Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mon favori, March 8 2009
By 
Marie-christine Lapierre (Québec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
Ce film di Hayao Miyazaki est mon favori! Je l'ai revue plusieur fois déjà et sur de le revoir plusieur fois dans le futur. L'animation est unique et très minitieuse dans son ensemble. Encore une fois c'est mon film préféré et je vous invite à le voir aussi. C'est un chef d'oeuvre dans les films animés.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Howl's Moving Castle, March 27 2006
By 
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
I really did like Howl's moving castle, but I wasn't as thrilled with it as I thought I would be. Having watched many of Hayao Miyazaki's films and Spirited Away being one of my favorite movies of all time, I must admit that, although Howl was possibly one of the most gorgeous anime characters I've ever seen (I really liked Sophie too),I was a little disappointed with the plot. I like how characters like Chihiro and Sophie learn about themselves, how to make themselves better and their good qualities, and I love the characters and the animation, but it just didn't seem like Howl's Moving Castle had the same flair as his other movies, or the same plot. It seemed to drag on a little bit, but all in all, it was really great, and obviously a Hayao Miyazaki creation, and I have an immense appreciation for him and his works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Howl's Supernatural Castle, Nov. 12 2011
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
"Howl's Moving Castle" is a great movie that implies the powerful message of how things are not always as they seem. Sophie plays a spirit who is reliable, down-to-earth, and is doing the best she can with the hand dealt to her in life. Her life is forever changed when she encounters a man named Howl. Howl met her when she was accosted by a couple of men. From their first meeting clues are given to how the movie is going to unfold. This is because Howl commands Sophie to act natural within moments of their initial meeting. Howl feels at ease with her, and even engages in some magic within minutes of meeting her. Another female is interested in him, and is a character foil to Sophia. The following are some of the other characters that play a pivotal role in this film: Howl's apprentice Markl, Calcifer, and Madame Suliman. Howl's Moving Castle is highly recommended for anyone who enjoyed any of the Harry Potter Movies. This is because "Howl's Moving Castle" contains various magical and supernatural themes that are related to many of the metaphorical "Harry Potter" messages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, Dec 28 2010
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
This DVD comes in just as described. Fast shipping and well packaged. I am very pleased with this item and will buy again from this seller. Thanks !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent movie, Feb. 12 2011
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
This movie is so amazingly original, it's an instant favourite just from the first 25 minutes! If you haven't seen it you have to, it's purely awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, June 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
Another fabulous movie from Studio Ghilbli - the colours, the graphics, the story itself all lend to the viewing experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic film, fascinating and amusing story, June 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
Christian Bale is great as Howl, love Billy Crystal as Calcifer the Fire Demon is so entertaining, in fact it's a top notch voice cast, with an interesting story to say the least and as I get older the comments Sophie makes as an old woman really resonate. It's an affectionate version of the book and definitely worth many repeat viewings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another five-star movie., April 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
Miyazaki is part of the top four greatest animators of all time (Walt Disney, Frédéric Back and Norman McLaren being the three others). This movie is another proof of that.

While not perfect, the movie is great. It's got great looking animation and art, awesome voice acting and beautiful, inspiring music. The characters are great and the storyline is very good.

I would've rated this movie 4.5 stars if it was possible, only because it doesn't reach the level of artistic and technical quality other movies like Spirited Away have achieved, but that is a matter of personal taste.

Nevertheless, Howl's Moving Castle is still i my top 20 best animated features of all time. It's story and characters will move you, especially Sophie, a young girl who doesn't have a very high esteem of herself and who learns to be stronger as she's turned into a 90-year old woman by a jealous witch. Get this movie, or at least rent it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas gift !, Nov. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) (DVD)
I don't know yet because I have wrap it and it is a suprise for my daughter at Christmas. SO HOPE she'll enjoy it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best kids movie I have ever seen, Sept. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the most original, beautiful movies we have seen. Beats all Disney and all Studio Ghibli movies thus far. A sweet love story with a twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual)
Howl's Moving Castle (Bilingual) by Hayao Miyazaki (DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 32.99 CDN$ 23.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews