Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars biggest comeback of the year
mariah's back with this awesome album!! some of my favourites are we belong together (already at #1), get your number and joy ride. all the songs are really great--
Track Listing: (not in order)
your girl: this is a mix between rnb and mariahs trademark ballads, showcases her high vocal range
we belong together: i love this song, rly good lyrics and...
Published on June 20 2005 by shelley

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Talent diminished
Maybe I'm too old for Mariah's "New & improved" AKA, emancipated style, however I feel that the songs she interprets in "Emancipation of Mimi" are an appeal to the lowest common denominator of her incredible voice. I noticed that she was the producer of this album. Possibly this was done in an attempt to free herself from outside control or some...
Published on Nov. 26 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars biggest comeback of the year, June 20 2005
mariah's back with this awesome album!! some of my favourites are we belong together (already at #1), get your number and joy ride. all the songs are really great--
Track Listing: (not in order)
your girl: this is a mix between rnb and mariahs trademark ballads, showcases her high vocal range
we belong together: i love this song, rly good lyrics and heartfelt (watch the music video, you'll see what im talking about)
to the floor: really upbeat, dance track
stay the night: this is another mix between rnb and ballady type song
shake it off: another good party mix, not as upbeat as others
say something: showcases mariahs feathery voice i rly love this song
one and only: showcases her high vocal range, she sings rly fast in this song, this is half slowdance half upbeat dance track (with busta rhymes)
mine again: this is a real ballad, reminds me of never too far from the glitter album
joy ride: this an inspirational song, sort of a ballad
it's like that: a real dance track
i wish you knew: another ballad, i love her voice in this one
get ur number: i love this one!! its rly upbeat.. with JD i love it
fly like a bird: another inspirational song, like joy ride
circles: more ballad than rnb, this ones kind of repetitive but i like it
secret love: this is a bonus track which u might not get on ur cd, upbeat dance, i dont rly think theres a melody to it but it would be good in a club
sprung: this is another bonus track, another good track for a club, features her high vocal range at the beginning
all in all this is an AWESOME album that all mariah fans should have!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It IS the old Mariah, May 5 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Emancipation Of Mimi (Audio CD)
I strongly disagree with the "official" Amazon review for The Emancipation of Mimi. Mariah was the first artist that I could ever say I was a fan of. In fact, the first album I ever bought was Mariah's MTV Unplugged. She was one of my favourites all the way through Daydream, and then fell off my radar. Although, even though she hasn't been popular for a long time, no one can say that she hasn't had any hits. All of her albums except the last two, Glitter and Charmbracelet, have spawned big hits. Anyway, with Mimi, Mariah has returned to her R&B roots. This album is soulful. It is without huge hype. With this album, unlike recent ones, I do not feel that Mariah is trying to establish herself as a hip hop ghetto girl. Where the Beyonce references come from, I have no idea. Beyonce's album was heavily-influenced by old school, but her image is becoming excessively ghetto-gangsta. Mimi has some hip hop and old school influences, but the styling of the album is much more sophisticated. As for their voices, there is no mistaking Mariah. She's doing what she does best. As the "official" review states, Mimi is heavy on the ballads and mid-tempos, but they are wonderful. The "real" feel of this album intentionally allows us to hear subtle flaws in Carey's delivery, which only adds to the soulful styling and intimacy of the album, but Mariah's voice is not lacking. Her range and control are once again showcased on this album, and one will recognize again how hugely talented Mariah Carey is, and how the music industry is void of voices of this calibre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good work ,Mariah, April 20 2005
By 
"The Emancipation of Mimi" is one of Mariah's finest album since 'Daydream' and "Butterfly". The greatest pop vocalist in history has returned to reclaim her title. She is to be credited for this album; it is a great effort that contains groovy hip-hop tunes and soulful R&B ballads that leaves you virtually satisfied. Standout tracks include "Its like that" "We belong together", "Circles" and "Wish you knew". The best song on the album however is "Fly like a bird" which is highly reminiscent of 'Music Box's' "Anytime you need a friend". Here, you hear the five octaved diva giving her all. She shows that she can still hit notes secluded in the 6th and 7th octave. This leaves you either amused or annoyed that she resorts to her (in)famous dog whistle.
However, there are certain instances where you hear that Mariah's voice is not the same. On certain tracks she over-employs the cloudy,breathy falsetto that distorts her diction. Also, at times her voice sounds forced as if she cannot comfortably hit the 'Patti' notes (in full voice) as she used to. Maybe she is trying too hard to show that she still has it; the result leaves you wondering how her voice got so rough.
A good effort none the less. Kudos to Mariah.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good work ,Mariah, April 20 2005
By 
"The Emancipation of Mimi" is one of Mariah's finest album since 'Daydream' and "Butterfly". The greatest pop vocalist in history has returned to reclaim her title. She is to be credited for this album; it is a great effort that contains groovy hip-hop tunes and soulful R&B ballads that leaves you virtually satisfied. Standout tracks include "Its like that" "We belong together", "Circles" and "Wish you knew". The best song on the album however is "Fly like a bird" which is highly reminiscent of 'Music Box's' "Anytime you need a friend". Here, you hear the five octaved diva gives her all and shows that she can still hit notes secluded in the 6th and 7th octave. This leaves you either speechless and amused or annoyed that she resorts to her (in)famous dog whistle.
However, there are certain instances where you hear that Mariah's voice is not the same. On certain tracks she over-employes the cloudy,breathy falsetto that distorts her diction. Also, at times her voice sounds forced as if she cannot comfortabely hit the 'Patti' notes (in full voice) as she used to. Maybe she is trying too hard to show that she still has it; the result leaves you wondering how her voice got so rough.
A good effort none the less. Kudos to Mariah, She has
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mimi's Back, Oct. 23 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Emancipation Of Mimi (Audio CD)
I totally disagree with the offical review of Amazon. Mariah Carey is an exceptional singer.. With her 5 optive voice and unfogettable collaborations, there is no mistake that she is the best female artist in the world. The Emancipation of Mimi, as definetly brought Mariah Carey back onto the music scene. The album has many hit including WE BELONG TOGETHER, who gave Mariah Carey her 15th number one hit. THe bast year she as one many awards including the Worlds best selling R & B Female artist, and the Worlds Best Pop Female Artist. She Also picked up entertainer of the year from the world Music Award and got the most nominations for the AMA's. Mariah is BACK..This is an excellent album and I reccomend anyone to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mariah is AWESOME!!!!!!!, Oct. 27 2005
This review is from: Emancipation Of Mimi (Audio CD)
omg mariah carey so rocked in her songs and i think that she should of won like dozens upon thousands of awards...and her song "stay the night" and "get yout number" totally rocked my speakers and i think that it should do with every american along with such as china,russia,canada,and much more!!! so in conclusion:mariah carey is a vocaly and mentally talented and her producers SHOULD be proud of the work she has put into the songs that they write!!! so i would think twice..buy the cd and then listen to the songs over and over and hear all the beautiful twists of notes and beats go together........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars say what? say somethin', Jan. 5 2006
By A Customer
anyway...i enjoyed this cd. i've always enjoyed mariah's voice. favourite track is 'we belong together' and 'fly like a bird' is a great track too, which shows her unbelievable vocal talents. not too sure on some of the musical style of some of the other tracks. haven't quite put a finger down on what i'd call the style. r&b mixed with ??? other favourite tracks are 'it's like that', 'to the floor' and 'get your number'. so glad she came back though. tired of people calling her crazy and everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE VOICE IS BACK AND BETTER THAN EVER!!!, April 26 2005
By 
R. Leskiw (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We had a longer wait for this album, but man was it worth it!!! She is singing her heart out on this album and getting closer to the "real" Mariah....more r&b and gospel. The Kanye West produced track "Stay the Night" is one of the best, along with JoyRide, Fly Like a Bird, Shake it off, well they are ALL AWESOME!!!
If you love Mariah, YOU NEED THIS ALBUM! This is one of her best, up with the ranks of Butterfly and Daydream...a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazin!!!, June 5 2005
By A Customer
To date, the only MC album that compares with the Emancipation is Daydream--which if ya'll don't know is her best! This Cd is so hot, from tracks 1-14, you'll love all of them. My personal favourite is the Kanye West produced track "Stay the Night." I am truly obsessed with this song, it's off the chains! From MC's vocals to the old-skool hip-hip beat, this track is killin it. The Emancipation is a must have, and believe me, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of Mariah's Best, April 24 2005
By A Customer
If you're are a fan of RnB, you'll love this album. Even if you're not a fan of RnB, I still recommend that you give this album a try, you just might change your mind.
The voice is indeed back on "The Emanicipation of Mimi". My favourite songs on the album are, It's Like That, We Belong Together, Say Something, Stay The Night, Get Your Number, One and Only, To The Floor, Circles, and Joyride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Emancipation Of Mimi
Emancipation Of Mimi by Mariah Carey (Audio CD - 2005)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews