summer boutiques-francophones vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars26
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$18.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 2, 2000
Why do we commit to one another? Do we really know? Would a life of independence and detachment be better? Both analytical and powerfully moving, this movie deals with these questions. At first seeming light and slightly intellectual, the movie evolves into something more felt than thought. The film shows what is going on without telling the viewer in words. This is a story about the nature of love in all its human forms. It is a heavy story that stays with you. Not for those not in touch with their inner self or who object to some tasteful nudity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2002
This is a story about all kinds of love and the ways those loves shape our lives.Love of other human beings,country,freedom,natural beauty,animals---they're all a part of this emotional experience.Yet we share the feelings naturally,the story doesn't seem contrived or preachy.The movie may be a little long,but even the scenery and the use of black and white footage are done well.The use of nonverbal communication by the lead actors is as good as any I have ever seen.Olin and Binoche are incredible!There's plenty to think about in this film---see it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2000
When Milan Kundera's novel was first made into this film, there was still the flavor of the Cold War and Soviet monolith in the air. The story has to do with the effects on one's personal life that opperssive governments can have. This film beautifully portrays this and the absurdity in daily life brought down on people living under the Czech communist regime. In the present day, one may find it difficult to "get into the mood." Nevertheless, this is one of the excellent films set in that time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2003
This review refers to the MGM DVD edition of "The Unbearable Lightness of Being"......
"The Unbearable Lightness of Being" is a cinematic experience that will move you in many ways. The thrill of romance, the heartfelt friendships, the tension of Russian tanks rolling through Prague in 1968 and the passion of a people to take control of their own lives are all a big part of this wonderful film. It is beautifully filmed, with a hypnotizing screenplay, and a tremendous cast that fully capture the essence of each of the wonderful characters they portray.
It stars Daniel Day-Lewis, as Tomas, a renowned brain surgeon in Czechoslovakia(also renowned for his charms that no woman can resist)whose love for two very different women, creates a unique bonding and passionate love triangle between the three.
He can never forget the beautiful and seductive Sabina(Lena Olin), who seems to know him better than any other, and yet he cannot resist the charms of his wide-eyed and childlike but serious bride, Tereza(Juliette Binoche).But when politcal upheaval, interupts his perfect life, they must flee the country, where Tereza finds she cannot continue the lightness of life that Tomas has carved out for them. He must choose now, a decision that may have him sacrificing all in the name of love.
A nearly three hours, there is not a frame in this excellent piece of filmmaking that I would change. With each view I fall more in love with it and always come away completly moved. It is Directed by Philip Kaufman("Quills"/"The Right Stuff") and includes Donald Moffat and Stellan Skarsgard in the wonderful cast.The music adds the perfect feel to the rollar coaster of emotions in the story and the photography is outstanding.
This DVD by MGM is a nice transfer. The picture and colors are very good and it is presented in the theatrical release format of 1.85:1. The sound is superb in DD 5.1. It surrounds the room and every detail is clear and distinguishable.(The Criterion edition is in 2.0) Not much in the way of bonus features though, if that is what you are looking for. There is a theatrical trailer and it may be viewed with subtitles in English, French or Spanish. At this time I notice that Amazon is out of stock, and the merchants have some, but at very high prices. This DVD is not hard to come by. I found it at my neighborhood video store at the sugg. retail price(about half of what the sellers are asking for).
This is a film to be enjoyed many times over by anyone who enjoys, romance, drama, a little comedy, and fine filmmaking. It is however rated R for nudity and explicit love scenes.
Get ready for a moving experience and enjoy.....Laurie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2002
I like this movie very much. However I got really upset when I realized some ninkompoup has cut it in an absolutely unbelieveable way. It is claimed it is not rated, but displays an "R" and a bit smaller a "PG" and a "DP" rating. it stinks. I like comlete movies and I believe if anybody does any cutting it must be mentioned very clearly.
I suggest if you like the original don't buy this version
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2011
The setting is Prague before and after the invasion by the soviets - not so timely anymore but still riveting. This is the story of Tomasz, a doctor/poet and his many lovers, all of them seeking meaning and permanence in a society that is rapidly shifting from freedom to oppression. This film is as much about the oppression of lust and the freedom brought by love as it is about poilitical freedom and oppression. Great performances by Daniel Day-Lewis, Juliet Binoche and Lena Olin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2002
I have not seen this DVD (not released yet) but this is one of my all time favorite films. Philip Kaufman (who also directed "The Right Stuff", "Invasion of the Body Snatchers" (remake), and "Henry and June") combines beautiful and erotic visuals with a compelling story of people caught up in the 1968 uprising in Czechoslavakia, and its aftermath.
Wonderful performances by Juliette Binoche, Lena Olin, and Daniel Day-Lewis.
Stands up well to repeated viewings. I have seen this in the theatre, on LaserDisc, and on the excellent Criterion DVD. Don't watch it full screen (4x3)!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2000
This is already my favorite movie for at least ten years, from the first time I saw it. It is a movie about an unsettled men who lives life lightly, but is also in love. Slowly he is adapting to a life with only one woman, the one he loves. The very romantic and chalenging movie is set in Chechie around 1965 somewhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2015
This is an excellent, 2-disc version of my favourite film, done 2.5 decades ago. At close to 3 hours, it is a long film. But it remains as one of my top favourites in the human drama category. Video quality from this set is good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2004
It is long. It is quiet and full of life and fantastic performances. Movie that stays with you for the rest of your life. One should get some kind of prize for title alone.
Enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse