Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing
This movie was the recipe for an indie flick. It was pretty realistic (not necessarily normative), lots of nudity, good music, cool camera angles, actors you haven't seen much of or seen at all.

Told from a female's point of view, I would highly recommend this for any woman who is tired of the male point of view. Here you get a sexually free woman who DOESN'T...
Published on Feb. 20 2009 by D. Klisz

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not 100% your fault
This movie is REGION MARKED and will not play in my region. I have arranged to return it for credit .. as you do not seem to be able to replace it.
Published 10 months ago by Ken McLean


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, Feb. 20 2009
By 
D. Klisz "Indie Queen" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lie With Me (DVD)
This movie was the recipe for an indie flick. It was pretty realistic (not necessarily normative), lots of nudity, good music, cool camera angles, actors you haven't seen much of or seen at all.

Told from a female's point of view, I would highly recommend this for any woman who is tired of the male point of view. Here you get a sexually free woman who DOESN'T get all emotional over a guy....until it's clear he feels the same way. Eric Balfour is extremely fit and the director goes to great lengths to show off his assets.

The scenes are at times uncomfortable-in a good way. The chemistry between Laila and David permeates through the screen and you really feel like the two are meeting for the first time, ect. The setting is summer in Toronto and at first I figured it was somewhere in the states...who would have thought there could be some really great scenes like the ones shown in this film.

Once again, this is true to the indie nature of films, so for anyone looking for an academy award nomination-this is the wrong film for you. Not to say the two didn't act well but it definitely isn't your mainstream sort of plotline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not 100% your fault, Dec 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Lie With Me (DVD) (DVD)
This movie is REGION MARKED and will not play in my region. I have arranged to return it for credit .. as you do not seem to be able to replace it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars New lie with me, Sept. 14 2013
This review is from: NEW Lie With Me (DVD) (DVD)
This movie would not even play in my DVD player in the format it was sent to me in! Not sure why!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There is no way this movie is Laying down with Me, June 23 2007
By 
Jenny J.J.I. "A New Yorker" (That Lives in Carolinas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lie With Me (DVD)
If you can get past the bone rack of a woman and Mr. Shaved Chest Hair, who seriously looks like Jimmy Hill of BBC Match of The Day fame (think Mandrake the magician), then you'll probrably enjoy this. This movie is trying to be more profound that it really is. Face facts, this is not a good porn film and not a good love story because it tries too much to be both. Basically, any movie with voice-over narration you know is in trouble because it means the story needs explanation that pictures and the actors' words cannot convey. Take away the narration and you maybe would have a half-decent fillum as then it would be left more to your own imagination as to why the woman is basically messed up.

"Lie with Me" is the story of a woman, who likes sex, and a man who also likes sex and all the empty emotions that flow around them... that's pretty much it. I couldn't even say that the plot goes downwards since it doesn't go anywhere at all. There is about one thing happening in this film and its sex; there is no intrigue, or none that's worth being intrigued by anyway, except for "will this ever end!" Very long moments could have been cut off the movie and, in the same way, some moments could have benefited from being longer. The main characters are empty, underdeveloped and we can't feel anything for them because they're too busy having sex and that, to me is okay, but not that interesting. As for the secondary characters, they're not even developed at all, there are many of them and they could just as well have not been there; again, not enough of the good or interesting stuff and too much of the boring empty stuff. At least it's not just about the women being naked all the time. In this, the men get equal attention, and that's good.

The director tries to pulls us away from those distractions by giving us some beautiful scenery; such as the bed with white sheets, white pillow cases and white drapes. Come on! Where did they get that--Metaphors R Us? Then, of course, her own parents are in the midst of a separation. Oh, well, that explains everything. At least I get to see the sights of Toronto which is a wonderful city.

"Lie with Me" is unrated of course and if it had it would have been rated NC-17 due to the sex segments. Another reason I can see why critics would voice out "Oooh and Aaah's" is with the male full frontal. Give me a break...rent a porno and save yourself the bother. This was surely one lousy Antonioni film but at least it was better than "9 Song"....Gosh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wouldn't Play on my DVD Player, Aug. 22 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Lie With Me (DVD) (DVD)
I like this Canadian Movie and wanted my own copy as I know a couple of people in it. The disc wouldn't play on my DVD Player saying that the format was not playable on my machine. I have sent the re-seller, "Speedy Hen", an e-mail with no response as of a month since sending it. I can only assume that it is a European format that has been mislabeled and sold to the North American public as a DVD formatted movie. The packaging says DVD, the disc says DVD but the movie is NOT DVD. Don't buy this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can't watch, Aug. 20 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Lie With Me (DVD) (DVD)
This dvd can only be played in region 2 dvd players. I did not know this so this disc is no good to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray sounds terrific, April 13 2011
By 
Kevin Barton (Whitby, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lie With Me (DVD)
How about having this movie on blue-ray? It is better to see the full high definition version of this movie because we have high definition televisions. I hope a blue-ray version comes out as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lie With Me
CDN$ 190.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews