Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the original Batman movies.
If you are a hard core batman fan of the originals, you may not like this movie, much like some of the previous reviewers said. However, as a movie itself Batman Begins is brilliant. It's dark and serious, it gets down to why Batman really is Batman. The Burton movies were obviously supposed to have a very comic book feel to them but his movie is completely different...
Published on Nov. 30 2006 by sun

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Every story has a begining :p
I only bought this DVD to complete the Trilogy set. The story is rather weak in my opinion, and I think it was the boring compared to the other 2 movies in the trilogy.
Published 1 month ago by Kent T.


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the original Batman movies., Nov. 30 2006
If you are a hard core batman fan of the originals, you may not like this movie, much like some of the previous reviewers said. However, as a movie itself Batman Begins is brilliant. It's dark and serious, it gets down to why Batman really is Batman. The Burton movies were obviously supposed to have a very comic book feel to them but his movie is completely different. You actually believe that Batman could exist, and that he really is justified in doing what he believes in. There is a lot more emotion in this movie, and some great acting by the cast. When it comes down to it, I rate this movie one of the best of the year and highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A much better Batman, March 18 2007
By 
William T. Ferguson "Will" (Hamilton, On Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Batman Begins" brings an interest back to the DC character, not seen since the original. Christian Bale turns out to be a good choice for a much darker Batman. This movie focuses more on Bruce Wayne, then on his super hero alter ego. Unlike the smooth Bruce Wayne of past movies who had endless amounts of charm and charisma, this Bruce Wayne is a much more realistic person with flaws and fears. The more flashy and over the top fight scenes have been toned down, for this dark more edgy Batman movie. Liam Neeson as Henri Ducard, provides the most interesting Batman villain since Jack Nicholson's Joker. Other past villains like Arnold Schwarzenegger's Ice Man have been much less memorable. Neeson's jaded character has more depth to it. The movie's biggest weakness is the relationship between Bruce Wayne and Katie Holme's Assistant D.A. character Rachel Dawes. The dialogue between the two characters is uninspired and somewhat boring. Morgan Freeman plays Lucius Fox, a friend of Bruce Wayne. He helps Bruce Wayne get access to Wayne Enterprise's many inventions. Freeman is solid in this role as in most everything he is in. Michael Caine is also solid as Alfred the Butler. Alfred has always been more than just a butler, but acts as Bruce Wayne's advisor. Caine plays the part of the humble and wise servant very well.

Previous performances by George Clooney and Val Kilmer as Batman felt more like copies of Michael Keeton's original performance. It seemed as though they were trying to replicate the success of the original by following the same formula. That forumlaic approach combined with characters like Robin and BatGirl, did nothing to add to the series. This movie did a better job of giving its characters some substance and as a result more intrique. This time around, a less perfect Batman, makes for a much better movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman Begins Limited Edition Giftset [Blue-ray], Aug. 9 2012
By 
j-maAN - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I own 'Batman Begins' on DVD, Blu-ray and now this giftset which will remain unopened for some time. It's neat. The front picture is actually holographic, it comes with post cards,movie tickets to see 'The Dark Knight' in theaters (now useless, obviously), a 16 page comic book of the prologue of 'The Dark Knight' and an additional 32 page booklet of storyboards, script and stills from the movie! This is the beginning of what is one of the greatest trilogies ever created!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What I think, Oct. 30 2009
By 
M. N. Totten - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman Begins (Widescreen Bilingual Edition) (DVD)
The product was exactly what I wanted and was in perfect condition. I recieved the DVD very quickly. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, Jan. 11 2009
By 
Toast (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
The movie itself: Batman Begins is different from the Batman movies previously made, Nolan's Batman is darker, quieter and in my opinion closer to the comic book hero. Batman Begins gives you a much better understanding of the two sides of Bruce Wayne/Batman character than previously portrayed and also gives us a different insight as to what Batman thinks and feels like when he is not Batman and what he does as Batman sometimes doesn't agree with his principles but he does it to save the wonderful city his father helped build. Christian Bale is perfect as Batman, some have complained about the voice transition but in my opinion its great, since he keeps his identity completely secret unlike Spidey or Iron Mans of the movies who tell the entire world about who they are and collect awards.

The Video: Presented in 2:40 widescreen and 1080p/VC-1 video the transfer is breathtaking. Colours are very rich & vivid. The picture appears to be completely saturated even in the darker shots (yes there are a lot of them, this is a REAL Batman movie after all). I have seen this movie on DVD as well, and this Blu-Ray transfer is a HUGE improvement over the SD-DVD version. The transfer is so pristine that it can also be a demo disk for your 1080p sets.

The Audio: English Dolby TrueHD 5.1 Surround track (48kHz/16-bit) included is a high quality track which offers superb mixing and full use of rear channels. The ice scene with Liam Neeson & Christian Bale, and the Highway car chase is where you can really feel the thump. No complains, Warner did an amazing job porting this soundtrack and utilizing BD's high disc capacity.

Final Words: Batman Begins is a must see movie, almost everyone on this planet has seen its sequel The Dark Knight at least twice but some I know haven't seen this one. To those, I only have this to say, its a must see Prequel and there are moments when you feel that between the two this probably takes the cake (at least from a character development and storytelling point of view). Nolan's Batman starts his adventure here, and believe me he's here to stay for years to come (in our libraries). Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Every story has a begining :p, March 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I only bought this DVD to complete the Trilogy set. The story is rather weak in my opinion, and I think it was the boring compared to the other 2 movies in the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The savior of Gotham, Feb. 23 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Batman Begins (Widescreen Bilingual Edition) (DVD)
We are in a golden age of comic book movies right now -- and at least some of the credit for that goes to Christopher Nolan.

This talented director was singlehandedly responsible for bringing Batman back onto movie screens, years after Joel Schumacher destroyed the franchise. "Batman Begins" explores the formation of the Dark Knight of Gotham, following Bruce Wayne as he begins a personal journey leading him to Batmanhood. Even people who aren't into capes and tights can appreciate this story.

After his parents' murderer is paroled, young bazillionaire Bruce Wayne (Christian Bale) vanishes on an aimless journey across the world. He's taken under the wing of the mysterious Henri Ducard (Liam Neeson), who offers to train him to be a member of the League of Shadows. But when Bruce learns that the League plans to annihilate his home city of Gotham, he lashes out and destroys the League's base. Oops.

When he returns home, he finds that Gotham has become rotten to the core with mobs, crooked cops and a fear-inducing shrink (Cillian Murphy). Using the company's discarded prototypes, Bruce fashions an armored bodysuit and tanklike vehicle, and uses them to fight crime wherever he finds it. But the League still has plans to destroy Gotham, and the only one who can stop them is Batman.

Most directors would have given this movie a distinctly comic-book, slick pop-culture feel. But no matter how hard you search, there's not a single hint in "Batman Begins" that anything kitschy or campy came before it, or that it was originally a comic book. Instead Christopher Nolan creates a movie as dark, tightly-wound and intense as Batman himself.

But since this is a comic-book movie, Nolan peppers the story with kinetic action, high-speed chases and massive explosions, as well as the grim specter of the League hanging over the entire city. The dialogue is drizzled with dry humor ("Does it come in black?" Bruce asks with a big smile after trying out the proto-Batmobile), mostly to temper the overhanging sense of horror and apprehension.

The most striking part of this movie is Nolan's delving into morality, and the darker side of human nature. We see that Gotham has a rottennness in its heart, but Bruce won't harm people even if they are corrupt and evil -- he might not save you, but he won't kill you.

Christian Bale is simply brilliant as Bruce Wayne/Batman -- sure, his growly voice can get a bit silly at times, but he perfectly conveys the strength, pain and determination of a man who will sacrifice everything to save others. And he's ringed with a bunch of other great performances, particularly by the always-awesome Michael Caine as the faithful Wayne butler Alfred, and Morgan Freedman as the supplier of weird Wayne tech.

There are also some wonderful villain performances. Liam Neeson exudes haughty moralistic chilliness as Ducard, and Cillian Murphy's angel face and giant eyes make his psychosis even creepier.

The one problem: Rachel Dawes. Rachel is a sour, miserable character who seems to enjoy toying with Bruce's affections and emotions (she tries to shame him for wanting revenge against HIS PARENTS' KILLER). And Katie Holmes is shockingly bad in the role as well -- this pouty, baby-voiced girl is supposed to be a hard-nosed assistant DA? Suuuuuuurrreee.

"Batman Begins" is a powerful, gritty reboot of the whole Batman mythos -- and except for the horrendous female lead, it's an absolute masterpiece. Definitely see this, even if you aren't into superheroes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So it begins .., Jan. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm a fan of the this latest version of Batman, I purchased this while still owning the DVD, it looks great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just so well done, and when Deliveed for next to no csot at all when on sale.. A1!, Dec 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Batman Begins (Widescreen Bilingual Edition) (DVD)
Just so well done, and when Deliveed for next to no csot at all when on sale.. A1!

This is just about THE best Batman of them all - and as good as any movie anywhere!

And Fast Delivery too!

Amazon,ca - You've done it Again! - Bravo!

-= KaptainCanada =-

-= K C =-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good product, Dec 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Batman Begins (Widescreen Bilingual Edition) (DVD)
Great job, i love the case its different then bc, its a bit slow near the holidays but its understandable and it even came early, keep up the good work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb049c24c)

This product

Batman Begins (Widescreen Bilingual Edition)
Batman Begins (Widescreen Bilingual Edition) by Christopher Nolan (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 14.96 CDN$ 6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews