Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unfreakin' Believable!!!
These guys are in their 50's and I can't believe this set list. It's one full throttle song after another with few exceptions. The drummer is as heavy as a ten ton bolder and drives The Priest like I've rarely seen. I agree that Rob Halford looks tired but I'd like to see any other singer deliver like he does on this stage. You'd think at their age they'd mellow out but...
Published on Sept. 18 2007 by Gilles Castonguay

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars long live the .......priest !!!!
Depuis les 3-4 dernières années le Priest nous avait habitués à du matériel de qualitée, après nous avoir balancé un Live in London d'une qualitée irréprochable à tout point de vue, Priest nous revient cette année en grande pompe, avec le retour de Rob Halford.
À mon humble...
Published on Nov. 27 2005 by Mario Brazeau


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unfreakin' Believable!!!, Sept. 18 2007
This review is from: Judas Priest - Rising In The East: Live In Japan 2005 (DVD)
These guys are in their 50's and I can't believe this set list. It's one full throttle song after another with few exceptions. The drummer is as heavy as a ten ton bolder and drives The Priest like I've rarely seen. I agree that Rob Halford looks tired but I'd like to see any other singer deliver like he does on this stage. You'd think at their age they'd mellow out but this concert is a definite bone-breaker. I love it! A definite best for Heavy Metal Concert DVDs. It just freakin drives man. Ram It Down boys! Ram It Down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, April 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Judas Priest - Rising In The East: Live In Japan 2005 (DVD)
This concert shows why these guys are one of the greats. The sound is great, the video quality is good. If you are a Judas Priest fan, you will love it. If you aren't a Judas Priest fan, you will love it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!, Feb. 7 2007
This review is from: Judas Priest - Rising In The East: Live In Japan 2005 (DVD)
I love this DVD. Don't expect any bonus features, just the concert here.

Rob Halford certainly can't sing like he once could, but there aren't too many moments where he doesn't rise to the challenge. One exception for me is Painkiller; an absolutely killer song, but if this is how Rob sounds on it all the time, it's time to drop it from the setlist.

The high point for me is probably The Ripper, I love that song. The low point is definitely I'm A Rocker. A totally unmemorable song that shouldn't be dug out by the band. It's likely done because it isn't difficult vocally, but surely they could have picked a better song from their history that's easy for Rob to sing.

I have no high end audio equipment, but I think this DVD has excellent sound. Very good separation between Glenn and KK's guitars. Not heavy enough on the bass guitar unfortunately, but that's the Priest for you.

Very good purchase, and a much better concert than the Dallas Turbo show. Probably not as good as the 1982 Memphis show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You've Got Another Thing Comin', July 27 2009
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Judas Priest - Rising In The East: Live In Japan 2005 (DVD)
Two things I am sick of:
1. The moaning and whining you hear about Halford's voice.
2. The amount of live material that Priest have released since 1998 (too much).

In regards to point #2, most of that live material was released with Tim "Ripper" Owens, a much younger man, on vocals. Rising In The East represents the first "real" live release since the return of Rob Halford (not counting the brief live DVD that came with Angel Of Retribution). So, this release is forgiveable. Even Priest fans who owned the live stuff with Ripper will be eager to get their hands on some new live visuals with Halford, the first released since 1997's Priest...Live!

In regards to point #1, it is true that Rob Halford cannot hit all the high notes anymore, and he has stated as much in interviews. Get over it. It is what it is. The same people who whined that Ripper was no Halford are now whining that Halford is no Ripper. It's rediculous. The man still has a fantastic voice. He changes the octaves he's singing in on some tracks in order to do the entire song without cheating or relying on tapes. Some songs, like "Painkiller", he does his best at screaming even though it's not 1990 anymore. Other songs, like "Hellrider", he lets loose a powerful piercing scream or two that seem to come out of nowhere! The cool thing about it is, when he does let loose, it's so unexpected and so powerful that it just blows you away.

The song selection is interesting and varied if nothing else. All the staples are here: "Metal Gods", "A Touch Of Evil", "Painkiller", "Hellbent", "Another Thing Coming", "Living After Midnight", "Breaking The Law". There are also lots of older Priest classics that, for a while in the 80's, were seldom played (if ever): "The Ripper", "Victim Of Changes", "Exciter", "Diamonds & Rust" (the acoustic version too). There is a generous helping of new songs from Angel Of Retribution, and a couple odd ducks as well: "Turbo Lover", "Hot Rockin'", and "I'm A Rocker". "I'm A Rocker" is definitely the biggest surprise, as Ram It Down-era material hasn't been played live since that tour. It's not the track I would have chosen (give me "Blood Red Skies") but I give them credit for being adventurous. The only missing link really is material from the Ripper years, which Halford says he does want to sing. Maybe next DVD? (Well, maybe not the only missing link...I would have loved something from Defenders, or maybe "Sinner".)

Really, my only beef is with Halford's stage presence. I haven't seen Halford perform live at all recently, but his stage presence here really baffled and stunned me. 90% of the show, he is standing in one place on stage, hunched over, staring at the floor, looking like some strange leather and studs hunchback. He rocks back and forth holding onto his half-sized mic stand, eyes closed, wailing away. Every once in a while, he stands straight up and walks around, proving he's not suffering from ankylosing spondylitis. He barely speaks to the crowd at all. A sample song intro? "Angel of Retribution? Revolution!" That's it! He speaks a little more before "Turbo Lover", reciting the same song intro that he used back in 1986, but quickly and robotically.

Considering that Glenn Tipton, KK Downing, and even Ian Hill give their all on stage while Scott Travis plays seemingly impossible drum parts, Halford's stage presence was shockingly dull. He's always had a flair for the theatrical, and his choice of leather and metal costumes show he's still that guy. I just don't get what he's trying to do with the hunching over. I am sure there is a method to his madness, and he's not waiting on a double hip replacement, but it's lost on me.

Now you've read this, and you've been given the warning. Song-wise, production-wise, and performance-wise, this is a must-purchase for any Priest fan (I only wish it was released on CD too, although some songs are available on 2009's A Touch Of Evil Live). Visually, in particular with Halford, this is a baffling show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Judas Priest forever, April 13 2011
By 
This review is from: Judas Priest - Rising In The East: Live In Japan 2005 (DVD)
What a show, each single song is a master piece. This is a must buy for every hard rock fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Priest!, Dec 17 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Judas Priest - Rising In The East: Live In Japan 2005 (DVD)
I don't know what some people are whining about! They have a problem with their equipment! On mine it sounds great! Halford sings a lot better than on the Electric Eye DVD (from 20 years ago!). And he finally looks like a heavy metal singer. And the set list is so much better. I like Ripper Owens a lot (watch his stuff with Iced Earth, it's great!) but I cannot place Live in London above Rising in the East. Overall, a great DVD from one of the greatest metal bands! It's so great to have them still around making great CDs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE PRIEST IS BACK, Dec 12 2005
By 
Peter Vrzovski (toronto, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Judas Priest - Rising In The East: Live In Japan 2005 (DVD)
This dvd is what a Judas Priest concert sounds like. Heavy, Wild, Insane and downright HELL BENT FOR LEATHER!
Anyone who saw Judas priest this past summer knoiws that this is the way Judas Priest sounds like, with Rob Halford not a cheap carbon copy like Ripper Owens.
Unfortunately the reviewers from Quebec have no idea what a good concert sounds like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars long live the .......priest !!!!, Nov. 27 2005
By 
Mario Brazeau "Brazz" (Longueuil, Québec Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Judas Priest - Rising In The East: Live In Japan 2005 (DVD)
Depuis les 3-4 dernières années le Priest nous avait habitués à du matériel de qualitée, après nous avoir balancé un Live in London d'une qualitée irréprochable à tout point de vue, Priest nous revient cette année en grande pompe, avec le retour de Rob Halford.
À mon humble avis, le DVD est un peu décevant, tout d'abord le produit lui même est un peu terne,( boitier de piètre qualitée, pas de livret) bref, ils n'ont pas mis beaucoup d'efforts pour rendre le produit intéressant, ils se sont sûrement dit que le simple retour de Rob Halford rendrait le tout attirant.
En parlant du loup.... je trouve sa performance vocale un peu faible, j'irais jusqu'à dire que la prestation vocale de Ripper Owens sur Live in London était supérieur à celle de Robby sur Rising in the East.
Le travail effectué par Downing/Tipton/Hill et Scott Travis est toujours aussi efficace.
Le choix du set list est excelllent.
En bref, un bon DVD quoi que un peu moins intéressant que le précèdent.
Long live the...........Priest!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars STILL AWESOME, Nov. 23 2005
By 
Michael Beveridge (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Judas Priest - Rising In The East: Live In Japan 2005 (DVD)
Yep, this DVD was totally just like the concert. It was awesome. The set list is great, the sound/video is just amazing, and you really couldnt ask for anything more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, Nov. 14 2005
By 
Michael Beveridge (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Judas Priest - Rising In The East: Live In Japan 2005 (DVD)
I just hope that this DVD is as awesome as the live concert.
It was by far the best Judas Priest concert Ive ever seen!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Judas Priest - Rising In The East: Live In Japan 2005
CDN$ 27.99 CDN$ 22.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews