Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Debut!
3.5 out of 5

Five people are endowed with superpowers after an accident on a space station. Four become a force for good. One becomes a force for evil. That’s pretty much it.

This is a fun movie and I liked it. It had a solid origin story, some good action, and pretty good SFX. Each character was clearly defined, even stereotypical, but...
Published 3 months ago by A.P. Fuchs, author of The Axio...

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very basic, worth the price but no more
It's missing some parts of scenes! For any fan of the movie, you'll notice some scenes are only partially there.
Published 22 months ago by Rebecca Clement-Dumas


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Debut!, Feb. 2 2015
3.5 out of 5

Five people are endowed with superpowers after an accident on a space station. Four become a force for good. One becomes a force for evil. That’s pretty much it.

This is a fun movie and I liked it. It had a solid origin story, some good action, and pretty good SFX. Each character was clearly defined, even stereotypical, but that’s the Fantastic Four for you.

A lot of people griped on this movie. It was not bad. Wasn’t as “cosmic” or over-the-top as I would’ve liked, but it wasn’t a bad flick by any means. It was a great translation of comic book to screen and carried that vibe with it from beginning to end.

The invisibility effects of the Invisible Woman (Jessica Alba) were awesome, a sweet combination of complete I-can’t-see-you-at-all invisibility with the glass-like, transparent humanoid figure so we can see her enough to know what she’s doing.

The Human Torch (Chris Evans) looked like a man on fire, which he is, but animated enough so we can make out his actions, his costume, facial expressions and anything else we needed to in a given scene.

Mr. Fantastic (Ioan Gruffudd): at some points he looked like a real-life stretchy dude, at others the CGI was very clear (i.e. that scene when he stretches his hand under the door to unlock it from the outside).

The Thing (Michael Chiklis), arguably the hardest costume because you didn’t want to run the risk of making him look like a cartoon character by going all CGI (as good as the Hulk looks even in The Avengers, there’s still an animated quality to it), but you also didn’t want bad prosthetics either. The Thing in this movie looked amazing and looked real. Well done.

Dr. Doom (Julian McMahon) was fine as is, his costume something like an elaborate cosplay. I would’ve liked more detail in the cloak, some sort of pattern, but the whole how-he-got-his-armor thing was pretty cool.

What worked especially well was the dynamic of family and all the love, bickering and craziness that goes along with having one. There was real chemistry between all the main players and it added a dynamic to the team that made the whole scenario believable.

What also makes the Fantastic Four different is they’re public superheroes without secret identities, that is, though they have codenames, everyone knows who they are. While Iron Man did this, too, having a whole family who everyone knows who they are changes the game. It’s also different because, unlike Iron Man, they didn’t decide, “Hey, let’s be superheroes,” but instead it’s something that kind of happens and they discover how important it is they use their powers to help people.

For me, Fantastic Four was a good movie that I like popping into the DVD player now and then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very basic, worth the price but no more, Aug. 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Four (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
It's missing some parts of scenes! For any fan of the movie, you'll notice some scenes are only partially there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Never liked them..., Jan. 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The original cut was far inferior in terms of story (an irony since the director's name is Story...) so this extended edition (not available on Blu-ray yet, we're in 2014) features close to 20-30 minutes more of action, character moments and such. This doesn't make it a great movie by any stretch of the imagination, but it does make for an okay one. At least it was better than the original cut.

All special features presented on disc 2 are NOT available on blu-ray either so if you contemplate buying the blu, and if special features are really your bag, then this edition may be the best bet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon is the way to go, Aug. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Four (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
The movie was ok, but What impressed me most was the service. I believe I purchased a used product, but it was shipped to me in "like new" condition, cellophane wrapped and everything. Excellent condition. It did take a little longer than previous products, but it was worth the wait. Thank you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bad description, this BLURAY is NOT Bilangual, July 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ive bought this because it show the pocket as bilangual French and English and its English and Spanish.
I cant return it because it's already open and it would cost me more than the price it cost me.

Really disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not dubbed in French, Jan. 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fantastic Four (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I bought it because it was supposed to be bilingual(English/French), but this film is in English/Spanish and not dubbed into any other language. And sound track English 5.1 DTS
does not work, just the 2.0 Dolby digital.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THIS is the version to buy for Fantastic Four!, March 22 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Yeah, THIS is the version to buy. The normal theatrical version makes a whole lot more sense when cut this way. One of my favourite movies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Man, oh, man was I disappointed with this movie!, Jan. 5 2006
This review is from: Fantastic Four (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
OK, it wasn't terrible by any means, but they had so much to do with this film and the comic book was amazing! The comic had everything from aliens to explosions to sci-fi thriller action! And this is what we get? As well, Doctor Doom was a very evil villian but the development was frighteningly bad!
OK, first off, the SFX are nothing but OK. When Mr. Fantastic alides his hand under the door, you can just tell it's fake. I was deeply disappointed. And the thing's costume! What the *&%$ were they thinking??!!! It looks like a Barney gone bad! It could have been so much better. I must say though the scene on the bridge was amazing. The way they did it using at metal pole to test exactly how the truck would be crushed... cool. One star for that.
The story was kinda screwed up and convaluted; I couldn't tell if the story was mainly about the Four or the battle between them and Doc Doom. But it kind of payed off in the end with the big final battle. Another half star for that.
The acting was pretty good overall, Mr. Fantastic probably wouldn't have done that toilet paper thing, though. Minus one half star. But, the half star will go back for the acting job on the Thing.
Over all, I wouldn't spend more than ten dollars for this DVD, but different people have different opinions. I personally didn't enjoy it all that much.
P.S. When Ben Grimm's wife comes out, she looks like some sort of hooker with the short PJ's. Poo. Minus one of the stars; so sad. It could have been average. :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, Oct. 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Were are the extras for this one they seem to be missing the dvd has them.Fast shipping
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, Oct. 23 2014
info not like on your page the movie is only in English and you said french / English
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fantastic Four (Widescreen) (Bilingual)
Fantastic Four (Widescreen) (Bilingual) by Tim Story (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 7.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews