Customer Reviews


344 Reviews
5 star:
 (272)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sound Of Music blu ray limited edition...My home theatre is alive with This Sound Of Music
Video: This newly remastered high-definition treatment released on the blu-ray disc format in 1080p AVC/MPEG-4 is gorgeous. Scanned at 8K resolution from a copy of the original camera negative, the actual transfer was from a 4K duplicate, which preserved all the original detail in the original negative. The amount of detail found on screen is incredible and truly a...
Published on Nov. 13 2010 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Incredible movie, must see, but don't buy the one disc
First off. Think you have seen the Sound of Music? Well you haven't. I thought I had, many times. Of course it was always around Xmas with the commerical breaks. But that is a much edited version. There are small but significant cuts everywhere in that version. So this is a great thing to have. My 3 stars relates directly to the lack of extras on the one disc. The movie...
Published on July 7 2004 by austin_Larry


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sound Of Music blu ray limited edition...My home theatre is alive with This Sound Of Music, Nov. 13 2010
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Video: This newly remastered high-definition treatment released on the blu-ray disc format in 1080p AVC/MPEG-4 is gorgeous. Scanned at 8K resolution from a copy of the original camera negative, the actual transfer was from a 4K duplicate, which preserved all the original detail in the original negative. The amount of detail found on screen is incredible and truly a revelation. Colours are vibrant and rich. Black is deep and inky. Fox has done a good job, leaving a beautiful layer of grain throughout (unlike those washout picture as the result of excessive DNR in Predator blu ray). (5/5)

Audio: The DTS-HD 7.1 MA is simply wonderful. Dialogue and singing are clean and clear. The film's music is beautiful and very well remastered. The clarity is very impressive. The new mix is incredible. A great level of care clearly went into the audio restoration. (5/5)

For a film dated 45 years, the resultant video and audio are simply first notch. This limited edition contained 2 blu ray discs, standard definition DVD and a soundtrack CD, plus a 100-page "My Favourite Thing" scrapbook, snapshots from Salzburg, and reproduction of the original 1965 souvenir program, which I shall treasure, together with all the goodies from the much earlier "The Sound Of Music" laser disc box set. This blu ray box set is the same size as that of "The Wizard of Oz" and "Gone With The Wind", and they are all prominently displayed outside my home theatre. Although the single disc is much cheaper, I feel that this limited edition box set is of great value indeed (considering what I paid for a similar laser disc box set). This movie is one that one can watch with the whole family, again and again, while we could sing along at the same time. The video and audio are top notch, and this limited edition box set with the movie is highly recommended, and a Must-Own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Incredible movie, must see, but don't buy the one disc, July 7 2004
By 
austin_Larry (Austin, TX USA) - See all my reviews
First off. Think you have seen the Sound of Music? Well you haven't. I thought I had, many times. Of course it was always around Xmas with the commerical breaks. But that is a much edited version. There are small but significant cuts everywhere in that version. So this is a great thing to have. My 3 stars relates directly to the lack of extras on the one disc. The movie is 5+ stars, but the lack of extras warrants the 3 stars.
So this is a must buy. Also the commentary is very good here. But given the price for this on Amazon, just buy the 2 set version. I got the one disc version at a very good price so it is not a bad buy. But for $6 more, why not enjoy the double DVD? This is a must get for any movie fan, and if you are not into the extras, by all means buy this one. This movie, like all of Rogers and Hammerstein's work is emotional without ever being fake or sentimental. It is full of sentiment and completely honest sentiment at that, but never sentimentality. It totally puts to SHAME almost every director and producer and writer working in Hollywood today. Complete and total shame and disgrace. Nothing coming out of Hollywood today can hold a candle to this. Entire director's careers with academy awards can't even begin to even compare to just this one movie. So get some version, especially if you have young ones. Sit them down, and let them experience what a real movie can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary video quakity, Nov. 17 2010
By 
lchene (Quebec, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As the first reviewer stated the quality of this transfer is outstanding; the same as the BBC's Planet Earth. You could watch the movie just admiring the scenery!
Perfect 1080p! This is what I was hoping for as I pay much attention to video quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !!, July 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Si vous appréciez le film ''La mélodie du bonheur'', cette édition 45e anniversaire en Combo DVD/Blu-Ray vous charmera à coup sûr !!

Voici trois éléments qui m'ont particulièrement impressionné :

1. La qualité d'images : Améliorée à un point tel que l'on remarque des détails que l'ont n'avait jamais vu : Ce que mange les enfants au dîner, les gravures de la salle de bal, etc.

2. Les langues de visionnement et de sous-titrages disponibles :

Langues : Français, Anglais (deux qualités disponibles), Espagnol, Portugais.

Sous-titres : Anglais, Français, Portugais, Danois, Suomi, Espagnol, Néerlandais, Norvégien et suédois

3. Les suppléments :

- Commentaires audio par Julie Andrews, Christopher Plummer, Charmian Carr, Deedee Wood et Johannes Von Trapp.

- Commentaires audio par Robert Wise. (Tous les commentaires audio peuvent être sous-titrés en français, en anglais, ou en 5 autres langues.)

- Your Favorite Things : Ce supplément permet de regarder le film en y ajoutant des modules qui permettent de voir des éléments complémentaires concernant la scène en cours; Des photos du tournage et des images du script original, les paroles des chansons (Anglais seulement), des faits intéressants ainsi que des questions quiz interactive sur la scène en cours.

- Music Machine : Permet de choisir une chanson et de l'écouter.

- Sing along : Permet de choisir une chanson et de la chanter avec les sous-titres (Français, Anglais, Espagnol)

- Live Extra : ?

- A musical Stage : Contient plusieurs heures de mini-reportages sur les chansons, la comédie musicale, la vraie famille Von Trapp et la restauration du film. (Sous-titres Français, Anglais et Néerlandais)

- A city of songs : Permet d'explorer la ville de salsbourg et ses points d'intérêt en images, en vidéos et en faits intéressants. (Sous-titres Français, Anglais et Néerlandais)

- Vintages programs : Contient plusieurs minutes d'éléments d'archives et d'entrevues concernant le film et la comédie musicale.

- Rare Treasures : Présente d'autres éléments concernant la mélodies du Bonheur dont une rencontre entre Julie Andrews et Maria Von Trapp ainsi qu'une galerie de photo.

- Etc.

Des heures de plaisirs sont à planifier puissqu'il est possible de regarder le film en entier plus d'une dizaine de fois de façons différentes (Avec les commentaires de Robert Wise, Avec les commentaires des acteurs, Avec le module My Favorite Things, En version originale anglaise, En version française, etc.) !!

La mélodie du bonheur, offre vraiment à ses fans de tous âges, une Édition 45e anniversaire remplie à craquer de contenu intéressant, surprenant et fascinant. Ce coffret anniversaire est sans contredit digne de ces 45 années, digne du succès de ce film, et digne de cette oeuvre magnifique !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This has been a great thing to share with my daughter., July 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Sound of Music (VHS Tape)
I grew up with this video and watched it on TV every year. The songs have always stuck in my head. I even did the Sound of Music Tour when I was in Austria. But now I've got my daughter introduced to this beautiful music. This and the Wizard of Oz are her favorites.
I bought the easy piano scores for her to play the songs on the piano, and singing lessons on CD "Voice Lessons TO GO", by Vaccarino (They're great and a lot cheaper than private voice lessons!) for her, (even though I use them when she's at school). So she is confident to sing along while she plays her Edelweis and Do a Dear. We love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sound Of Music blu ray...my home theatre is alive with This Sound Of Music, Nov. 13 2010
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Video: This newly remastered high-definition treatment released on the blu-ray disc format in 1080p AVC/MPEG-4 is gorgeous. Scanned at 8K resolution from a copy of the original camera negative, the actual transfer was from a 4K duplicate, which preserved all the original detail in the original negative. The amount of detail found on screen is incredible and truly a revelation. Colours are vibrant and rich. Black is deep and inky. Fox has done a good job, leaving a beautiful layer of grain throughout (unlike those washout picture as the result of excessive DNR in Predator blu ray). (5/5)

Audio: The DTS-HD 7.1 MA is simply wonderful. Dialogue and singing are clean and clear. The film's music is beautiful and very well remastered. The clarity is very impressive. The new mix is incredible. A great level of care clearly went into the audio restoration. (5/5)

For a film dated 45 years, the resultant video and audio are simply first notch. This movie is one that one can watch with the whole family, again and again, while we could sing along at the same time. If you can afford the higher price, the limited edition box set is of much better value. This blu ray disc is highly recommended, and a Must-Own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was able to see a lot, Nov. 25 2010
I was able to see a lot that I was not able with the DVD or VHS. I was able to see what they had for dinner! Amazing picture quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars doesn't work, Nov. 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Dvd doesn't work. Won't play on any dvd players. The disc wasn't scratched but won't play anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great musical, predictable story, May 2 2004
By 
No one can deny that this is one the greatest musicals ever. Julie Andrews is stunning. The positives of movie and the transfer: It is a movie for all generations, full of warmth, hope, ideals and positive thinking. Filmed in Salzburg, Austria, it has stunning landscape and the music is wonderful. It has the last score of Oscar Hammerstein and should not be missed. Maria Von Trapp manages to win over the children and the captain with her charm, outlook and voice. The roles of a lot of the people in the movie are wonderful, Max Detweiler, Mother Abbess, the children, apart from the main characters. Even the screenplay has some good lines, though it can be sappy at times, it depends on your age. The video transfer is very good as is the sound quality, which is very important in this movie.
Now for the negatives: If you are looking for historical reality, look elsewhere. This is pure fantasy. The real Austria was trying for hard to portray itself as a country that was hurt by the Nazi's but in reality, they welcomed them. Except for a small group of people, most people had no problem with the Anschluss and with Hitler taking over Austria and were glad to be part of the German Reich. So the part about Austrian National pride shown in the movie is all fiction. The movie also trivializes the taking over of Austria and how they escape Austria. In reality, it was much harder for most people. If one reads the history of people like Paul Grueninger, the Swiss Police chief, one would find how difficult it was to escape from Austria via Switzerland. Of late, a lot of the truth about Austria's role in the Holocaust is coming to light, which pretty much extinguishes the storyline shown in this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Big Defect for spanish people, March 5 2004
No doubt this is an All Time classical picture that deserve a 5 star rating. Why I rated it 3 stars? You see, I live in Mexico City and bought the DVD version to show it to the family and friends thru a home theater system to enhance the music and enjoy the 4.1 surround system. Before ordering the DVD I checked that it included subtitles in spanish so that all people that saw the picture could understand it completely. Oh big dissapointing I had. The beautiful Hammerstein's lyrics did not came translated and no spanish subtitles appeared when the songs are performed. Only two or three songs appeared translated to spanish in the subtitles. I wonder what type of genius in Fox Pictures decided not to show the spanish subtitles in most of the songs. I have the video version in english language and of course all the songs are shown translated in the subtitles so we can appreciate the great lyrics that remain great in spanish. I also bought the South Pacific DVD version and it have all the songs translated to spanish thru the subtitles. Someone know if it exists a widescreen, single disc version that include spanish subtitles with all songs translated to spanish? I would appreciate any answer.
Thank you
eceballosm@yahoo.com.mx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sound of Music (40th Anniversary Widescreen Edition) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 59.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews