Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best.
Out of all the Harvest Moon games, Harvest Moon 64 has always been my favorite and none of the other Harvest Moon games have come even close to measuring up to it until now. Magical Melody is much more like the earlier versions of Harvest Moon, but it has many more things to do. The 'note' aspect of the game is kind of stupid, but it does add a unique twist to the game,...
Published on Dec 27 2006 by Alexis McKinnon

versus
0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bitterly disappointing
I was a huge fan of the previous Harvest Moon games for GCN, but this one is horrible. It is aesthetically unpleasing, and I found it very difficult to figure out the controls. It is intensely frustrating and completely stupid.
Published on April 19 2006


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best., Dec 27 2006
By 
Alexis McKinnon (Calgary, AB Canada) - See all my reviews
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harvest Moon Magical Melody - GameCube (Video Game)
Out of all the Harvest Moon games, Harvest Moon 64 has always been my favorite and none of the other Harvest Moon games have come even close to measuring up to it until now. Magical Melody is much more like the earlier versions of Harvest Moon, but it has many more things to do. The 'note' aspect of the game is kind of stupid, but it does add a unique twist to the game, and it gives it more of a point. I also love how you can play as a boy or a girl, and for either gender, there are tons of girls or guys to choose from. Basically, this game is tons of fun, and I would definately recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, March 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harvest Moon Magical Melody - GameCube (Video Game)
The game is fun and I got with out a scratch on the disc or case of the game. Yea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So fun, June 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harvest Moon Magical Melody - GameCube (Video Game)
Cute game. Really addictive and super fun. I still love my game cube even though I know it's a 'dead' system
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Harvest Moon Magical Melody, Jan. 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Harvest Moon Magical Melody - GameCube (Video Game)
Game is working well and fun to play. Easy to get around in the various levels. Glad I purchased it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Evolving in baby steps..., Aug. 28 2006
By 
Mr. Tangent (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harvest Moon Magical Melody - GameCube (Video Game)
Here we go with another Harvest Moon! I've just about played them all, and MM does little to shake up the core formula. You run a farm, you make friends, get married, have a kid, live it out. Sound boring? It's not for everyone, that's for sure, but if you liked The Sims or Animal Crossing, there's a good chance HM will appeal to you, and MM's a great place to start.

Now, if you're a veteran of the series like myself, I'll go over what distinguishes MM from the rest:

- Be male or female from the beginning.

- Objective of collecting "notes" to save the Goddess. You earn notes for doing a variety of things from shipping a lot of crops to being poor.

- Many more spouses to choose from.

- Practically no "heart events"

- A rival farmer to compare your success to.

- Choose what property you want, and buy more later.

- People move in/out. Once in, they usually stay. Out isn't permanent.

Playing through the game, these features are all nice, but nothing radical. Veterans of the series might find the gameplay a little too familiar. Things need to change!

The last Gamecube entry in the series, A Wonderful Life, was horridly slow, but admirably took a new direction with its aging system. But I think the biggest problem that the series still faces is lack of variety in what people say, and post-marriage/post-childbirth boredom. I hope those things get addressed in the future, but for now, MM makes the cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREATEST HM game ever, April 14 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Harvest Moon Magical Melody - GameCube (Video Game)
This HM game is the game I wished AWL was !!! Finally something to do all day. HIGHLY Recommended to sim farming lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harvest Moon Magical Melody, Jan. 2 2007
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harvest Moon Magical Melody - GameCube (Video Game)
Harvest Moon Magical Melody Is a great game! I played it for days.

You can pick boy or girl, which is better then having to buy a new

version just to play as a girl. you play as a farmer, you can have cows, sheep, horses and chickens. You can have crops too. That's how you make money. You can get married, have a child and collect musical notes along the way. There are 100 musical notes. To collect them, you have to do various things, like the "First Step Note" Is collected when you first recieve your pedometer. This game will keep you occupied for hours. But I did find it hard to get married. But there are many websites to help you with that. This game is really good and I recommend it to any age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yay this one fun, Jan. 24 2011
By 
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harvest Moon Magical Melody - GameCube (Video Game)
I love this Harvest Moon Magical Melody it is really cute i love how every one have big heads and small body hahahahahaha really super cute and fun and look so much like a drawing and stuff, You can play as a boy or as a girl that is what i really love for sure. You have to save the Harvest Goddess with the Melodys sometime there hard to get and sometime not at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Long lasting Fun, Fun, Fun, Sept. 6 2007
By 
Nutty Lady "Linda" (Pickering, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Harvest Moon Magical Melody - GameCube (Video Game)
First you get to choose what gender you want to be. I tried being both, and realy enjoyed seing how different it was when it came to dating. Also.. you are given a choice in carears... Farmer, Rancher, Cook, Miner, Fisherman, or a bit of everything. I love the fact that you can play it over and over, marying diferent people. That feature makes it almost a different game each time. The game also teaches how to manage resources and time. Each time you export different items, you increase the chance of a new charector moving into town, to start a new buisness. Not only is it fun, but educational as well. I love the vivid colours and upbeat soundtrack. If you want a game that is fun, and without all the blood and goar, you have found it with this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The country life for me, May 1 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Harvest Moon Magical Melody - GameCube (Video Game)
Well the harvest moon series has been know as the sim-farm of the video game world this one departs from the previous installments. You still till, plant, water, harvest, and take care of animals you have a defined goal. Well a radical departure from the past installments that had players restoring the farm, this one sets players with a definitive and task-orientated goal. At first this distorts the game from the traditional Harvest moon flow of farming and tending animals as the goal. But it is not long into the game that players will come to understand how Natsume has integrated the goal into the game play. As well as the new goal orientated game play Natsume has added a number of new features to this installment. From being able to choose your own starting plot to the ability to buy more land for more farming fun, to having a rival farmer to compete against, this is not like any previous Harvest Moon.
Graphically this game has departed from the others in the series with a new look and new feel. At first this may throw off fans of the other games in the series, after taking some time to get used to the new look the game flows and looks as unique as any other Harvest moon.
If you're looking for a squeal to a previous Harvest moon look elsewhere, this is a totally new game with, new feature, new animation, new flow and a new story unlike any in previous Harvest moons. That said this game still stays close to the roots of Harvest Moon, farming, raising animals, and developing relationships with the people who live and move into town.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harvest Moon Magical Melody - GameCube
Harvest Moon Magical Melody - GameCube by Natsume, Inc. (GameCube)
CDN$ 39.99 CDN$ 17.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews