Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas gift !, Nov. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
I don't know yet because I have wrap it and it is a suprise for my daughter at Christmas. SO HOPE she'll enjoy it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best kids movie I have ever seen, Sept. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the most original, beautiful movies we have seen. Beats all Disney and all Studio Ghibli movies thus far. A sweet love story with a twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic movie, Aug. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
Seen this movie so many times. I'm an avid Miyazaki fan & have to own all his movies. Recommend this movie highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This movie is simply magical!, July 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is by far one of my favorite movies. It is beautifully written and the visuals are perfect. I just received my bluray copy in the mail the other day and the quality couldn't be better.. If you already have the dvd I 100 percent recommend getting the Bluray because the quality is a way better and makes the movie even more lovable (if possible :P )

The shipping was fast (I'm with prime) and the movie was in perfect condition. I couldn't of asked for a better experience with Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Whimsy With Depth, April 7 2013
By 
Theo (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
Howl's Moving Castle works beautifully as a pure flight of fantasy, and one that even fairly young children ought to be able to enjoy on that level. At the same time, it also works as a more introspective tale; one that dwells at some length on the underlying "logic of magic"; which is to say on the logic of our own psyches. In the world of Howl's Moving Castle, wizards can ultimately pay a terrible price for unleashing the more destructive applications of their art.

Or, as St. Paul might have said, the wages of sin is death.

Of course, one could also adopt a more literal and overtly political take on this movie. Warfare, both magical and mundane, is at the root of all the really serious carnage in the world of Howl's Moving Castle. One can't help but remember that this is, after all, a film that comes out of a nation completely devastated by its own last foray into military adventurism. But whatever way you want to look at it, this is a film with something to say for itself. A film with sufficient depth that it is worth taking the time to consider alternative interpretations.

Like much of Miyazaki's work, Howl's Moving Castle includes a certain level of sentimentalism. However, judged by western standards it is actually kind of sneaky, even deceptive in this. For just when you think you're in a sweet little kid's movie, without any warning you can suddenly find that you're really in a very adult place indeed. The contrasts here are not quite so sharp as in Porco Rosso, but they are sharp enough nonetheless. Incidentally, one of the things that I personally love most about exploring the media of other cultures is just how viscerally it can make one realize the arbitrariness of the conventions of genre to be found in one's own home culture; conventions that are otherwise all too easy to simply take for granted, as if they were somehow hard-wired into the nature of story itself.

Howl's Moving Castle is also rather interesting in the world it envisions. This is neither our own reality nor the standard swords and sorcery milieu, but a kind of 19th century fantasia almost steampunk in trope. On the down side though, one thing I didn't like about this movie was that the war that forms the backdrop to so much of the action is never really explained in any intelligent way - especially in the ending.

Overall though, I would definitely say that provided you can deal with a certain level of sentimentality, this is a movie worth seeing. And if you do happen to be an adult looking for something you can watch with the kids without being bored to tears, this may just fit the bill.

Theo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A studio Ghibli movie meant for a more mature family audience!, March 21 2013
By 
John Thomas Anderson (Southern Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Howl's Moving Castle is yet another in a long line of Studio Ghibli animated adventures that Disney has now re-issued in a Bluray/DVD combo edition. And like Arrietty, it's based on a western novel. But unlike the more family friendly Ghibli movies such as Arrietty, Totoro or Ponyo; this movie is a little more dark, a lot more angsty and involves war. Definitely aimed at a more mature audience as it comes with a PG rating. So I'd put it in a similar category to movies like The Hunchback of Notre Dame or Nausicaa. A family movie for kids old enough to watch the typical sci-fi movie like The Terminator without flinching. Younger than that; you'll have to check it out first and decide for yourself. Otherwise though, it's the same high quality animation and magical wonder as other Hayao Miyazaki movies!

The storyline revolves around a young shop girl by the name of Sophie who gets hit with a life altering spell and must go on a quest with a mysterious stranger in his walking castle to break the spell. Set in a Victorian style alternate world that Miyazaki always does so well; it consists of steam engines, strange villainous creatures, flying battleships and of course Howl's Moving Castle! It's quite wondrous to behold and is the best part of the picture. If you've never seen any previous Ghibli works and you think they're typical animated movies; you're going to be in for one heck of a shock! Ghibli movies are always among the best looking animated movies on the planet

Now it's not my favourite Miyazaki movie; his masterpiece Princess Mononoke and my personal favourite Kiki's Delivery Service hold those spots. But it's still a Studio Ghibli movie and that means stunning visuals, fine detail and being a newer production, a full and rich surround track with 5.1 DTS-HD audio for the English and Japanese dubs; Dolby Digital 5.1 for the French. All three tracks sound pretty much equal.

For a Disney combo pack, the extras are surprisingly sparse. There's a 9 min. piece on the English dubbing, a 7 min. piece with the English translator and a short documentary with John Lassiter welcoming Hayao Miyazaki to Pixar studios where the dub was made. That's about it. The DVD is similar.

A little too dark and angsty at times to be among my personal favourites and with a plot and ending that's a little too muddled for my tastes; I'll rate it 5 for the animation and 3-1/2 for the storyline. 4 overall.

J. A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Feb. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is simply wonderful. It goes far beyond what you would expect from an Hollywood style animated movie (which it is not). The creator has used the liberty that animation allows to bring us true magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bon, July 15 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
Mes frères m'ont fait connaître et sa sort des sentiers battus d'écouter cela, sa fait différent et quand même une bonne histoire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imagination Is King In Howl's Moving Castle, Aug. 18 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Los Angeles, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
Howl's Moving Castle is a heartwrenching and, ultimately, heartwarming tale of the awesome power of deepest jealousy and truest love. Jealousy begets the affliction of the main character and love heals this same ailment in the end. Character and plot are both as strong as the anime style, and the overall experience is enough to pacify the critical eye and satisfy an aching heart. Although situations might prove tragic, those who brought them about are, after all, human; and as such, they have the power to find solutions by looking no further than into the human heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who can resist real magic?, Feb. 23 2007
By 
M. B. Alcat "Curiosity killed the cat, but sa... (Hanoi, Vietnam) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
"Howl's Moving Castle", directed by Hayao Miyazaki, is a thoroughly delightful movie that young children will love, and adults enjoy. You don't believe that both children and adults can appreciate the same film? Well, some of Miyazaki's cartoons are simply magic, and "Howl's Moving Castle" is one of them. And who can resist real magic?

The main character is Sophie, a 19-year-old girl that leads a very boring life until the unbelievable happens: she is cursed by a spiteful witch, and turned into a very old woman. The only person who can break the spell is a wizard, so Sophie decides to leave the city and search for him. Sophie will find the wizard she was searching for, but also some unlikely friends, a moving castle and love. Things will not be easy, though, as Sophie is unable to tell her friends she is under a curse, and their country is in the middle of a war. What will happen? Well, watch this movie and you will see :)

All in all, I can tell you that I loved "Howl's Moving Castle", and that I highly recommend it to you.

Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual)
Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) by Hayao Miyazaki (DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 32.99 CDN$ 23.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews