Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite movie of all time ...
I first saw this movie when I was twelve and it was my favorite movie then. Thirty-seven years, and a lot of life experience later, it still is. When I first saw it, I took Mark Wallace's views on marriage very much to heart and found the difference between their early relationship and their subsequent marriage disturbing. Seeing it so many years later, I found all his...
Published on March 6 2004

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor print!
NB: There are at least 3? different DVD-releases around, all listed at amazon under the title "Two for the Road"

One of which Two for the Road [DVD] [1967] (Optimum release, ASIN: B0002ADWIA) is to be avoided, it's a poor print (washed out colours, soft image)!

Make sure you buy this release Two for the Road (1967) (Ws Dub Sub Sen) [DVD] [Region 1]...
Published 6 months ago by mickey_one


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WINNER ALL THE WAY, Nov. 6 2000
By 
ALAIN ROBERT (ST-HUBERT,QUEBEC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Two for the Road (VHS Tape)
Winnigly directed by DONEN,TWO FOR THE ROAD is full of beautiful vignettes and anecdotes that makes most couples everyday's life.The film shows what a film can do with a simple meaningful story ,and what a director can do if he is gifted and has a way with the visuals aspect of a motion picture.The casting of HEPBURN AND FINNEY works in a splendid way and is a perfect romantic pairing. Funny how the fashion of the time is well presented and has become nostalgic.I'm glad most reviewers liked that film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romantic Comedy With Content!, Oct. 25 2000
This review is from: Two for the Road (VHS Tape)
Mark and Joanna Wallace meet while each is sailing to France, meet again while traveling, travel together, fall in love, and marry. Then the real work begins, with quarrels, unfaithfulness, a husband who loves his wife and daughter but frequently seems to love his work more, an obviously loving but equally stubborn wife, and, most important, love that brings them back together.
Audrey Hepburn is elegant, playful, passionate, willful, and loving in turn, while Albert Finney is excellent in his role as a man in love with his profession of architecture - sometimes so much that he doesn't pay sufficient attention to things right under his nose. William Daniel and Eleanor Bron are exceptional in their portrayal of Mark's girlfriend from his college days in America (I think that Eleanor Bron is English, but her northeastern American accent is perfect) and her husband, touring the European continent with Mark and Joanna after their marriage but before the birth of their
daughter. You also get a few minutes of a very young and, of course, very beautiful and sexy Jacqueline Bisset flirting with Albert Finney fairly early in the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best? Best!, Sept. 30 2005
By 
This review is from: Two for the Road (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
Is this really one of the best films ever made or is it just that I so thoroughly enjoyed it. By turns funny, dramatic, and ironic, this film takes us all around the block and then some. The story of a modern courtship and marriage - told warts and all - the movie employs a unique and effective flash back/forward plot device. In the hands of a lesser director, this could have been annoying, but Stanley Donen is a master, and Two for the Road is one of his masterpieces. Add to this Audrey Hepburn at the apex of her Givenchy beauty and acting abilities and Albert Finney - perhaps the only living actor who could convincingly fail to shower Hepburn with attention and still seem straight - and a who's who of American and European character actors (Jacqueline Bissett in her film Debut) and that is Two For The Road.
Yes.....definitely among the best films ever made. DVD? It's about frigging time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A stinging portrait of married life's ups & downs, April 3 2004
By 
DJ Joe Sixpack (...in Middle America) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Two for the Road (VHS Tape)
A funny, subtle, bittersweet and skillfully constructed look at one couple's courtship and sometimes-rocky marriage, as seen in a series of interwoven narratives, all during trips through France in the 1950s and '60s. Albert Finney and Audrey Hepburn portray the Wallaces, he an irascible, prickly young architect, she, his indefatigably cheery, clear-eyed wife. The dizzying, back-and-forth cross-chronological editing can be a bit disorienting, but the script is incredibly skillful, and the tart dialogue takes on an aching, painful resonance. Plus, Hepburn is such a doll. Great clothes, great old cars and outlandishly modern architecture and interior design -- a great glimpse into the Euro-American middle class of the late 'Fifties and early 'Sixties, when the world was their oyster, and love was in the air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must see---A must buy!, March 15 2004
By 
A. Carmack (Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Two for the Road (VHS Tape)
The past month I have been watching every Audrey Hepburn movie available on VHS... She has always been one of my favorite actresses, and 5 years ago I realized she was my all-time favorite: she has endeared herself to me in her most well-known films such as My fair Lady, Breakfast at Tiffany's, and Roman Holiday (all of which I love).
But I have also been viewing her lesser-known films, such as The Nun's Story (excellent), Children's Hour (excellent), and -- most recently -- "Two for the Road."
When I first rented the movie, I had =no= idea what to expect, so at first I was a bit surprised and let down that the relationship that Hepburn's character (Joanna Wallace) has with the leading male is not all sweet and sugary such as that in Roman Holiday. In fact, the relationship she has with Albert Finney's character (Mark Wallace) is "basically volatile" -- as Wallace's friend and ex-lover points out -- and is filled with "sniping" and mutual loathing--at least by the time they have been married for ten years.
However, by the time the film was over, I realized it was the most realistic movie about the vicissitudes of long-term relationships that I had ever watched and that I would be recommending this little-known film to all my friends, especially my married and divorced ones (i.e., I think one has to have been married and/or divorced to =really= appreciate the film, although other reviewers have pointed out that they were single when they first viewed it and that it made a lasting impression on them).
I myself was married 2 weeks shy of 14 years (in a very volatile relationship), and to me this film is "spot on" when it comes to portraying the different phases that many long-term relationships go through: the first months of almost absolute bliss; the early, pre-child years, when the arguments that occur only presage later, more serious ones; the years when a child only adds stress to a relationship already at a breaking point; the 6th-8th year when the couple can't stand each other; [the whole 7-year itch factor]; to the 10th-12th year when the couple still cannot stand each other, only pretend to be happily married, but stay together because "it is worth it sometimes," and because they discover they need each other. As Finney's character wryly remarks: If there is one thing I really despise is an "indispensible woman."
I give "Two for the Road" 4 out of 5 stars. The performance by Hepburn is extraordinary--given that she convincingly plays the same woman, Joanna Wallace, over a 12-year period, varying between a 20-something fresh youth who is "three-dimensional as it happens" -- Viewers of the film will recognize that quote -- to a thirty-something mother-with-child ("pregnant sow").
The film abounds with such wry remarks, excellent editing (making the film a bit tricky to follow, but which in turn adds to the pleasure of mulitple viewing).
Other reviewers have mentioned that the scenes cut between four different "road trips" that Mark and Joanna Wallace make, but in my count there are at least five:
(a) the one where they first meet and fall in love when hitchiking;
(b) the one where they are newlyweds travelling with friends of Mark (the American couple with a bratty daughter);
(c) the one where they are in the "old MG" (and eventually meet Maurice, Mark's soon-to-be all-consuming employer);
(d) the one where they are travelling together with their own daughter: on the road and in the hotel where the boiled egg doesn't arrive;
(e) the one where they are travelling without their daughter, en route to meet Maurice; the trip that starts and ends the movie;
Hepburn's acting was superb, while Finney's was passable at best. His character hardly changes in appearance over the 10-12 years, and his imitation of Humphrey Bogart is weak and therefore unnecessary. Michael Caine would have been a better lead. But he does deliver his lines well if somewhat too laconically.
Memorable quotes abound from this film, as in Breakfast at Tiffany's (which remains my fav of Hepburn films)...
----"We agreed before we got married we weren't going to have children," says Finney's character.
----"And before we were married, we didn't," slyly retorts Hepburns' character.
The dialogue is as catchy as the editing and the acting.
4 out 5: Even though I am a huge Audrey Hepburn fan, and even though the movie is one of her best... still it is probably not (yet) in my top fifty movies of all time...well, maybe #50. (There are an awful lot of movies out there!)
But I would still say that it is the most realistic film about relationships that I have seen, and certainly the most realistic film about relationships that Hepburn stars in. And "star in" she does in "Two for the Road": as in most her movies, her personality and--in this case-- her superb acting *make* the movie. She plays the gamut of absolute giddyness to the depths of grief in a very believeable and touching manner.
I plan to purchase the film for multiple viewings. And it is a definite "must see" and "must have" for Hepburn fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic - TRUE Classic, Dec 15 2003
By 
"tiseye" (new york city) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Two for the Road (VHS Tape)
Well first i should say that Two For the Road is practically my life and my partner's life story. However, four years before I was married I had first seen the film.....little was i to know.
Now thirty-three years later, more happily married than ever, I look at this film as a timeless, classic work that survives while so many others have failed.
The writing is superb in its wit and poignancy - a poignancy that was applicable then and is as pertinent now.
Lines like, Finny pointing to the obnoxious child, "Do you Still want a Child.." And Hepburn replies, "Yes! just not THAT child.." The statement speaks volumes for those deciding on children or not....it exemplfies how individual that decision is.
Finny is as funny as hell as a typical male and Hepburn is sweetness personified in her portrayal.
They grow old together, in sickness and in health, good times and bad, joy and happiness and pain and sorrow. They live in a world of reality where life is a roller coaster and no one is perfect. They make it through the times of deceipt and betrayal by knowing the greater part of their marriage is positive and rewarding.
The film is brilliantly photographed, the score is uncomplicated and lovely. Sub plots like the erosion of the environment because of over-building and the superficial needs and crutches of the overly monied add to support the central them of compromises and misfortunes even in the best of worlds and relationships.
Rent it -- Oh and for god's sake will someone please get this on DVD -- and see a big dose of healthy truth wrapped in glorious scenery, incredible fashions and wonderful performances.
God i LOVE this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Movie!, Aug. 4 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Two for the Road (VHS Tape)
This delightful vehicle for the most beautiful Audrey Hepburn and the terribly charming Albert Finney never fails to make me smile & sigh. While following the pair through France, and through the first decade of love and marriage, director Donen gives us old-fashioned romance combined with a very realistic view of how love once so cherished becomes neglected and abused.
Memorable movie lines:
Finney to Hepburn who is sporting a tiara: "If you want to be a Dutchess, be a Dutchess; but if you want to make love it's hats off".
Hepburn to Finney: "You don't know what love is".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars why i love stanley donen, audrey hepburn, and henry mancini, Dec 12 2002
This review is from: Two for the Road (VHS Tape)
most anyone who enjoys older movies enjoys stanley donen, whether they realize it or not. this is the man who brought us singin' in the rain, seven brides for seven brothers, and funny face, after all. and his turns directing non-musicals are equally impressive - just watch charade.
audrey hepburn, of course, needs no introduction.
why then this movie -the last of three the two made together- is so often overlooked is beyond me. this poingant, wildly inventive look at marriage has been cited by many as hepburn's best performance. it is possibly even donen's best film, of a repitoire which is hard to beat. it is simply a fantastic movie.
in short... go watch two for the road!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enormous pleasure, June 28 2002
By 
Susan Fong (Las Vegas, NV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Two for the Road (VHS Tape)
"Two For the Road" is a lovely, seriocomic movie about the ups and downs of a long relationship between Joanna (played by Audrey Hepburn) and Mark (played by Albert Finney). Joanna and Mark first cross paths as students traveling across Europe. They wind up hitchhiking together and eventually falling in love.
The story is told through flashbacks. We follow the couple from their early carefree infatuation through marriage, parenthood, boredom, infidelity, and finally renewal of their relationship.
Along the way, there are some memorable vignettes involving Joanna and Mark vacationing with another couple Howard and Cathy Manchester (amusingly played by William Daniels and Eleanor Bron) and their daughter Ruthie Manchester. Howard and Cathy must be the most wittily neurotic twosome in movies and their daughter Ruthie is probably the most obnoxious child in movie history.
The performances are uniformly excellent. The direction by Stanley Donen is stylish and sophisticated. Frederic Raphael's screenplay is alternately romantic and cynical. And Henry Mancini's exquisitely beautiful score is one of this fine composer's very best. "Two For the Road" is an enormous pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars unlike any other hepburn pic, Jan. 9 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Two for the Road (VHS Tape)
The cinematography is amazing for its' time. The screenplay is amusing. As in other Hepburn vehicle's love tends to play a major role, but it is the question of cynicism in regards to love and all that it entails which makes the picture something to watch. Love is never perfect of course, but for all its' ups and downs it's a wonderful place to be in when truly fealt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Two for the Road  (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import]
CDN$ 16.08 CDN$ 16.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews