Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Miyazaki Hayao film yet., March 7 2006
By 
Ashley R. Brunt (Middle of northren nowhere, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
For the longest time Princess Mononoke has been my favorite Miyazaki film but now I find it being quickly replaced by this latest masterpiece (plot holes and all).
I have just started reading the novel from which it is based and while the two are drastically different I have found the book helpful in setting up the backstory that the film missed.
Even with this in mind I am still giving it a 5 out of 5 for the sheer amazingly brilliant entertainment value this has. It's a must see for Anime fans and animation fans (adult and child) alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Whimsy With Depth, April 7 2013
By 
Theo (Gondwana) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
Howl's Moving Castle works beautifully as a pure flight of fantasy, and one that even fairly young children ought to be able to enjoy on that level. At the same time, it also works as a more introspective tale; one that dwells at some length on the underlying "logic of magic"; which is to say on the logic of our own psyches. In the world of Howl's Moving Castle, wizards can ultimately pay a terrible price for unleashing the more destructive applications of their art.

Or, as St. Paul might have said, the wages of sin is death.

Of course, one could also adopt a more literal and overtly political take on this movie. Warfare, both magical and mundane, is at the root of all the really serious carnage in the world of Howl's Moving Castle. One can't help but remember that this is, after all, a film that comes out of a nation completely devastated by its own last foray into military adventurism. But whatever way you want to look at it, this is a film with something to say for itself. A film with sufficient depth that it is worth taking the time to consider alternative interpretations.

Like much of Miyazaki's work, Howl's Moving Castle includes a certain level of sentimentalism. However, judged by western standards it is actually kind of sneaky, even deceptive in this. For just when you think you're in a sweet little kid's movie, without any warning you can suddenly find that you're really in a very adult place indeed. The contrasts here are not quite so sharp as in Porco Rosso, but they are sharp enough nonetheless. Incidentally, one of the things that I personally love most about exploring the media of other cultures is just how viscerally it can make one realize the arbitrariness of the conventions of genre to be found in one's own home culture; conventions that are otherwise all too easy to simply take for granted, as if they were somehow hard-wired into the nature of story itself.

Howl's Moving Castle is also rather interesting in the world it envisions. This is neither our own reality nor the standard swords and sorcery milieu, but a kind of 19th century fantasia almost steampunk in trope. On the down side though, one thing I didn't like about this movie was that the war that forms the backdrop to so much of the action is never really explained in any intelligent way - especially in the ending.

Overall though, I would definitely say that provided you can deal with a certain level of sentimentality, this is a movie worth seeing. And if you do happen to be an adult looking for something you can watch with the kids without being bored to tears, this may just fit the bill.

Theo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another five-star movie., April 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
Miyazaki is part of the top four greatest animators of all time (Walt Disney, Frédéric Back and Norman McLaren being the three others). This movie is another proof of that.

While not perfect, the movie is great. It's got great looking animation and art, awesome voice acting and beautiful, inspiring music. The characters are great and the storyline is very good.

I would've rated this movie 4.5 stars if it was possible, only because it doesn't reach the level of artistic and technical quality other movies like Spirited Away have achieved, but that is a matter of personal taste.

Nevertheless, Howl's Moving Castle is still i my top 20 best animated features of all time. It's story and characters will move you, especially Sophie, a young girl who doesn't have a very high esteem of herself and who learns to be stronger as she's turned into a 90-year old woman by a jealous witch. Get this movie, or at least rent it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mon favori, March 8 2009
By 
Marie-christine Lapierre (Québec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
Ce film di Hayao Miyazaki est mon favori! Je l'ai revue plusieur fois déjà et sur de le revoir plusieur fois dans le futur. L'animation est unique et très minitieuse dans son ensemble. Encore une fois c'est mon film préféré et je vous invite à le voir aussi. C'est un chef d'oeuvre dans les films animés.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Howl's Moving Castle, March 27 2006
By 
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
I really did like Howl's moving castle, but I wasn't as thrilled with it as I thought I would be. Having watched many of Hayao Miyazaki's films and Spirited Away being one of my favorite movies of all time, I must admit that, although Howl was possibly one of the most gorgeous anime characters I've ever seen (I really liked Sophie too),I was a little disappointed with the plot. I like how characters like Chihiro and Sophie learn about themselves, how to make themselves better and their good qualities, and I love the characters and the animation, but it just didn't seem like Howl's Moving Castle had the same flair as his other movies, or the same plot. It seemed to drag on a little bit, but all in all, it was really great, and obviously a Hayao Miyazaki creation, and I have an immense appreciation for him and his works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hayao Miyazaki Forever!, May 15 2011
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
I love all of Mr. Miyazaki's movies, they're the only ones that make me cry every single time, no matter how many times I've seen them.
The animation, plot, characters and dubs are always rich and enchanting. Don't even ask yourself which Hayao movie to get -- get them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, Dec 28 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
This DVD comes in just as described. Fast shipping and well packaged. I am very pleased with this item and will buy again from this seller. Thanks !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent movie, Feb. 12 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
This movie is so amazingly original, it's an instant favourite just from the first 25 minutes! If you haven't seen it you have to, it's purely awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic film, fascinating and amusing story, June 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
Christian Bale is great as Howl, love Billy Crystal as Calcifer the Fire Demon is so entertaining, in fact it's a top notch voice cast, with an interesting story to say the least and as I get older the comments Sophie makes as an old woman really resonate. It's an affectionate version of the book and definitely worth many repeat viewings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy from this company, Jan. 5 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
Who said there is no such thing as Christmas elves? This company sure did prove it! They have the best prices for DVDs and the selection too! Howls moving castle - is a great flim for all ages. This aint your Disney cartoon. It is magical and beautiful in movement!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual)
Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) by Hayao Miyazaki (DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 19.85
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews