Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars84
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 30, 2014
Super movie with great cast.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2014
Outstanding movie!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2014
Midnight Cowboy is a wonderful movie that was ahead of its time when it first came out. I loved it then and I still love it now. John Voight and Dustin Hoffman are wonderful and quite convincing in their roles as Joe Buck (A naive cowboy from Texas) and Ratzo a sleazy street-smart New Yorker. Like so many others before him, Joe moved to the Big Apple with big dreams of success, wealth and the good life. The unlikely pair bond out of necessity. The movies theme song "Everybody's Talkin" is most haunting and the ending is very sad.

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2013
This film may be dated but it is forever one of the all time best films ever made! A true time capsule! Dustin Hoffman is at his absolute best! The two actors have amazing chemistry together. A MUST see film!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2007
MIDNIGHT COWBOY is one of the top ten films to ever be made. I should be seen to be believed. New York City is actually the main character in this hard-to-take-your-eye-from film, and there's no way you can come away from this unmoved. Winner of the Academy Award for best film in 1969 (the first X-rated film to do so), I both disliked and admired it when I first saw it and that initial reaction really hasn't changed in more than 30 years. What remains after so many years are the images evoked whenever I hear its ironic theme song, "Everybody's Talking." The street scenes, the awkward and incompetent grifting, and especially the scene on the bus to Miami. Voight as Joe Buck and Hoffman as "Ratzo" Rizzo really are the definitive odd couple as they pursue their illusive as well as elusive dreams amidst the squalid realities of the urban life they share. Films do not change but we do. For example, I was more amused and less sympathetic 39 years ago. Today, I am more inclined to view Rizzo and Buck as victims of natural selection, unable to overcome physical limitations (Rizzo) or mental limitations (Buck) in a society which consumes and then discards people as indifferently as it does whatever is tossed into trash cans in a dark alley, awaiting removal. Everybody isn't talking. In fact, no one notices. For so many in a city such as New York or Miami, it will always midnight. Must also recommend a novel that I recently came across which incorporates themes from Midnight Cowboy, as well as other movies, called "Katzenjammer" by Jackson McCrae---great take off on some of what happens in the film and New York is once again central to the story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on February 13, 2005
1969 was an excellent year for films.There was Anne of the Thousand Days, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid,Hello Dolly,Easy Rider, the list goes on and on.Why is it then that this is the film that won the Academy Awards for best picture,director and screenplay of that year? (and was also given nods for both leading actors). Perhaps the voters over 30 years ago could forsee that this movie would stand the test of time. This is a story that tugged at our heartstrings, and made us up sit up and take notice of the world around us. Joe Buck(John Voight), a naive,good looking,Texas "cowboy", in a get up that looks as if he is Alan Ladd reincarnated, hits the "Big Apple" in hopes of striking it rich (literally) with the ladies there. It isnt long before his hopes are dashed, he is broke,life on the streets of New York is savage.He must do things that turn his stomach in order to survive. He finds himself in need of a friend. The friend comes in the form of one "Ratso" Rizzo (Dustin Hoffman), a sleazy. panderer, who offers Joe a place with him in a condemned apartment building. Ratso takes Joe under his wing, and together they try to survive on one get rich quick scheme after another. These two very different men form a unique bond. Joe has disturbing thoughts of the past, and Ratso has dreams of the future. When Ratso falls ill,though. it is Joe who must care for him. Their friendship moved us then and it will move you now. The actors are phenominal in their performances. Hoffman fresh off his success in "The Graduate" shows us way back then how versitile he is, and Voight the newcomer proved his dramatic skills early on. The director John Schlesinger (Far From the Maddning Crowd) gives us a very realistic view of life on the streets. At the time of it's release this film was rated X (it is R now) and although there are some expicit scenes, the main focus is on the kinship of man. The DVD(MGM) is a nice transfer. The colors ar vibrant. It is in the original widescreen format (with a standard format on the b side of the disc) It is in Dolby Digital 5.1 surround,not the best I have heard done on a film of this age, but still good enough. The soundtrack is wonderful with the great song "Everybody's Talkin". No other special features on the disc itself but it does come with a booklet on the casting and making of the film, along with some other interesting facts about it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on June 28, 2004
"Midnight Cowboy" is not easy to see. Even though it has lost a good deal of its original impact, this movie has visually striking scenes and powerful images. But underneath that though surface, "Midnight Cowboy" is a story about the unconditional friendship.
Joe Buck (played by Jon Voight) and "Razzo" Rizzo (played by Dustin Hoffman) are apparently the two more different persons in the whole New York City, but actually they share more in common than they and the audience think at the beginning of the film. Despite the fact that their origins are completely different, Joe and Razzo eventually understand that they only have each other in the tough Big City.
The song "Everybody Is Talking" is very good, and it is a great musical background to the gray streets of New York City. The director John Schlesinger never was known for finesse and subtlety, and this movie proves that he was a risky director. Jon Voight became well-known thanks to his portrayal of Joe Buck, and Dustin Hoffman portrayed a lovable loser with his usual skills.
"Midnight Cowboy" is a very dark film, but intelligent and influential at the same time. Perhaps some elements have lost their original impact, but still this is a powerful movie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Midnight cowboy is a bitter and satirical story about the dreams and fantasies which turn around a smart boy village (Jon Voight) who thinks, he is the master of the world and so New York is another land to domain, but this will be a wrong choice as you can imagine.
Our boy goes to NYC and meets an outsider (Dustin Hoffman) who will feed his dreams. But the crude reality will show those men how far and wrong they are about New York as a promised land.
With surrealistic situations , the texan boy will experience slow but progressively, the dissapointment process , and his desired gigolo proyect will become in ashes ; and still yet ...
Well, Dustin is amazing as the uncommitmed street man, the locations in NYC look like a hell's preview; the sense of anguish and claustrophobia are notorius. Hunger, loneliness and hopeless will be his true colleagues in this nightmarish journey.
A well made fable about the dream and reality; the ancient myth of Eros and Psyque ; fantasy against imagination. A methaporical slap for those who still hope that NYC will receive you with open arms without any effort.
An extraordinary film who won the Academy Award and threw the gladiator actoral sand to Jon Voight.
Unforgettable and even recognized soundtrack even now.
Undoubtly the masterpiece of John Schlessinger and one of the most solid gems of the american cinema in any age.
A milestone.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on February 27, 2004
This contrived piece of sentimental quasi-gay Hollywood indulgence must really have titillated them back 35 or so years ago, same people who thought Hair was a racy musical. Jon Voight does a fine Elvis impression but Dustin sounds like he's doing a puppet act from an old radio show. I lived in NYC for umpteen years from the 50s on & never ever saw anyone who talked or walked like Hoffman does in this, except maybe outside Actors Studio on 45th street.
Great if too quick shots of Hubert's Museum & Flea Circus & other 42nd street nostalgia, though, makes it worth a couple stars anyway.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2004
Based on the novel by James Leo Herlihy, MIDNIGHT COWBOY, directed by John Schlesinger, seemed so on the cutting edge in 1969. Both Dustin Hoffman (Ratzo Rizzo) and John Voight (Joe Buck) were nominated for an Oscar for best actor-- as I recall, conventional wisdom was that they cancelled each other out-- but the movie received the Best Picture Award and Schlesinger walked away with the Award for Best Director.
I remember being blown away by the movie in '69. A great admirer of Schlesinger, I watched the movie again recently for the first time since its initial release. I wanted to see if it still was as powerful as I remembered. This time around parts of it seem stuck in the 60's-- the New York party that Ratzo and Joe attend, for example, and the pathetic homosexual-- nope, we can't call him gay-- who picks up Joe and feels he deserves the beating Joe gives him, after he calls his mother on the telephone. Of course, 1969 was the year that a group of despised dragqueens held police officers at bay for a couple of days in another part of New York at a bar called Stonewall. Although those of us in the provences weren't aware of it yet, the times, they were a-changing.
On the other hand, the characters of both Ratzo and Joe endure. Who will ever forgot Joe's hopelessly inept attempt at hustling Sylvia Miles or Ratzo, the real con artist, with his ever present limp. They would make any film critic's list of most memorable characters of the last half of the Twentieth Century. The movie obviously is about finding friendship in unlikely places. Everyone, from the most wealthy to the most down and out, needs love.
Finally, Ratzo and Joe's bus ride into the warm and balmy Miami to get away from the cold New York winter moved me as much today as it did when I first saw the movie. The ending made my eyes burn again almost 35 years later. This film will endure.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

West Side Story
West Side Story by Natalie Wood (DVD - 2012)
CDN$ 15.98

The Deer Hunter (1978)
The Deer Hunter (1978) by Robert DeNiro (DVD - 2012)
CDN$ 10.93