Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Countdown to Cyber Monday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars24
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:$8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 12, 2010
I thoroughly enjoyed this film. Like another reviewer, I saw this movie when it was first released and owned it on VHS. This movie has something for everyone. it is funny in places, erotic in others, but it can also be deadly serious. The depiction of the Russian invasion is brutal and the extend to which the decadent communist regime went to suppress any form of opposition, however slight, is shocking (Tomas, a brain surgeon, end up washing windows for a living). As Russian tanks rolled in and suppressed the futile resistance of an impotent population I was reminded how Hitler was allowed to invade much of Eastern Europe unopposed while the world stood by and watched. All in all, an excellent film with a thoughtful message
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on October 22, 2002
I like this movie very much. However I got really upset when I realized some ninkompoup has cut it in an absolutely unbelieveable way. It is claimed it is not rated, but displays an "R" and a bit smaller a "PG" and a "DP" rating. it stinks. I like comlete movies and I believe if anybody does any cutting it must be mentioned very clearly.
I suggest if you like the original don't buy this version
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2002
I have not seen this DVD (not released yet) but this is one of my all time favorite films. Philip Kaufman (who also directed "The Right Stuff", "Invasion of the Body Snatchers" (remake), and "Henry and June") combines beautiful and erotic visuals with a compelling story of people caught up in the 1968 uprising in Czechoslavakia, and its aftermath.
Wonderful performances by Juliette Binoche, Lena Olin, and Daniel Day-Lewis.
Stands up well to repeated viewings. I have seen this in the theatre, on LaserDisc, and on the excellent Criterion DVD. Don't watch it full screen (4x3)!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2000
Why do we commit to one another? Do we really know? Would a life of independence and detachment be better? Both analytical and powerfully moving, this movie deals with these questions. At first seeming light and slightly intellectual, the movie evolves into something more felt than thought. The film shows what is going on without telling the viewer in words. This is a story about the nature of love in all its human forms. It is a heavy story that stays with you. Not for those not in touch with their inner self or who object to some tasteful nudity.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2002
This is a story about all kinds of love and the ways those loves shape our lives.Love of other human beings,country,freedom,natural beauty,animals---they're all a part of this emotional experience.Yet we share the feelings naturally,the story doesn't seem contrived or preachy.The movie may be a little long,but even the scenery and the use of black and white footage are done well.The use of nonverbal communication by the lead actors is as good as any I have ever seen.Olin and Binoche are incredible!There's plenty to think about in this film---see it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2000
When Milan Kundera's novel was first made into this film, there was still the flavor of the Cold War and Soviet monolith in the air. The story has to do with the effects on one's personal life that opperssive governments can have. This film beautifully portrays this and the absurdity in daily life brought down on people living under the Czech communist regime. In the present day, one may find it difficult to "get into the mood." Nevertheless, this is one of the excellent films set in that time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2011
The setting is Prague before and after the invasion by the soviets - not so timely anymore but still riveting. This is the story of Tomasz, a doctor/poet and his many lovers, all of them seeking meaning and permanence in a society that is rapidly shifting from freedom to oppression. This film is as much about the oppression of lust and the freedom brought by love as it is about poilitical freedom and oppression. Great performances by Daniel Day-Lewis, Juliet Binoche and Lena Olin.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2000
This is already my favorite movie for at least ten years, from the first time I saw it. It is a movie about an unsettled men who lives life lightly, but is also in love. Slowly he is adapting to a life with only one woman, the one he loves. The very romantic and chalenging movie is set in Chechie around 1965 somewhere.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2015
This is an excellent, 2-disc version of my favourite film, done 2.5 decades ago. At close to 3 hours, it is a long film. But it remains as one of my top favourites in the human drama category. Video quality from this set is good.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2004
It is long. It is quiet and full of life and fantastic performances. Movie that stays with you for the rest of your life. One should get some kind of prize for title alone.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Unbearable Lightness of Being: A Novel
The Unbearable Lightness of Being: A Novel by Milan Kundera (Paperback - July 5 2005)
CDN$ 14.94

Henry & June (Widescreen) (Bilingual)
Henry & June (Widescreen) (Bilingual) by Fred Ward (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 9.88

Sophia Loren Award Collection
Sophia Loren Award Collection by Sophia Loren (DVD - 2011)
CDN$ 64.88