boutiques-francophones vpcflyout Pets summer All-New Kindle sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars316
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 14, 2004
John Hughes is a man child. He writes movies about teenagers so well that you would think he was one. Films like Breakfast club, Wierd Science, Sixteen candles, Pretty in pink each deal with teen problems school, sex, and innocence. Hughes is a great writer his films just make you feel good. Just think he wrote Vacation, Mr Mom, The great outdoors, Only the lonley, beethoven, and Home Alone these are all feel good movies. When he wasent directing teen movies he also directed She's having a baby, Uncle Buck, Plains, trains and automobiles. These films are about suberban American lifestyle and they are all good movies. Now comes Ferris Buller's day off a film that touches me and still makes me laugh. Its every high school kids dream, cut school with ur best friend and girlfriend and hang out in the city. Movies like Ferris Buller are not made any more, teen films now are covered with sex and bad language now of days. Ferris Buller's day off had heart and that makes all the difference. The 80's were a great decade for feel good movies Goonies, Gremlins, Ghostbusters, E.T. and BIG. But Ferris buller stands out as my favorite. Matthew Broderick steals the show, he is one of the most likable charecters in movie history. Ferris buller is one of those movies youll remeber FOREVER.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2004
There's only one "extra" on the DVD. John Hughes' (writer and director of Ferris Bueller's Day Off) commentary track can be run with the movie. Much more so than many director tracks, there's some really good stuff here. For instance:
* Matthew Broderick and Alan Ruck worked extensively with each other on Broadway before doing Ferris Bueller's Day Off, which helps explain their easy chemistry. It's no stretch to watch these two guys react to each other, and believe they've been friends for years.
* The best bit of commentary, for my money, is when Hughes discusses the sequence set in the Art Institute of Chicago, which was a kind of sanctuary for him when he was in high school. The paintings in this scene are those that were his favorites. Hughes' tone of voice, the emotions he expresses during this scene, are really touching. Prior to Ferris Bueller's Day Off, the interior of this building had never been filmed for a movie, and it was a big deal for Hughes to go back to this place that had been so important to him, and show people how beautiful it is.
* Charlie Sheen was only brought in for one day to play Garth Volbeck during the police station scene. With little or no time to rehearse, he burned up the celluloid anyway. If I can believe the Internet, Charlie stayed awake for 48 hours before shooting to give himself the proper strung-out look. In this scene he looks so much like his Dad at the same age it's eerie.
* The parade sequence was filmed during an real parade in downtown Chicago. This wasn't a situation where the street was cordoned off and filled with extras. The Ferris crew had a float in the actual parade. No one knew who they were. The crowd didn't know, probably the city fathers didn't know. When the music for Twist and Shout started blasting, totally of their own accord, people from the surrounding areas were drawn in, started dancing and singing along. All the shots of individual faces from the crowd weren't actors, they were "real people," there because they wanted to be, looking like they were having fun because they were. The construction worker dancing on a scaffold, way up on that half-finished building? A real construction worker. John Hughes saw him dancing, grabbed a cameraman and said, "You've got to get this guy." Then he looked at the street, saw it absolutely packed with thousands of people, all dancing and singing along with "Ferris," totally into it, and said to the guy on the camera crane, "TELL me we got that shot." Because there's no way they could have afforded to stage it, or even imagined something that wild. It just happened. TOO cool.

* There were several sequences actually filmed but cut from the final version of Ferris Bueller's Day Off. In one, Ferris goes on a radio program and talks about wanting to be the first teenager to ride the space shuttle. This was actually included in what would have been the final cut, and a trailer went out with some of that material in it. Unfortunately, the day after the trailer was released the Challenger exploded; the studio pulled the trailer and Hughes had to recut the movie to trim the shuttle stuff. I actually remember that trailer. I saw it during the day or two it was in release. If I remember correctly, a voice asks various people, "What do you think of Ferris Bueller?" and one of the respondents, a high school kid, says, "Ferris Bueller? He's going to be the first teenager to ride the space shuttle."
* Also cut was Ferris' relationship with the Volbecks, the Charlie Sheen character's family. Garth Volbeck's father owns the tow company that hauls away Ed Rooney's car.
* Another excised bit: In the restaurant, when Ferris, Sloane and Cameron are brought menus, none of them want to admit they can't read French so they order something, then start eating, having no idea what it is. Then we get to see their reactions when they find out it's pancreas. This is referred to later in the cab scene when Ferris, listing to Cameron the things they've done that day, says, "We ate pancreas."
It would have been nice to have the original trailer, revised trailer, and deleted scenes included on the DVD. While chances of seeing that level of work put into the DVD for an 18 year old movie, no matter how good, are slim (even assuming the chopped footage still exists) I can dream that maybe one day, on a future version of this DVD, it might happen. I'd buy it in a heartbeat.
While we're on the subject of wishes, why oh why was the music from Ferris Bueller's Day Off never released as a soundtrack? A crime, since it's got one of best combination of songs I've ever heard in a movie. Another "I'd buy it in a heartbeat" situation that'll probably never happen at this late date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2003
Writer/director John Hughes cornered the market on the "teen comedy", throughout the 80's with such classics as 16 Candles, The Breakfast Club, and Pretty In Pink. No ome quite captured the angst or awkwardness of that intense time better than he did. One of the best films from the John Hughes collection is Ferris Bueller's Day Off.
On a beautiful spring day, during his senior year in high school, Ferris Bueller (Matthew Broderick) decides to cut his classes and experience all that life has to offer. He convinces his best buddy Cameron (Alan Ruck) and his girlfriend Sloane (Mia Sara), that they deserve to join in on the fun. Ferris has it all planned out and much to the dismay of Principal Rooney (Jeffrey Jones), outwits him at every turn. Meanwhile, his sister Jeanie (Jennifer Grey) is sure that he has pulled one over on their parents, and vows to expose his fake illness.
One of the reasons that the movie works for me, is how confident Ferris is. At no time, during the film, does he ever doubt himself. He is totally in control and as those around him plot to expose him, or express doubt--he stays cool. Broderick fufills the the fantasies of every high school student.Who wouldn't want to be this kid in real life? His carefree and gleeful portrayal totally sells the premise. And as our hero moves from one scheme to the next, it's fun to watch him one up the adults around him--especially Jones, as a hapless Rooney. The film also marked one of the first times that the "fourth wall" was broken on film, allowing Broderick to talk directly to the audience. Of course, after that, every other film tried to use that--but never worked quite as well as it does here.
The DVD's only extra is an enjoyable audio commentary with Hughes. It's a shame that that's all there is...deleted scenes, a retrospective documentary, or a separate cast commentary, would have been great. Heck, not even the theatrical trailer, made the disc.
Ferris Bueller's Day Off still works after all these years and is worth your time. Special Edition Anyone...Anyone??
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2003
I will fearlessly state that "Ferris Beuler's Day Off" is not only the best teen film of the 80's, but by far the best teen film of all time. It is irrecognizable as a teen film today, compared with the vile crap Hollywood passes of as "fun" every summer. Indeed, most adults of this generation adore this movie just as much as teen fans. I can't beleive anyone hasn't seen this movie, and if you haven't, stop reading reviews for it and rent the damn thing! Matthew Broderick will instantly charm you in his portrayal of the rather magical high school senior who leads his friends on a youthful adventure through Chicago... on a school day! Alan Ruck is "depressingly" supreme as Cameron, Jeffery Jones is hilarious as the nasty, obsessive principal out to ruin Ferris's fun, and Jennifer Gray will have you quoting her famously vulgar insults (bite the big one, junior). Ben Stein and Charlie Sheen are perfect camoeos.
For anyone who ever wanted to defy the school system, give the finger to authority, and have a the quintessential day off, rent Ferris Bueler with some high school friends and smile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2003
This movie "strikes-a-chord" with teens everywhere. This is the epiotomy of what high school life is all about. Listen-up kids, will you raise your hand as I call out your name:...Jack?...(here!)... John?...(here!)...Billy?...(here!)...Bob?...(here!) BUELLER? (not here, of course)...Frye?...Frye?...Has anyone seen FRYE? Oh yeah, we saw him with this hot chick at "31 Flavors" the other night. No. Acutually, he's at home in bed contemplating getting off his....as to whether he'll pick-up Ferris and his girlfriend Sloane taking them to someplace cool, free from the doldrums of high school. This voodoo economics quiz will begin in.... Ok, you can all put your #2 pencils down. There's no homework assignment, for today. (OH, YEAH!!! YIPPEE!!!) The bell just rang and schools out. As you hurry to pick up your things and head for home, you can't wait to wait pop this DVD in, to watching a teen-classic: "Ferris Bueller's Day Off."
There's a whole lot of controversey swirling-around the student-body, when there're rumors that Ferris has had his 9th sick-day of the school-year. Can you believe it? Niether can we. How does a sneaky son-of a.....like Ferris get away with it. I'm getting so jealous of this......getting anything he wants, to having everything under-the-sun: driving around town in these exotic-cars; fast-women (to fulfill his every freakin' whim); and the friendly town's people (who are more than willing to let-go and forgive, for all the mistakes he makes throughout his adolescense). Why can't he be like the rest of us losers out there: who are constantly getting our lunch money stolen from the jocks on the football team, who are there for the sole-purpose of puting shaving-cream down our gym shorts; and to the stupid cheerleaders (heartless wenches) who repeatedly refuse our invitations to go on a date with us to the "Junior Prom." We all have to go class unlike Ferris, lest we go to detention and/or summer school. We hate summer school, it sucks bigtime! Frankly, we're getting sick and tired of it. Therefore, we're all looking-up to you...Ferris, as our hero to serve as an example for all the injustices that take place in our school. Go on! Have a good time with your friends! We don't care as long as you guys promise us, you'll be back in time to take us to the stomp.
Meanwhile, as the trio rolled into Downtown Chicago with the Ferarri's controls at Ferris' fingertips, with his steady girlfriend Sloane at his side, and a buddy Cameron who's reluctant to relinquish his daddy's most prized-possession, they're on their way - to bim, bombay! This is going to be a funfilled day at the parade, horray! On to the muesems we go, to see a litte bit of Warhol, Picasso, and Van Goh. From the Chicago Stock Exchange, to the breath-taking views of the city from the top of the Sears Tower. These extra-curricular activities are making us all hungry, as we get a bite to eat with the "Sausage King of Chicago" that is. SO CLAP YOUR HANDS TOGETHER, AND MAKE SOME NOISE!!! For this is the best movie by far, I give it ***5-stars***.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2003
John Hughes has a knack for realistically portraying the oppression and dull experiences which take place in a public school setting.
While the drone of the lecturing teacher (played by Ben Stein) and the bored, glazed over eyes, and distraction of the students is supposed to be a caricature, it's actually quite realistic. It is so realistic that is hilarious.
Also realistic is the degree to which teenagers are grossly underestimated for their natural intelligence and their desire to truly learn.
Ferris lies and fakes his own illness in order to skip school, and Principal Rooney believes that Ferris is off sleeping with his girlfriend, or playing video games. Ferris, on the other hand, is off to a museum, dining at fine food restaurants, creatively participating in a parade. His friends learn a lot from him about branching out and daring to go against the grain, to expand your horizons and live your life.
There are many funny moments, but, like The Breakfast Club, it makes a point of showing what kids really need, and being jailed in intellectually dulling classrooms is not it. Anyone who is a fan of organic learning will be sure to get a kick out of this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2003
Along with The Breakfast Club and Pretty In Pink, the 80's teen movie craze also spawned Ferris Bueller's Day Off. The story is deceptively simple, with Ferris (Broderick) bunking off school with his girlfriend Sloane and best friend Cameron and spending a wild day in New York city. Convinced he's faking it, Ferris' headmaster and sister are desperate to uncover him.
This is the kind of movie that makes you wish that the lives on screen were your lives. Who wouldn't want to press their faces against the glass of the Empire State Building, drive around in a Ferrari or, more importantly, sing Twist and Shout on top of a float accompanied by a marching band? These are moments that you wished defined your own life and this is helpful because Ferris' philosophising about not missing out on life would have come off as ridiculous otherwise. For pretty much everyone who's seen this as a kid they will tell you that it affected them in the same way. The themes of friendship, love and what it is to be a teenager have nowhere been so universally evoked.
As Ferris, Broderick is perfectly cast. Smug, fun-loving and above everything else cool, he's that thing that very few movies seem to have these days - a character you can identify with. If you like this then it's a fair bet you watched it when you were a teenager. Ferris Bueller is pretty much a shared experience that you won't be able to explain why it's so, for want of a better word, cool. Only teenagers will get it and maybe that's the way it should be. It hasn't lost its sparkle, the ageing audience can't identify with it anymore. Even better than The Breakfast Club, there's a good reason why this movie has entered to cultural consciense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2003
There are some classic scenes in this film, but over time, the movie as a whole has lost its charm. Review it again and you'll know when and where the film falls. This reviewer hates the scene when the two punks...er.. car attendants take a joy ride with Cameron Frye's(Alan Ruck -SPEED, SPIN CITY) Dad's prized sports car after he has just handed the keys over to them to park the car. Then, of course, when the car falls out of the house and into a ravine. Now, was that necessary in this upbeat movie. Okay, okay, everything else is great. However, Jeffery Jones' performance as principal Ed Rooney doesn't hold up after multiple viewings. Yet, who can forget Ferris (Matthew Broderick) lipsinking Wayne Newton's signature song "Danke Schoen" and the Beatles' version of "Twist and Shout" during the parade and Charlie Sheen's classic cameo scene with Jennifer Grey. A modern day ROMAN HOLIDAY type movie which is deemed a classic with great location shots (i.e. Wrigley Field) and good production values, and a hot looking and young Mia Sara... but watch it in bits and pieces. Note: Paul McCartney was quoted as being annoyed when they added a brass section to "Twist and Shout" when the parade band was playing along with the song.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2003
Admit it, you have quoted Ferris Bueller on at least one occasion. This movie is packed with such hilarious one-liners it is hard not to. Ferris Bueller is a child of relative privelege who decides he would rather enjoy a great spring day then spend it trapped in school (who wouldn't?). He brings his best friend and girlfriend with him and they live it up for the day in Chicago, while their principal tries desperately to catch them. They lie their way into a super-fancy restaurant, take in a Cubbies game and dance and sing on a parade float. Meanwhile, rumors are flying around the school, each making Ferris closer to death than the last, which annoys his sister because she is stuck there. There are a couple of anxious moments when they very nearly get caught, but never actually do. The characters are wonderfully created and acted, his parents are totally clueless, his sister is vindictive and Ben Stein is hilarious as the world's most boring history teacher. "Anyone, anyone?" And, of course, Matthew Broderick is charming as 'righteous dude' Ferris Bueller, the guy everyone wanted to be in high school.

This movie is funny without being offensive and Matthew Broderick in the shower...what else do you need?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2003
Although most of the stars of this classic teen comedy flick are now long gone or just aren't as sparkly as they were when this mvoie was released, Ferris Bueller's Day Off is still the best comedy movie of the dreadful 80's. Jeffrey Jones's Ed Rooney character is the highlight as the school dean who gets his ... kicked, ripped and bitten by everything and everybody except the one person whose driving him nuts, Mathew Broderick's Ferris Bueller. Alan Ruck's Cameron Frye is the legendary character that each person relates to, absolutely hilarious in the most "depressing" way...and i do mean that in a good funny sense. Mia Sara's Sloane Peterson is the sweetie pie that not only Ferris wanted to marry, Edie Mcclurg as the dean's secretary will make you crack more laughs than the number of pencils in her hair...and let's not forget Jennifer Grey's Jeanie Bueller, the jealous bitchy sister who falls in love with a drugged out loser played by Charlie Sheen in the funniest cameo appearance ever.
This is one of my favorite comedies of all time...despite the features which only include director John Hughes shot by shot commentary, the DVD quality of this classic is worth the while.
Now don't tell me that you can't hear Wayne Newton's "Danka Shane" and the Beatles' "Twist and Shout" playing in your head!
own it now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse