Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the original Batman movies.
If you are a hard core batman fan of the originals, you may not like this movie, much like some of the previous reviewers said. However, as a movie itself Batman Begins is brilliant. It's dark and serious, it gets down to why Batman really is Batman. The Burton movies were obviously supposed to have a very comic book feel to them but his movie is completely different...
Published on Nov. 30 2006 by sun

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Every story has a begining :p
I only bought this DVD to complete the Trilogy set. The story is rather weak in my opinion, and I think it was the boring compared to the other 2 movies in the trilogy.
Published 6 months ago by Kent T.


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the original Batman movies., Nov. 30 2006
If you are a hard core batman fan of the originals, you may not like this movie, much like some of the previous reviewers said. However, as a movie itself Batman Begins is brilliant. It's dark and serious, it gets down to why Batman really is Batman. The Burton movies were obviously supposed to have a very comic book feel to them but his movie is completely different. You actually believe that Batman could exist, and that he really is justified in doing what he believes in. There is a lot more emotion in this movie, and some great acting by the cast. When it comes down to it, I rate this movie one of the best of the year and highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A much better Batman, March 18 2007
By 
William T. Ferguson "Will" (Hamilton, On Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Batman Begins" brings an interest back to the DC character, not seen since the original. Christian Bale turns out to be a good choice for a much darker Batman. This movie focuses more on Bruce Wayne, then on his super hero alter ego. Unlike the smooth Bruce Wayne of past movies who had endless amounts of charm and charisma, this Bruce Wayne is a much more realistic person with flaws and fears. The more flashy and over the top fight scenes have been toned down, for this dark more edgy Batman movie. Liam Neeson as Henri Ducard, provides the most interesting Batman villain since Jack Nicholson's Joker. Other past villains like Arnold Schwarzenegger's Ice Man have been much less memorable. Neeson's jaded character has more depth to it. The movie's biggest weakness is the relationship between Bruce Wayne and Katie Holme's Assistant D.A. character Rachel Dawes. The dialogue between the two characters is uninspired and somewhat boring. Morgan Freeman plays Lucius Fox, a friend of Bruce Wayne. He helps Bruce Wayne get access to Wayne Enterprise's many inventions. Freeman is solid in this role as in most everything he is in. Michael Caine is also solid as Alfred the Butler. Alfred has always been more than just a butler, but acts as Bruce Wayne's advisor. Caine plays the part of the humble and wise servant very well.

Previous performances by George Clooney and Val Kilmer as Batman felt more like copies of Michael Keeton's original performance. It seemed as though they were trying to replicate the success of the original by following the same formula. That forumlaic approach combined with characters like Robin and BatGirl, did nothing to add to the series. This movie did a better job of giving its characters some substance and as a result more intrique. This time around, a less perfect Batman, makes for a much better movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Batman ever!, Nov. 4 2005
By 
Antonio Giusto (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman Begins (Widescreen Bilingual Edition) (DVD)
Everthing about this film is great. I saw it in the theatre and I've watched it almost everyday since I've picked up the DVD. Great story, direction, acting and photography. Christian Bale is the best Batman to date.
In my opinion it was the best film of 2005. And trust me I don't usually give much praise to modern North American films let alone comic book films.
I have very high expectations for the sequel to this film. Whenever that may be, I anxiously await.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman Begins Limited Edition Giftset [Blue-ray], Aug. 9 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I own 'Batman Begins' on DVD, Blu-ray and now this giftset which will remain unopened for some time. It's neat. The front picture is actually holographic, it comes with post cards,movie tickets to see 'The Dark Knight' in theaters (now useless, obviously), a 16 page comic book of the prologue of 'The Dark Knight' and an additional 32 page booklet of storyboards, script and stills from the movie! This is the beginning of what is one of the greatest trilogies ever created!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What I think, Oct. 30 2009
By 
M. N. Totten - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman Begins (Widescreen Bilingual Edition) (DVD)
The product was exactly what I wanted and was in perfect condition. I recieved the DVD very quickly. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Bat-fans, Begins is a great movie, Oct. 23 2005
By 
D. Oman "grandmaximus" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Batman Begins is the best comic book flick I've ever seen. It may also be the best movie I've seen in well over a year. If there was any justice Batman Begins would fetch an Oscar nomination or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easily one of the best seperhero films in recent times, Aug. 4 2007
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
for my money,this is easily one of the best superhero movies made in recent times.the movie basically is the story of the genesis of the caped crusader.obviously there is a fair amount of character development involved,which you would expect based on the title.in this movie,Batman is shown as more of a full dimensional character than in previous Batman films.i also think this version is more faithful to the comic book.director Christopher Nolan paces the film very well.there are also some humourous touches throughout and we are shown a more human side of Bruce Wayne.the villains are also more fully realized than in most movies of the genre,rather than just being plot plot devices for the hero(protagonist)to defeat the villain(antagonist).Christian Bale is terrific as the dark knight,and Gary Oldman and Morgan are standouts as well.however,in my opinion,i don't think Katie Holmes has yet to reach the level of maturity required for her role,so i thought she was a bit on the weak side.this doesn't effect the film overall.this Batman is less cartoonish than some of the previous efforts and is closer to the realm of realism(relatively speaking).i also think it's much more thoughtful than many movies depicting superheroes.there is much more substance.in fact it has more substance than style,though it is just stylish enough.all in all,a brilliant depiction of the caped crusader.this film sets the bar high for its successor,"The Dark Knight" which is to be released sometime in 2008
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Puts the Dark back into the Dark Knight, Sept. 4 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman Begins (Widescreen Bilingual Edition) (DVD)
Batman Begins certainly isn't perfect, but it more than does the job of instilling new life into the Batman cinematic universe. It's unfortunate that any filmmaker had to actually start from scratch and reexamine the origins of Batman, but what else can you do after 1997's Batman and Robin? It should never have come to that, as Batman is by far the most compelling and human superhero ever envisioned. I don't think the film truly gets the back-story right, but it does hit on Bruce Wayne's primary motivation - the fact that legal and political restraints keep the cops from truly succeeding on too many occasions. As for that back-story, the murder of Bruce's parents is presented quite well, and his childhood before and after that fateful night also works. Wayne the young adult, however, doesn't work for me. Director Christopher Nolan really overplayed, in my opinion, the guilt factor and turned young Bruce into a jerk - when Katie Holmes has to slap some sense into you, you know you're a jerk. And then there is the matter of Wayne's 7-year disappearance. Personally, I think the story of Batman's foreign training in those years is best left shrouded in mystery. In the movie, we see him trained by none other than Ra's Al Ghul - and that works great and really helps tie this movie together. If you're familiar with Batman's history, however, you have to ask: who in his right mind would have Bruce Wayne train under Ra's Al Ghul, of all people? In the comics, Batman never even met the guy until he kidnapped Robin and tried to recruit Batman to be his successor and son-in-law.

As you can see, I had a few problems with the first section of the film. Once Wayne returns to Gotham City, however, and dons the cowl of the Batman, the film finally kicks in with all cylinders. It's great to see a dark and gritty side to the character; when this version of Batman says "he'll talk to me," he knows whereof he speaks. That's the kind of dark knight that can raise a little heck, even in a city as corrupt and socially broken as Gotham City. After a rather clumsy and embarrassing debut, a rather ruthless (yet just) Batman soon begins spreading fear among the fear-mongers of his city. He doesn't win many friends with Gotham's finest (other than Sergeant Gordon), but that's understandable. Even if half of the force weren't already bought and paid for, the fact that Batman causes untold millions of dollars in damages on the streets (not to mention the roofs) of the city doesn't really inspire a lot of good will among guys in suits.

Nolan certainly succeeds when it comes to making his movie as realistic as possible, especially in terms of the big chase scene. Realism bows to unbelievable theatrics all too soon, especially in terms of the big plan to purge Gotham City of its sins and social degeneration, but even this fits well inside the Batman milieu - and it makes for some pretty exciting action on the screen.

The link between Gordon and Wayne, which extends all the way back to Wayne's childhood, is subtly done. Michael Caine is surprisingly good as the venerable Alfred. Morgan Freeman (the best actor in Hollywood, for my money) lends great presence to an otherwise minor character. I also liked the dichotomy established between Bruce Wayne and Batman - it's not explored all that deeply in the film, but the foundation is there for any future sequels. As for Rachel Dawes (Katie Holmes), I have to come down on the side of those asking why her character was even in the film. I see what Nolan did with the character, and I suppose she does help define Wayne as well as Batman, but this film could have easily done away with her character and never skipped a beat. Ra's Al Ghul alone provides more than enough insight into Wayne's mindset, as he is basically the very type of man Bruce Wayne might have become were it not for his principles. Ra's Al Ghul, after all, feels himself to be a noble force for justice in a world of degenerate behavior.

There's really no doubt about the fact that Batman Begins is the best Batman movie to date. Christian Bale grows into the role (both figuratively and literally - gaining back all the weight he lost for The Machinist) quite well as the story progresses, the supporting cast is loaded with big stars who live up to their names, and the special effects (even all of those CGI bats) are awe-inspiring and fun to watch. Most importantly, though, Christopher Nolan succeeds in putting the dark back into the Dark Knight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Batman Begins - A New Beginning for a Bad Series, Oct. 25 2005
By 
D. Chandon "Dems" (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not to say that there haven't been memorable Batman movies in the past. However, the memorable parts about the old Batman movies are more laughable parts. From the really old school Batman, Adam West and to the last one in the series George Clooney, all that was left behind with the older Batman movies is just an expensive load of movies that were nothing more then disappointments.
Batman Begins, is NOT one of these movies, it picks up at the beginning and deals more with the rage, sadness and training that Batman/Bruce Wayne goes through to become the Dark Knight. And with Christian Bale playing Batman was a stroke of brilliance, by showing the change and evolution as well as the duality of the Batman/Bruce Wayne character. Bale is the best Batman. Now for the part that most will disagree, Cillian Murphy, the guy who plays Dr. Crane/The Scarecrow, he in my opinion is the best bat villian, well since Ceasar Romero stopped being the Joker anyways. Murphy is amazing as the villian showing depth and a really understanding about how bat villians are characatures of what passes for a human being. Murphy was perfect, I think that he would've made a great Joker. The movie is also supported by a brilliant cast well as well-known one: Morgan Freeman plays Lucious Fox, Gary Oldman plays Jim Gordon, and Liam Neeson plays Raz Algol. But the other characters are only bit parts.
I recommend this movie to anyone who loves comic book movies, this one is perhaps the best one that has ever come out. Here's hoping that the sequel is just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, Jan. 18 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Batman Begins (Widescreen Bilingual Edition) (DVD)
I'm not a big Batman fan, I feel that the character has always lacked the depth of Spiderman or Superman, but I did enjoy this movie, very much.
The cast is fabulous. Christian Bale plays the bat to a tee and Michael Caine and Morgan Freedman are a pleasure to watch (and I hope they will both be back for the sequel). I've never been a fan of Katie Holmes but she did her best with what she was given to work with. I found her character to be the weakest of the movie. Liam Nieson and Gary Oldman turn out strong performances as always.
But the real joy to this movie, is the Scarecrow played by Cillian Murphy. He's supposed to be the villian but I found myself cheering for him, well at least cheering when he was on screen. Murphy puts on a perfect performance and the fact that he's gorgeous doesn't hurt either. Whenever he was on screen, the movie was at a different level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman Begins (Widescreen Bilingual Edition)
Batman Begins (Widescreen Bilingual Edition) by Christopher Nolan (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 14.96 CDN$ 4.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews