Customer Reviews


289 Reviews
5 star:
 (225)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sloane dear, come to Daddy
I am afraid I can not go into too much detail as the movie counts on surprise and anticipation.

Three high school comrades Ferris Bueller (Mattew Brodrick), Cameron Frye (Alan Ruck), and Sloane Peterson (Mia Sara) take the day off. They have several adventures which take them to many fun locations among which are a parade, restaurant, and just skirt being...
Published on Feb. 28 2006 by bernie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mastered sloppily - bottom portion of picture missing!
Paramount should be ashamed! Nearly a quarter of the film is not visable at the bottom of the screen. (Read the review by darkknight55.) I have a rare laserdisc issue which is in the wide screen format and every detail of the picture is clearly visable. In addition, the laserdisc version has a full rich powerful audio track, whereas the DVD issue sounds weak and lifeless...
Published on Feb. 4 2004 by Blind man Wayne


‹ Previous | 1 2 329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, July 11 2004
By 
Good movie. Wish I was like him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie, June 30 2004
By A Customer
This movie is one of my all time favorites. Who hasn't seen this movie? It rocks! Funny and clever from start to finish. The commentary is great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smart-A*s vs. The Establishment - FERRIS RULES!, June 19 2004
By 
Michael Mathena "Michael Mathena" (Valley City, Ohio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ferris Bueller was either loved or hated by his peers for always getting away with anything he'd do. Some would want him expelled, others want him for Class President. On this extremely eventful day, the audience is invited to follow Ferris, his best pal and his girlfriend from morning to afternoon (when they all should have been in school), enjoying a holiday declared by the resourceful Ferris Bueller. They get to speed on the freeway in a Ferrari, sing "Danke Schoen" on an Octoberfest Float, eat at the most exclusive restaurant in town and always keep just one step ahead of a furious principal in hot persuit. With fake computer grade and attendance records, Ferris has it made.
The scene where the principal hitches a ride on a school bus after having been "torn up" by doberman watch dogs is worth the ticket price (Oh Yeah!). This is one of the funniest "high school prankster movies" ever! Has it been 15 years already? This is a definite Cult Classic! Right up there with Animal House and Caddy Shack.*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In terms of genre, this is a classic, June 9 2004
By A Customer
I find this film completely entertaining. Yes, it's a teen movie and I haven't been a teen in awhile, but it's still great film. It's low budget and cheesy at times, however, it's humor and willingness to commit to it's cheesiness show heart. Also, the scene at the parade is classic film influence and seduction, it dares you not to join in on the celebration of the song "Twist and Shout" by the Beattles. John Hughes hit all the right buttons on this one. Just awesome. I also love seeing Charlie Sheen at the end, it was a deadpan surprise. I only wish that the DVD had more stuff on it because this film was such a part of the overall culture of the time, maybe not as quintessential as "Sixteen Candles" but just as entertaining and has perhaps the best comedic performance of Matthew Broderick's career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOL ... just LOL :), May 30 2004
By 
Frodo (Bag End, The Shire) - See all my reviews
This movie has been an old family favourite for as long as I can remember - well since 1986 at least! If you're not too good with complex storylines, "re-LAX" :) This story line is about as simple as writing your own name - a kid and his mates take the day off from school. With that unravels a series of HALARIOUS sequences, and for Formulae 1 fans - there's a Firarri! The most amusing aspect of the film in my opinion, is probably the facial expressions - they are FANTASTIC! And the one-liners are classic - beeting the tooshes off these other so-called comedies. Yeah, it's alot of fun, a lot of mischief and alot of laughs - a great night in! "OOooh YEEEAH"! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny and Very Entertaining., May 17 2004
By 
Ryne Williams (Cleveland, TN USA) - See all my reviews
One of the best teen movies of the eighties. Ferris Bueller's Day Off is definately everything you want out of a teen flick. Matthew Broderick is not one of my favorite actors but he definately delivers the smooth slacker role like no other in this movie. Jennifer Grey does really good as the P.O'd sister. The movie always makes me laugh and that is how I rate comedies. One of the best. I highly reccomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, May 14 2004
One of those movies that could only have been made in the 80's. Goofy with out being stupid and a coming of age story that isn't gratuitious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simple plot but very funny, May 9 2004
By 
Otto Yuen (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
Ferris (Matthew Broderick) skips a day of school by pretending sickness and takes his girl friend Sloane (Mia Sara) and his best friend Cameron (Alan Ruck) to enjoy a day of Chicago downtown. His school principal Rooney (Jeffrey Jones) doesn't trust Ferris and tries to trap him. Ferris's sister (Jennifer Grey) thinks this is so unfair that Ferris can skip school while every other students are staying classes with boring lectures. She decides to bust his brother out as well. Ironically, she saves Ferris at last. There're lots of hilarious things in the movie, and some quite classic like singing & dancing scenes almost make you want to shake your body with them as well. Is that simple just skipping school for fun? Not really, Ferris in fact wants to take this one day adventure to show his friend Cameron nothing to be afraid of, and should have brave to deal with his parents and fears. Overall, the comedy is very funny, I did have a good time watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Oh Yeah...", May 3 2004
By 
Dex (Rochester, NY) - See all my reviews
While an older movie filmed in the mid 80's, Ferris Beuller's Day Off is still a classic and a favorite by many to this day. Featuring stars like Mattew Broderick, Alan Ruck and Jennifer Grey, the storyline is one that any teen can relate to. Skipping school, being cool and living a leisurely life are the motto's of this dream come true movie for any high school student. By far one of Matthew Broderick's best movies, not only does this movie that show class skipping highschoolers how it's done, the music is great too. Be sure to check out the movie and its soundtrack. Five very big stars for this classic film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BULLER STANDS THE TEST OF TIME, April 29 2004
Like a soda pop left open all night, Bueller seems to have lost its effervescence over time. Sure, Matthew Broderick is still appealing as the perennial truant, Ferris, who fakes his parents out and takes one memorable day off from school. Jeffrey Jones is nasty and scheming as the principal who's out to catch him. Jennifer Grey is winning as Ferris's sister (who ends up making out in the police station with a prophetic vision of Charlie Sheen). But there's a definite sense that this film was of a particular time frame: the '80s. It's still fun, though. There's Ferris singing "Twist and Shout" during a Chicago parade, and a lovely sequence in the Art Institute. But don't get it and expect your kids to love it the way you did. Like it or not, it's yours alone. --Keith Simanton SHUT UP KEITH BULLER STANDS THE TEST OF TIME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb8548900)

This product

Ferris Bueller's Day Off Bueller...Bueller... Edition (Special Collector's Edition)
CDN$ 14.59 CDN$ 13.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews