Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular
The movie itself: Batman Begins is different from the Batman movies previously made, Nolan's Batman is darker, quieter and in my opinion closer to the comic book hero. Batman Begins gives you a much better understanding of the two sides of Bruce Wayne/Batman character than previously portrayed and also gives us a different insight as to what Batman thinks and feels like...
Published on Jan. 11 2009 by Toast

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Every story has a begining :p
I only bought this DVD to complete the Trilogy set. The story is rather weak in my opinion, and I think it was the boring compared to the other 2 movies in the trilogy.
Published 7 months ago by Kent T.


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, Jan. 11 2009
By 
Toast (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
The movie itself: Batman Begins is different from the Batman movies previously made, Nolan's Batman is darker, quieter and in my opinion closer to the comic book hero. Batman Begins gives you a much better understanding of the two sides of Bruce Wayne/Batman character than previously portrayed and also gives us a different insight as to what Batman thinks and feels like when he is not Batman and what he does as Batman sometimes doesn't agree with his principles but he does it to save the wonderful city his father helped build. Christian Bale is perfect as Batman, some have complained about the voice transition but in my opinion its great, since he keeps his identity completely secret unlike Spidey or Iron Mans of the movies who tell the entire world about who they are and collect awards.

The Video: Presented in 2:40 widescreen and 1080p/VC-1 video the transfer is breathtaking. Colours are very rich & vivid. The picture appears to be completely saturated even in the darker shots (yes there are a lot of them, this is a REAL Batman movie after all). I have seen this movie on DVD as well, and this Blu-Ray transfer is a HUGE improvement over the SD-DVD version. The transfer is so pristine that it can also be a demo disk for your 1080p sets.

The Audio: English Dolby TrueHD 5.1 Surround track (48kHz/16-bit) included is a high quality track which offers superb mixing and full use of rear channels. The ice scene with Liam Neeson & Christian Bale, and the Highway car chase is where you can really feel the thump. No complains, Warner did an amazing job porting this soundtrack and utilizing BD's high disc capacity.

Final Words: Batman Begins is a must see movie, almost everyone on this planet has seen its sequel The Dark Knight at least twice but some I know haven't seen this one. To those, I only have this to say, its a must see Prequel and there are moments when you feel that between the two this probably takes the cake (at least from a character development and storytelling point of view). Nolan's Batman starts his adventure here, and believe me he's here to stay for years to come (in our libraries). Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the original Batman movies., Nov. 30 2006
If you are a hard core batman fan of the originals, you may not like this movie, much like some of the previous reviewers said. However, as a movie itself Batman Begins is brilliant. It's dark and serious, it gets down to why Batman really is Batman. The Burton movies were obviously supposed to have a very comic book feel to them but his movie is completely different. You actually believe that Batman could exist, and that he really is justified in doing what he believes in. There is a lot more emotion in this movie, and some great acting by the cast. When it comes down to it, I rate this movie one of the best of the year and highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A much better Batman, March 18 2007
By 
William T. Ferguson "Will" (Hamilton, On Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Batman Begins" brings an interest back to the DC character, not seen since the original. Christian Bale turns out to be a good choice for a much darker Batman. This movie focuses more on Bruce Wayne, then on his super hero alter ego. Unlike the smooth Bruce Wayne of past movies who had endless amounts of charm and charisma, this Bruce Wayne is a much more realistic person with flaws and fears. The more flashy and over the top fight scenes have been toned down, for this dark more edgy Batman movie. Liam Neeson as Henri Ducard, provides the most interesting Batman villain since Jack Nicholson's Joker. Other past villains like Arnold Schwarzenegger's Ice Man have been much less memorable. Neeson's jaded character has more depth to it. The movie's biggest weakness is the relationship between Bruce Wayne and Katie Holme's Assistant D.A. character Rachel Dawes. The dialogue between the two characters is uninspired and somewhat boring. Morgan Freeman plays Lucius Fox, a friend of Bruce Wayne. He helps Bruce Wayne get access to Wayne Enterprise's many inventions. Freeman is solid in this role as in most everything he is in. Michael Caine is also solid as Alfred the Butler. Alfred has always been more than just a butler, but acts as Bruce Wayne's advisor. Caine plays the part of the humble and wise servant very well.

Previous performances by George Clooney and Val Kilmer as Batman felt more like copies of Michael Keeton's original performance. It seemed as though they were trying to replicate the success of the original by following the same formula. That forumlaic approach combined with characters like Robin and BatGirl, did nothing to add to the series. This movie did a better job of giving its characters some substance and as a result more intrique. This time around, a less perfect Batman, makes for a much better movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman Begins, Aug. 13 2009
By 
Teresa Scherer "tblue4u" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Batman Begins is the best Batman movie ever made. The back story being revealed about this superhero is told really well and is very unique and interesting. Batman being a human who has trained to hone his own abilities is a testiment to the power we possess if we choose to work hard to develop that power and use it for the greater good.
Awesome movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Batman ever!, Nov. 4 2005
By 
Antonio Giusto (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman Begins (Widescreen Bilingual Edition) (DVD)
Everthing about this film is great. I saw it in the theatre and I've watched it almost everyday since I've picked up the DVD. Great story, direction, acting and photography. Christian Bale is the best Batman to date.
In my opinion it was the best film of 2005. And trust me I don't usually give much praise to modern North American films let alone comic book films.
I have very high expectations for the sequel to this film. Whenever that may be, I anxiously await.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman Begins Limited Edition Giftset [Blue-ray], Aug. 9 2012
By 
j-maAN - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I own 'Batman Begins' on DVD, Blu-ray and now this giftset which will remain unopened for some time. It's neat. The front picture is actually holographic, it comes with post cards,movie tickets to see 'The Dark Knight' in theaters (now useless, obviously), a 16 page comic book of the prologue of 'The Dark Knight' and an additional 32 page booklet of storyboards, script and stills from the movie! This is the beginning of what is one of the greatest trilogies ever created!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Bat-fans, Begins is a great movie, Oct. 23 2005
By 
D. Oman "grandmaximus" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Batman Begins is the best comic book flick I've ever seen. It may also be the best movie I've seen in well over a year. If there was any justice Batman Begins would fetch an Oscar nomination or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So Incredibly Awesome!, Jan. 18 2010
Bruce Wayne's parents are brutally murdered right before his eyes. He is only eight years old. His father holds his hand. His mother lay in her own blood beside them. His father's dying words: "Don't be afraid."

Vowing vengeance, Bruce travels the world, learning all that he can to become a one-man army against crime. He leaves behind the life of a billionaire playboy and instead seeks to find the man rooted in pain and anger.

Trained by a man named Ducard, a representative of Ra's Al Ghul, Bruce learns how to harness his rage and use it to exact vengeance on those, like the man who killed his parents, who would dare break the law.

But to do so as Bruce Wayne would only put those he cares about in danger and would not be the symbol required to get the job done, and so is born . . . the Batman.

Drugs are secretly being pumped into Gotham City's waterways, the underground crime circuit somehow connected to a mysterious figure overseas who has big plans for Gotham. No one knows his face . . . until it's too late.

Jonathan Crane, aka the Scarecrow, uses his position in Arkham Asylum to get the inmates gathered for what's to come, and when the moment finally arrives, all hell breaks loose on Gotham's streets.

The night grows dim, the knight grows dark.

Batman is born.

Wowser.

This flick was amazing.

After the disaster that was Batman & Robin, I was so scared about how this would turn out. Sure, the trailers looked cool, dark, and edgy, but studios always put the best bits in the trailers anyway. All we had were hopes and good-sounding quotes from those involved in the film's production.

And, man, did they deliver!

This stuff was real. Real-real. Batman Begins was grounded in reality in a way I hadn't seen since X-men. This stuff could really happen. It was that tone that brought a level of seriousness to the movie that the other bat-flicks--except Batman in 1989--didn't have. This wasn't a superhero movie, but a story about a man lost in rage, darkness and needing a way out. It was about the very real contrast between revenge and justice, and making right what once went so terribly wrong.

It's a story about redemption, love, and fighting to protect strangers in a city where crime, filth and evil are the everyday norm.

Christian Bale is Batman. Period. When the mask was on, you could tell Bruce was channeling pure rage and distaste for evil, focusing all that anger on the task before him. When the mask was off, he was the Bruce Wayne who was a spoiled rich boy, dumb, and no one took seriously. Excellent duality.

Katie Holmes as Bruce's childhood friend/love interest, Rachel Dawes, was a good thing. The other bat-movies always had a girlfriend for him. Though their was romantic interest here, it was rooted in friendship, which was a nice change.

Michael Caine as Alfred--brilliant. He was your loving father-figure, yet was stern with Bruce when the need arose, and even got behind him when Bruce told him his grand plan for saving Gotham. Only the love of a friend would allow such a thing: to believe in an ideal and not necessarily the method.

Cillian Murphy was downright creepy as Jonathan Crane/Scarecrow. I only knew him from 28 Days Later so wasn't sure how he'd play this. Let's just say I was happy.

Liam Neeson as Ducard/Ra's Al Ghul was all right. As Ducard, sure, made sense. He did a great job as Bruce's mentor. The two were the same at heart. Just chose different paths. As Ra's--that twist didn't surprise me (solely because I stumbled upon the script online before I saw the actual movie), but it did surprise me in the sense that Liam Neeson will always be Qui-Gon Jinn to me. It was hard to see him as a bad guy.

Gary Oldman is James Gordon. He looked the part, acted the part, and I fully sympathized with him being pretty much the only good cop in a bad town.

Batman Begins is the quintessential bat-film.

Very recommended. Ten times over.

A.P. Fuchs
Canister X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Re-Birth of Cool, Oct. 9 2007
By 
Joseph Kayne (Victoria, B.C. Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Batman Begins [HD DVD] (HD DVD)
The movie itself is a triumph of storytelling. Christopher Nolan is spot on with his portrayal of the brooding caped avenger, and the dark world in which he lives. The rise of Gotham's Bruce Wayne to the legendary Dark Knight has never been handled so deftly.

Christian Bale and the entire cast of this movie took their roles seriously, and gave realistic weight to every word, and every frame. For that reason alone this movie should be a must own.

The quality of the transfer to HD DVD is beyond exceptional. The depth and realism is a boon to the comic movie genre, where suspension of disbelief is a must. The Dolby TrueHD audio is rich and expansive. Every nuance in the audio is felt, and truly serves to place you in an immersive experience.

The extras are plentiful. everything that was included in the two disc special edition DVD of this title has been included here. Giving you an undisputed ultimate edition of the film. As an added bonus, the In-Movie Experience feature (picture-in-picture) adds insight to the film from Chris Nolan and the other film-makers that was sorely lacking from the other releases.

Even if you are not a fan of comic-book movies, the performances, directing, as well as overall quality of this release, make it a title you shouldn't miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easily one of the best seperhero films in recent times, Aug. 4 2007
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
for my money,this is easily one of the best superhero movies made in recent times.the movie basically is the story of the genesis of the caped crusader.obviously there is a fair amount of character development involved,which you would expect based on the title.in this movie,Batman is shown as more of a full dimensional character than in previous Batman films.i also think this version is more faithful to the comic book.director Christopher Nolan paces the film very well.there are also some humourous touches throughout and we are shown a more human side of Bruce Wayne.the villains are also more fully realized than in most movies of the genre,rather than just being plot plot devices for the hero(protagonist)to defeat the villain(antagonist).Christian Bale is terrific as the dark knight,and Gary Oldman and Morgan are standouts as well.however,in my opinion,i don't think Katie Holmes has yet to reach the level of maturity required for her role,so i thought she was a bit on the weak side.this doesn't effect the film overall.this Batman is less cartoonish than some of the previous efforts and is closer to the realm of realism(relatively speaking).i also think it's much more thoughtful than many movies depicting superheroes.there is much more substance.in fact it has more substance than style,though it is just stylish enough.all in all,a brilliant depiction of the caped crusader.this film sets the bar high for its successor,"The Dark Knight" which is to be released sometime in 2008
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman Begins (Widescreen Bilingual Edition)
Batman Begins (Widescreen Bilingual Edition) by Christopher Nolan (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 14.96 CDN$ 4.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews