Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't get better;
This movie has been a long time coming and hasn't had an easy time of it. Through the process of not knowing if it would even come to term, to having the release date pushed back, dozens of pre-screening sneak peeks, to most recently fearing about the state of the box office and what that means for futue Serenity-related releases. Strip all the drama away and, even as a...
Published on Nov. 2 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Watch it twice
The first time i saw it i was disappointed, it just wasn't as much fun as the show. But, after watching it again i enjoyed it much more.
Published 1 day ago by corby


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 49 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars get the full series first, Dec 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Watch all the episodes (again) first. Then the movie ties it all together. I used to be resentful that such a good series was dropped, now I feel it was a completed work of art and should just be appreciated for what it is. I am positive all the people involved in the actual production will think of it as their crowning achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Cult Movie, Nov. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For some this was the movie that introduced them to the "Verse". A movie that was very well done but is hard to explain or advertise for so it did not do well in the box office.

Well written and the characters are amazing. The unfortunate cancelled series Firefly leads into this movie and if possible should be viewed before the movie. The TV series lasted only 13 episodes before FOX cancelled it. If you do watch the movie before the series go back and watch the series and then see the movie again and it will be quite different especially with the fate of a couple of the characters.

The director is Joss Whedon who also brought us Buffy, Angel, Dollhouse, Dr Horrible and the mega movie The Avengers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun formula space movie, Summer flashes her feet, Nov. 18 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Serenity (Widescreen Edition) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
The film was made after the series "firefly" was cancelled.

This presentation has everything including space, cowboy, militaries, and every cliché in the book.

Of course, this must be much more to the old TV series fans. However, as a standalone film it is just one of those things. Standard ninja bad people, and outlaws vs. empires. Sexy women and bare feet. Speaking of feet, the internet even has blogs about summer's feet. I cannot repeat it here.

Be sure to watch the extra DVD goodies (bonus material) and the BD-Live: My scenes. The U-Control function can be a tad distractive. When you see what they were, trying to accomplish the next time through the presentation will be more enjoyable. The Blu-ray treatment is impressive but I never saw the original to compare.

I have to admit once I saw the Blu-ray and watched the supplemental information this turned brought the film alive the second time through.

Basic story is about the lives of the crew and visitors on the spaceship Serenity as they are pursued by the authorities for knowledge they may poses that can disrupt the perfect society. Does the Crew know what they carry and will they find the secret before they are squashed like a bug.

Firefly: The Complete Series [Blu-ray]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie!, Oct. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity (Widescreen Edition) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Excellent end to Firefly! If you haven't watched Firefly watch the entire series before watching this movie! Highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good Sci-Fi. Recommended., Oct. 25 2013
By 
Big Bill - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity (Widescreen Edition) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I have been reading Science Fiction since at the age of 10 my mom took me to the library. Bringing Sci-Fi to the screen
is usually disappointing , and rightly so. No studio can stage the scenes you can "see" in your imagination when reading
unless they have an unlimited budget. Serenity is a mind blowing story , which is brought to the screen very well.
The space battles are the most impressive I've ever seen, but the editors can't resit having the ships trail smoke like
steam locomotive (silly) and the ships swish and swoosh about, more silliness , there is no noise in space.
Still it is very well done , and Sci-Fi people will be completely satisfied. See also the series "Firefly" ; same setting,
same personel, also well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fine way to end a beloved series., Oct. 20 2013
By 
DrFThickett "I smell like citrus." (Ontario, CAN) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie is like a love letter to Firefly fans. Though the series was cancelled for the most confusing of reasons the team produced this film to try and tie up loose ends. It answers many questions, covers a lot of ground, and gives fans of the series a better idea of what Joss Whedon had planned in the long term. This movie is also really accessible to people who have never seen the TV show as a stand-alone sci-fi movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved watching Firefly and was upset when it was cancelled., Oct. 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity (Widescreen Edition) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I did not watch Firefly the first time it was on. I found it on Netflix after I went to the Ottawa Comicon in May. I had my picture taken with Nathan Fillion and also got his autograph. I enjoyed watching the whole series and really got into the characters. tThey were a great ensemble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big damn heroes, Oct. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'm not sure what needs to be said about this. If you are looking at it you know about it already. If by chance you haven't heard of this movie or the preceding series but love sci-fi then you owe it to yourself to watch it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Firefly conclusion, Sept. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Firefly, the TV show that was cancelled so stupidly by Fox attracted many fans during its run and even more fans after it was cancelled. The story was incomplete and this movie tries to tell the rest of the story in 2 hours or so, or it would've taken many seasons to do it properly. Needless to say, it is full of action and surprises. All the original cast members are there which makes it more fun to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Liked it very much, Aug. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Serenity (Widescreen Edition) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I liked The whole series and the movie very much, It is one of the better si-fi series ever made
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 49 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2aa242c)

This product

Serenity (Widescreen Edition) (Sous-titres français)
CDN$ 13.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews