


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Bring on part 7...., Aug. 8 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
It's probably not the best way to gain credibility as a reviewer but I genuinely think this is as good as "Empire".In fact it might possibly be even better (only repeated viewings will be able to decide this either way). Once the action starts to unfold "Sith" is a non stop assault on the senses of even the most cynical viewer. I thought Ian McDiarmid was superb hamming it up as Palpatine and Hayden Christensen was very convincing as Anakin / Vader. Contrary to what other reviews have said I was genuinely moved at times. Some of the scenes were really quite sad. Minor gripes would be that the tying up of loose ends at the end is rather hurried and the "Noooo" is a bit cringeworthy but necessary. It will be a shame if the Star Wars legacy really does come to an end here. I heard that the final three parts might yet still be made based on some of the novels. Rumour has it that part 7 could be based on "Dante's Last March". The thing is I think that the first two films proved one thing, a point that was rammed home in Revenge of the Sith - if Vader ain't in it, it probably ain't worth making
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Widescreen snobs, Nov. 7 2005
By 
This review is from: Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
I think the widescreen snobs need to take a rest. It's difficult to watch a movie as intricate and detailed (special effects wise) in widescreen format when you don't have a very big tv. It makes it VERY difficult to see. This movie especially. Full screen is not like watching "half the movie". The edges are trimmed, you're not missing anything vital. Just some extra eye candy. So please, relax and respect other peoples opinions. I purchased the widescreen version and found it annoying to watch. So I bought the fullscreen too. And, trust me, I'm getting WAY more than half the movie. I don't notice very much missing at all to be honest.
That said, it's an excellent movie with some bad lines and some even worse acting. But still great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Star Wars movie!, Nov. 3 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
This is the best of all the Star Wars movies I think, even better than the original three. It has everything, great action, awesome special effects, a good love story, and what the last two episodes were lacking, which is an emotional connection with the characters so that you actually care about what's happening to them in the film. Great movie!!
And full screen isn't better, it cuts off the sides of the film so you only see the middle, so you miss stuff, they don't cut the tops off by adding the black bars. I don't have a widescreen television but I would never watch full screen, you don't get to see all the wonderful things that they worked so hard to film and edit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars End of an epic series, Sept. 13 2005
By 
Warhorse "_warhorse" (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
While some may be critics Star Wars merely because the series had so much hype, the reality is there has never been any other set of movies like these. Lucas, working independly of studio control, is able to see that his projects are as he envisioned them without compromise.
I had to see Episode III twice to soak it in. A lot happens in this film. I almost wished the film was twice as long. More stuff occurs in this film than the two previous combined.
Personally I liked Episode I and II. Ironically, I actually had some issues with III. I think it would have been more effective that Darth Sidius only revealed himself to Anakin after he had already been his student for a while. Generally it takes longer to tell the story of someone going bad than the inverse. Anakin's descent seems rapid and I had to pounder how realistic it was. Mind you, if you pay closer attention to Episode II you can see the seeds of his undoing.
I have to agree with Ebert and Roeper that the weak spot in this film (as well as others in the series) is the dialogue. Someone other than Lucas should have directed. He had too much to focus on aside from the acting.
One thing about this film is that it makes scenes in Episode IV much more significant.
Is this really the end of the series? There was once talk of doing stories involving Han and Leia's offspring. The worst thing for Lucas to do is let someone else take over the series and kill it as was done with Jurassic Park and Aliens.
Lucas has created a universe onto itself, much as Rodenbury had done, which Rick Berman took over and made other series. It is conceivable that other movies set in the Star Wars universe could be made. After playing the fanstastic Star Wars caomputer game 'Knights of the Old Republic', I keep thinking that they would make an awesome basis for a film or films or at the very least an excellent 26-episode TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The second best of the new., Feb. 11 2007
This review is from: Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
Still going through the series again.

Quickly: best of the prequels. Some great stuff here and some disapointing, still doesn't live up to the originals. 7.5/10

Summary: You know this one too, even if you haven't seen it. Anakin turns to Vader, the who, what, when, how and why. Also ties up a bunch of loose ends that tie the old series to the new.

The Good: definately the best of the sequels. It's much darker and there is a ton more action then the others. The end fight between Obi and Anny is awesome to see. The fall of Anakin is done well, though it does seem a bit silly that they made it all for love. Tons of great fighting including Kashyyk. The effects are even better in this then clone wars, and there is stuff they CGed that you would never think they did. The line "Good relations with the wookies, have I" will live with me allways.

The Bad: A few of the Palpatine/Anakin dialoges were drawn out a little to long. The lizzard thing Obi rides on his way to battle Grevious is just annoying. The acting though better then the other prequels was still bad.

The Ugly: The plot was just too contrived. There were too many things done to tie it to the other movies, and that got annoying. Things like C-3P0 having his memory wiped and given to Wedge's dad. The fact Chewbacca was there on the wookie plannet and was good friends with Yoda. Things like that, just stood out as annoying. The fight with Count Dooku and the later battle against Grevious were both lame, neither baddy put up much of a fight at all (especially Grevious, even though it was 'explained' in The Clone Wars).

Overall: the best of the three prequels, but it still doesn't live up to expectations. It was enjoyable but contrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars 3 in wide screen rocks!, Nov. 3 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
it is awesome when this show is in wide screen! full screen cuts off almost a quarter of the movie! crap! lets have a wide screen nation! star wars 3 is so much more entertaining in wide screen.
i escpeciallee love the part wen Darth Vader breaths for the first time. it sends chills down your spine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revenge of George Lucas, Jan. 15 2007
By 
Paul Mackinnon (halifax, nova scotia, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
Lucas had a real challenge in creating a story of resolutions in which there was no suspense. At least with Return of the Jedi, we didn't know previously the fate of Luke, Vader, or Solo. Walking into the theatre for Sith, every audience member worth his salt already knows that Anakin turns into Darth Vader, the Emperor wins, Obi Wan wins the final lightsabre battle, Padme dies (although her death while Luke and Leia are born creates a little continuity gap when Leia later has memories of her birth mother), and Yoda scurries off to Dagobah. So let's give him credit for filling in the gaps admirably. Also, let's give him credit for the risks he takes in this. Lucas has been criticized for too much uniformity. The plotlines for Episodes I, IV, and VI are virtually identical. This one is almost as bold as Empire. It is the darkest of the films, yet despite that, the final moments are actually very inspiring (especially to those of us brought up on the original trilogy). The final shot left me wanting more....but this time I won't have to wait another three long years to get to the next chapter. I just have to pop in the DVD for A New Hope.

Revenge of the Sith is certainly a fitting end to this trilogy. Sith is first class entertainment in its own right, and if it doesn't live up to the mythic status of the original Star Wars trilogy it only joins a host of other good films that also don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come over to the dark side..., Feb. 8 2006
By 
FrKurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (Bloomington, IN USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
When the first Star Wars film came out, I was 11 years old. I loved it (no surprise there). I saw it dozens of times, a feat which at that time in history could only be accomplished by going to the cinema over and over. This year I turn 40, and the long saga of Star Wars is over (at least officially). George Lucas, long-time friend of Joseph Campbell (best known for his work on mythology and spirituality) set out with the Skywalker saga to set up a modern mythological tale that could instill values and virtues the way that old heroic tales a la Hercules might have done from their times and cultures. Not too far off, Lucas was (as Yoda might say), but while the Star Wars saga does show a good interplay of good and evil, in this particular film, the waters become muddied. Perhaps this is because, instead of influencing the times, the times are influencing the story line. But I'm getting ahead of myself here.
One needs to have a strange sort of sympathy for Lucas, Dykstra and company in the special effects department. How does one continue to amaze and wow the crowd of today's cinema-goers while not making the original film (1977 was a long time ago, even if in the local galaxy) look cheesy and dated, because ultimately, the original film has to be found in the fourth slot in later runs. In this respect, they've done a good job. The opening shot of one lone star ship running from a much larger cruiser will no longer have the cinematic effect that it once had, particularly after an opening such as this film had - the scene starts with two small speeders, going up to a ship that gets ever larger, and then one behold a vast armarda of similar ships just around the bending horizon of this one. Alas, Tie-Fighters and X-Wing fighters do seem a bit dated...
There were a few points at which the CGI and matting didn't seem to have a seamless effect - one could tell the images of Anakin and Obi-Wan were superimposed over the lava jets and flows at times, but the action did keep one from dwelling it. The non-space sets were magnificent as ever, and the galactic geography was added to with several new planets with differing terrains.
The plot for this third episode was in some ways predetermined. We know episodes two and four, so the real drama turns on three major points, and one set-up for episode four. First, the chancellor must become the dictatorial emperor. There was no mystery from the very outset of episode one that he would end up in this role - one wonders if, in the future, people watching the series in proper sequence will discover that so quickly. Second, the Jedi order must meet its doom (otherwise, why would a later episode be entitled 'Return of the Jedi'?). Of course, part of this must require the survival of Yoda and Obi-Wan, as they recur in the future. Third, Anakin must become Darth Vader. We know he will, the question is, how? The set-up comes from the birth of Luke and Leia, who will prove the good-guy nemesis duo of Vader in the latter half of the series.
For having so many predetermined arcs, the story is riveting in many ways. Anakin makes a slow descent into the temptations of the dark side, and most of the time, it is believable - Anakin is still a brash, aggressive young man, full of himself and with all the arrogance that fame and strength can bring. He does give up a bit too easily to the dark side (and one wonders why it never occurred to him that his dreams might be a manipulative plant rather than a true vision of the future). Palpatine becomes the grizzled, disfigured emperor by use of the dark side, just as Anakin will suffer a similar fate. Yoda seems to give up a bit too easily in the final fight with Palpatine - again, required for the story arc, but disappointing given the invincibility factor attributed to Yoda throughout much of the story (this film and others).
Padme is ever-present, but not very effective save as the object of interest for young Anakin; again, we know their love is doomed because we've seen the future, but exactly how they split becomes part of the drama, and it is generally well done. Jar-Jar shows up in the background occasionally, but doesn't utter a word. Chewbacca makes his first appearance here, and several characters make their last.
The battle between Obi-Wan and Anakin in the end is very well crafted, both from a psychological and physical standpoint.
Both Hayden Christensen and Ewan McGregor do an excellent job with their characters. There is subtlety and finesse, even in the choreography for the fight scenes; their relationship is solidly developed. Natalie Portman is a bit wasted, with very little action allowed, given that she is pregnant (with twins, no less - it is somewhat lacking in credibility that this super-advanced civilisation would not have the ability to detect that she was carrying twins, but I digress). All other actors do their usual good job - nothing outstanding nor detracting from the overall Star Wars effect.
Despite the dark and ominous overtones, and despite the pre-set trajectory of much of the action in the film, it is still one that manages to inspire awe and keep one's attention; the dramatic pace of the film is well done, and the acting credible enough without only a few story-line drops distracting from an otherwise near-flawless execution.
It has been officially proclaimed as the last film in the Star Wars cycle. However, there might yet be room for Star Wars III.5. The character of Obi-Wan wants for more development, and his last exchange with Yoda leaves the door open for a side-venture. Don't count the saga out yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Odd Soundtrack, Sept. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
Its a great movie, except that almost halfway through the movie the volume goes really low and when we are in the car the kids can hardly hear the movie. Not sure whey they do that with the sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie!, Oct. 30 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is great. It's when Anakin becomes DarthVader. This is a key movie if you follow Star Wars. My grandson just loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith (Widescreen Edition)
Used & New from: CDN$ 7.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews