Customer Reviews


208 Reviews
5 star:
 (156)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tim Burton hit
An Inventor living in a castle creates a young man named Edward out of a cookie cutting machine. The Inventor unexpectedly dies one day, leaving Edward alone and stuck with scissors for hands, before giving him regular human ones. An Avon saleswoman Peg ventures into the castle when looking for a customer and meets Edward hiding in the attic. She decides to take him in to...
Published 14 months ago by Anglophilechap263

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A true work of art!
This has certainly got to be one of Burton's most imaginative creations. I can't remember a movie be that puzzlling, and yet so interesting and fun. Only Jonny Depp could prouduce such a voice, and performance. And that hair! Well, that was just the final icing on the cake. Let's face it. It's not easy to act the part of a lonly anodroid,and especially one that looked on...
Published on July 19 2004 by C. J Peters


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tim Burton hit, Feb. 9 2013
An Inventor living in a castle creates a young man named Edward out of a cookie cutting machine. The Inventor unexpectedly dies one day, leaving Edward alone and stuck with scissors for hands, before giving him regular human ones. An Avon saleswoman Peg ventures into the castle when looking for a customer and meets Edward hiding in the attic. She decides to take him in to live with her family of four in a suburban neighbourhood with Edward trying to adapt to this new environment and interacting with the people around him. Edward makes good use of his scisssor-hands by giving haircuts to people, opening up cans, slicing meat and vegetables and cutting hedges into the shapes of people and animals. Even unlocking doors when there is no key handy. He falls in love with Peg's daughter Kim and she eventually develops the same mutual feelings as well. Will the heroine dump her boyfriend Jim and go for Edward instead? You'll just have to watch the film and find out!

I felt actors Johnny Depp and Winona Ryder did an excellent job in their roles as the central characters of Edward and Kim.

This feature film is just filled with a lot of emotionally charged and funny moments to it. I personally found Edward Scissorhands a very different and unique movie from what I usually watch! I bought this DVD during the holidays and loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Replacement, Feb. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Another purchase that was to replace vhs movie that was only recorded from television with commercials-therefore again very happy I could replace it and continue enjoying this feature in FULL SCREEN !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The brilliant Mr Burton and Johnny Depp ain't bad either!,, Aug. 17 2007
Tim Burton is a master at bringing gothic fairy tales to life. Every film he has ever done, be it a full-blown blockbuster like Batman or a Christmas story with a twist like Nightmare Before Christmas, has his own unique dark edge, and when you watch a Burton film you can't fail to recognise it immediately. Edward Scissorhands is no exception to this rule. It is a wonderfully dark gothic tale about a man with scissors for hands. Edward is no ordinary individual; he is a great artist and can shape a wonderful topiary from any garden variety hedge. Despite this, having scissors for hands causes him a few problems. He cannot touch another human being or himself without causing pain; as a result, he is doomed to be an outcast. Edward Scissorhands shows us Burton at his best. It also gives us an early glimpse of the type of movie star Johnny Depp was to become. Hot off Twenty-One Jump Street, Depp was expected to become a movie star, equalling the status of a Brad Pitt or a Tom Cruise. Instead, he chose a harder path, going for roles that were not the leads in the latest summer blockbusters but quirky roles that strayed from the path a bit. Nearly twenty years on, his choices have paid off; he is now a commercial and critical success and a sure thing to get an Oscar before Mr Pitt or Mr Cruise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tim Burton at his best, Oct. 5 2004
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Tim Burton could never be accused of pandering to Hollywood studios by producing bland, mainstream, blockbuster films. He is known for his quirky, weird and individual style of film making. Edward Scissorhands is a typical Burton film in its originality and is probably one of the best he has made to date.
The story centres on Edward, an isolated, shy and socially naive young man who was created by a scientist (Vincent Price). Unfortunately his maker dies before he has completed him and so Edward is left with scissors for hands. For years he lives alone in an old house on top of a hill. Edward's isolation is interrupted by the local Avon lady (Dianne Weiss) who decides he needs to be taken under her wing and promptly moves him into her home and attempts to integrate him into the local community.
Initially all goes well as his 'novelty' appeals to the locals who flock round to have their hair cut or hedges made into fantastic shapes by the wonderfully artistic Edward. As the film progresses however, things turn ugly as the locals turn against this all too different young man. Burton takes a magnificent swipe at middle class suburban America in his portrayal of the neighbourhood (identical houses, cars etc.) where everyone acts the same in an effort to belong and anything new or different is rejected.
Edward is brilliantly portrayed by Johnny Depp who demonstrates a tremendous ability to show his thoughts and emotions without speaking. His confusion and hurt at what is happening around him are so palpable and his doomed love for the daughter of the house (Winona Ryder) is heartbreaking.
This film is a magical fairytale for adults and will make you laugh and cry in equal amounts. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, Jan. 1 2011
By 
MAXIMUS (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
I just recently purchased this on blu ray, and I was very impressed with the transfer they got on it. Simply outstanding. The colours were so vibrant and lively. You can even see the blemishes in each of the actors faces in this one, the picture was so crisp and clean. Kind of a sad movie, but still really good after 20 years. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it!, Jan. 15 2007
By 
elfdart - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
i adore edward scissor hands. i think that it is a wonderful story that was done very well. i find that all of tim burton's movies have this special quality to them that make them fascinating to watch. this story is about this android like figure, edward scissorhands, who comes to live with this family in a cookie cutter neighbourhood that looks kind of like something out of the 50's, with a weird spin on it. at first everyone likes him because of his 'differentness' and they all want him to cut their hair and such, but as the movie progresses people become more skeptical as to how safe he actually is. he falls in love with the girl of the family he's living with and near the end she comes to love him too. but this is all for naught because the town tries to hunt him down at the end in a frankenstein like manner, forcing scissorhands to flee. i don't know if it's the acting or setting or just the mood, but what i do know is that this movie is a MUST WATCH, along with other burton stuff too. every person i talk to loves this movie (or doesn't not like anyways). its definitely something to excperience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, but not all that new., Dec 21 2005
Great DVD with excellent quality, however it lacks in the special features department. Why? Possibly because this is the same DVD released a few years ago only with different packaging. If you bought Edward Scissorhands before, don't bother picking up this new one because the only change is the packaging.
Still a great film and a great DVD. Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars release date, Sept. 19 2005
By 
i really enjoyed the film i thought it would be a little bit scary but in the end it turned into a bit of a love story so i loved the twist in that
iwas just wondering was edward sissorhands released first or was cry baby i have tried to work it out but i cant so i would be really gratefull if you could tell me.
thank you very much
tara halford
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A true work of art!, July 19 2004
By 
C. J Peters "Anne" (Lockhart, Tx) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This has certainly got to be one of Burton's most imaginative creations. I can't remember a movie be that puzzlling, and yet so interesting and fun. Only Jonny Depp could prouduce such a voice, and performance. And that hair! Well, that was just the final icing on the cake. Let's face it. It's not easy to act the part of a lonly anodroid,and especially one that looked on with curiosity one moment and hated the next. Horror king, Vincint Price does a good job too as Edward's maker. Who is despreat for companionship. I laughed, I cried, then I laughed some more. All in all, this is not that bad of a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Movie, July 8 2004
By A Customer
I first saw this movie not so long ago and I fell in love with it. It is a beautiful story with very sad moments as well as exciting ones. Burton and Depp make a great team. This is one of the most moving movies I have ever seen. It tells the story of Edward (Depp), a person created by an inventor (Vincent Price)who passed on just before he had a chance to amputate Edward's scissorhands. Edward lived alone in a castle until sweet-hearted Avon lady Peg Boggs(Dianne Wiest)comes and takes him to her home to live with her family. A must see for Tim Burton fans and anyone who enjoys a magical time watching a movie. I have recently bought this DVD and I love it. I give Edward Scissorhands two big thumbs way up and 100 stars. I hope my review has helped you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaedcc9f0)

This product

Edward Scissorhands  (Bilingual) [Import]
CDN$ 53.33
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews