Customer Reviews


293 Reviews
5 star:
 (229)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sloane dear, come to Daddy
I am afraid I can not go into too much detail as the movie counts on surprise and anticipation.

Three high school comrades Ferris Bueller (Mattew Brodrick), Cameron Frye (Alan Ruck), and Sloane Peterson (Mia Sara) take the day off. They have several adventures which take them to many fun locations among which are a parade, restaurant, and just skirt being...
Published on Feb. 28 2006 by bernie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars More Like "Ferris Tooler"
Remember the days of skippin school, racin' cars and being cool:
with a six-pack and the radio, etc., etc., blah.
Remember when the term "brilliant" wasn't overused/blown, when the frienship pins and torn Calvins was all the rage, enter F. Bueller. Now, I've skipped school in my time, and I've even succumed to the pressures of my cibling's envy;...
Published on Sept. 21 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 330 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A genuine cult classic, March 29 2003
Along with The Breakfast Club and Pretty In Pink, the 80's teen movie craze also spawned Ferris Bueller's Day Off. The story is deceptively simple, with Ferris (Broderick) bunking off school with his girlfriend Sloane and best friend Cameron and spending a wild day in New York city. Convinced he's faking it, Ferris' headmaster and sister are desperate to uncover him.
This is the kind of movie that makes you wish that the lives on screen were your lives. Who wouldn't want to press their faces against the glass of the Empire State Building, drive around in a Ferrari or, more importantly, sing Twist and Shout on top of a float accompanied by a marching band? These are moments that you wished defined your own life and this is helpful because Ferris' philosophising about not missing out on life would have come off as ridiculous otherwise. For pretty much everyone who's seen this as a kid they will tell you that it affected them in the same way. The themes of friendship, love and what it is to be a teenager have nowhere been so universally evoked.
As Ferris, Broderick is perfectly cast. Smug, fun-loving and above everything else cool, he's that thing that very few movies seem to have these days - a character you can identify with. If you like this then it's a fair bet you watched it when you were a teenager. Ferris Bueller is pretty much a shared experience that you won't be able to explain why it's so, for want of a better word, cool. Only teenagers will get it and maybe that's the way it should be. It hasn't lost its sparkle, the ageing audience can't identify with it anymore. Even better than The Breakfast Club, there's a good reason why this movie has entered to cultural consciense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ferris Bueller's Day is Done, March 10 2003
By A Customer
There are some classic scenes in this film, but over time, the movie as a whole has lost its charm. Review it again and you'll know when and where the film falls. This reviewer hates the scene when the two punks...er.. car attendants take a joy ride with Cameron Frye's(Alan Ruck -SPEED, SPIN CITY) Dad's prized sports car after he has just handed the keys over to them to park the car. Then, of course, when the car falls out of the house and into a ravine. Now, was that necessary in this upbeat movie. Okay, okay, everything else is great. However, Jeffery Jones' performance as principal Ed Rooney doesn't hold up after multiple viewings. Yet, who can forget Ferris (Matthew Broderick) lipsinking Wayne Newton's signature song "Danke Schoen" and the Beatles' version of "Twist and Shout" during the parade and Charlie Sheen's classic cameo scene with Jennifer Grey. A modern day ROMAN HOLIDAY type movie which is deemed a classic with great location shots (i.e. Wrigley Field) and good production values, and a hot looking and young Mia Sara... but watch it in bits and pieces. Note: Paul McCartney was quoted as being annoyed when they added a brass section to "Twist and Shout" when the parade band was playing along with the song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The movie that spawned a thousand catch phrases, Jan. 18 2003
By 
Admit it, you have quoted Ferris Bueller on at least one occasion. This movie is packed with such hilarious one-liners it is hard not to. Ferris Bueller is a child of relative privelege who decides he would rather enjoy a great spring day then spend it trapped in school (who wouldn't?). He brings his best friend and girlfriend with him and they live it up for the day in Chicago, while their principal tries desperately to catch them. They lie their way into a super-fancy restaurant, take in a Cubbies game and dance and sing on a parade float. Meanwhile, rumors are flying around the school, each making Ferris closer to death than the last, which annoys his sister because she is stuck there. There are a couple of anxious moments when they very nearly get caught, but never actually do. The characters are wonderfully created and acted, his parents are totally clueless, his sister is vindictive and Ben Stein is hilarious as the world's most boring history teacher. "Anyone, anyone?" And, of course, Matthew Broderick is charming as 'righteous dude' Ferris Bueller, the guy everyone wanted to be in high school.

This movie is funny without being offensive and Matthew Broderick in the shower...what else do you need?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life moves pretty fast...don't miss Ferris!, Jan. 12 2003
By 
S. Sarhan "matured reviewer" (Dearborn, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although most of the stars of this classic teen comedy flick are now long gone or just aren't as sparkly as they were when this mvoie was released, Ferris Bueller's Day Off is still the best comedy movie of the dreadful 80's. Jeffrey Jones's Ed Rooney character is the highlight as the school dean who gets his ... kicked, ripped and bitten by everything and everybody except the one person whose driving him nuts, Mathew Broderick's Ferris Bueller. Alan Ruck's Cameron Frye is the legendary character that each person relates to, absolutely hilarious in the most "depressing" way...and i do mean that in a good funny sense. Mia Sara's Sloane Peterson is the sweetie pie that not only Ferris wanted to marry, Edie Mcclurg as the dean's secretary will make you crack more laughs than the number of pencils in her hair...and let's not forget Jennifer Grey's Jeanie Bueller, the jealous bitchy sister who falls in love with a drugged out loser played by Charlie Sheen in the funniest cameo appearance ever.
This is one of my favorite comedies of all time...despite the features which only include director John Hughes shot by shot commentary, the DVD quality of this classic is worth the while.
Now don't tell me that you can't hear Wayne Newton's "Danka Shane" and the Beatles' "Twist and Shout" playing in your head!
own it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bueller still luminescent, Dec 10 2002
By 
I strongly disagree with the editor's comments that this DVD has somehow lost its lustre over time. I was four years old when this movie was released, and my sister was one. We are both in college now, and we sat down to watch this DVD together for the first time yesterday, and Jesus, I have no idea how we let so much time pass before discovering it. It was hilarious; I'm talking squirt-milk-out-your-nose hilarious.
John Hughes's film perfectly captures the high school desire to be free of all the rules and restricions that are imposed upon you and experience life. For anyone who has even the remotest memory of this time in their life, Ferris Bueller's Day Off is a must-see, a timeless classic.
...And for those of you who love great cinema, this is not just a great comedy, but an influential piece of filmmaking. Keep your eyes open for the use of 1) actors talking directly to the audience, 2) static camera angles and 3) pop music as a driver for plot movement. All three are pure genious, and still echo in the work of modern masters like Wes Anderson.
If you don't own Bueller, or god forbid, you've never seen it, go out and pick up this DVD ASAP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ferris Bueller gives new meaning to "Senior Skip Day"!, Nov. 10 2002
By 
David Hugaert (Honolulu, HI United States) - See all my reviews
The above title says it all. After viewing "Ferris Bueller's Day Off", you may ask yourself "Hmm...just exactly how was a cool, righteous dude such as Ferris Bueller able to pull his antics off, and without getting caught in the process?" Such is a question which may come to mind, regardless of whether you're a teenager, or if you've left your teenage years long behind you.Ferris (Matthew Broderick) is one lucky kid who has it all: a pair of loving and understanding parents (played by Lyman Ward and Cindy Pickett), a beautiful and intelligent girlfriend named Sloane Peterson (played by Mia Sara), and, to top it all off, a bright and successful future ahead of him. But...something's missing...Although he's already missed nine days this school year, Ferris decides to undertake the most important "Senior Skip Day". In order to pull this feat off, Ferris enlists the help of his best friend Cameron Frye (Alan Ruck), who's home sick in bed. Together, they both cook up a scheme to get Ferris's girlfriend out of a boring history class, with both Ferris's school principal (Jeffrey Jones) and his sister Jeanie (Jennifer Grey) under heavy suspicion - both of whom are determined to catch Ferris with his pants down. While all this is happening, many comical moments occur in the unfolding, including a hilarious classroom scene with Ben Stein (in an early role) as a drone economics teacher (whom I personally would have loved to have had as an instructor during my high school years!), plus various other classic scenes and dialogue worthy of many a viewing.The secondary "star" of "FBDO", is a 1961 Ferrari GT, which gets quite a workout during much of the movie (although this big red machine's fate is a bit too much to mention). It's interesting to note that four Ferraris were used in the making of this outstanding motion picture.But, you may also ask yourself: "How was it that Ferris & Co. were able to visit all those landmark places in Chicago all in one day?" And what landmarks these venues are! First, our mischievous gang of merry gentlemen and one debonair lady take in the sights of our nation's third largest city high atop the tallest building in the world, the Sears Tower, then it's on to the Chicago Mercantile Exchange for an instant's insight into the trader's market, and on to a midday lunch break at a fancy French restaurant, where Ferris barely avoids meeting up with dear old Dad. After their midday respite, Ferris, Cameron and Sloane take in a Cubs game at historic Wrigley Field (before lights were installed for night games, a spectacle which truly made this ballpark a one-of-a-kind attraction, alongside its ivy-covered outfield walls). Finally, our gang pays a visit to the Art Institute of Chicago, where unique and stylistic works of physical, impressionistic structures await our unique band of "tourists".What occurs during and what follows this "field trip" is very pacey and classic comedy dialog, just like the outing around the city (including a must-see free-for-all "concert" and sing-along in one). Just watch Ferris's pursuing principal and his jealous sister TRY and catch him in the act. You'll ABSOLUTELY die laughing!"Ferris Bueller's Day Off" is another John Hughes written and directed masterpiece worthy of high praise. The master of teen flicks is clearly at the top of his game here. You DO NOT want to miss the closing credits as well. Just make sure "FBDO" is on your must-see, must-own list of important movie titles to add to your important video collection...and I mean RIGHT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely hilarious!, Nov. 10 2002
In "Ferris Bueller's Day Off", Matthew Broderick plays Ferris Bueller, a high school teenager who enjoys slacking off and cutting school is his favorite hobby. One brilliant day in his hometown of Chicago, Ferris decides to cut school again (even though he has already missed school nine times), and tries to show his sick best friend, Cameron Frye (Alan Ruck) and girlfriend, Sloane Peterson (Mia Sara) how to have a good time and just how to be laid-back with life. Ferris can easily fool his parents (Cindy Pickett and Lyman Ward) into believing that he is really sick so he can stay home from school. But when his sister, Jeanie Bueller (Jennifer Grey) and school dean, Ed Rooney (Jeffrey Jones) find out that Ferris has cut school, they both try to make his life as miserable as possible in their own ways. And it's up to Ferris to enjoy his day off and get home before his parents come home from work.
The cast is brilliant...this is probably Matthew Brodderick's best role to-date. Director John Hughes did an amazing job, as usual. The script is well-written and extremely funny. "Ferris Bueller" is a classic high school film that everyone should own. However, the DVD lacks terribly; the only bonus feature is a commentary made by John Hughes. And the DVD is available in wide screen format.
I highly recommend "Ferris Beuller's Day Off".
Score:
100/100
A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More Like "Ferris Tooler", Sept. 21 2002
By A Customer
Remember the days of skippin school, racin' cars and being cool:
with a six-pack and the radio, etc., etc., blah.
Remember when the term "brilliant" wasn't overused/blown, when the frienship pins and torn Calvins was all the rage, enter F. Bueller. Now, I've skipped school in my time, and I've even succumed to the pressures of my cibling's envy; however, this film, this...this Giordian knot of cinematic material finds it's mark.
As Mr. Denise Richards (C.Sheen) makes his comedic debut, in almost 'brilliant' fashion, the story unfolds of young Bueller and his cohort Cameron (also now co-starring with said Mr. Richards) as they wind their way around a river of anonymity and possible futures in order to miss third period French.
Let's approach this in a linear fash:
A) Bueller's influence is found immediately as he conquers his truly most difficult obstacle: talking his ailing best friend into skipping school.
B) His jealous (yet perky) younger sister hates the fact that her Fiero isn't as important to the Parents as the happiness of their very children, therefore decides to supress elder Bueller's very attempt at attempting to ditch and have some fun.
C) This is where what some would call the crest of the film is illustrated, or "the race is on" as they say. In one corner the ethical and moralizing bordem of the shrouded 80's: in the other the dashing young mind with innocent revolution in mind. The Bow is drawn.
D) The Ferrari: This film turns with all the energy of a late night bullet train to Osaka 180 degrees into a purgatory for all of the protags. BTW, sorry 'bout your caddy Dad.
The arrow flies.
E) Mr. Principle. In him we are shown that even the stoggiest and mean spirited vindictive "Old guy" can in the most persuasive manner get kicked several times in the face by a cute teen in order to save the brother hated only 1.5 hours ago. And the world was good again.
The arrow falls.
PS. If you ask you'll never know.
Rent it,
Buy it,
Whatever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Living every teenager's wildest dream, July 20 2002
By 
M. Hind "daria_m" (Houston, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If I could have driven a Ferrari, visited the sites of Chicago, dined at a fancy restaurant, and danced to the Beatles on a parade float, I might have skipped school more often.
Ferris Bueller, whom Matthew Broderick was born to play, is determined to have a good time. He takes risks we couldn't imagine getting away with, and manages to escape each one with reputation and health unharmed. The appeal of his story, one of John Hughes' greatest in his Shermer Series, is the fact that we wish we could be him. Sure, his sister and the high school principal hate him, but he doesn't seem to care too much. A kid with that much popularity and charisma should expect some jealousy from others.
Alan Ruck was perfectly cast as his neurotic best friend Cameron Frye. After all, Ferris needed someone with a bit of rationality to balance him out (or at least to be his naive partner in crime). While Broderick provides a lot of insight and clever dialogue, Ruck lends some slapstick humor. Watch the scene where Cameron is sitting in his car, for example. "I'LL GO, I'LL GO, I'LL GO, I'LL GO!" He is also spotlighted in the film's premier dramatic moment when Cameron finally sums up his distant relationship with his father. And that Ferrari? May it rest in peace.
Other comic relief comes from Jeffrey Jones as the evil Principal Ed Rooney. Most of the laughs come at his expense though. But hey, I might have laughed if my high school principal had been mauled by a dog and kicked the face by Jennifer Grey. He is the antagonist who only gets what is coming to him.
"Ferris Bueller's Day Off" is a comedy that will probably never go out of style, even if the clothes and the posters on Ferris' wall reflect the spirit of the eighties. As long as kids are making mischief, as long as teenagers and adults are playing hooky, and as long as principals look like [fools]while trying to exert authority, Ferris will always be a hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Taking the Day Off, July 9 2002
By 
Alan Attebery (Arlington, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ferris Bueller (wonderfully played by Matthew Broderick) thinks that it's too nice of a day to have to spend it in school. So he fools his parents into thinking that he is sick, and then spends the day with his girlfriend, Sloan (Mia Sara), and his best friend, Cameron (a wonderfully talented, young Alan Ruck, later of Spin City fame). The three of them go paint the town red, learning of themselves and each other along the way. This may sound like a fairly basic plot line, but the movie is much, much more than can possibly be described here.
This movie was one of the first to do away with the fourth wall, the invisible wall that seperates the audience from what is happening on the screen. Throughout the movie, Ferris goes back and forth between being a part of the movie and talking to the audience. Oftentimes, the tearing down of the 4th wall can destroy an otherwise good movie. However, Matthew Broderick aptly goes back and forth, often for just a split second at a time, with such comedic timing that it doesn't distract from the movie at all.
The only objection I have to "Ferris Bueller's Day Off" is the language. I know that this comes down to personal taste, but I do not normally find a movie to be enhanced by peppering it with a lot of swearing. To me, it is a distraction.
Outside of the language, I enjoyed this movie tremendously. It is a teen flick that isn't based on sex or really bad humor (something today's teen flicks need to learn). So take the day off with Ferris. You'll be glad that you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 330 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews