Customer Reviews


208 Reviews
5 star:
 (156)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The brilliant Mr Burton and Johnny Depp ain't bad either!,
Tim Burton is a master at bringing gothic fairy tales to life. Every film he has ever done, be it a full-blown blockbuster like Batman or a Christmas story with a twist like Nightmare Before Christmas, has his own unique dark edge, and when you watch a Burton film you can't fail to recognise it immediately. Edward Scissorhands is no exception to this rule. It is a...
Published on Aug. 17 2007 by Nolene-Patricia Dougan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I WANT MORE!!!
The transfer compared to the laserdisc is far superior in quality, and the movie itself is due to become a modern cult classic...but I want more extras!! The featurette on this DVD edition is not worth mentioning on the packaging. Most of the extras are just lifted from the pre-release media kit. Even a section that is not listed on the packaging called,...
Published on Feb. 28 2001 by George Stoll


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The brilliant Mr Burton and Johnny Depp ain't bad either!,, Aug. 17 2007
Tim Burton is a master at bringing gothic fairy tales to life. Every film he has ever done, be it a full-blown blockbuster like Batman or a Christmas story with a twist like Nightmare Before Christmas, has his own unique dark edge, and when you watch a Burton film you can't fail to recognise it immediately. Edward Scissorhands is no exception to this rule. It is a wonderfully dark gothic tale about a man with scissors for hands. Edward is no ordinary individual; he is a great artist and can shape a wonderful topiary from any garden variety hedge. Despite this, having scissors for hands causes him a few problems. He cannot touch another human being or himself without causing pain; as a result, he is doomed to be an outcast. Edward Scissorhands shows us Burton at his best. It also gives us an early glimpse of the type of movie star Johnny Depp was to become. Hot off Twenty-One Jump Street, Depp was expected to become a movie star, equalling the status of a Brad Pitt or a Tom Cruise. Instead, he chose a harder path, going for roles that were not the leads in the latest summer blockbusters but quirky roles that strayed from the path a bit. Nearly twenty years on, his choices have paid off; he is now a commercial and critical success and a sure thing to get an Oscar before Mr Pitt or Mr Cruise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it!, Jan. 15 2007
By 
elfdart - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
i adore edward scissor hands. i think that it is a wonderful story that was done very well. i find that all of tim burton's movies have this special quality to them that make them fascinating to watch. this story is about this android like figure, edward scissorhands, who comes to live with this family in a cookie cutter neighbourhood that looks kind of like something out of the 50's, with a weird spin on it. at first everyone likes him because of his 'differentness' and they all want him to cut their hair and such, but as the movie progresses people become more skeptical as to how safe he actually is. he falls in love with the girl of the family he's living with and near the end she comes to love him too. but this is all for naught because the town tries to hunt him down at the end in a frankenstein like manner, forcing scissorhands to flee. i don't know if it's the acting or setting or just the mood, but what i do know is that this movie is a MUST WATCH, along with other burton stuff too. every person i talk to loves this movie (or doesn't not like anyways). its definitely something to excperience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tim Burton at his best, Oct. 5 2004
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Tim Burton could never be accused of pandering to Hollywood studios by producing bland, mainstream, blockbuster films. He is known for his quirky, weird and individual style of film making. Edward Scissorhands is a typical Burton film in its originality and is probably one of the best he has made to date.
The story centres on Edward, an isolated, shy and socially naive young man who was created by a scientist (Vincent Price). Unfortunately his maker dies before he has completed him and so Edward is left with scissors for hands. For years he lives alone in an old house on top of a hill. Edward's isolation is interrupted by the local Avon lady (Dianne Weiss) who decides he needs to be taken under her wing and promptly moves him into her home and attempts to integrate him into the local community.
Initially all goes well as his 'novelty' appeals to the locals who flock round to have their hair cut or hedges made into fantastic shapes by the wonderfully artistic Edward. As the film progresses however, things turn ugly as the locals turn against this all too different young man. Burton takes a magnificent swipe at middle class suburban America in his portrayal of the neighbourhood (identical houses, cars etc.) where everyone acts the same in an effort to belong and anything new or different is rejected.
Edward is brilliantly portrayed by Johnny Depp who demonstrates a tremendous ability to show his thoughts and emotions without speaking. His confusion and hurt at what is happening around him are so palpable and his doomed love for the daughter of the house (Winona Ryder) is heartbreaking.
This film is a magical fairytale for adults and will make you laugh and cry in equal amounts. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Edward Scissorhands, June 4 2004
By A Customer
This movie was overall incredible. This is my favorite movie, and I watch it constantly. A man with scissors as hands is such a wild and odd concept, I never expected it to be anywhere near as moving as it was. All of Tim Burton's films are wonderful, (especially The Nightmare Before Christmas and Beetlejuice) but Edward Scissorhands tops them all. Major kudos to Tim Burton.
After making a total of zero sales, local Avon represenative Peg Boggs(Diane Wiest) decides to attempt a sale at the Gothic castle at the top of a mountain, looming over a cheerful Suburbia neighborhood. Peg soon discovers that no ordinary man lives in the castle, but an unfinished creation named Edward(Johnny Depp), who has lived his life with scissors replacing his fingers. The glass-half-full Peg takes him to her home, where he is warmly welcomed by Peg's family and friends.
Edward soon begins to discover the rich life of civilization, where he flaunts his talents in topiaries and dog-trimmings, while Peg plasters his face with her Avon cosmetics. He also meets Kim(Winona Ryder), Peg's daughter, who fills him with love and desire. But things take a turn for the worse, and the neighbors that once loved him suddenly reject his differences.
This movie contrasts comedic scenes ("I have a doctor friend that might be able to help you.") with melancholy, sad acts ("Hold me..." "I can't.") I honestly can't get enough of this movie. If it doesn't capture your heart and mind right away, you need emotional development. This movie pulls you into it's storyline and makes for a great classic. Watch it even if it doesn't sound very good. Overall a triumph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am amazed, June 1 2004
I just watched this for the first time (about time, eh?) and I was blown away.
First off, the movie wouldn't be nearly the same without Danny Elfman's terrific score. I don't think I've scene a Tim Burton movie without Elfman's music. *strokes chin*
Also, Johnny Depp did a GREAT job acting. He doesn't have many lines, but his facial expressions are...I don't know how to describe them. There's so much emotion and sadness in his eyes...he was the perfect guy for the role. This story is, on the surface, a bittersweet story about a (boy? man? Edward is almost ageless...another great thing about the movie)...male with scissors for hands (ooh! Bet you didn't see that one coming!) who falls in love, but isn't accepted by society. Under the surface there are lots of metaphors and things you could compare this to, but I don't think there's one right thing that this movie represents.
I still don't know why this movie makes me cry. I'm sort of a sap, though...meh.
Take the time to watch this movie. I'm going to watch it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Fairy-Tale For the Modern Age, May 27 2004
By 
Scott Kolecki (Brooklyn, Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Tim Burton's films are arguably the 20th/21st century answer to Grimm's fairy tales. Each of his films are at once entertaining, mesmerizing and thought provoking, giving the viewer an askewed but vivid portrayal of life through the images he so masterfully captures.
Edward Scissorhands is a prime example of such a film.
It is the story of an inventor and his invention, a "Pinocchio" fable if you will, about a man who creates life though his craft, though in this instance, the inventor (Vincent Price), dies before he can complete his invention; namely, Edward (Johnny Depp), a man built from the pieces/parts of the inventors many fancy machines. Instead of being whole, Edward is left with menacing "scissor-hands".
Peg Boggs (Diane Wiest), an AVON saleswoman, ventures to the home of the inventor after failing to sell any of her wares too her usual customers, the housewives of her small community. When there, she discovers an enchanted old mansion, with beautiful sculptures cut from the tress and bushes that adorn the gardens. Braving the dark of the immense home, she seeks out its owner, discovering Edward in the process. When she sees that he is there alone, stricken with the "infirmaty" of his condition, she befriends him and takes him home with her.
The neighborhood women, nosey-busy bodies, catch wind of Peg's discovery, and it isn't long before Edward is the gossip of the day. Edward, dark and mysterious, is a stark contrast to the bright, vibrant, colorful "cookie-cutter" neighborhood of pastel homes and yards, and the families that occupy them. It isn't long before the neighborhood gossips, led by Joyce Monroe (Kathy Baker) invite themselves over for a cookout, and begin to exploit Edward for his many talents, including his gardening abilities and his inane talent to provide the women with elaborate hair-cuts.
The story advances when Peg's daughter Kim (Winona Ryder) returns home from a weekend camping trip. He is at once taken with her, though she is repulsed by his differences, his outward deformity. Unlike the others who immediately embrace him, she is repulsed by him.
And it is here where the story really unfolds. Burton, whose films might be considered bizarre and cartoonish at the front, makes a couple of very poignant points about acceptance and love in this film. Edward and Kim, through a series of events, are drawn together, and Kim learns that Edward's beauty is an internal one, and that, despite any physical abnormalities, he is far more beautiful than anyone she knows, save maybe for Peg, who defends Edward when the neighborhood turns on him later in the film.
Tim Burton's casting, direction and cinematic flare are never more poignant than they are in this film. If a director has a signature piece, than Edward Scissorhands is Burton's, and it shows. Audiences will be touched by the tender performance Johnny Depp, whose portrayal of Edward is both moving and completly believable, a task that must have been doubly challenging considering the amount of prosthetics and make-up he underwent to get into character during each day of filming.
This film is a must have for any Burton fan, and a good film for the whole family. Though there are moments in the film that might be slightly inappropriate for younger audiences, the film as a whole is a tender and touching love story and a story of acceptance despite diversity.
Danny Elfman, whose scores have become synonymous with some of the most popular television and film programs ever (The Simpsons, Tales from the Crypt, Batman), scores this film beautifully, and his soundtrack is haunting and tender. The acting in the film is first rate, with an array of first rate actors (including those listed above): Alan Arkin and Anthony Michael Hall round out the cast.
Though the DVD does not offer as many extras as some films released in this format, it does provide the widescreen edition of this film, along with a director's commentary on the film, which provides many insightful glimpses into how the film was produced. The film itself is digitally mastered, giving the sound and color a brilliance even more vibrant than provided in the theater.
This is a must have for any DVD library and a great film for all ages. It is a film that, once seen, will be watched over and over again.
-Scott Kolecki
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The difference between looking and seeing, April 26 2004
This is a movie about how this world destroys everything beautiful and sincere. The town portrayed in the movie is a caricature of the appalling normalcy that, it seems, is the only acceptable way for things to be. And then there's Edward Scissorhands - not even a man, yet more human than actual people. Someone who can only appreciate inner and outer beauty, not "right" or "wrong"; someone who sees beauty in the unusual, the one thing that humankind hates so much.
A movie about how people see others as mere pieces in a grand game of chess; everyone has a certain position and is treated according to their position. Beauty? Fascination? Just masks and more masks to conceal that they've never felt anything they didn't intend to feel, never thought anything they didn't intend to think. There's no "themselves" behind the masks. And, when suddenly there is someone, they cannot tell him apart from a lifeless mask.
That is what "Edward Scissorhands" is all about. Being human.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant Fairy Tale, March 19 2004
By 
Lonnie E. Holder "The Review's the Thing" (Columbus, Indiana, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Tim Burton brings to life a rare combination of elements that create a wonderfully poignant story that brings tears to my eyes every time I watch it. On the surface the story is the tale of Edward Scissorhands, created by inventor Vincent Price in one of his greatest roles. "Edward Scissorhands" could have been another story completely, a horror story, or science fiction, or a comedy. Instead, Tim Burton creates a beautiful fairy tale set in an idealized suburbia of the 50s.
Edward has lived in a Gothic house that is intended to evoke Frankenstein's castle since his creator died. Edward's house sits perched above a stereotypical suburban neighborhood, and one day the local Avon lady, Peg Boggs (Dianne Wiest), comes calling. Peg gets Edward to come home with her, where he immediately becomes the darling of the neighborhood's housewives, and the bane of all the neighborhood men, because of his skill with topiary and hair styling.
Of course the manly men of suburbia are not going to put up with the women of suburbia heaping their affections on Edward, and soon tensions begin to arise. Eventually Kim Boggs (Winona Ryder) boyfriend Jim (Anthony Michael Hall) comes to blows with Edward, leading to a gorgeously sad and beautiful ending that clinches the fairy tale theme.
"Edward Scissorhands" plays on so many levels. As the alien outsider Edward is confused by the rituals of suburbia, which director Tim Burton has taken to excess to ultimately highlight the hypocrisy and paranoia of suburbia in a unique way. At first Tim Burton indicates that his suburban neighborhood is perfect and the epitome of the "middle class way." Once the illusion is established, Tim has the women attracted, yet repulsed by their own attraction, to the less-than-perfect Edward. There comes a point where the women of the neighborhood want Edward, but since they can not truly possess Edward, they join in helping to cast him out. Jim becomes the tool that allows the women of the neighborhood to do what they can not, cast him from their midst.
In the midst of the irony, Edward and Kim Boggs develop an innocent and beautiful love for each other. Edward represents innocence, beauty, and perhaps the potential we all have. Kim sees all this, and wants it, and her decision becomes the ironic capstone of this story.
Tim Burton has created a tale with an ending that causes my eyes to water every time I see it, in spite of the many times I've watched this movie. I suspect it always will. The contrast between the world as we think it should be, and the world as it could be, will always provide fodder for our art. In this case Tim took that fodder and created cinematic and emotional gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Can't touch, can't connect., March 13 2004
By 
R Jess "Raymond Jess" (Limerick, Ireland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Tom Cruise initially turned down the role of Edward Scissorhands because of the character's 'lack of virility'. Some have even suggested that Edward is the opposite of Freddy Krugar. Frighteningly deformed yet with innocent intent.
The film is a fairy tale and the suburbs to which Edward is taken seem like the stereotypical fantasy of the American Dream. It was against this fantasy that Tim Burton developed his own artistic vision. As Burton himself has said of his childhood in suburbia "If you're culturally devoid of something, of artistry, of interesting architecture, you manufacture these things for yourself." 'Edward Scissorhands' is the most autobiographical of Burton's works, where Johnny Depp's character gives some sense of the alienation Burton must have felt growing up in Burbank, California. Despite his obvious talent as an animator, Burton went through most of his late teens and early 20's with "the feeling that you can't connect, you can't touch." Edward is the literal translation of Burton's young adulthood where his work is prized while the man himself is despised.
Great cameo performances by Dianne Wiest and Alan Arkin. The movie is only spoiled by the ever 2-dimensional Winona Ryder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing film!, Feb. 7 2004
By 
Ryan Partridge (Rocky Hill, CT United States) - See all my reviews
For all those people out there who didnt understand this movie because it was too "stupid", it is about true love, being able to love someone inspite of their physical apperiance. That was probably the most prodominate message to this movie. Personally I thought this was one of Tim Burton's best films. It was touching, funny, and heart-wrenching. Also, for all the people out there who thought that it was "dark and gloomy meets the Brady Bunch", its called "symbolism". The modern, everyday, happy suberban meets the abandoned artificial man...who brings curiousity and in a way "adventure" to the town. Its supposed to be HAPPY LITTLE TOWN versus DARK AND GLOOMY, due to the fact Burton was trying to bring out real messages through unlikely situations. The first time I saw this movie I was about six years old, and since then i thought this was an incredible film. True, the special featueres on the DVD are not somthing to die for, but I am not judging that. i am judging the quality of the story, which in my opinion was MAGNIFICENT! If you want to watch a truly touching cinimatic peice, Edward Scissor hands is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Edward Scissorhands  (Bilingual) [Import]
CDN$ 48.04
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews