Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't get better;
This movie has been a long time coming and hasn't had an easy time of it. Through the process of not knowing if it would even come to term, to having the release date pushed back, dozens of pre-screening sneak peeks, to most recently fearing about the state of the box office and what that means for futue Serenity-related releases. Strip all the drama away and, even as a...
Published on Nov. 2 2005

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watch it twice
The first time i saw it i was disappointed, it just wasn't as much fun as the show. But, after watching it again i enjoyed it much more.
Published 13 months ago by corby


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 413 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Sad I didn't follow the series when it was on the air, Dec 7 2009
By 
N. Speers (Calgary, AB Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Serenity (Widescreen Edition) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
This movie turned me onto the series - which of course went off the air some time ago. I'd liked other Joss Whedon shows a lot - but didn't really "get" Firefly when it was on the air, mostly because I didn't have time to sit down and watch a whole episode. Once I sat down and watched it - really really enjoyed it.

Enough about that, you're saying, what about the movie? An excellent story with a superb ensemble cast is the short version. Don't get hung up on his literal take on the "cowboys in space" theme - the story really reaches in the idea of "empire" building and society's attempts to control its subjects. A bit of the Frankenstein aftermath of that attempted control. Along with way you enjoy the characters, cheer the underdog, and mourn those who don't make it. Highly recommend this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good Sci-Fi. Recommended., Oct. 25 2013
By 
Big Bill - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Serenity (Widescreen Edition) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I have been reading Science Fiction since at the age of 10 my mom took me to the library. Bringing Sci-Fi to the screen
is usually disappointing , and rightly so. No studio can stage the scenes you can "see" in your imagination when reading
unless they have an unlimited budget. Serenity is a mind blowing story , which is brought to the screen very well.
The space battles are the most impressive I've ever seen, but the editors can't resit having the ships trail smoke like
steam locomotive (silly) and the ships swish and swoosh about, more silliness , there is no noise in space.
Still it is very well done , and Sci-Fi people will be completely satisfied. See also the series "Firefly" ; same setting,
same personel, also well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Cult Movie, Nov. 28 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
For some this was the movie that introduced them to the "Verse". A movie that was very well done but is hard to explain or advertise for so it did not do well in the box office.

Well written and the characters are amazing. The unfortunate cancelled series Firefly leads into this movie and if possible should be viewed before the movie. The TV series lasted only 13 episodes before FOX cancelled it. If you do watch the movie before the series go back and watch the series and then see the movie again and it will be quite different especially with the fate of a couple of the characters.

The director is Joss Whedon who also brought us Buffy, Angel, Dollhouse, Dr Horrible and the mega movie The Avengers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Picture quality could be better, June 16 2012
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
So first of all this movie is great. Loved it since it's initial release. The sound was as expected, but the picture left me wondering, "why bother, should of stayed with the DVD release". Overall the detail, etc was everything Blu-ray should and could be, however many scenes throughout are muddy, out of focus, or simply fuzzy looking, lacking detail and closely resembling the DVD format.
Bottom line, if you don't already own this fantastic film definitely pick it up on Blu-ray if the price is right. If you already own it on DVD, think twice, as you will probably be disappointed like I was.
5 stars for the film, 4 for the picture quality(being generous as I'm a firefly fan).
4 stars it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Serenity: It will grab you, Sept. 26 2010
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
I rented Serenity a few years ago on a whim, and loved it. I have since watched it a few more times, and recently bought this Bluray version. I don't know what it is about this movie, but I just don't get tired of watching it. Unlike many high budget sci-fi movies of late, Serenity relies more on plot, and believable characters rather than mind-blowing special effects. It is hard to characterize this movie in terms of genres. It is kind of a sci-fi, western, action, romantic, comedy? Meaning it has aspects of all those genres. The Bluray version makes watching it over again that much more compelling. I haven't met anyone yet who didn't like this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop the Signal, Dec 23 2005
By 
Paul A. Gilbert (Essex, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Serenity (Widescreen Edition) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Josh has given us another way to consider science-fiction and it couldn't happen at a better time.
Serenity is the continuation of the short lived series 'Firefy'. If you are a fan you will appreciate the fact all your friends are back: Mal, Zoe, Wash, Jayne & others. The movie gives some information on how the 'Verse was started & the story of Simon and River.
The acting & the writing is top-notch, what you would expect from Josh. The movie is hunourous & suspenseful. As I said this may be the new direction for sci-fi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Serenity was quite good, Oct. 31 2011
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Serenity (Widescreen Edition) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Serenity was a lovely bit of closure for all Firefly fans and a great stand alone movie for those who have not had the pleasure of seeing the short lived series. It tied up loose ends nicely, although it seemed a bit rushed on certain storylines no doubt having to do in a few hours what should have been done in a few seasons. It was nonetheless a great movie, which managed to keep its original tv show cast, which is a great plus. There were some character storylines that I did not particulary like, but the movie on a whole was very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, May 21 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
I was told that the TV series never got anywhere; and I like Nathan Fillion, so I wondered why! I personally think they should have continued the TV series. This is a fantastic piece of work. Maybe the viewing public just wasn't ready for it at that time, but they should definitely watch it NOW. The story is amazing, the characters are fantastic, the scenery, fx, and costumes are extremely well done. I'd like to see more of the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watch it twice, April 14 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Serenity (Widescreen Edition) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
The first time i saw it i was disappointed, it just wasn't as much fun as the show. But, after watching it again i enjoyed it much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie!, Feb. 4 2013
By 
Aquarius Lady (New Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Serenity (Widescreen Edition) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Excellent movie, filled with action and adventure and of course a little romance. If you love science fiction movie, you will love this one. It amazing to see "River" flexebility, you can't help but admire the form in her fighting scene which almost look like a well choreograph dance. Loved it so much that I had to order the DVD of the series which I never got to see. Can't wait to view it the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 413 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Serenity (Widescreen Edition) (Sous-titres français)
CDN$ 13.99 CDN$ 11.85
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews