Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ladies In Lavender
If you are looking for edge of your seat excitement, this is not the video for you. But if you love laid back gentle British humour and pathos, you will love this one. It is only improved by the fact that it has both Maggie Smith and Judy Dench, who are brilliant!
Published on Aug. 6 2012 by bbhilda

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok movie
I consider this rating, because well, I 1st bought it for the main actresses : Judi Dench and Maggie Smith. I found the "Andrea Marowski" character to be quite plain and this "quest" of gaining his attention by two bored ladies didn't much appeal to me.
Published 19 months ago by Ms Berry-Jolie


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ladies In Lavender, Aug. 6 2012
By 
bbhilda - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ladies in Lavender (Parfum de lavande) (Bilingual) (DVD)
If you are looking for edge of your seat excitement, this is not the video for you. But if you love laid back gentle British humour and pathos, you will love this one. It is only improved by the fact that it has both Maggie Smith and Judy Dench, who are brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lavender Hankies, Sept. 6 2006
By 
Dave and Joe (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ladies in Lavender (Parfum de lavande) (Bilingual) (DVD)
What a tremendously sad movie. Ladies in Lavender creates two elderly female characters who react to the arrival of a beautiful young man. One reacts to him as a mother would, the other as something much different. This is a movie about regrets, loss and loneliness. This is a cautionary tale that asks the viewer to review decisions made in the present tense that can make the future tense. The performances are beautiful, of course, the story leaves one thinking afterwards. As credits you will probably want to think about what you've seen more than talk about it. I think I saw the movie in time ... I'll know in a few more years. Even so, I'll thank the cast and the scriptwriters now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two great actresses cannot disappoint, Aug. 22 2013
By 
Sharon E. Leighton (New Brunswick) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ladies in Lavender (Parfum de lavande) (Bilingual) (DVD)
The story in this movie is a little odd, being a "modern fairy tale" about two sisters who live together by the beach, and whose world is disturbed by a young man cast up by the sea on their beach. It has its strengths, though, notably the willingness to treat people over 60 as if they still have hearts, and the vivid portrayal of a small Cornish seaside village. However, the reason I bought it, enjoyed watching it, and will watch it again, is casting: how can a movie starring Dame Maggie Smith and Dame Judi Dench be bad? Trust me, it's not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Because of the excellence of this film which I had previously seen I purchased this for a birthday gift, July 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ladies in Lavender (Parfum de lavande) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Maggie Smith and Judi Dench are superb as always; this is a beautiful film which explores human emotions on so many levels and does so without becoming maudlin in the process. One cannot ever be disappointed in any film in which these consummate actresses play a role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful film, March 21 2006
By 
Stephen Kaczkowski (Calgary, Alberta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ladies in Lavender (Parfum de lavande) (Bilingual) (DVD)
My wife and I recently watched this film because of Judi Dench's being in the cast and we thought she and Maggie Smith were excellent. It is a quiet movie showing a small slice of life and was very well performed. If you like either or both of Dench and Smith you will love these performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful story of the lives of two "senior ladies", Jan. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ladies in Lavender (Parfum de lavande) (Bilingual) (DVD)
A beautiful, tender story takes place in a beautiful English seaside village. The scenery is breath-taking, the acting is superb. How can you go wrong with names like Judi Dench and Maggie Smith in the same movie? A win-win situation, and the bonus is of course the violin playing by the fantastic Joshua Bell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ladies in Lavender, April 14 2010
This review is from: Ladies in Lavender (Parfum de lavande) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Great movie about life.Very touching and Maggie Smith and Judi Dench are wonderful. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hear Joshua Bell, July 4 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ladies in Lavender (Parfum de lavande) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Two elderly ladies (Judi Dench, Maggie Smith) of good standing in the community and of some means find that a storm has washed up a well dressed young man (Daniel Brühl.) They take him in to revive and mend him. During the time he is there he stirs up memories for one lady and loosens unknown passion in the other lady.

It is a short story of his recovery and how he and the community discover each other. Many overlapping themes come into play as a war has just finished and another is brewing. The young stranger says he is Polish and speaks fluent German. It is his talent that will eventually determine his fait.

This is one of those stories that requires watching and rewatching to pick up all the nuances. It will also leave a warm feeling after the wrap-up.

------------------------------

The person actually playing the violin behind the actor is Joshua Bell who also played the violin for Violon rouge, Le (1998). He tours once in a while so if you are lucky you may get a chance to hear him in person.

Daniel Brühl never played the Violin and had to learn to mime in less than a month.

David Warner plays the local doctor Dr. Mead. He also played a doctor in "Time After Time" (1979).

The DVD has a Featurette: Ladies in Lavender that explains the adaptation form the story to the film.

Charles Dance Writer/director found the story by William J. Locke about two spinsters living in Cornwall. They were in their forties; he changed that to the 70's as the age in the story is negligible.

He also purposely left many questions unanswered because in a fairy tale you just have to have faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A heartfelt movie for all ages!, Sept. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ladies in Lavender (Parfum de lavande) (Bilingual) (DVD)
You couldn't go wrong with Judi Dench and Maggie Smith! The story is a poignant tale of two ladies who take a chance on a stranger and the outcome is worth their endeavours! You'll applaud them at every turn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming, Sept. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ladies in Lavender (Parfum de lavande) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Feel good , heartwarming movie. As always the cast of characters was enjoyable. And the acting was superb. Thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ladies in Lavender (Parfum de lavande) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 13.99 CDN$ 4.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews