Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous international Hall-of-Fame-level clashes
I love this collection. Fer sure, the image quality is full-on 1970's level of quality. I think other reviewers need to take that into consideration when criticising the series. And I do agree that it would be great to see every single game in the collection, but that would have involved many more DVDs. Perhaps at some point there will be a 'Part II' issued containing the...
Published on March 8 2010 by Len Plasske

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Canada Cup series incomplete
What a big disappointment,THE FINLAND GAME WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THIS SET.This is incomplete.The video quality is bad and the United States game (Which is the only game that I saw so far and that was enough)is incomplete, some portion of the game was deleted by a couple of minutes and that happen a few times.At the start of the dvd VSC which produce this set, said they...
Published on Jan. 8 2006 by HABS


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous international Hall-of-Fame-level clashes, March 8 2010
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Canada Cup 1976 (Bobby Clarke & Darryl Sittler Cover) (DVD)
I love this collection. Fer sure, the image quality is full-on 1970's level of quality. I think other reviewers need to take that into consideration when criticising the series. And I do agree that it would be great to see every single game in the collection, but that would have involved many more DVDs. Perhaps at some point there will be a 'Part II' issued containing the other matches.
But what a magnificent opportunity to see so many amazing players playing all at once - Bobby Hull, Bobby Orr, Guy Lafleur, Marcel Dionne - etc etc etc. Enough to give me goosebumps just talking about it...

Diehard hockey fan in Berlin (grew up in Toronto),
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, Feb. 23 2010
By 
Miguel Watler (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was a great chance to see some of the best Canadian hockey players together on one team. I remember watching some of these games as a kid, and the chance to see Bobby Orr play alone is worth the price of this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Other reviewers are wrong. This is a must see., May 23 2008
I've wanted to buy this set for quite a while but was a little reluctant after reading other reviews on it. However, a few days ago I picked it up for 20 bucks in Zellers and decided to see how it really was.

Yes, the video isn't HD quality, and yes, the audio fades a few times, but, c'mon guys, these games are thirty years old. Just remember, HD didn't exist in 1976 and neither did DVDs. I can't imagine anyone back then thinking that thirty years later, someone would want to have copies of these games. And to be honest, only the video quality in the U.S. game is below average. Everything else looks pretty good.

The chance to see Phil Esposito, Bobby Clarke, Bobby Hull, Denis Potvin, Bobby Orr, et al. competing on the same team is amazing. As for which games are or aren't included, yes it was disappointing not to see Canada vs Finland but I'm assuming the video wasn't very good or didn't exist anymore.
And as a Canadian, do I want to see Finland play Sweden, or the Czechs play the States? Not really.

Anyway, I have the 1972 Summit Series, now I finally have the Canada Cup 76. I can't wait until the 1984, 1987 and 1991 Canada Cups come out. And I would even consider the 1981 tournament as well.

If you love watching Canada in international play, buy this set. It's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Game for the Ages!, Dec 29 2012
By 
Taser Me - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A lot of hockey fans will tell you that the best hockey game they ever saw was the New Year's Eve game between Montreal and the Red Army. Fair enough. Others will say pick any of the three games between Canada and the USSR in the 1987 Canada Cup Final. I can't argue with this choice either. As wonderful as these games were, the greatest hockey game I have ever seen was between Canada and Czechoslovakia in the Round-Robin of the 1976 Canada Cup. While Canada lost the game 1-0, the action was non-stop. There were countless scoring opportunities by both teams, but magnificent netminding by both goalies kept the game a nail-biter until it ended. This fabulous game alone makes this DVD set worth the money.

I am very satisfied with this set and recommend it to anyone who is interested in international hockey or vintage hockey. Virtually every player on Team Canada '76 wound up in the Hall of Fame. Will Canada ever ice a team with as many superstars as this team?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1976 Canada Cup DVD, Oct. 24 2012
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Canada Cup 1976 (Bobby Clarke & Darryl Sittler Cover) (DVD)
Just a fantastic box-set for anybody wanting to visit the 70s again. The first international tournament of it's kind now that '72 and '74 had set the tone. It was also Orr's last triumph as tournament MVP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hockey fans will love this!, July 8 2011
By 
Lava1964 (Cambridge, ON) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Those of us old enough to remember the landmark 1976 Canada Cup tournament will get a nostalgic buzz from watching these games. Those who weren't even born in 1976 will get a kick out of watching the best hockey team ever assembled in Canada. Watching Bobby Orr's last hurrah makes it even more historically significant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Canada Cup series incomplete, Jan. 8 2006
By 
HABS (Gatineau, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
What a big disappointment,THE FINLAND GAME WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THIS SET.This is incomplete.The video quality is bad and the United States game (Which is the only game that I saw so far and that was enough)is incomplete, some portion of the game was deleted by a couple of minutes and that happen a few times.At the start of the dvd VSC which produce this set, said they restore it to the best of there ability, well they did a poor job at it, and also this was approved by the Hockey Hall Of Fame,they should fire that person who ever approved it.But gesides that it is great to see the Orr,Lafleur,Esposito,Hull and so on, what a great team that was. Too bad about the video quality and the omittance of Finland and incomplete U.S. game, not looking forward to see the other games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars where are the other teams?, April 11 2006
By 
Brian Maitland (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Even worse than the quality of the video (OK, I get it was 1976 but it's just average as far as '70s hockey pic quality on some of the games) is the skewed focus on the tournament itself? I am Canadian (no, this is not a segue into a Molson Chemical Swill commercial), but let's see some of the other non-Team Canada games, too. I want the Finland 8-Sweden 6 full highlights at least! I mean, playing in Winnipeg in 1976 where guys like the New York Rangers' Anders Hedberg and Ulf Nilsson were making their return to the city where they began their North American pro careers. Sweden 2-Czech 1: A come-from-behind win in the third period on two Borje Salming goals. Czech 4-USA 4: A game that had six goals in one period.

Sure, I want the focus on Canada but it's a "Canada Cup '76" DVD, and it should not just be on "Team Canada '76."

Totally bogus and hugely disappointing despite my being a huge Bobby Orr fan and I did enjoy seeing how good he was on basically one good leg by 1976.

Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed watching the actual games, but I wanted to see the entire tournament not just the Team Canada games. (In fact back in 1976 I seem to recall paying a whopping $15 a month [equivalent to over $47 in 2010 dollars] for TSN which started just so I could see the other games.)

The box set comes with a mini-reproduction of the bilingual 1976 Canada Cup program and has some very cool vintage color pics.
There are two different slide covers (one with Orr and Denis Potvin, the other with Bobby Clarke and Darryl Sittler). The discs inside are exactly the same so don't go crazy and buy both box sets thinking you're getting something different with each.
The games on the set are:
Canada vs. USA, Sweden, Czechoslovakia (group game + the two in the Final) and USSR. The bonus feature includes both the English and French versions of the documentary on the tournament and luckily both have slightly different highlights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Canada Cup 1976, Dec 30 2005
By 
Elias L. Kotsiris (Montreal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The video quality is the worst. A complete waste of money. Only for the true die hard fans. avoid this stinker !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Canada Cup 1976 (Bobby Clarke & Darryl Sittler Cover)
CDN$ 49.95 CDN$ 37.41
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews