Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome hatchet
Having a saw in the handle is very handy. Hatchet is very sharp and holds an edge well. Lenght of the handle is short enough for backpacking but long enough to get a good swing and strike for chopping.

The only problem with this hatchet is the way the handle attaches to the head. Splinters get lodged in beside the plastic where it wraps around the head...
Published 8 months ago by Tyler Stephenson

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Very bad quality axe
Very bad quality axe, rust after only one use, bad grip, i dont like it at all. Better other product for this price
Published 3 months ago by Steve Paquette


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome hatchet, April 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gerber 22-41420 Gator Combo Axe II (Tools & Hardware)
Having a saw in the handle is very handy. Hatchet is very sharp and holds an edge well. Lenght of the handle is short enough for backpacking but long enough to get a good swing and strike for chopping.

The only problem with this hatchet is the way the handle attaches to the head. Splinters get lodged in beside the plastic where it wraps around the head.

Great for chopping, pounding tent pegs, sawing branches etc...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent hatchet, March 5 2012
This review is from: Gerber 22-41420 Gator Combo Axe II (Tools & Hardware)
I bought this hatchet (from MEC actually) prior to a West Coast Trail excursion two years ago. Since then, I've used it on five backpacking trips, all at least 5 days long.

I found that this hatchet is fairly well weighted, and that the handle retains grip even in the rain. The metal will develop superficial rust in the presence of salt water spray (didn't touch the ocean directly), on spots, but this is not uncommon with metal that isn't stainless steel or the sort.

The saw on the other hand... the saw is held in the handle with magnets. The magnets hold it in the handle OK, but I had my saw fall out a few times with the hatchet strapped to my thigh while hiking. The saw also came out halfway a few times while vigorously hatcheting. I usually left the saw out when I used the hatchet.

My recommendation would be to get the Gerber hatchet without the saw and bring a pocket-chain-saw type saw instead. The saw is pretty hard to use anyway.

tl;dr, a decent hatchet but the saw leaves a little to be desired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Sept. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gerber 22-41420 Gator Combo Axe II (Tools & Hardware)
They fixed the saw so it doesn't fall out any more. Saw works amazingly. Hatch does a great job splitting wood. I am very please with the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good enough for me and great price., Sept. 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gerber 22-41420 Gator Combo Axe II (Tools & Hardware)
Good enough for me.
Edge on axe is easy to file and keep sharp.
Saw is a nice touch for cutting up branches the right size for the BioLite camp stove.
Mine came with a flexible heel sling type catch to hold the saw in place(attaches through the hole in pic and slides over the back end of the axe) even though the magnets seem strong enough to hold the saw in without it.
Grip of axe is great, does not seem to slip in my hand or cause stress to palm skin when gripped tightly and swung for a couple hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keep this in my jeep to clear trails and use ..., July 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gerber 22-41420 Gator Combo Axe II (Tools & Hardware)
Keep this in my jeep to clear trails and use it to split hardwood camping. For your safety, always remove the saw when using the hatchet. Gerber quality, just what I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gerber Combo Axe/Saw, Sept. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gerber 22-41420 Gator Combo Axe II (Tools & Hardware)
I bought this product for back country canoe trips. When a box from Amazon arrived I thought there must have been a shipping error because the box was so light. I thought either the wrong item shipped or I ordered just the sheath.
To my surprise it was the axe. I was astounded by its light weight. I thought this is barely going to be noticed in my backpack.
The sheath fits perfect around the axe head and is very durable. The axe itself is very solid for its light weight. It was used as a hatchet and a hammer. The saw was tested for fun on varying thickness of branches and it made easy work of them.
I would recommend this tool for the hiker or paddler looking for a light weight hatchet with the added bonus of the saw for those just in case moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for hiking, Sept. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gerber 22-41420 Gator Combo Axe II (Tools & Hardware)
I was looking for a compact saw, and this fits the bill, at a great price point. Perfect for my needs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very bad quality axe, Sept. 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gerber 22-41420 Gator Combo Axe II (Tools & Hardware)
Very bad quality axe, rust after only one use, bad grip, i dont like it at all. Better other product for this price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gerber 22-41420 Gator Combo Axe II (Tools & Hardware)
Great for camping. Chopped wood with great ease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gerber 22-41420 Gator Combo Axe II (Tools & Hardware)
Gave as a gift, receiver loves it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gerber 22-41420 Gator Combo Axe II
Gerber 22-41420 Gator Combo Axe II by Gerber Legendary Blades
CDN$ 72.58 CDN$ 54.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews