Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overlooked, this is my #1 movie this year!
Nicholas Cage made a torrent of movies juring the time before and after this was made, and by far this seems to be the shining star. The critics Overlooked it, and the movie stores stocked up on it, but not too many people recognized this movie for how brilliant it really is.
Mr.Cage plays Yuri Orlov, the man who siezed the arms buisness and made a profit of...
Published on Feb. 14 2006 by K. Pellerin

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Le DVD mal annoncé
Le film Lord of War est un film que je voulais dans ma collection, mais celui-ci n'était pas dans la bonne langue (Français) et je me suis plaint de ce problème au vendeur qui a réglé ce problème à ma satisfaction. Il m'a remboursé.
Published 17 months ago by Daniel Mérineau


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overlooked, this is my #1 movie this year!, Feb. 14 2006
By 
K. Pellerin "kibbles_bits" (Whitby, ONT, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Nicholas Cage made a torrent of movies juring the time before and after this was made, and by far this seems to be the shining star. The critics Overlooked it, and the movie stores stocked up on it, but not too many people recognized this movie for how brilliant it really is.
Mr.Cage plays Yuri Orlov, the man who siezed the arms buisness and made a profit of billions, at one time selling to BOTH SIDES of every existing war. He started off a Ukranian-born son of immigrants who pretend to be jewish, for personal reasons. His brother and him start off with light ammunition sale, when one day Yuri has a brilliant revolutionary idea of massive arms trade. Yup, Yuri is the smartest of smart, and with salesmans charm. His brother eventually gets messed up in the drug buisness and Yuri goes solo, but when he meets his boy-hood dream girl (fantasized about at a young age) He marries her and he is living the life of a President, but then it all goes down hill, his brother realizes what the guns were doing and in an attempt to stop a group of guerrilla forces, is killed. His Wife discovers his job, and the C.I.A are after him. His life went from an all-time high, to an all-time low.
A Spectacular movie, worth every last penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interpol agent pursues arms dealer, Nov. 3 2007
Lord of war is a very effective movie.it is well written and there is a
decent back story to the main character via numerous flash
backs.Nicolas Cage plays an arms dealer being pursued relentlessly by
an interpol agent(Ethan Hawke).I liked the first person narrative with
Cage doing the voice-over.it worked well with this picture.you could
say this movie is a bit preachy.However i think it's best when watching
this type of movie,to just try and think of it in terms of
entertainment.so hopefully the movie is well made and has some
entertainment value. for me,Lord of War is one of those movies.it is
immensely entertaining,with good performances.i love this movie. 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Le DVD mal annoncé, May 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lord of War (DVD)
Le film Lord of War est un film que je voulais dans ma collection, mais celui-ci n'était pas dans la bonne langue (Français) et je me suis plaint de ce problème au vendeur qui a réglé ce problème à ma satisfaction. Il m'a remboursé.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic relating not a brilliant fact..., July 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is one of greatest movie ever made. It is possible to see and feel the what is involved in the life of a weapon dealer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Like Selling Vacuums, Dec 2 2012
By 
Daffy Bibliophile (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lord Of War (DVD)
This is a movie about a salesman, if you're looking for a shoot-em-up war movie look elsewhere. What does Yuri Orlov (Nicholas Cage) sell? He sells conventional arms to anyone who will buy them: assault rifles, grenades, helicopters, APCs, Orlov has them all. He sells weapons to anyone with money, never taking sides and never passing judgement. Orlov marries the girl of his dreams, has a son and everything seems okay but an Interpol agent is after Orlov and soon his life comes apart at the seams. Living his multiple lives eventually catches up with him and with the people closest to him.

Okay, so Interpol doesn't send agents after people to arrest them and there are other typical Hollywood concessions made in order to keep the plot moving. But there is an important message in this film, a message that the Interpol agent delivers when he refers to the assault rifles and grenades that Yuri Orlov sells as "the real weapons of mass destruction", that and the fact that private arms dealers are very likely used by nation states to supply groups which it would be "embarrassing" to be publicly associated with.

As I said, this is not a silly John Wayne-style war movie, this movie addresses serious issues in the real world of international arms dealers, "revolutionary" groups in the Third World and the complicity of major world powers in the whole rotten system. As entertainment it flows well and the acting is very good. I especially liked Nicholas Cage's blase, morally disconnected portrayal of a man who succeeds beyond his wildest dreams and hates himself for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars disappointement, Sept. 21 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lord of War (DVD)
because language is not in french as specify in your list. I am very deceived. I do'nt think you give one order in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for the film; 0 stars for DVD edition, Feb. 2 2006
By 
papundek (Thunder Bay, ON) - See all my reviews
This is an intelligent, high-quality film that doesn't deserve to be butchered by whoever decided to release it in a massacred "widescreen" edition. I say "widescreen" because the film has been reformated for what they label as '16:9 DVD Screen Format' (i.e. 1.78:1) and has not been released in its original theatrical widescreen version of 2.35:1. They probably did this to appease people with 16:9 TV sets who cannot bear to have a bit of black bars on top and bottom of the screen, or don't know how to use 'intelligent zoom' function on their TV set. What a shame!!! Although I have not seen the film in theater, watching it at home I was more than distracted by odd framing due to the reformating done to the material, which seriously took away from enjoying otherwise superb a movie. Please do not buy this DVD edition because that will just encourage more butchering in the future; instead, if you like the film, demand that it be released in a proper widescreen that preserves the ratio of original theatrical exibition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars lordy lordy, May 15 2011
By 
Brian Maitland (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lord of War (DVD)
The story itself is a real winner about a weapons dealer who is really out there as far as his wheeling and dealing. The problem is the movie slows down in too many parts and a key character (his brother in the movie) in Nicolas Cage's character's life just disappears off screen for a huge chunk of the movie.
Gratuitous Ian Holm, super gratuitous Ethan Hawke channeling bits of his Training day cop character as well as a dopey Matrix-like follow-the-bullet intro and it's a pretty goofy movie really.
I dug it but I think you really have to be in the mood for Nicolas Cage's over-the-top performance. The guy seems to be running on autopilot with these roles he takes that sort of reprise his Raising Arizona persona...actually his Valley Girl role to be honest.

There are zero extras with the DVD. Just rent it or watch online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Insightful Film About the Arms Trade, Jan. 4 2011
By 
Moodywoody (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lord of War (DVD)
Lord of War is a tale about an arms dealer, effectively narrated by Nicholas Cage, who also the star of the film.

The film tears away the veneer of respectability of arms dealers, and makes the convincing argument that much of the butchery occurring in Third World places could be mitigated if we just didn't them access to all these weapons. Though there is a scene in the film where an atrocity is done with machetes, the point is that it makes it easier for the perpetrators to do massacres with guns rather than machetes.

The film does a good job mixing its message along with an interesting storyline and history lesson, making this film something like a docudrama about the arms trade. It offers the moral arguments and rationalizations of the arms dealer, the counter argument being the death and destruction these arms do. However, the end of the film, it offers the depressing scenario that there is too much money and power behind the arms trade, including the complicity of the permanent leading nations on the security council, to have anything ever change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie great dvd., Aug. 25 2010
By 
Terence Tan Co "tetsuo79" (Vancouver) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Its a good movie and a good DVD(OK GREAT movie very underrated).

Has audio commentary and a docu on weapons trade.

Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lord Of War (Special Edition) [DVD]
CDN$ 26.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews