Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't get better;
This movie has been a long time coming and hasn't had an easy time of it. Through the process of not knowing if it would even come to term, to having the release date pushed back, dozens of pre-screening sneak peeks, to most recently fearing about the state of the box office and what that means for futue Serenity-related releases. Strip all the drama away and, even as a...
Published on Nov. 2 2005

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watch it twice
The first time i saw it i was disappointed, it just wasn't as much fun as the show. But, after watching it again i enjoyed it much more.
Published 11 months ago by corby


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 412 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Really good Sci-Fi. Recommended., Oct. 25 2013
By 
Big Bill - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity (Widescreen Edition) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I have been reading Science Fiction since at the age of 10 my mom took me to the library. Bringing Sci-Fi to the screen
is usually disappointing , and rightly so. No studio can stage the scenes you can "see" in your imagination when reading
unless they have an unlimited budget. Serenity is a mind blowing story , which is brought to the screen very well.
The space battles are the most impressive I've ever seen, but the editors can't resit having the ships trail smoke like
steam locomotive (silly) and the ships swish and swoosh about, more silliness , there is no noise in space.
Still it is very well done , and Sci-Fi people will be completely satisfied. See also the series "Firefly" ; same setting,
same personel, also well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Serenity: It will grab you, Sept. 26 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I rented Serenity a few years ago on a whim, and loved it. I have since watched it a few more times, and recently bought this Bluray version. I don't know what it is about this movie, but I just don't get tired of watching it. Unlike many high budget sci-fi movies of late, Serenity relies more on plot, and believable characters rather than mind-blowing special effects. It is hard to characterize this movie in terms of genres. It is kind of a sci-fi, western, action, romantic, comedy? Meaning it has aspects of all those genres. The Bluray version makes watching it over again that much more compelling. I haven't met anyone yet who didn't like this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop the Signal, Dec 23 2005
By 
Paul A. Gilbert (Essex, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Serenity (Widescreen Edition) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Josh has given us another way to consider science-fiction and it couldn't happen at a better time.
Serenity is the continuation of the short lived series 'Firefy'. If you are a fan you will appreciate the fact all your friends are back: Mal, Zoe, Wash, Jayne & others. The movie gives some information on how the 'Verse was started & the story of Simon and River.
The acting & the writing is top-notch, what you would expect from Josh. The movie is hunourous & suspenseful. As I said this may be the new direction for sci-fi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Serenity was quite good, Oct. 31 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity (Widescreen Edition) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Serenity was a lovely bit of closure for all Firefly fans and a great stand alone movie for those who have not had the pleasure of seeing the short lived series. It tied up loose ends nicely, although it seemed a bit rushed on certain storylines no doubt having to do in a few hours what should have been done in a few seasons. It was nonetheless a great movie, which managed to keep its original tv show cast, which is a great plus. There were some character storylines that I did not particulary like, but the movie on a whole was very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watch it twice, April 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity (Widescreen Edition) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
The first time i saw it i was disappointed, it just wasn't as much fun as the show. But, after watching it again i enjoyed it much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie!, Feb. 4 2013
By 
Aquarius Lady (New Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity (Widescreen Edition) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Excellent movie, filled with action and adventure and of course a little romance. If you love science fiction movie, you will love this one. It amazing to see "River" flexebility, you can't help but admire the form in her fighting scene which almost look like a well choreograph dance. Loved it so much that I had to order the DVD of the series which I never got to see. Can't wait to view it the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars go Serenity!! woot woot!, Jan. 24 2008
By 
Angela Cookson "clevrgrl" (toronto ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved it. I loved the series, I loved the movie. I'm not going to go int more than that... except to say that I would have loved it even more would the stupid network not have cancelled the show in the first place so I could have watched the arc and story line and character development that would have broght us from the last episode of the series to the movie. whew... quite the run-on )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best SF movies ever., Aug. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Hands down one of the best SF movies I've ever seen. A post-conflict world with a central government and decay into anarchy as you move away from the core. The protagonists are sometime smugglers and general rogues who came from the losing side of the conflict, and harbor no love for the Alliance. Into their hands comes a terrible secret, and away we go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Complete and Total Awesomeness, June 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What can I say that hasn't been said a thousand times before. This was a phenomenal character driven series with solid storylines that was ended LONG before it's time. The movie tied up so many loose ends from the TC show but it doesn't feel like that. You can watch this movie without ever seeing an episode of the TV show and love every second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Serenity, March 1 2011
By 
William Sedor (Northwestern Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Being a Science Fiction fan and one of Westerns too, Serenety gives an idea of what one future may be like, humans having space travel and on planetary surfaces using horses and powder burning weaponry.
Firefly has united the two scenarios together to produce a very entertaining movie and series.
Very enjoyable, even to the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 412 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Serenity (Widescreen Edition) (Sous-titres français)
CDN$ 13.99 CDN$ 6.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews