Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the perfect set for fans
Over a decade after its cancellation, Mr. Show still stands as one of the most innovative sketch-comedy series ever created. Clever writing, a solid cast, and a refusal to ever deliver the 'safe' joke are what made this series great and its focus on absurdist, rather than topical, humour is what has allowed it to age so gracefully.

The price of pushing the...
Published on Feb. 2 2011 by John Woodward

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Little Inconsistent
I bought this collection for a two reasons. First and foremost, David Cross is a brilliant comic and I find him to be extremely talented and very funny. Second, I had never heard of this show, let alone seen a single episode and I was therefore very curious to check it out.
I found the quality of the series improved as the seasons unfolded and there are some pretty...
Published on Aug. 14 2008 by Yaekerman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the perfect set for fans, Feb. 2 2011
By 
John Woodward - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mr. Show: Complete Collection (DVD)
Over a decade after its cancellation, Mr. Show still stands as one of the most innovative sketch-comedy series ever created. Clever writing, a solid cast, and a refusal to ever deliver the 'safe' joke are what made this series great and its focus on absurdist, rather than topical, humour is what has allowed it to age so gracefully.

The price of pushing the envelope is that a lot of the jokes fall flat, but they succeed more often than not and there is always at least one bit per episode than will have you in stitches. That said, the sense of humour here is definitely singular and newcomers may want to think twice before investing in the Complete Collection. If you enjoy Odenkirk or Cross in any of their other roles, or like the sound of a modern, American Flying Circus, then this series is worth a shot.

Extras
Bob, David and the rest of the cast went all out here, delivering commentary tracks on every single episode. There's plenty of information here about how the show came together, but the real treat of these commentaries are the portions that are delivered in character. The jokes here are often as funny as the episodes themselves and fans of the show really owe it to themselves to give a listen. There's not a lot of behind-the-scenes features here, but we do get some clips of the Mr. Show stage show and a cast reunion that's sure to delight fans.

Presentation
The transfer on this disc is serviceable, at best, but the fact is no one watches sketch comedy for the visuals. More frustrating is a menu that never lets you get to the episodes with a single click. A 'Play All' option would've been really nice.

Bottom Line
For fans of Mr. Show, this set is everything you could possibly ask for and purchasing it should be a no-brainer. Newcomers may want to buy the seasons one at a time(don't worry, all the extras are there) just to be sure they'll enjoy this unique style of comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic along the lines of Monty Python, July 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Show: Complete Collection (DVD)
There's not much to say that hasn't already been said in the product reviews. This is a great & overlooked gem, and David Cross at his finest. He gets a lot of (much-deserved) credit for Tobias on Arrested Development, but after watching this show it seems like Tobias is just one of many characters Cross has up his sleeve and ready to spray all over everyone. You also get an appreciation for his true talent as a writer/host/comedian. Bob "Better Call Saul" Odenkirk is excellent as well. Guest appearances are unexpectedly good from then-unknowns Tom Kenny (the voice of SpongeBob SquarePants), Jay Johnston (The Sarah Silverman Program, Arrested Development), Jerry Minor (Community, Arrested Development), Brian Posehn (The Sarah Silverman Program, all kinds of stuff) and Paul F. Tompkins (Tenacious D HBO series, Community). John Ennis and Jill Talley suffer in comparison and tend to "protrude" more, but do well enough.

This is a dense, intriguing show with lots of absolutely hilarious moments. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest shows ever, Jan. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Show: Complete Collection (DVD)
Underrated show. Lots of people I talk to have no idea this even exists, but it's one of my favorite sketch comedy shows of all time. Sketches transition from one to the next without breaks, and although some of the transitions are very loose, it still flows nicely, most of the time right back to the stage they start on at the begining of every episode. Cannot recommend this enough, especially now that it's not a $60 set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Mr. Shwo, so it rocks., Sept. 14 2011
By 
C. Anderson (BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr. Show: Complete Collection (DVD)
Most folks ahve never heard of this show, but an easy favourite, along with The Kids in the Hall.

Weird, oddball humour. Hard to describe.

Quality is certainly better than what you'd get from a broadcast, but nothing spectacular. Every episode has commentary, which are pretty funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Show The Complete Series DVD, Nov. 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mr. Show: Complete Collection (DVD)
No doubt most people have come here now because Bob Odenkirk was the man as Saul in BREAKING BAD. But let me tell you...this is funny s***. And you get the whole series, for a minimal price, on DVD. Basically, this is all of the series sets in one cardboard case, some extras are in there, but for this amount....what are you waiting for? GET IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Show (The Complete Collection) Is Completely Creative Comedy, Feb. 25 2010
By 
Brent Gough - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr. Show: Complete Collection (DVD)
This is the epitome of "free-flowing" comedy! Fresh (even though it's been off the air for years), clever (there always seems to be purpose with every barb) and balanced (even when you say to yourself "ooooh, I can't believe they said that..." then they hit you with a semi-sweet moment).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Little Inconsistent, Aug. 14 2008
By 
Yaekerman (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr. Show: Complete Collection (DVD)
I bought this collection for a two reasons. First and foremost, David Cross is a brilliant comic and I find him to be extremely talented and very funny. Second, I had never heard of this show, let alone seen a single episode and I was therefore very curious to check it out.
I found the quality of the series improved as the seasons unfolded and there are some pretty funny skits, but overall, there are some hits and several "misses" along the way. Not bad, but a "Best Of" collection might be worth thinking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa906839c)

This product

Mr. Show: Complete Collection
Mr. Show: Complete Collection by Bob Odenkirk (DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 62.48 CDN$ 41.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews