Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unbearably long yes but it proves to be a bittersweet romance
One of the most haunting aspects of this movie is that my video store today has it under the "Adult entertainment" section which I thought was a joke. I first saw this on its release in 1988 at the age when I shouldn't have seen it. I'd forgotten so many details of it, and I was newly impressed at the film for the second time.

That aside, I must say that...
Published on June 30 2007 by Jenny J.J.I.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice historical fiction movie
This review is for the Criterion Collection DVD edition of the film.
This movie is set against the backround of the Soviet invasion of Czechoslovakia in the 1960's It is about a doctor who has physical relationships with many different women. He then meets a woman whom he wants to pursue a romantic and emotional with. She wants him to be monogamous. The ensuing...
Published on May 3 2004 by Ted


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, Nov. 12 2010
By 
Johannes Doreleyers "history Buff" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Unbearable Lightness of Being (Two-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this film. Like another reviewer, I saw this movie when it was first released and owned it on VHS. This movie has something for everyone. it is funny in places, erotic in others, but it can also be deadly serious. The depiction of the Russian invasion is brutal and the extend to which the decadent communist regime went to suppress any form of opposition, however slight, is shocking (Tomas, a brain surgeon, end up washing windows for a living). As Russian tanks rolled in and suppressed the futile resistance of an impotent population I was reminded how Hitler was allowed to invade much of Eastern Europe unopposed while the world stood by and watched. All in all, an excellent film with a thoughtful message
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cuts, cuts and more cuts, Oct. 22 2002
I like this movie very much. However I got really upset when I realized some ninkompoup has cut it in an absolutely unbelieveable way. It is claimed it is not rated, but displays an "R" and a bit smaller a "PG" and a "DP" rating. it stinks. I like comlete movies and I believe if anybody does any cutting it must be mentioned very clearly.
I suggest if you like the original don't buy this version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and intimate epic, June 19 2002
By 
I have not seen this DVD (not released yet) but this is one of my all time favorite films. Philip Kaufman (who also directed "The Right Stuff", "Invasion of the Body Snatchers" (remake), and "Henry and June") combines beautiful and erotic visuals with a compelling story of people caught up in the 1968 uprising in Czechoslavakia, and its aftermath.
Wonderful performances by Juliette Binoche, Lena Olin, and Daniel Day-Lewis.
Stands up well to repeated viewings. I have seen this in the theatre, on LaserDisc, and on the excellent Criterion DVD. Don't watch it full screen (4x3)!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An investigation into the nature of relationships, Sept. 2 2000
By 
James A. Quinn (North Wales, PA United States) - See all my reviews
Why do we commit to one another? Do we really know? Would a life of independence and detachment be better? Both analytical and powerfully moving, this movie deals with these questions. At first seeming light and slightly intellectual, the movie evolves into something more felt than thought. The film shows what is going on without telling the viewer in words. This is a story about the nature of love in all its human forms. It is a heavy story that stays with you. Not for those not in touch with their inner self or who object to some tasteful nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a film to see, March 20 2002
By 
"tomhreece" (Chicago, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
This is a story about all kinds of love and the ways those loves shape our lives.Love of other human beings,country,freedom,natural beauty,animals---they're all a part of this emotional experience.Yet we share the feelings naturally,the story doesn't seem contrived or preachy.The movie may be a little long,but even the scenery and the use of black and white footage are done well.The use of nonverbal communication by the lead actors is as good as any I have ever seen.Olin and Binoche are incredible!There's plenty to think about in this film---see it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars NO LONGER IN STEP, Aug. 8 2000
By 
F. Sweet (Midwestern USA) - See all my reviews
When Milan Kundera's novel was first made into this film, there was still the flavor of the Cold War and Soviet monolith in the air. The story has to do with the effects on one's personal life that opperssive governments can have. This film beautifully portrays this and the absurdity in daily life brought down on people living under the Czech communist regime. In the present day, one may find it difficult to "get into the mood." Nevertheless, this is one of the excellent films set in that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The unbearable lightness of being, Oct. 25 2000
By A Customer
This is already my favorite movie for at least ten years, from the first time I saw it. It is a movie about an unsettled men who lives life lightly, but is also in love. Slowly he is adapting to a life with only one woman, the one he loves. The very romantic and chalenging movie is set in Chechie around 1965 somewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Movie that surpasses the book it is based on., Jan. 23 2004
It is long. It is quiet and full of life and fantastic performances. Movie that stays with you for the rest of your life. One should get some kind of prize for title alone.
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 22 2014
This review is from: The Unbearable Lightness of Being (Two-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
Beautifully acted love story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinatng and intelligent, July 22 2011
This review is from: The Unbearable Lightness of Being (Two-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
The setting is Prague before and after the invasion by the soviets - not so timely anymore but still riveting. This is the story of Tomasz, a doctor/poet and his many lovers, all of them seeking meaning and permanence in a society that is rapidly shifting from freedom to oppression. This film is as much about the oppression of lust and the freedom brought by love as it is about poilitical freedom and oppression. Great performances by Daniel Day-Lewis, Juliet Binoche and Lena Olin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Unbearable Lightness of Being (Two-Disc Special Edition)
CDN$ 24.95 CDN$ 9.49
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews