Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite movie of all time ...
I first saw this movie when I was twelve and it was my favorite movie then. Thirty-seven years, and a lot of life experience later, it still is. When I first saw it, I took Mark Wallace's views on marriage very much to heart and found the difference between their early relationship and their subsequent marriage disturbing. Seeing it so many years later, I found all his...
Published on March 6 2004

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor print!
NB: There are at least 3? different DVD-releases around, all listed at amazon under the title "Two for the Road"

One of which Two for the Road [DVD] [1967] (Optimum release, ASIN: B0002ADWIA) is to be avoided, it's a poor print (washed out colours, soft image)!

Make sure you buy this release Two for the Road (1967) (Ws Dub Sub Sen) [DVD] [Region 1]...
Published 3 months ago by mickey_one


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars music and humor add up to a great mood movie, Jan. 11 1999
By 
C. Chan (Manila, Philippines) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Two for the Road (VHS Tape)
music and humor add up to a great mood movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Two For the Road is a down-to-earth movie..., Nov. 27 1998
This review is from: Two for the Road (VHS Tape)
I like this movie because you can see Audrey Hepburn as a normal every day woman. It's funny, romantic, sad, and just plain wonderful. Audrey's clothes are fantastic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Hepburn and Finney drown in the stupid 1960's dialogue., Nov. 21 1998
By 
RWM "RWM" (Rural New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Two for the Road (VHS Tape)
Yes, there is a bad Audrey Hepburn film and this is it. This 1960's film tries way too hard be "modern" as it looks at the trials and tribulations of married life. It has no point of view beyond its bell-bottomed, trendy cynicism. It has no wit, no human warmth. Poor Albert Finney plays a totally selfish oaf with no redeeming virtues nor vices. Why the Hepburn character stays with him longer than 20 seconds puts this film in the Mystery category.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truely A Five Star Movie, June 25 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Two for the Road (VHS Tape)
Two For The Road is an excellent look at the souring marriage of Mark (Albert Finney) and Joanna (Audrey Hepburn) Wallace. It's neat flashback techniques, stylish wardrobe and wonderful score by Henry Mancini make this movie (in my opinion) the best one that Audrey Hepburn has ever starred in. END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A SAGITTARIUS ROMANCE*, Nov. 11 2002
This review is from: Two for the Road (VHS Tape)
Although some may find this delightful 1967 British film more than a little dated, it holds a special place in many hearts including mine. In the opening, Finney and Hepburn are driving in their Mercedes-Benz from England to the French Riviera. He's an architect, and they're driving to the home of Maurice Dalbret, the Frenchman who gave successful Finney his start. During the road trip, its obvious the marriage is headed for trouble. Flash Back time. Twelve years ago, Finney is a back-packing student looking at buildings and Audrey is among a bevy of female music students going to a festival. The happy times, the trials and tribulations and the whole gist of the film will appeal to many but not to others. (oh, well). I like it. Some felt that Hepburn was too old (7 years, to be exact) for Finney, but this is hardly a problem (wasn't Lucy older than Desi?). The usually fastidious Hepburn was dressed by Mary Quant, Paco Rabannne & Ken Scott: she even wears blue jeans! The stunning location scenes where filmed on location: St. Tropez, Paris, Nice and Beauallon. *If the viewer is or knows a true Sag, they know what I meant by the heading: I was born 5 December: at 42, it remains my passion to travel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Do That Anymore!, May 29 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Two for the Road (VHS Tape)
Great fun picking out situations and saying "Can't Do That Anymore" Example - smoking on airplanes. See how many you can find and there are many.
Great 60's clothes - cars - music.
Hepburn and Finney at their young and loveliest. (Hard to believe this is the same bloke who is currently playing on HBO as Churchill in "Gathering Storm" - which is brilliant!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars girl in a sportscar..., Nov. 18 2001
By 
"byblos26" (sydney, new south wales Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Two for the Road (VHS Tape)
at first, i didn't really get this film(you have to pay attention to the plot,not just at audrey!) but after countless viewings, i have to say it's one of audrey's best films. it's not as glossy as charade and funny face but everyone looks really hip and the film is very sixties, especially the scene on the riviera when albert finney picks up a faye dunaway-esque blonde in a sportscar. the film is also very funny and the supporting roles are excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hot diggity dog, March 29 2001
By 
Zach McGregor (Frisco, Colorado USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Two for the Road (VHS Tape)
I really find it hard to think that anyone liked this movie. Maybe it's just me and my simple mind but I had a hard time following along. It's like trying to follow that kid through the maze in the shining. It'll drive you crazy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, Sept. 27 2000
By 
Philipp Gierenstein (Neunkirchen, NRW; Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Two for the Road (VHS Tape)
This is one of my favourite movies of all time, perhaps THE favourite! Audrey looks just gorgeous (as always) and Albert Finney is very good, too. If you're a film freak, go out and buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watch it a couple of times, Aug. 7 2008
By 
G. Motychko "Miss Nay-Sayer" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I just couldn't get the hang of this movie- hence, the title.

First off, I would like to take a moment and just say that Audrey Hepburn and Albert Finny were amazing actors in this movie, and you could feel their chemistry, unlike her other co-stars in 'Breakfast at Tiffany's' and 'Love in the Afternoon'. They were great on-set and off. The plot had potential, (I use that expression a lot) and you could feel the underlying tone of disparity- having loved each other enough through everything, but it just about missed the mark.

As it stands, this would be the only Audrey Hepburn movie that didn't blow me away. I have watched it two times, and some people would say that isn't enough to fully understand the movie, but I would hope that I don't have to watch it five times to get it. Okay, the time jumped around a lot, and the only way to tell was by looking at Audrey's clothing and hair most of the time. It would have been more heartfelt if it went in chronological order... but that was just the directing style.

I was not too impressed with the ending, although it did have some artistic qualities about it. It just didn't bring full conclusion to the movie.

I would suggest it to any seasoned Audrey fan, but if you are looking for a bone fide classic, then you won't die if you pass over this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4002744)

This product

Two for the Road  (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import]
CDN$ 16.83 CDN$ 16.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews