Customer Reviews


338 Reviews
5 star:
 (273)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sound Of Music blu ray limited edition...My home theatre is alive with This Sound Of Music
Video: This newly remastered high-definition treatment released on the blu-ray disc format in 1080p AVC/MPEG-4 is gorgeous. Scanned at 8K resolution from a copy of the original camera negative, the actual transfer was from a 4K duplicate, which preserved all the original detail in the original negative. The amount of detail found on screen is incredible and truly a...
Published on Nov. 13 2010 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Incredible movie, must see, but don't buy the one disc
First off. Think you have seen the Sound of Music? Well you haven't. I thought I had, many times. Of course it was always around Xmas with the commerical breaks. But that is a much edited version. There are small but significant cuts everywhere in that version. So this is a great thing to have. My 3 stars relates directly to the lack of extras on the one disc. The movie...
Published on July 7 2004 by austin_Larry


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sound Of Music blu ray limited edition...My home theatre is alive with This Sound Of Music, Nov. 13 2010
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Video: This newly remastered high-definition treatment released on the blu-ray disc format in 1080p AVC/MPEG-4 is gorgeous. Scanned at 8K resolution from a copy of the original camera negative, the actual transfer was from a 4K duplicate, which preserved all the original detail in the original negative. The amount of detail found on screen is incredible and truly a revelation. Colours are vibrant and rich. Black is deep and inky. Fox has done a good job, leaving a beautiful layer of grain throughout (unlike those washout picture as the result of excessive DNR in Predator blu ray). (5/5)

Audio: The DTS-HD 7.1 MA is simply wonderful. Dialogue and singing are clean and clear. The film's music is beautiful and very well remastered. The clarity is very impressive. The new mix is incredible. A great level of care clearly went into the audio restoration. (5/5)

For a film dated 45 years, the resultant video and audio are simply first notch. This limited edition contained 2 blu ray discs, standard definition DVD and a soundtrack CD, plus a 100-page "My Favourite Thing" scrapbook, snapshots from Salzburg, and reproduction of the original 1965 souvenir program, which I shall treasure, together with all the goodies from the much earlier "The Sound Of Music" laser disc box set. This blu ray box set is the same size as that of "The Wizard of Oz" and "Gone With The Wind", and they are all prominently displayed outside my home theatre. Although the single disc is much cheaper, I feel that this limited edition box set is of great value indeed (considering what I paid for a similar laser disc box set). This movie is one that one can watch with the whole family, again and again, while we could sing along at the same time. The video and audio are top notch, and this limited edition box set with the movie is highly recommended, and a Must-Own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Incredible movie, must see, but don't buy the one disc, July 7 2004
By 
austin_Larry (Austin, TX USA) - See all my reviews
First off. Think you have seen the Sound of Music? Well you haven't. I thought I had, many times. Of course it was always around Xmas with the commerical breaks. But that is a much edited version. There are small but significant cuts everywhere in that version. So this is a great thing to have. My 3 stars relates directly to the lack of extras on the one disc. The movie is 5+ stars, but the lack of extras warrants the 3 stars.
So this is a must buy. Also the commentary is very good here. But given the price for this on Amazon, just buy the 2 set version. I got the one disc version at a very good price so it is not a bad buy. But for $6 more, why not enjoy the double DVD? This is a must get for any movie fan, and if you are not into the extras, by all means buy this one. This movie, like all of Rogers and Hammerstein's work is emotional without ever being fake or sentimental. It is full of sentiment and completely honest sentiment at that, but never sentimentality. It totally puts to SHAME almost every director and producer and writer working in Hollywood today. Complete and total shame and disgrace. Nothing coming out of Hollywood today can hold a candle to this. Entire director's careers with academy awards can't even begin to even compare to just this one movie. So get some version, especially if you have young ones. Sit them down, and let them experience what a real movie can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !!, July 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Si vous appréciez le film ''La mélodie du bonheur'', cette édition 45e anniversaire en Combo DVD/Blu-Ray vous charmera à coup sûr !!

Voici trois éléments qui m'ont particulièrement impressionné :

1. La qualité d'images : Améliorée à un point tel que l'on remarque des détails que l'ont n'avait jamais vu : Ce que mange les enfants au dîner, les gravures de la salle de bal, etc.

2. Les langues de visionnement et de sous-titrages disponibles :

Langues : Français, Anglais (deux qualités disponibles), Espagnol, Portugais.

Sous-titres : Anglais, Français, Portugais, Danois, Suomi, Espagnol, Néerlandais, Norvégien et suédois

3. Les suppléments :

- Commentaires audio par Julie Andrews, Christopher Plummer, Charmian Carr, Deedee Wood et Johannes Von Trapp.

- Commentaires audio par Robert Wise. (Tous les commentaires audio peuvent être sous-titrés en français, en anglais, ou en 5 autres langues.)

- Your Favorite Things : Ce supplément permet de regarder le film en y ajoutant des modules qui permettent de voir des éléments complémentaires concernant la scène en cours; Des photos du tournage et des images du script original, les paroles des chansons (Anglais seulement), des faits intéressants ainsi que des questions quiz interactive sur la scène en cours.

- Music Machine : Permet de choisir une chanson et de l'écouter.

- Sing along : Permet de choisir une chanson et de la chanter avec les sous-titres (Français, Anglais, Espagnol)

- Live Extra : ?

- A musical Stage : Contient plusieurs heures de mini-reportages sur les chansons, la comédie musicale, la vraie famille Von Trapp et la restauration du film. (Sous-titres Français, Anglais et Néerlandais)

- A city of songs : Permet d'explorer la ville de salsbourg et ses points d'intérêt en images, en vidéos et en faits intéressants. (Sous-titres Français, Anglais et Néerlandais)

- Vintages programs : Contient plusieurs minutes d'éléments d'archives et d'entrevues concernant le film et la comédie musicale.

- Rare Treasures : Présente d'autres éléments concernant la mélodies du Bonheur dont une rencontre entre Julie Andrews et Maria Von Trapp ainsi qu'une galerie de photo.

- Etc.

Des heures de plaisirs sont à planifier puissqu'il est possible de regarder le film en entier plus d'une dizaine de fois de façons différentes (Avec les commentaires de Robert Wise, Avec les commentaires des acteurs, Avec le module My Favorite Things, En version originale anglaise, En version française, etc.) !!

La mélodie du bonheur, offre vraiment à ses fans de tous âges, une Édition 45e anniversaire remplie à craquer de contenu intéressant, surprenant et fascinant. Ce coffret anniversaire est sans contredit digne de ces 45 années, digne du succès de ce film, et digne de cette oeuvre magnifique !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary video quakity, Nov. 17 2010
By 
lchene (Quebec, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As the first reviewer stated the quality of this transfer is outstanding; the same as the BBC's Planet Earth. You could watch the movie just admiring the scenery!
Perfect 1080p! This is what I was hoping for as I pay much attention to video quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sound Of Music blu ray...my home theatre is alive with This Sound Of Music, Nov. 13 2010
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Video: This newly remastered high-definition treatment released on the blu-ray disc format in 1080p AVC/MPEG-4 is gorgeous. Scanned at 8K resolution from a copy of the original camera negative, the actual transfer was from a 4K duplicate, which preserved all the original detail in the original negative. The amount of detail found on screen is incredible and truly a revelation. Colours are vibrant and rich. Black is deep and inky. Fox has done a good job, leaving a beautiful layer of grain throughout (unlike those washout picture as the result of excessive DNR in Predator blu ray). (5/5)

Audio: The DTS-HD 7.1 MA is simply wonderful. Dialogue and singing are clean and clear. The film's music is beautiful and very well remastered. The clarity is very impressive. The new mix is incredible. A great level of care clearly went into the audio restoration. (5/5)

For a film dated 45 years, the resultant video and audio are simply first notch. This movie is one that one can watch with the whole family, again and again, while we could sing along at the same time. If you can afford the higher price, the limited edition box set is of much better value. This blu ray disc is highly recommended, and a Must-Own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is really the sound music should have, March 6 2014
By 
SonoPicto "Richard" (montreal canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A, masterpiece re-mastered perfectly. Throw away your old version cause this one looks 4k compared to other version. If you have two dvd players put them in simultaneously and live the difference, a worthwhile experience that you will show yopur friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the most loved music ever, May 24 2013
By 
Spoonman42 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What can I say that hasn't already been said about this movie, so all I will say is this: If you have never seen "Sound Of Music" now is the time. You will be blessed when you see and hear all the music and singing and being the fact that it was during WWII the story is very interesting and at times it will keep you on the edge of your seat.

I can claim that I saw the stage performance twice and I saw the movie 21 times in the theatre and I don't know how many times on either VHS or DVD. It is my favorite movie of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, July 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We are talking a classic here! What's not to love. Add Blu-ray and surround sound and it doesn't get much better. (Well maybe a 100" 4K TV would :) )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it's sound of music with Julie Andrews, May 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
it's sound of music with Julie Andrews. no need to say more. what else is needed to say it is great :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great video, May 25 2014
By 
Paul Mayall (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wouldn't buy them if I didn't want them. Always good. Especially these authors. I need to add more words so. There.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sound of Music (40th Anniversary Widescreen Edition) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 39.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews