Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor is Back and Better Than Ever
I was a huge fan of Doctor who has a kid growing up on Tom Baker. Towards the end of it's run though the show had in my view run out of magic and was a shadow of the Tom Baker ERA. With a terrible 1996 film version nailing the coffin into the series for good I never gave much thought to the possibility of a new series.
Skeptical as I was hearing that the show...
Published on Feb. 27 2006

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good series but disapointed by the box set...
I didn't expected much from this series but I was very positively surprised. I never watched the old series and can't compare them but I really liked this one! I would be interested in buying a box set, but not this one.
The price is discouraging, especially for a 12 episode season and, like the previous commenter mentionned, I'm surprised to see that the French...
Published on March 16 2006


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor is Back and Better Than Ever, Feb. 27 2006
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Doctor Who: The Complete First Series (5DVD) (DVD)
I was a huge fan of Doctor who has a kid growing up on Tom Baker. Towards the end of it's run though the show had in my view run out of magic and was a shadow of the Tom Baker ERA. With a terrible 1996 film version nailing the coffin into the series for good I never gave much thought to the possibility of a new series.
Skeptical as I was hearing that the show was being made again I decided to watch the show to see the beloved blue box travel through time. Indeed, I was curious. After watching the show on the CBC run it began to grow on me more and more. Gone were the laughable sets to a more sophisticated visually impressive slicker production.
More importantly though is the improved writing by Russell T. Davis who has made the best supporting character the show has ever had with the beautiful and exceptionally talented Billy Piper who unlike the damsel in distress is anything but in this series. The show Dalek which is the 6th episode in is the point where the show finds its true footing and begins to take off in political and social satire, the actors are in their groove and the show seems surer of itself. There are human stories here not the usual mania wants to destroy the universe repetitiveness of the older shows.
There is a lot of heart in this series and by the end of it I found myself truly caring about Rose and the Doctor.
The DVD has very clear picture excellent sound, and a lot of goodies sprinkled in like commentaries for every episode. There are 13 episodes here but in reality this would be the equivalent of 26 episodes for a normal half hour program in the old series. Each episode here is ~45 minutes. Add to this 14 segments of making of featurettes and 2-3 additional ones in each of the episode discs as well as a behind the scenes with the tenth doctor David Tennant who stars in the Christmas Special then it's a pretty fair deal.
Tom Baker is still king of the Doctors but Eccleston by the end is second best. The writing, overall cast performances, and effects are leagues better and more up to date than any I've seen from the old series. Episodes like Father's Day create genuine emotion that even a big tough guy like me had me go for a hanky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who First Series DVDs, June 2 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Doctor Who: The Complete First Series (5DVD) (DVD)
all DVDs worked smoothly and the TV series was very enjoyable
I would recommend this show to any science fiction fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Return For Doctor Who!, May 15 2006
By 
Bob James "DOCTOR8" (Chicago, Il., USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Doctor Who: The Complete First Series (5DVD) (DVD)
This set is wonderful; all of the new Doctor Who first season episodes as well as all of the new "Doctor Who Confidential" behind the scenes episodes (one for each new episode of the series). The new series is great; I will refrain from any spoilers here so that the viewer can enjoy it all personally. Needless to say this set is well worth the price, and a MUST for any fan of Doctor Who. The new series is everything a Who fan could hope and so much more beyond that. Now, anyone who reads this, GO GET YOURS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest show EVER, March 7 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Doctor Who: The Complete First Series (5DVD) (DVD)
That's it, it's the greatest show ever.

The 9Th doctor is magnificent, and the stories are mesmerizing.

I've started to watch Doctor Who from this season, and I'm hooked to the Doctor since, you can start from there without watching the whole "classic" Doctor Who (but it's still à must to watch, nonetheless), and go one from there.

Only downside, when you're "up to date" with The Doctor, there's a great deal of waiting for the new episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great way to spend some time, June 9 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Doctor Who: The Complete First Series (5DVD) (DVD)
There happened to be a marathon on TV, season 7. I like it so much I went and bought seasons 1 - 6, costly? Does it matter when it comes to finding a little enjoyment in life?

So I bought season 1 threw to 6, experiencing the different Doctors. Well I loved season 1, though I started out by seeing Matt, Christopher's style is a little different but still all of the plots are enjoyable, as well as the show it's self. And TBH I think I fell in love with Billie Piper.

But the stories are wonderful. Only bad part about it as the season one disc finished, there was a "next time" come up and it was showing a Daleks Invasion. Then it went to second season with a new doctor so I dunno what happened to that episode.

But yeah 100% enjoyment on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing show, cheaper elsewhere!, Sept. 20 2012
Ce commentaire est de: Doctor Who: The Complete First Series (5DVD) (DVD)
I absolutely LOVE this series, you can get it for $24.99 on iTunes though and burn it onto DVD's if you want it in that format, MUCH cheaper than $60 !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars broken box, Sept. 12 2012
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Doctor Who: The Complete First Series (5DVD) (DVD)
For the most part this came to me in great condition! The disks are perfect and I received it really quickly. The only problem I have with it is that the out side cover is damaged, the plastic sleeve is smashed up and the cover behind is dented. Other than that I'm happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheaper in U.S.?, April 8 2006
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Doctor Who: The Complete First Series (5DVD) (DVD)
Why is it that amazon.com has this DVD much cheaper even in U.S. funds???? Double shame on you amazon.ca!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Back... and its About Time!, Feb. 2 2006
By 
BroInWhyteridge (Winnipeg Manitoba Canada) - See all my reviews
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Doctor Who: The Complete First Series (5DVD) (DVD)
By the time the BBC "rested" the show back in the late 1980s, it had for most people become a shadow of its former glorious self. Gone were the epic adversaries of the early Tom Baker stories, and in their place were 3rd rate foes and a 7th rate actor in the lead role.

Fast forward 16 years to 2005.... Russell T Davies' re-imagining of the classic show for the 21st century hits all the right buttons. An almost perfect combination of a new approach with classic themes and situations, humour and seriously strong acting, sets and production values. And finally the special effects are up to the task of doing justice to the stories.

Acting which was often a weak point in the late 1980s, is solid in the 2005 season. Billie Piper captured the imagination of viewers with her interpretation of Rose and actually managed to steal much of the limelight from Christopher Eccleston as a result. Quite an accomplishment when her relative lack of experience is taken into account.

The 9 stories that make up this set go from strength to strength, which is not to say there aren't some stories that are weaker (rather that they are weak in comparison simply to the stellar competition provided by their counterparts). Generally the weak episodes involve the Slitheen, which were generally not well realized. Other than those episodes, highlights of the season would be The End of the World (ep2), The Unquiet Dead (ep3), Dalek (ep 6) and The Empty Child (eps 9 & 10), along of course with The Parting of the Ways (ep 13).

Eccleston apparently decided late in the day that he wanted to bail out of the show instead of becoming perhaps the most favourite Doctor of all time. Whatever the real reason behind his leaving, fans were left with David Tennant taking over the role of the Doctor at the end of the series. Having watched The Christmas Invasion and all of the 2006 series, I can safely say that the 10th Doctor does not take a back seat in presence compared to the 9th!

A top set to get if you are a Doctor Who fan. Imagine, a new series, with at least another two more to follow in 2006 and 2007. Something no fan had dared to hope for 24 months ago!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who is Back!.... On TV THAT IS, July 5 2014
By 
Kory Scott "Kory Scott" (Brandon, Manitoba Canada) - See all my reviews
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
After 16 years of being off the air back in 1989; 9 years after the the movie attempt in 1996 and lastly 6 years after the beginning of the Big Finish Productions audio plays in 1999.(Which based on a 2013 prequel is now cannon I think it's safe to say) It's Back. Doctor Who Is BACK!... On TV that is. Gone is the 4 to 12 part serials of old; in it's place a more modern 45 min episodes / stories. Sometimes 90 minute episodes or stories if 2 parter; with updated Classic monsters and new ones. Chris Eccleston does a good job giving us a new and updated take on The Doctor. The show is kind of continuation / reboot in someways. As it still takes in to account the stories and actors that came before back in the 1960 and up Classic wise. which I find to be a huge plus in my book. The Companion is more real. Just 5 stars across the board. Must have for completists of Who and the 1st cycle. If if U not it's worth a look anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Complete First Series (5DVD)
CDN$ 99.90 CDN$ 26.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews