Customer Reviews


489 Reviews
5 star:
 (410)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family Guy Will Save Us All
Finally a show that actually makes me laugh..makes me want to rewind and laugh AGAIN...so funny...so sarcastic..so random! It is the best thing to come out on Fox and I am so thankful for it.
First of all, Seth McFarlane is incredibly talented and funny, and the writers...my god, the WRITERS! Pure genius..the peak and ultimate stretch of comedy. They make fun of...
Published on March 2 2006 by H. Napieraj

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, Horrible DVDs
I recently fell in LOVE with Family Guy, so I was thrilled when I recieved this set as a gift. I love the episodes, but there is one problem that is bothering me a lot. I can't get to the opening scenes! A lot of the episodes start at the main theme and not the opening scene that is listed in the scene selection. I know it can't be the malfunction of one disc, because...
Published on July 18 2004 by Liz


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family Guy Will Save Us All, March 2 2006
By 
H. Napieraj (Mississauga, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Finally a show that actually makes me laugh..makes me want to rewind and laugh AGAIN...so funny...so sarcastic..so random! It is the best thing to come out on Fox and I am so thankful for it.
First of all, Seth McFarlane is incredibly talented and funny, and the writers...my god, the WRITERS! Pure genius..the peak and ultimate stretch of comedy. They make fun of everything..maybe even things that shouldn't be made fun of.. you just can't help but laugh, though.
I can't believe people think it's a copy of the Simpsons..WHAT?! Why because it's animated? It features a family of five? What show these days doesn't? You have to look past that and appreciate the show's unique humour and feel. The only show that comes close is American Dad, and it's obvious why: the same people created it!
I, personally, never liked the Simpsons...in fact, because of that show, I was reluctant to give Family Guy a chance...but I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was nothing like it, despite all the rumours.
Anyway, this show makes many people happy and, in today's world, that's incredible. I'm sorry this isn't as much of a review on season 1 and 2, but more of just a random girl's opinion on the show as a whole, but I just read the reviews people posted on here and I have to say I was deeply disturbed. To all you Family Guy fans, you know what I mean.
Buy season 1 & 2 if you can afford it, but DEFINITELY watch it. It would be a sin not to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Un-freakin'-believeable, June 10 2004
By 
Better than the Simpsons, better than South Park, Family Guy was a show ahead of its time. Reporetedly, sales of this DVD have been so good, Fox is going to bring back the series.
This DVD collection features the following episodes:
Death Has a Shadow: Peter is fired from his job after a stag party. Afterwards, the welfare office overpays him in unemployment benefits and he must make amends to both Lois and the government.
I Never Met the Dead Man: After crashing the town's satellite, Peter convinces Meg to take the blame for the town's loss of TV. Peter then learns to live without TV, until a trip with William Shatner.
Chitty Chitty Death Bang: After screwing up reservations Lois made at Cheesy Charlie's, Peter must make arrangements for Stewie's first birthday party. Meg learns how to be popular.
Mind over Murder: When Peter is forced to drink at home, he builds a bar in the basement to entice his friends over. Lois finds the attention she's starved for by singing at the bar. Zaniness follows.
A Hero Sits Next Door: Peter convinces his next door neighbor to play softball at the company picnic, only to discover his neighbor, Joe, is handicapped. Peter is jealous of the attention Joe receives. Zaniness follows.
The Son Also Draws: To convince Chris's boyscout troup to let him back in, the family travels to New York. But they lose their car at an Indian Casino where Peter must go on a Spirit Quest.
Brian, Portrait of a Dog: Brian is frustrated when Peter treats him like a dog. Brian leaves, and is arrested and sentenced to lethal injection. It's up to Peter to save him.
Peter Peter Caviar Eater: Lois's great aunt dies and leaves the family her summer home. Wealth goes to Peter's head, and he has to figure a way out.
Holy Crap: Peter's father, a devout Catholic, comes to live with the family. Peter is unable to bond with his father, and zaniness follows. (Guest appearance by the pope).
Da Boom: a Y2K horror story: bombs fly, airplanes drop from the sky, and chickens hand out coupons.
Brian in Love: Brian must come to terms with his life after a series of embaressing "accidents." After some psychological help, he believes he's in love with Lois.
Death is a Bitch: Due to a clerical error, Death comes to take Peter. Death (played by Norm McDonald) breaks his ankle and has to stay off his feet. Peter must become death, and is ordered to kill the kids from Dawson's Creek.
The King is Dead: Lois realizes her directing dream when she becomes the director of the Quahog players. But Peter's meddling ruins her production of "The King and I."
I am Peter, Hear me Roar: Peter is forced to go to a feminist camp to get in touch with his feminine side. Lois must bring back the old Peter when he returns.
If I'm Dyin', I'm Lyin': Peter tells the make-a-wish foundation that Chris is dying from a rare disease in order to get a show back on TV.
Running Mates: Peter and Lois both run for School Board. Zaniness ensues.
A Picture is Worth a Thousand Bucks: The family travels to New York when they discover Chris has real talent as a painter. Chris, however, must chose between his father or his painting.
Road to Road Island: Brian goes to pick up Stewie from Stewie's grandparents'. But the two miss their plane and are forced to find a way back home. On the way, Brian confronts his mother.
Let's go to the Hop: Licking toads becomes popular at Quahog high school. Peter goes undercover to convince the kids not to do drugs and gets a date to prom with the most popular girl in school.
Damnit Janet: Stewie goes to daycare and falls for a girl. But he discovers she's only after his cookies. Lois becomes an airline stewardess, but discovers Peter is using her to take free flights across the globe. Zaniness follows.
He's too Sexy for his Fat: Chris decides to go on a diet after being mistaken for a van. Peter decides to get plastic surgery.
E Peterbus Unium: Due to a zoning error, the family's house is not a part of the United States. Peter finds he is not respected at the U.N., so he invades his neighbor's house to annex his pool. The family comes under seige from the U.S. Army.
The Story on Page One: Meg joins the school newspaper in order to have extra curricular activities for college. But Peter switches her story with a story that Luke Perry is gay. Luke Perry ensues.
Wasted Talent: Peter wins the golden ticket to tour the Pautuckett Pat breweries. Lois discovers Peter can win the paino talent show, if he's drunk. Stewie requests Peter play the sad walking away music from the Hulk TV show.
Fore, Fathers: Peter tries to teach Chris how to be responsible. He then tries to teach Cleveland's son how to play golf. He fails.
Some episodes have commentary with Seth McFarlane and various other writers, directors, or actors (Seth himself did the voice of Peter, Brian, Stewie, and Quagmire). The commentary is hilarious, but it's only on a few of the episodes.
No doubt, this is some of the funniest stuff you'll ever see on DVD. If you even remotely like Simpsons, the Critic, or South Park, you should definately pick up this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Family Giy season ever., Dec 16 2012
Ok season 1 to 4 were great. But atfer that :(. This season will make you laugh and cry and make you :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lucky there's a Family Guy DVD set, June 3 2004
To show how popular this set is on DVD, you'll notice (as of this entry) that there are no used copies available. Once you get this, you'll never want to let it go.
There's four discs in this set; disc 1 covers the first season and discs 2-4 cover the second. Disc 1 generally gets the most play, as overall the episodes are perfectly hilarious. As the show was still finding it's footing and sometimes shooting off in various directions (remember, at the stag party in the first episode, Cleveland wasn't even on the show yet), but I remember watching the premiere of this show after the Super Bowl. "Whoa, laughs ahoy." Other episodes, such as Peter building his own bar
Alas, this show got moved around too much for me (or anyone) to watch it every week, so the DVDs show me the episodes I missed. Until this, I never saw the wordless scene where Peter is nursing Stewie (until Stewie realizes something's amiss). Nothing could possibly beat that in terms of sheer amusement.
Get this while you can! Of course, if you're easily offended, perhaps you should not...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Family Guy Volume #1 - Seasons 1 & 2, Sept. 23 2003
Peter and Lois Griffin head a family (unhygienic son Chris, social-misfit daughter Meg, plotting to take over the world after he kills his mother baby boy Stewie, and their pet -- a talking dog named Brian who's also an intellectual alcoholic) that is as dysfunctional as it comes. They live in Quahog, Rhode Island, and seem to often know they are a sitcom family, even if the situations they get into are usually more outrageous than most. This show is for adults, make no mistake - the humor often borders on raunchy - but in watching this show there were times I would laugh so hard I thought I was going to lose bladder control; it is THAT funny. Just like it say's on the back on the set "Family Guy is what you'd get if you put 'Cartman' - 'Homer' and 'Hank Hill' in a blender"--- NY Times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars God bless Fox for bringing the family guy to DVD, Jan. 2 2003
By 
I was so upset when the family guy was cancelled because it was by far the funniest show on television at the time. If you watched any episodes you know that it is more mature than the simpsons and in my opinion a lot funnier. They cancel family guy but keep futurama? Sure the show wasn't getting the great ratings it had from the past seasons but that was because they kept moving the timeslot. I wish for the family guy to come out with new episodes but i'll take the dvd box set as a consolation prize. I have all the episodes on my cpu but i must own them on dvd. Great show for anybody who likes to laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its Awsome!!, Nov. 4 2004
a lot of people complain about the dvds quality...
they say it doesnt have much "etra features" and that the menu sucks... well... their right...
it is obvious they didnt spent much time or money on this dvd set... but you know what... "I DONT CARE"
I BROUGHT THE DVDS FOR THE SHOWS, NOT THE MENU, NOT THE BOX, NOT THE EXTRAS... I BROUGHT IT TO SEE THOSE LOVEBALS CHARACTERS MAKE ME LAUGH FOR 30 MINUTES STRAIGHT... AND IT DIDNT DECIVE ME
so all you weirdos out there... get a life...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stuff on DVD, Jan. 8 2003
By 
Matthew J Harrington (Collegeville, MN United States) - See all my reviews
Heres an official thing i found. well not official someone else posted it in another place... i think i added up 27 episodes, but who knows I was educated with new math
FAMILY GUY VOLUME ONE DVD COLLECTION
FAMILY GUY debuted after the Superbowl in 1999 and currently airs on Thursday on FOX Television Networks.
(that last line i didnt understand...)
FAMILY GUY VOLUME ONE DVD Special Features And Disc Content Specifics:
All Season Two episodes of FAMILY GUY are compiled on 4 dual-layered discs (full frame, aspect ration 1.33:1). Each episode is presented with English Dolby Surround, French Stereo and Spanish Dolby Surround Sound. In addition, the following special features are exclusive to each disc:
Disc One:
Episodes
Death Has a Shadow (1/31/99)
I Never Met the Dead Man (4/11/99)
Chitty Chitty Death Bang (4/18/99)
Mind Over Murder (4/25/99)
A Hero Sits Next Door (5/2/99)
The Son Also Draws (5/9/99)
Brian: Portrait of a Dog (5/16/99)
Bonus Features
Commentary: "Death Has a Shadow" and "The Son Also Draws"
Seven Internet Promos
Disc Two:
Episodes
Peter, Peter, Caviar Eater (9/23/99)
Holy Crap (9/30/99)
DaBoom (12/26/99)
Brian in Love (3/7/00)
Love Thy Trophy (3/14/00)
Death is a B(i)tch (3/21/00)
The King is Dead (3/28/00)
Bonus Features
Commentary: "Peter, Peter, Caviar Eater" and "Holy Crap"
Disc Three:
Episodes
I Am Peter, Hear Me Roar (3/28/00)
If I'm Dyin', I'm Lyin' (4/4/00)
Running Mates (4/11/00)
A Picture Is Worth 1,000 Bucks (4/18/00)
Fifteen Minutes of Shame (4/25/00)
Road to Rhode Island (5/30/00)
Let's Go to the Hop (6/6/00)
Bonus Features
Commentary: "Fifteen Minutes of Shame" and "Let's Go to the Hop"
Disc Four:
Episodes
Dammit Janet! (6/13/00)
There's Something About Paulie (6/27/00)
He's Too Sexy for His Fat (6/27/00)
E. Peterbus Unum (7/12/00)
The Story on Page 1 (7/18/00)
Wasted Talent (7/25/00)
Fore, Father (8/1/00)
Bonus Features
Commentary: "He's Too Sexy for His Fat" and "E. Peterbus Unum"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HILARIOUS!!, April 6 2003
By 
One of the funniest shows of all time. I wouldn't say it is quite up to the simpsons but never was there an episode when i wasnt on the florr laughing.
... I say buy it!it is amazingly funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll take Peter over Homer any day., July 8 2003
By 
Jeff Crosley (Atlanta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
It's so very rare that we find a "comedy" on TV that sets out to make us laugh and actually acomplishes that. It's even more difficult for a cartoon, due to the absence of a laugh track. Of the five major and semi-major cartoon comedies (The Simpsons, Futurama, King of the Hill, South Park, Family Guy), I find Family Guy to be by and large the best. Peter Griffin is essentially a synthesis of Hank Hill, Homer Simpson, Eric Carman, and Bender, and is funnier than any of them.
Here, in all of their glory, are the first two seasons. From the very first joke the show ever did (which was a Brady Bunch parody followed by a pun involving Aunt Jemimah) to "Brian: Portrait of a Dog", every episode is priceless.
Family Guy is funny because it's so brazenly irreverent. The show tosses political correctness out the window (which Fox was upset about regarding "When you Wish upon a Weinstein", which can be seen in the second DVD set later this year), taking jabs at pretty much everyone and everything. The cutaways and quick flashbacks are the show's trademark, and they are usually funnier than the main action. The show is also a brilliant mix of universally funny jokes to pop culture jokes of yesteryear. Seth MacFarlane said that the show uses older culture references because if the jokes are funny now when the subjects are dated, they'll be funny twenty years from now. This is why Family Guy never did a Titanic or Matrix parody. You can judge a persons relative cultural awareness by how many Family Guy jokes he or she gets. I have two favorite examples of this. The first (I forget which episode, it may even be in the third season) is when Peter says "While I may not agree with what you say, I will defend to the death your right to say it." This is a quote from Voltaire, an eighteenth century French satirist and writer. Very few people got that joke, but for those who did, it was very funny indeed. My other favorite culture joke is in the episode "Brian in Love". Brian is driving down a country road when he hits a man. He stops the car, runs back to the man, and goes "Oh my God, are you Stephen King?" "No," the man replies. "I'm Dean Koontz." "Oh," says Brian. Brian then proceeds back to his car and backs it over Dean Koontz. It has to be seen to be appreciated, but I thought I would die laughing when that happened. In order to get that joke, a person has to be familiar with the writings of both Stephen King and Dean Koontz, which is, again, appealing to a limited audience.
Every single character from Peter and his family to the neighbors to Tom and Diane, the newscasters, to Mr. Weed to Death (who has made three appearances on the show at various times), every character is well defined and funny in their own special way. Peter has his stupidity, Stewey has his evil genius coupled with his age, Lois has her standard housewife attitude coupled with her rarely seen sensual side, Meg has her insecurity, Chris has his immaturity and childishness, Brian has his intellect coupled with his alchohol problem, Joe has his wheelchair and macho personality, Cleveland has his race and droll speech patterns, Quagmire has his perversions, and Tom and Diane have the irony of their typically outrageous reporting coupled with their droll and deadpan delivery.
Is it as influential as the Simpsons? Deffinetly not. Is it funnier? Deffinetly so, especially when compared to the last few seasons (The Simpsons really is running out of steam). By the way, don't listen to the nay-sayers who claim it was taken off the air because no one liked it. Just look at these reviews for proof that that isn't true. It was taken off the air because it kept switching schedules, and even the hardcore fans had difficulty keeping up with the various changes. Remember, the show was cancelled after two seasons, but enough people wrote to Fox that they signed MacFarlane on for another season. The outcry for a third season was unprecedented. There is a place for this show in television history, and I hope that it lives on in these DVDs that others may hear that wonderful title theme: "It seems today that all you see is violence in movies and sex on TV, but where are those good old fashioned values on which we used to rely? Lucky there's a Family Guy. Lucky there's a man who positively can do all the things that make us laugh and cry. He's a Family Guy."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Family Guy, Vol. 1 - Seasons 1 & 2 [UMD for PSP] (Bilingual) [Import]
Used & New from: CDN$ 28.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews