Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars strange but ok movie
a punk becomes a car repossessor and everyone is looking for this mysterious car that supposely has alien body(s) in the trunk. it was ok but i think it could have been better.
Published on Feb. 22 2003 by W.C. Wheels

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars WHAT?
WHO THE HELL WANTED A SPECIAL EDITION OF THIS DAMN FILM ?
Published on Oct. 9 2000


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars strange but ok movie, Feb. 22 2003
This review is from: Repo Man (VHS Tape)
a punk becomes a car repossessor and everyone is looking for this mysterious car that supposely has alien body(s) in the trunk. it was ok but i think it could have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Criterion blu ray's rock!!!, Jan. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm so glad this film got such a five star blu ray release, as it's much deserved! Seeing this film once is not enough which is why I'd recommend strongly this purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The more you drive, the less intelligent you are."--Miller, June 22 2004
By 
This review is from: Repo Man (DVD)
Wow, ummm....interesting. Finally something different. No, I mean this is REALLY different. About time to, cuz lately I've seen a string of bvad movies, so it's nice to see something cool and original every now and then. Otto (Emilio Estevez) is a Los Angeles punk, a loser with no direction and no role models. But he discovers a code of honor and higher purpose when he joins a select group of latter-day knights: the repo men. As a fledging apprentice, Otto slowly learns the ways of these high-caliber, overmedicated auto repossessors. And when a $20,000 bounty is placed on a mysterious missing car, Otto eludes the police, feds, religious cultists, and other repo men in a frantic search for this holy grail. Could one man's destiny lie in the back of a 1964 Chevy Malibu? For some, actually for many, this film will come of as stupid and random, but for those of us who "get" it, this is a breathe of fresh air. Using clever, if somewhat odd, story telling, this film should keep you entertained and amused throughout the entire duration of the film. I say rent first, then but.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "What about our relationship!?", May 19 2004
By 
R "Woodennikle" (A Town in FLorida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Repo Man (DVD)
I have to say that this movie was the coolest Emilio Estevez movie ever. I cant think of any of his other movies but this one is plain out awesome. It is one of the most qoutable movies ever. I just love every line of it. It is not as super cleverly written as Quentin Tarantino movies but to me it was just plain awesome. This movie is not for everyone though. Some people may be turned off by the harsh language, themes, and aliens. All three of those made the movie SO much better. The whole alien in the trunk of a car thing was so cool. You never really get to see the aliens kinda like the briefcase in Pulp Fiction. But in this movie you know that it is aliens in the trunk. This movie is whacked out, has a cool soundtrack, awesome dialogue(to my taste), and has one of the most original story lines I ever heard of. B/Cult Classic that is worthy of an A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not what i had expected, June 25 2004
This review is from: Repo Man (DVD)
I was thouroughly pleased upon seeing repo man. Though i Admit it was defintitletely not what I had expected. A friend recomended the movie to me saying it was apunk rock thing, and it was actually an acurate portrayal of the punk rock lifestyle of the 80's. WHOA no way, thats the last time i trust that guy. What I did discover was a magical glowing, flying spacecar, which everyone and their mother wanted. It's brilliant, just half way through the movie it takes a twist for the strange. I'd recomend this movie to anyone. This is probably Emelio's only good performance ever so that makes the movie that much more special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Watch it twice, June 22 2004
By 
This review is from: Repo Man (Widescreen) (DVD)
Like most of my reviews, I will try to keep this brief. I say watch it twice because as much as i love low budget movies...I couldn't decide if i loved the movie or thought that it was a waste of my day. After the first viewing, i didnt get a chance to see the movie again until 3 years later when i got a chance to purchase the special edition(before it became an excrutiatingly high price) i picked it up used from the store that i worked at. My first point is the awesome soundtrack. I actually purchased the special edition because of the soundtrack and the packaging. To pay $25 dollars for a soundtrack and a cool case is extreme, but that shows how awesome the sntrk is (as long as you love old-school punk). But after the second viewing I realized how incredible the movie really was, whether it was a for the simple great humor or the incredible satire that it is. You may want to rent it before you buy it, but when you realize that you love it...you wont feel that it was wasted money renting it first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Quotable Movie, April 10 2004
This review is from: Repo Man (DVD)
Maybe the most quotable movie in history, probably more than any early Hollywood classic, and definitely more than anything in the last fifty years. How else would we know how to call a plate-o-shrimpism?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Look In the Trunk, Feb. 24 2004
By 
B-R-Mike M. (Old Lyme, CT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Repo Man (Widescreen) (DVD)
A car with an unknown substance, three punks, and a young kid named Otto. This is Repo Man, Sid and Nancy director Alex Cox's debut film starring Emilio Estavaz.
The film starts with Otto, a young suburban punk, who getss fired by his boss for repeadily showing up late for work. With nowhere to go, Otto runs into a cop who asks Otto to help him get his wife to the hospital. He is tricked and finds out that he just helped out a whole department of repo men. This leads him on a fast-paced ride.
While Otto travels and learns the ropes from the other repo men, a man in a 1964 Chevy Malibu is the subject of a nationwide search because of what he possesses in his trunk.
With a full cast of interesting characters and an amazing soundtrack from the likes of Fear, Black Flag, and a theme song by Iggy Pop, this film is one of the most interesting films of the 1980s. Whether it's Sci-Fi, comedy, or road film, it continues to make fans twenty years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't think of a title, just see this cult classic, Feb. 12 2004
By 
N. Durham "Big Evil" (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Repo Man (DVD)
Alex Cox (Sid & Nancy) made his directorial debut with this bombastic, abrasive, satiric, and highly influential film. Repo Man tells the story of disgruntled punk rocker Otto (a young Emilio Estevez) who becomes a repo man under the tutilage of veteran repo man Bud (Harry Dean Stanton). Soon Otto becomes quite good at his job, but a mysterious '64 Chevy Malibu soon becomes sought after by Otto and a some rival repo men when a high priced commission is put on it. What's in the car's trunk will change everything, and I mean everything. One of the key films of the 80's, Repo Man is undoubtadly the best piece of work to come from Alex Cox, and even though it may seem chaotic and even a bit incoherent at times, there is an underlining theme to the film that links to the political uneasiness felt during the 80's. The scorching punk soundtrack features legends like Black Flag, Iggy Pop, and the Suicidal Tendencies; all of which add to the bombastic feel of the film. Universal's recent re-release of Repo Man surprisingly includes the commentary by Cox and various crew members (which was previously only available on Anchor Bay's Limited Edition release of the film which has been out of print) as well as a trailer. This is surprising to me considering every one of Universal's recently re-released films like They Live and Prince of Darkness have no extras at all. All in all, I strongly suggest picking up Repo Man, it's something you won't regret or forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Totally Amazing Gonzo Classic, Jan. 31 2004
This review is from: Repo Man (DVD)
Man, this movie is like everything good about the 80s rolled into one psychedelic cocktail of a movie. It has something for everyone, as long as everyone has a taste for the exotic and unknown. I first saw this film when I was about 14, and damn, was I sold. Just bought the DVD, and I can't watch it enough. Don't even rent it, just buy it, its that good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb41ebf48)

This product

Repo Man
Repo Man by Alex Cox (DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 22.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews