Customer Reviews


488 Reviews
5 star:
 (409)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family Guy Will Save Us All
Finally a show that actually makes me laugh..makes me want to rewind and laugh AGAIN...so funny...so sarcastic..so random! It is the best thing to come out on Fox and I am so thankful for it.
First of all, Seth McFarlane is incredibly talented and funny, and the writers...my god, the WRITERS! Pure genius..the peak and ultimate stretch of comedy. They make fun of...
Published on March 2 2006 by H. Napieraj

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Often funny and irreverent - too often uneven and lackluster
I started out like many people, discovering "Family Guy" reruns late at night on Cartoon Network's "Adult Swim." I was never familiar with the show during its actual run, but seeing it late at night on television seemed a fresh breath of air compared to most of the unfunny crap and ridiculous reality shows that have infested TV lately. I immediately...
Published on Oct. 6 2003 by M. Burns


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family Guy Will Save Us All, March 2 2006
By 
H. Napieraj (Mississauga, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Finally a show that actually makes me laugh..makes me want to rewind and laugh AGAIN...so funny...so sarcastic..so random! It is the best thing to come out on Fox and I am so thankful for it.
First of all, Seth McFarlane is incredibly talented and funny, and the writers...my god, the WRITERS! Pure genius..the peak and ultimate stretch of comedy. They make fun of everything..maybe even things that shouldn't be made fun of.. you just can't help but laugh, though.
I can't believe people think it's a copy of the Simpsons..WHAT?! Why because it's animated? It features a family of five? What show these days doesn't? You have to look past that and appreciate the show's unique humour and feel. The only show that comes close is American Dad, and it's obvious why: the same people created it!
I, personally, never liked the Simpsons...in fact, because of that show, I was reluctant to give Family Guy a chance...but I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was nothing like it, despite all the rumours.
Anyway, this show makes many people happy and, in today's world, that's incredible. I'm sorry this isn't as much of a review on season 1 and 2, but more of just a random girl's opinion on the show as a whole, but I just read the reviews people posted on here and I have to say I was deeply disturbed. To all you Family Guy fans, you know what I mean.
Buy season 1 & 2 if you can afford it, but DEFINITELY watch it. It would be a sin not to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Un-freakin'-believeable, June 10 2004
By 
Better than the Simpsons, better than South Park, Family Guy was a show ahead of its time. Reporetedly, sales of this DVD have been so good, Fox is going to bring back the series.
This DVD collection features the following episodes:
Death Has a Shadow: Peter is fired from his job after a stag party. Afterwards, the welfare office overpays him in unemployment benefits and he must make amends to both Lois and the government.
I Never Met the Dead Man: After crashing the town's satellite, Peter convinces Meg to take the blame for the town's loss of TV. Peter then learns to live without TV, until a trip with William Shatner.
Chitty Chitty Death Bang: After screwing up reservations Lois made at Cheesy Charlie's, Peter must make arrangements for Stewie's first birthday party. Meg learns how to be popular.
Mind over Murder: When Peter is forced to drink at home, he builds a bar in the basement to entice his friends over. Lois finds the attention she's starved for by singing at the bar. Zaniness follows.
A Hero Sits Next Door: Peter convinces his next door neighbor to play softball at the company picnic, only to discover his neighbor, Joe, is handicapped. Peter is jealous of the attention Joe receives. Zaniness follows.
The Son Also Draws: To convince Chris's boyscout troup to let him back in, the family travels to New York. But they lose their car at an Indian Casino where Peter must go on a Spirit Quest.
Brian, Portrait of a Dog: Brian is frustrated when Peter treats him like a dog. Brian leaves, and is arrested and sentenced to lethal injection. It's up to Peter to save him.
Peter Peter Caviar Eater: Lois's great aunt dies and leaves the family her summer home. Wealth goes to Peter's head, and he has to figure a way out.
Holy Crap: Peter's father, a devout Catholic, comes to live with the family. Peter is unable to bond with his father, and zaniness follows. (Guest appearance by the pope).
Da Boom: a Y2K horror story: bombs fly, airplanes drop from the sky, and chickens hand out coupons.
Brian in Love: Brian must come to terms with his life after a series of embaressing "accidents." After some psychological help, he believes he's in love with Lois.
Death is a Bitch: Due to a clerical error, Death comes to take Peter. Death (played by Norm McDonald) breaks his ankle and has to stay off his feet. Peter must become death, and is ordered to kill the kids from Dawson's Creek.
The King is Dead: Lois realizes her directing dream when she becomes the director of the Quahog players. But Peter's meddling ruins her production of "The King and I."
I am Peter, Hear me Roar: Peter is forced to go to a feminist camp to get in touch with his feminine side. Lois must bring back the old Peter when he returns.
If I'm Dyin', I'm Lyin': Peter tells the make-a-wish foundation that Chris is dying from a rare disease in order to get a show back on TV.
Running Mates: Peter and Lois both run for School Board. Zaniness ensues.
A Picture is Worth a Thousand Bucks: The family travels to New York when they discover Chris has real talent as a painter. Chris, however, must chose between his father or his painting.
Road to Road Island: Brian goes to pick up Stewie from Stewie's grandparents'. But the two miss their plane and are forced to find a way back home. On the way, Brian confronts his mother.
Let's go to the Hop: Licking toads becomes popular at Quahog high school. Peter goes undercover to convince the kids not to do drugs and gets a date to prom with the most popular girl in school.
Damnit Janet: Stewie goes to daycare and falls for a girl. But he discovers she's only after his cookies. Lois becomes an airline stewardess, but discovers Peter is using her to take free flights across the globe. Zaniness follows.
He's too Sexy for his Fat: Chris decides to go on a diet after being mistaken for a van. Peter decides to get plastic surgery.
E Peterbus Unium: Due to a zoning error, the family's house is not a part of the United States. Peter finds he is not respected at the U.N., so he invades his neighbor's house to annex his pool. The family comes under seige from the U.S. Army.
The Story on Page One: Meg joins the school newspaper in order to have extra curricular activities for college. But Peter switches her story with a story that Luke Perry is gay. Luke Perry ensues.
Wasted Talent: Peter wins the golden ticket to tour the Pautuckett Pat breweries. Lois discovers Peter can win the paino talent show, if he's drunk. Stewie requests Peter play the sad walking away music from the Hulk TV show.
Fore, Fathers: Peter tries to teach Chris how to be responsible. He then tries to teach Cleveland's son how to play golf. He fails.
Some episodes have commentary with Seth McFarlane and various other writers, directors, or actors (Seth himself did the voice of Peter, Brian, Stewie, and Quagmire). The commentary is hilarious, but it's only on a few of the episodes.
No doubt, this is some of the funniest stuff you'll ever see on DVD. If you even remotely like Simpsons, the Critic, or South Park, you should definately pick up this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply hilarious, July 11 2004
By 
Naive Pegasus "bobawedge" (Oak Park, IL United States) - See all my reviews
If anyone is a fan of animated cartoons with a certain amount of adult-based humor, this is the set you have to get. There are currently two volumes out, but this is the best to start off with. Whereas the 3rd season set has 21 episodes, this first set gives you the 7 extra episodes from their short first season. So- same price, more episodes.
That being said, this set is hilarious in every aspect. I could spend pages of text describing individual bits of hilarity from each scene of each episode, but that would just be mundane and unneeded. The humor ranges all over the spectrum, and some of it isn't quite suitable for younger children (if they see it, just hope they don't understand the sexual innuendo). The commentary is funny as well, although it is only for occasional episodes in the set. They also did an interesting thing with the commentary- it is actually rated R. There is a warning saying that the commentary is not suitable for people under the age of 18, since they made the decision to allow profanity for the commentary.
This does not bother me, but some people may be more sensitive to those kinds of things. But if that offends you, I doubt that you'd appreciate Family Guy's humor. The show is like a combination of The Simpsons' family based wry humor with South Park's outrageous lack of inhibitions. All in all, it equates into hours of laughter.
This DVD set is simply hilarious, as has been stated repeatedly. If you've ever seen an episode of the show, you'd realize that. If you like to laugh (and don't mind the occasional "did they just say that!?" moment), buy this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a GREAT DVD BUY IT, July 5 2004
By A Customer
it has great episodes in it and is a overall great dvd.
Death has a shadow- first ever episode but still great 4/5
I never met a dead man- no tv = good episode 4/5
Chitty Chitty Death Bang- not that good 2/5
Mind over Murder- peter punches a woman that looks like a man and opens a bar brillant 5/5
A Hero sits next door- Joe moves in the hadicapped 4/5
The Son also Draws- chris no like scouts 5/5
Brian a Portrait of a Dog- Brian does not sit for peter 5/5
I am Peter, Hear me roar- Peter thinks he is a woman 7/5
If I'm Dyin, I'm Lyin- 1/5
Running Mates- Lois vs. Peter 7/5
Fifteen Minutes of same- the real life Griffins 5/5
Road to Rhode Island- 4/5
Let's go on the hop- everybody is licking toads 6/5
Peter Peter Caviar Eater- Peter is rich 3/5
Holy Crap- here comes the pope 3/5
Da Boom- Y2K 7/5
Brian in Love- Brian loves Lois 4/5
Love Thy Trophy- stewie is addicted to pancakes 5/5
Death is a B****- Death comes for Peter 10/5
The King is Dead- Peter Griffin produces the King and I 3/5
Janet- Now stewie is in love 2/5
There's Something about Paulie- peter gets involed with the mob 5/5
He's Too Sexy for his Fat- Peter gets plastic surgey 7/5
E Peterbus Unum- Peter creates his own country 7/5
The story on page one- Luke Perry is gay 4/5
Wasted Talent- Peter is Mozart when he is drunk 3/5
Fore, Father- Peter is asamed of chris 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why fight? Family Guy AND the Simpsons are great, June 29 2004
By 
M. Burgstaller "Mike" (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
However only season 4-9 Simpsons can even come close to rivaling the average Family Guy eps, but both shows (and futurama as well) rule. Family Guy is so funny its ridiculus, but im sure you've seen it and dont need to be told that!
As for it copying the simpsons...
There ARE a few jokes that are completely taken from the simpsons, best example:
The Simpsons:
When homer tells Chief Wigem about the aliens (I think) and he just says "Suuuure, ill just type it up on my invisible typewriter" then another guy comes and says "I just torched a building and im afraid to do it again!" and the Chief once again says "Suuuure, ill just type it up on my invisible typewriter!"
Family Guy:
Stewie goes to the irish cop (also sitting at a desk) and reports his stolen bike and the cop says something like "Awww look at the cute little baby, are you looking for your mommy?" then another guy comes up and says something about kidinapping someone and the cop says the same thing "Awww look at the cute little baby, are you looking for your mommy?"
Now THAT is a simpsons rip-off! (also when Homer is yelling "wooohooo" while falling from an airplane on a bomb and then Peter falls from the airplane going "hehehehehe") But Family Guy has PLEANTY of original stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best show ever, period, June 23 2004
By A Customer
Some have been saying this show is a ripoff of the simpsons. Yeah. It stole the crown right from the simpsons and Is now the king of all shows and I guess you just need to blame and get angry at family guy because It's better than your favorite show. Well If you watch the simpsons you can see that they have pretty much done everything and thats probably why the last four seasons of the simpsons have been totally dull.(really totally Dull! Am I right?). And thats why there are many similar jokes, because there is little left.Yeah peter is stupid like homer but , almost every comedic shows a father character thats dumb. I don't see a comedy involving a rocket scientist dad. But family guy, I belive is way better anyway. Every episode is unique and spur of the moment funny. If you don't find comedy in this show, I'm sorry, but you have no sense of humour.
This is really the funniest show ever. But those idiots at FOX(who are mad for retarded reality shows that suck so bad and are so fake), are afraid. Afriad it will offend. so they cancelled it.(BIG MISTAKE). But now you get to watch it whenever you like, so enjoy and embrace the family guy. Dance with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, clean "Family" fun... heh, June 21 2004
By 
Zagnorch (Terra, Sol System) - See all my reviews
I'd heard about 'Family Guy's' edgy humor and antics back when it was playing over the Fox broadcast waves, but never tuned in for one reason or another-- one of those reasons being my site-unseen assertion that the show was tryin' to take away some of the thunder of 'South Park', which I consider to be the funniest 'toon sitcom of all time. But, after finding the first 'Family Guy' DVD box set for a really good price, I decided to forego my prejudice and give the show a shot. And for what I paid for this set, if I didn't like it I could turn around and sell it on Amazon Marketplace at a loss that would be comparable to a rental fee. Needless to say it was a win-win situation all around...
Fortunately, after viewing all of the eppies and taking a listen to most of the commentary tracks, this one's definitely a keeper for my DVD shelf! This interesting melding of 'The Simpsons'-style satire of a family sit-com with 'South Park'-style yuks and I-can't-believe-they-got-away-with-putting-that-on-TV moments really hit the spot for someone who's always looking for an excuse to watch TV in lieu of doing anything else! Well, aside from sleeping, eating, and, er, answering the call of nature that is.
Anyhoo: if there's one thing I like, it's humor that you almost feel guilty laughing at-- and this show's got it in reasonably healthy doses! Throw in a healthy helping of pop-culture references-- including the obligatory Star Wars & Star Trek riffs, and a disturbingly high number of shots at various 80s sit-coms & commercial spots-- and you've got the kinda show a pop-culture/TV-addict geekazoid like myself can relate to! And we mustn't forget some biting social commentary and a smattering of obscure MST3K-type gags that only a few folks will get. Hey, ya gotta try to cater to as broad an audience as ya can, ya know? Oh yeah, there's also a few nudies here 'n' there... nine-tenths of which are male. Which I don't much care for, despite what you might think... you pervs! Also somewhat annoying were a few parts where a gag was dragged out a little too long, turning the scene from "funny" into "okay, where's the fast-forward button on the remote...?" Otherwise, 'Family Guy' is a worthy entry in my collection of very wrong 'toons...
Anyhoo, after watching-- and quite enjoying-- every eppie, I decided to go back and watch the half-dozen or so shows that had running commentary so I could get the scoop on all the interesting behind-the-scenes info. Well, that and so I could do as thorough a review of this set as possible. While there a few interesting anecdotes from the commentary tracks' plethora of participants, I was most intrigued by their discussion (primarily producer Seth McFarlane) of the stuff Fox censors wouldn't allow them to put on the show, and they had to cut or alter. This led to the revelation that some parts of the series that was put on DVD were excised from the broadcast versions. So I guess they didn't quite get away with putting some of the stuff on the airwaves like I originally thought...
Another piece of commentary referred to the occasional 'pixelization' of some of the show's scenes, which I initially thought was due to Fox cramming seven eppies on each platter, thus lowering the overall picture quality. Turns out it's the quality of the source film, and not the transfer. I'd go into the whys of this problem (as explained by the commentators), but I don't wanna bore you any further than I already have. Well, that and you should go find out for yourself ya lazy sot!
'Late
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seth's First Commercial Success, June 20 2004
The subversive RISD grad Seth McFarlane, in his first major career endeavor, was given the executive producer title at the age of 25, the youngest in netork television history. First airing after the 1999 Superbowl, the show quickly garnered the large following for which it deserved. Fox was confident the young Seth could take the subversive show to hilarious levels, even being dubbed the next Simpsons. But Fox would relegate the show to poor time slots, resulting in a roller coaster ride for the show to both of it's cancellations.
The show is packed with pop culture references, both obscure and obvious. The humor of the show is due in part to the crack team of writers Seth was albe to assemble. Alluding to the Kool-Aid man and the Trix rabbit appealed to both the young and old, especially fans of the once impervious Simpsons, which would fall under it's own grandeur.
Through the first season, Seth would retain a dominant hold on the show's direction, filling the role of voice actor, animator, and staff writer. Assembling a first class voice cast to assist him in his endeavor were numerous Hollywood veterans,inlcuding Austin Power's alumnus Seth Green as the hefty teenage son, Seinfeld's Patrick Warburton (as Joe), Mad TV legend Alex Borstein as Lois, and eventually That 70's Show Mila Kunis.
Despite it's relatively short run, the show has sold millions of copies and has assured itself a fourth season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars See this show, June 12 2004
By A Customer
Famly Guy's hilarious, the following review has an episode guide for it.
Death Has A Shadow- the show starts out with this hilarious episode, in which Peter loses his job and puts his family on welfare, and gets 150,000 dollars a week. 5/5
I Never Met The Dead Man- Peter crashes into the cable tower, leaving Quahog without TV. 4/5
Chitty Chitty Death Bang- Meg's new best friend turns out to be part of a suicidal cult.4/5
Mind Over Murder- After punching out a women at a soccer game, Peter is put under house arrest, where he makes his own bar.4/5
A Hero Sits Next Door- Peter recruits his handicapped neighbor to help him win a baseball game. 3/5
The Son Also Draws- Peter ventures to New York to get his son back into the scouts, but winds up at an Indian casino. 4/5
Brian: Portrait of a Dog- Brian goes to jail.4/5
Peter Peter Caviar Eater-Peter becomes well mannered to fit in with rich people.5/5
Holy Crap- Peter's religious father gets a job at Peter's workplace.4/5
Da Boom-Worldwide disaster ushers in the year 2000, so Peter starts a town near a twinkie factory.5/5
Brian In Love- Brian keeps on wetting the carpet due to his love for Lois.2/5
Love Thy Trophy- After winning a contest, Peter thinks his neighbors will try to steal his trophy, while STewie is adopted by an integrated family for being neglected.4/5
Death Is A Bitch-Peter injures Death, so Peter must take over Death's job.3/5
The King Is Dead- Peter produces a play.3/5
I Am Peter, Hear Me Roar-Peter becomes a feminist.3/5
If I'm Dyin' I'm Lying- Chris pretends to be sick to get his favorite show back on the air. 3/5
Running Mates-Peter runs against LOis for school board chairman.3/5
A Picture's Worth A Thousand Bucks- Chris becomes a famous artist. 3/5
Fifteen Minutes of Shame- The Griffins go on a reality show.3/5
Road To Rhode Island- Brian goes to pick up Stewie in California.3/5
Let's Go To The Hop- Peter goes under cover at Meg's school to stop a toad licking frenzy. 5/5
Dammit, Janet- Stewie falls in love at daycare, while Lois becomes a stewardess, so Peter can fly for free.5/5
There's Something About Paulie- After the mob helps Peter, Peter must take Big Fat Paulie out to dinner, and gets a hit put on Lois. 5/5
He's To Sexy For His Fat- Peter gets addicted to liptosuction.3/5
E Peterbus Unum- Peter secedes from the union, and makes his own country of Petoria. 5/5
The Story On Page One- Peter writes an article that says Luke Perry is gay.3/5
Wasted Talent- After getting drunk during a tour of a brewery, Peter becomes a wonderful piano player.5/5
Fore, Father- Peter unsuccessfully teaches Chris responsibility, while Brian tells Stewie that booster shots are brain control devices.
There are some week episodes, but don't let those stop you from seeing this hilarious Tv series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lucky there's a Family Guy DVD set, June 3 2004
To show how popular this set is on DVD, you'll notice (as of this entry) that there are no used copies available. Once you get this, you'll never want to let it go.
There's four discs in this set; disc 1 covers the first season and discs 2-4 cover the second. Disc 1 generally gets the most play, as overall the episodes are perfectly hilarious. As the show was still finding it's footing and sometimes shooting off in various directions (remember, at the stag party in the first episode, Cleveland wasn't even on the show yet), but I remember watching the premiere of this show after the Super Bowl. "Whoa, laughs ahoy." Other episodes, such as Peter building his own bar
Alas, this show got moved around too much for me (or anyone) to watch it every week, so the DVDs show me the episodes I missed. Until this, I never saw the wordless scene where Peter is nursing Stewie (until Stewie realizes something's amiss). Nothing could possibly beat that in terms of sheer amusement.
Get this while you can! Of course, if you're easily offended, perhaps you should not...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Family Guy, Vol. 1 - Seasons 1 & 2 [UMD for PSP] (Bilingual) [Import]
Used & New from: CDN$ 28.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews