Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage Personal Care Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store NFL Tools

Customer Reviews

20
3.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
4
Grizzly Man
Format: DVDChange
Price:$14.95+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 22, 2015
This is a very interesting DVD. the true account of Timothy Treadwell who made it his life's work to study grizzly bears. He looked like a "surfer dude" but he was really intense i his love for grizzly bears. He was a strong and well-intentioned advocate for the grizzlies. This is a compelling and extremely interesting DVD. A wonderful true account of a very special person, Timothy Treadwell. It is made up of a lot of the actual film footage that Timothy T himself took in the wild country while observing the grizzlies. Well worth watching. A must see.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on May 21, 2015
This film will shock you. Imagine getting up close, really close to grizzly bears that can rip your heart out. Not only can a grizzly bear rip your heart out but this film will also do the same. It is a sad film, sad because the subject of the film Timothy Treadwell loved bears, wild bears and he loved them in the wild and it cost him his life. The film itself is full of life at the hands of master film director Werner Herzog and we get to see just how close man comes to bear and bear comes to man but all good things come to an end because in the big picture of things, bears while adorable at a distance, are in reality not only wild creatures but dangerous creatures and unpredictable in their danger. Unfortunately for Treadwell, he did not really heed the danger signs and let his trust and love for these wild creatures take over his common sense. A remarkable film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on October 8, 2014
Fantastic movie depicting just how foolish some people become.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on August 3, 2013
I loved the video for sure. It is a fantastic documentary and I highly recommend it if you like the outdoors with a an intriguing story of an eccentric living in the wilderness.
I am upset that the extras on the disk do not work! This was highly disappointing because the extras is one reason I bought the blue ray.

I gave a four star because the doc is really good but had to remove one star for the extras not working.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
After viewing GRIZZLY MAN, I am left with a haunting sense of perplexity that such a scenario was ever allowed to unfold.

From a superficial and naïve perspective, Timothy Treadwell is perceived as an environmental hero who dedicated the last years of his life to filming Alaskan brown bears up-close in the Katmai nature preserve, and educating the public about these amazing creatures.
Admittedly, Treadwell had a propensity for cinematography, and he managed to capture some incredible moments on film. (His footage of two alpha male grizzlies fighting for mating rights is, perhaps, the best footage of this kind that I have ever seen).
However, as we learn more about Timothy Treadwell and the tragedy that took place in October 2003, legitimate questions are raised concerning the appropriateness of his activities in the nature preserve. Additionally, I would argue that mass media outlets (e.g.,The Late Show with David Letterman, The Rosie O' Donnell Show, Dateline NBC, People magazine, et al), and the National Park Service, were also culpable in this avoidable tragedy - the former via rewarding Treadwell with national exposure for his reckless behavior, the latter through largely turning a blind eye to several years of wanton violation of park regulations by Treadwell.

Truth be told, Treadwell was a "damaged" individual; he was a college drop out and a failed actor, he was socially awkward with women, and he struggled with alcohol and drug addiction. During a nadir in his life, Treadwell made a capricious motorcycle trip up to the Katmai nature preserve in Alaska where, as explained by his ex-girlfriend Jewel Palovak, he had a kind of "religious" experience in the bear sanctuary; he subsequently gave up alcohol and narcotics, and found his calling as an "eco-warrior" for the bears.

While I do not doubt that Treadwell believed that he had good intentions, in reality it seems that his experience in the nature preserve was more about his own self aggrandizement than the bears and foxes for whom he expressed his unfettered love and allegiance.

In GRIZZLY MAN, director Werner Herzog presents highlights from the 100+ hours of footage that was meticulously shot by Treadwell, (the majority of which includes Treadwell giving narration in the foreground). It is here that we see Treadwell reviving his role as an actor, and wearing multiple bandannas, hats, sunglasses, etc., to create a specific "look" for the camera.
It is also through this footage that we see Treadwell's bizarre, childlike behavior toward the animals, attempting to treat them as if they were domesticated pets; on multiple occasions we see him petting foxes as if they were house cats, invading the personal space of the bears and touching them, speaking to the animals in a falsetto voice, telling them that he loves them, personifying them with individual names, etc.

While some of this behavior on the part of Treadwell does result in rather amazing film footage, the fact remains that habituating these wild animals to such direct human contact is detrimental to the natural instincts of these animals. (One of Treadell's exaggerated and paranoid delusions was that he needed to protect the animals from the ever-present danger of poaching; if there actually had been a poaching issue [which in reality was almost non-existent in the Katmai nature preserve], Treadwell's "Doolittle-esce" behavior toward the animals would have only served to facilitate such an issue).

Herzog underscores the aforementioned sentiment in his documentary through his interview with Alutiiq Museum Director Sven Haakanson Jr.

Haakanson, an Aleutian native, states that Treadwell's obtrusive interaction with the bears was in contrast with an indigenous/naturalist perspective of proper comportment. As state by Haakanson, "[Treadwell] tried to be a bear. He tried to act like a bear, and for us on the island, you don't do that. You don't invade on their territory... [W]hen you habituate bears to humans, they think that all humans are safe... If I look at it from my culture, Timothy Treadwell crossed a boundary that we have lived with for 7000 years. It's an unspoken boundary, an unknown boundary. But when we know we've crossed it, we pay the price."

Additionally, through segments of Herzog's interview with Jewel Palovak, we come to understand that Treadwell suffered from extreme emotional swings for which he had been prescribed anti-depression medication. However, Treadwell eventually stopped taking his medication because, as stated by Palovak, "he said 'I had to stop... I can't have the middle grounds. I have to have the highs and the lows. It's part of my life, it's part of my personality.'" These "highs and lows" are overtly recorded in Treadwell's film footage. We witness a spectrum of emotions on the part of Treadwell, ranging from childlike, playful ecstasy with foxes, to vitriolic, profane tirades against the National Park Service; it is clear that Treadwell had unchecked, emotional issues that, at times, may have clouded his sense of rational thinking.

It is also noteworthy to point out how much Treadwell seemed to relish in continually mentioning (rather graphically) the extreme dangerousness of his activities in the bear preserve; for all intents and purposes, he seemed to replace one dangerous, thrill seeking activity (i.e., alcohol and heroin addiction) with another that was exponentially suicidal. While not explicitly stating that Treadwell intended to be killed by bears in the preserve, Herzog highlights a couple of moments that make this a plausible assertion: The first, being a letter written by Treadwell to an ecologist friend, indicating that his work would be taken more seriously if he was killed. The second one being Treadwell's abrupt return in October 2003 to the nature preserve -- occuring after a dispute with an Alaskan airlines employee regarding the validity of his return ticket to California. After 13 seasons in the sanctuary, Treadwell (who normally did not camp in Katmai into October) was fully aware that this was the most dangerous period of time to interact with bears in the preserve. In one of the final film segments made by Treadwell before his death, he introduces us to a heretofore unknown bear that he has named "Ollie". By Treadwell's account, Ollie is an older, underfed, and aggressive bear that he has just met within the last couple of days. Moreover, he further asserts that while the majority of the bears with which he has a rapport have already left the area to go into hibernation, Ollie is still desperately searching for food. Treadwell, in an almost nonchalant tone, explains that this a very dangerous scenario in which a bear may be tempted to attack a human being. In what would be a haunting harbinger of things to come, Treadwell says to the camera, "Could Ollie, the big old bear, possibly kill and eat Timothy Treadwell? ... I think if you are weak around him, you’re going to go down his gullet.”

The most shameful part of this tragedy was the fact that Treadwell allowed his then girlfriend, Amie Huguenard, to be with him on his reckless endeavor; it was inexcusable on the part of Treadwell to allow anyone to join him in his madness and, at this point, there should have been an intervention. Unfortunately, Huguenard placed her trust into the fallacy that Treadwell knew what the was doing, and this mistake let to her demise.
Interestingly, Tredwell's camera recorded 6 minutes of audio-only footage of the fatal bear attack. Although the recording is not played for the viewing audience, we are given details of the recording via an interview with the coroner who performed the autopsies on Treadwell and Huguenard. In a later segment of the film, we also watch as director Herzog listens to the death recording through headphones. By all accounts, this is a nightmarish recording that will never be released to the general public. I respect the decision not to release the recording. However, I fully admit that there is a tiny, macabre corner of my mind that wants to listen to it.

So, in recap... Timothy Treadwell - a man who lacked any formal ecological training, who struggled with alcohol and substance abuse issues, who (in all likelihood) suffered from bipolar disorder, and who violated national park regulations with impunity - was unable to perceive any sense of impropriety vis-a-vis his obtrusive behavior, for 13 seasons, in the bear sanctuary at Katmai national park. Yet, as shown in his film footage, this did not stop Treadwell from irrationally demonizing tourists, and other visitors, who occasionally came to the Katmai preserve. As stated by Herzog, "for Treadwell, they were just intruders. An encroaching threat upon what he considered his Eden."
However, true to form for the mass media, shows such as Dateline NBC, and The Late Show with David Lettterman invited Treadwell onto their shows as a novelity interest piece... never actually exploring the possibility that they were exploiting and exacerbating a potentially horrible situation. It is important to note that, at the behest of Letterman, a segment of his interview with Tredwell, that had been included in the theatrical release of GRIZZLY MAN, was omitted from the DVD version the film. In the omitted segment, Letterman asked Treadwell the (now prophetic) question, "is it going to happen that we read a news item one day that you have been eaten by one of these bears?" According to the IMDb FAQ page for GRIZZLY MAN, Letterman believed that it was inappropriate to utilize the segment of his comedic interview in the context of a film about Treadwell's horrific demise. However, I tend to wonder if Letterman was making a calculated decision to distance himself from what could properly be perceived as serious faux pas for being directly involved with raising Treadwell to celebrity status which, in turn, emboldened Treadwell in his fatally misguided activities.
Moreover, it would seem that Treadwell's rising celebrity status made have played a role in the hesitancy on the part of the National Park Service to fully enforce regulations that he was blatantly disregarding. According to Herzog, several reasonable regulations (e.g., minimum distances to be kept between animals and people, permanent camping restrictions, et al) were, despite warnings, being violated annually by Treadwell. Had they wanted to, the Park Service probably could have banned Treadwell from the park, (long before the tragedy took place), and subsequently have him arrested for trespassing if he did not comply with the ban. Worst case scenario, they could even have tracked and stopped him at the airport - not even letting him get anywhere near the bear sanctuary; had these measures been put into effect, Treadwell, Huguenard, and two bears (involved in the deaths, and subsequently shot by the Park Service) would most likely still be alive today.

GRIZZLY MAN is an intriguing documentary. Beyond the tragedy of Timothy Treadwell and Amie Huguenard, the film has opened my mind to ethical questions associated with the "extreme wildlife footage" that has been popularized over the last 25 years, and the role of the mass media that has propagated this form of entertainment.
Regardless of one's view of Timothy Treadwell and his activities, I recommend viewing this film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Shortly after watching this movie for the third time I watched online segments from Animal Planet called fatal attraction telling the stories of 10 people who had a fatal attraction for dangerous creatures.

Often it's a moment of carelessness that results in death. People killed by bites from pet bushmasters or mambas or cobras. They trip or fall or are momentarily distracted. Some survivors test their reaction by refusing to take antivenom to see if they have developed immunity to snakebite.

Sometimes these people are thrillseekers, and sometimes there is an arrogance in thinking they are somehow invulnerable to the obvious outcome or there may even be a lofty vanity about thinking they are somehow protecting dangerous threatened creatures from bad people. I mention this because of the parallels with this movie.

I notice when I discuss this movie with people I get a varied response because it's open to many interpretations.

I remember discussing it with one woman who said she found that guy so annoying that she could hardly wait for the bear to eat him. Most interpetations are somewhat more sympathetic than this.

It's the story of a self appointed conservationist Timothy Treadwell who spent 13 summers in the Alaskan wilderness among the grizzly bears until finally he and his girlfriend were attacked in their camp and killed and eaten by a bear.

During his thirteen summers he recorded over 100 hours hours of video footage then passed along to director Werner Herzog to turn into a documentary.

If you're like me as you begin to watch the movie you will be amazed by these specacular grizzles and the wilderness they inhabit and you may also start to wonder about the sanity of Treadwell. You will also be in awe of some of the footage especially with the foxes. I have never personally faced a bear but when I see a bear appoach Treadwell I start to feel nervous about what will happen.

So you can feel that danger at the very beginning.

Treadwell though is quite a memorable character even if he is deluded about these bears which lets face it are aggressive instinctual creatures.

There are a series of memorable characters who make brief appearances and share their insights.

One is a helicopter pilot who has a very unsympathetic attitude towards Treadwell though he has sympathy for the girl Amy whose death was an unnecessary and unfortunate tragedy. Sometimes people who work in Coroners office or who deal with death can have necrophiliac tendencies. They find death can be erotic.

So the coroner in this case seems a little excited by the lurid tale of examining the bodies, and his account of the audio of their last minutes.

You may discover great irony within this movie as Treadwell films a bear called Olie who may very well be the bear that ate him and describes how he had a confrontation with this bear. 'Is Tim Treadwell going down Olie's gullet?' He actually says that.

I loved for example Treadwell's rant against the park rangers which you can watch on youtube. I particularly loved his interaction and friendship with the beautiful foxes.

I think it's clear that Treadwell did have some skill in surviving so long with the bears. Unfortunately with creatures like this who sometimes even eat their own young it's impossible to forge a human animal bond, the type he did forge with the foxes.

Treadwell claimed to be protecting bears. But from what? Maybe there is poaching, but the population is also culled annually by 6% according to a park ranger. So what difference did Treadwell make? His life may not have made much difference to the life of the grizzly bear but his death certainly has made a difference to our awareness.

It's a tragedy that ideally would not happen, was perfectly foreseeable yet it has yielded what I consider to be a remarkable movie which I have recommended to numerous people. I think you most people will love it and I hope this was helpful.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Wernor Herzog in his inimitable trademark fashion constructs an interesting portrait of an extremely unusual subject, a man named Timothy Treadwell. Treadwell spent 13 seasons in Alaska with grizzly bears. He got really close to them, making physical contact. He befriended them, he played with them, and he forgot the boundaries that exist between man and nature. A fatal error of profound misjudgment at the end of his 13th season reminds us all that there are immutable boundaries that are never meant to be crossed. To do so is universally pure folly, and death.

Herzog utilizes Treadwell's own remarkable footage extensively through the film. Nobody had ever gotten so close to these bears in their natural habitat and observed and learned their behaviors this extensively. Treadwell knew their mannerisms and behaviors. But he got too comfortable. Watching these films is both extremely profound and extremely tragic. In addition, while documenting his own expeditions, Treadwell sometimes lapses into hysterical rants regarding society and authority, and anyone who he sees as an impediment to his way of living. Clearly, a deeply disturbed individual lurks beneath the beatnik exterior of the animal lover and protector.

A fascinating glimpse at a singular, one of a kind persona, Grizzly Man is another unique Herzog film that looks at the subject with an intense curiosity. Herzog conveys a childlike sense of the curious with the practical wisdom of a modern individual. As such, despite its dark subject matter and ominous aura, Grizzly Man is entertaining and re-watchable. Herzog wisely avoid any graphic imagery or sounds. An audio tape of Treadwell's final moments is only discussed and not heard. Herzog gravely advises destroying the tape upon hearing it.

Also included in this package is a nice documentary on the music of Grizzly Man, an important part of its emotional makeup.

5 stars.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon July 29, 2010
For thirteen summers, Timothy Treadwell lived among the wild grizzly bears of Alaska. An untrained but fervent bear-lover, he took his videos and message of bear preservation to schools during his off-season. This documentary alternates Treadwell's footage with interviews of his friends, family, and co-workers.

The result is a portrait of a man with a childlike enthusiasm and certainty that he could live with the bears as one of them. He also comes across as a grandstanding showman determined to make himself immortal. This documentary has done that much, although Treadwell and his girlfriend were killed and eaten by one of his beloved bears. There is no footage of bears showing anything but indifference to him, but Treadwell endlessly proclaims his love for the grizzlies and says he would willingly die for them. One can only imagine the horror of it.

The Alaskan footage is lovely and one is impressed with the power and size of the bears. Unfortunately, the pristine beauty is usually interrupted with Treadwell's showboating antics. I think he was delusional when it came to his safety and I feel sorry for those who mourn him. Heartily recommended for nature lovers and those interested in a man recklessly pursuing a bizarre lifestyle.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on December 21, 2009
This is a documentary about a MAN named Timothy Treadwell who ran from his demons into Alaskan bear territory. There, he found some peace and purpose. Unfortunately, he slipped further into madness, and ultimately died by one of the bears he was trying to protect.
It is not a film about bears.

Was Timothy Treadwell insane? Did his celebrity renew his resolve or contribute to his demise? Different viewers will have varied opinions, thus cause for solid debate.

This is a documentary that succeeds in examining the events while prompting intelligent discussion. It may not be for all tastes, but it is a unique examination of a unique MAN.
It is not a film about bears.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on August 24, 2009
I ordered this movie for my parents because they like true stories and on the surface it sounded like it would be good. My parents found it very boring. They also stated that it was the most vulgar, foul-language filled movie they have ever seen.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Encounters At The End Of The World
Encounters At The End Of The World by Werner Herzog (DVD - 2008)
CDN$ 13.43

Cave of Forgotten Dreams
Cave of Forgotten Dreams by Werner Herzog (DVD - 2011)
CDN$ 20.99

Herzog: The Collection [Blu-ray]
Herzog: The Collection [Blu-ray] by Klaus Kinski (Blu-ray - 2014)
CDN$ 133.99