Customer Reviews


224 Reviews
5 star:
 (118)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gorgeous artistry on blu-ray
Tim Burton's Batman is made for blu-ray, and fans of the movie will love seeing all the artistic details. When originally released (20 years ago), theaters were not equipped with today's technology, so you haven't really seen it, until you see it on blu-ray. It's gorgeous. Additionally, there are many extras including a couple of great documentaries, many featurettes,...
Published on Oct. 25 2009 by Cheryl

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Low quality DVD, great movie
It's a shame they released this DVD in the condition it's in. This was a huge, blockbuster movie that made a ton of money and it's not that old so there's no excuse. Also, there are hardly any extras.
The movie starts out with some obvious defects and spots on the film in the opening. It's like they didn't even try to find a good print from which to master the DVD...
Published on Sept. 21 2002


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gorgeous artistry on blu-ray, Oct. 25 2009
By 
Cheryl - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: Batman (1989) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Tim Burton's Batman is made for blu-ray, and fans of the movie will love seeing all the artistic details. When originally released (20 years ago), theaters were not equipped with today's technology, so you haven't really seen it, until you see it on blu-ray. It's gorgeous. Additionally, there are many extras including a couple of great documentaries, many featurettes, commentary etc. (from 2005 - probably from previous dvd releases), plus a 50pg. in-case booklet with Batman notes, history, production pix and comics. The bonus material is new to me, so I'm happy with it all in total. I always liked the film (especially Nicholson's Joker and Keaton's Batman), but now I love it, thanks to the blu-ray quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BATMAN: THE ORIGINAL, Jan. 27 2012
By 
Pablo (Torino (TO)) - See all my reviews
THIS STEELBOOK IS WONDERFUL.
CONTAINS ITALIAN AUDIO & SUBTITLES.
I CAN'T BUY THIS ARTICLES.
AMAZON SHIP WITH DHL AND ARRIVE IN ITALY IN 2 DAYS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I was looking for!, May 23 2013
Achat Amazon vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Batman (Two-Disc Special Edition) (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Fits right in with my Batman collection! It was the cheapest I've found on Amazon or eBay. Nice to see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, March 14 2013
By 
Andrew Palmer "A.P" (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Achat Amazon vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Batman (Two-Disc Special Edition) (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Come on this is the first batman. The movie was great and I think Michael Keaton will always be the best batman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Batman, June 20 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Batman (DVD)
Batman is a true American comic star and film.Batman and it's first sequel are probably two of my favorite films on a top 20 list.This could not be any better.The acting is great.Jack Nicholson does a amazing job as Joker.Michael Keaton should be proud of the character he plays let alone how well he does with it.Kim Basigner also does great work, and of course it wouldn't have been what it was without Burton's touch.The setting is wonderful (I like the gothic setting in the second one more) with tall sky scraping buildings.The dialogue also isn't bad let alone the special effects that weren't as cheesy as I expected it to be.The ominous and dark feeling adds to the film fabulously.Many of the characters are casted exactly how they should.Now the soundtrack is also great in the main titles and throughout the film thanks to Danny Elfman.Any comic nerd will be pleased; actually anyone will be delighted with this crowd pleasing film.Make sure to check it out now if you already haven't.
Gotham City is a sunless, ominous haven for criminals, held in the corrupt grip of crime boss Carl Grissom (the ever-magnetic Jack Palance), and terrorized by a sadistic vandal and murderer known as The Joker. But it isn't long before a dark, mysterious caped crusader, who goes by the name of BATMAN, is on their trail and trying to thwart their evil doings. In this darkly entertaining retelling of the Marvel comic classic, ace photojournalist Vicki Vale (warmly and sympathetically played by Kim Basinger) is also on the trail--she wants to find out who Batman really is. Based on the popular comic book character created by Bob Kane for DC Comics; the story and tone have nothing in common with the popular TV series of the 1960s. Imaginative special effects and imposing, Gothic architectural sets dominate this visually graphic, stylish film. Keaton gives a brooding performance as the Caped Crusader and his interestingly understated alter-ego Bruce Wane. But is it Nicholson's Joker that steals the show, with his unnerving, brilliantly maniacal portrayal, especially in the context of his twisted relationship with Grissom's gal Alicia (a lanky, disquieting Jerry Hall).
"It's just plain fun."
-- Ted Prigge, REC.ARTS.MOVIES.REVIEWS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The First and finest of the Dark Knight's films., Aug. 4 2003
By 
J. Ewing "johnneyboy012000" (Kingsport, TN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Batman (DVD)
Batman was released in 1989 and was a huge blockbuster from the first day. When I first saw this film I was a little surprised that Jack Nicholson's [now my favoriet actor] name to be listed before Michael Keaton's, but soon realised that they weren't wrong by doing this. This is clearly Jack's movie, his style of acting makes the movie.
The finest point of this movie is it's cast, which like most other comic-book movies is outstanding. Michael Keaton is clearly the best Batman to date, Jack Nicholson is exceptional as the evil Joker, and Kim Basinger is convincng as Vicky Vale. Other actors of interest are Billy Dee Williams and screen legend Jack Palance. The film takes place in Gotham City where a man called Batman has been taking care of the city's ever growing crime with his fists and inventions. This puts fear in the crimelords and at the same time a botched hit is about take place on the Joker and his men while they're doing there normal crime. The man doing this to Joker is actually his boss, and like Batman always does, busts in to the scene and of course tries to stop them. As he does Jack's character tries shooting at him but as he does, Batman sidesweeps him and he falls into a tub of some kind of strange chemical.
And so begins the Joker's rein of terror. At the same time, Batman's real idnetity is a rich millionaire named Bruce Wayne, who at the time is having a party, and at the party is the lovely reporter Vicky Vale, who Bruce takes an instant liking to, unfortunately so does the Joker. As the movie goes on you'll see flashbacks from Bruce's past, explaining why he became Batman.
The soundtrack by Prince is suitable for the scenes and Nicholson brings humor to the film. The biggest fault of the film is how it drifts off to comic book territory a little bit, but not much. The directing is great by Burton, who has became one of my favoriet modern day directors. If you really want to see a sequel go ahead and see the second one which isn't that bad of sequel but forget the rest of them they aren't worth your time. Don't judge the movie before you see it, solely because of the corny TV show, it's an action movie that won't disappoint you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best one of them all!, Jan. 31 2003
By 
McHenry John (McHenry, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Batman (DVD)
Michael Keaton becomes the Caped Crusader in this OUTSTANDING rendition of Bob Kane's comic hero. Jakc Nicholson steals the show as the Joker who combines some chemicals to make common toiletries & cosmetics fatal. EXCELLENT soundtrack by Danny Elfman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is there a 6-foot bat in Gotham City?, March 31 2004
By 
Dave Capo "nighthawk86" (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Batman (VHS Tape)
I can still remember as a 4 year-old being completely obsessed with the Batman character. And I loved the movie. To put it simply, Batman was my hero. Of course this isn't the case anymore but I still think that "Batman" is a great film.
One of the most striking things about "Batman" is the set design by Anton Furst, which is very Gothic and bleak looking (during the outdoor scenes there is no sun whatsoever). The Gotham City that looked like any other in the TV series is transformed into dark, slimy crime pit in which good is basically nonexistent. Tim Burton gives the film some good direction, keeping things tight and interesting. He executed the action scenes nicely as well. Aside from the impressive set design and direction, the movie is also well acted. Michael Keaton played the role of Batman very well, giving Batman a powerful presence and a sort of everyman personality (which is even a bit off-the-wall) when he's Bruce Wayne. Jack Nicholson, meanwhile, was excellent as the Joker. He hams things up a lot, which makes sense since the character of Joker is supposed to be a complete, smart-mouthed maniac. I did notice a few problems with this movie though. The story, for the most part, focuses too much on the Joker, which is silly. I mean, isn't the movie called "Batman"? The plot is bit shallow as well, which probably explains why I found it a bit difficult to pin point exactly the Joker wants to do with Gotham City. The love story was bit weak as well. While Kim Basinger did good job as Vicki Vale, she and Keaton didn't develop a lot of chemistry to make their pairing believable.
If you can ignore some minor problems, "Batman" stands as pretty good comic book adaptation. If you like superhero films, then this one is certainly worthy being included in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Nicholson as Joker will blow your mind!, Aug. 24 2008
Ce commentaire est de: Batman (DVD)
This is one of my most favorite batman movies of all time! I love the Joker & Jack Nicholson makes the caracter completely mental & insane. You must see just to see his performance as Joker. The surreal world of Tim Burton makes this movie a masterpiece.... Until the "Dark Nights" with Mr. Ledger came along...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Birth of the Dark Knight, Sept. 25 2007
Ce commentaire est de: Batman (Two-Disc Special Edition) (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
There are rumors of a six-foot bat in Gotham City. Whispers. Suggestions. Nothing concrete. But all that changes after the Batman confronts Carl Grissom’s men at Axis Chemicals and Grissom’s top hood, Jack Napier, gets dropped into a vat of chemicals, transforming him into the maniacal Joker. Discovering he had been set up by his boss to take the fall at Axis, Joker takes over Grissom’s operation, in turn allowing him to try and take over Gotham City itself, with only the Dark Knight to stop him.

This was the film that gave us the “movie Batman” we know today: dark and armored. If it wasn’t for director Tim Burton’s gothic and grim vision of crime-ridden Gotham City and its brooding protector, I suspect the edgy superhero movies of today wouldn’t exist.

Michael Keaton takes on the title role as billionaire playboy Bruce Wayne and his rubber-clad alter ego Batman, delivering one of the greatest Batman performances that many, at the time, hadn’t expected from “Mr. Mom.” And after his memorable line during the opening rooftop scene, “I’m Batman,” from that moment on he had you sold that his version of the Dark Knight meant business and quenches any lingering thought that Batman, thanks to the 1960s TV series, is a campy superhero.

Stealing the stage is Jack Nicholson as the Joker. Basically take the Jack from One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest and crank it up to a hundred and you have the Joker. Nicholson does a brilliant job of blending the serious and twisted Joker while also playing the crazy, laughing, psycho killer. I’m sure when Batman: The Animated Series came along, Nicholson’s Joker was the template for Mark Hamill’s performance when he voiced the character. Awesome.

Danny Elfman’s haunting and lonely score only adds to the movie’s eeriness.

My only problem with the film was there wasn’t enough Batman. I remember that bothering me as a kid. Batman shows up all of four times in the film, the first being something, like, only for a minute. Each subsequent time gets progressively longer, thankfully.

Bold, atmospheric and downright fun, Batman is one for the ages. It was where the modern dark superhero movie started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3cfdb58)

This product

Batman (Two-Disc Special Edition) (Widescreen) [Import]
CDN$ 18.70
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews