Customer Reviews


429 Reviews
5 star:
 (301)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (39)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie... One Of my favorite mobster movies
This is one of my most favorite Scorsese films. His camera work is magnificent and so is the soundtrack. The actors are briliant. What I loved most about this film was that you learn more about mafia life than you do in anyother mob film. Even "The Godfather" Many great modern directors have used this film as a guide line because of how perfect it is. I highly recomend...
Published on Oct. 24 2006 by Crack Daddy Crane

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Speedfellas!
'Goodfellas' is Scorsese's rather twisted version of the American Dream. A dream where those who can achieve do achieve. In that sense there is nothing morally ambiguous about this film. This is the way the rest of the world sees the American way of life, in all its aggressive aquisition, flamboyant decadence and sense of personal invincabiity.
Scorsese has done his...
Published on Dec 11 2003 by R Jess


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie... One Of my favorite mobster movies, Oct. 24 2006
This is one of my most favorite Scorsese films. His camera work is magnificent and so is the soundtrack. The actors are briliant. What I loved most about this film was that you learn more about mafia life than you do in anyother mob film. Even "The Godfather" Many great modern directors have used this film as a guide line because of how perfect it is. I highly recomend this movie to anyone.

Cody
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I Must Be Getting Old., July 24 2004
By 
M. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goodfellas (DVD)
People say this movie is great, or "The Best", but I just thought it was a good movie. IT DOES NOT COMPARE TO THE GODFATHER! In all fairness, what gangster movie could?

The story in this movie is good(A true story), but it does start to drag a bit later on.
The two things I did not like about the movie were the ending, and the fact that so many of the characters came off as being very dumb. (How did they stay in business so long?)People were getting "whacked" for the stupidest, childish reasons. I think it is because the story was told from my least favourite character's prospective. What was told was only his point of view. I could tell you more about why he is my least favourite character, but that might spoil the movie if you have not seen it.
I must be getting old or just too spoiled and moved from the Godfather movies, but I just did not see what was so great about this movie. Don't get me wrong, the movie is surely a "must see" if you like Mob movies, but I don't think it's a "classic".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I hope that it's not a "flipper" AHHHHHHH!, July 15 2004
By 
Brasington "johnsan50" (Riverside, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This movie is a true classic, but I'm not going to talk about it. There are 413 other reviews that drool about how great Goodfellas is. If you don't know, you are either totally inexperienced with cinema or are living under a rock.
Instead, let's talk about 'features.' The last Goodfellas DVD was a 'flipper,' or a DVD that was so cheap, you had to get up and turn it over half-way through the film. I can accept that I need to turn Lawrence of Arabia over during the intermission, but Goodfellas is comparatively short. It is 2.5 hours long, to be more precise. A 2.5 hour film fits easily onto a single-side DVD with only a mildly-noticable transfer skip. That is the only special feature I want from this new version of the DVD. I'll buy it, just don't make me flip it, God in heaven!
Furthermore, Martin Scorsese has gotten the absolute worst treatment of any director this side of Roger Corman on DVD. Even his last film, Gangs of NY, was subjected to a ridiculous film-ruining stop right in the middle of a love scene that is so abrupt, you have to laugh. Didn't the jack-a$$es who ruined the Goodfellas DVD years before learn their lesson? OK, so Gangs was done by Miramax (the worst company on Earth for DVD quality and price,) but why does this trend have to blight poor Scorsese so terribly. He is one of the greatest living directors, for God's sake! His movies aren't exactly low-profile. The only Scorsese film that has been given a proper treatment is The Last Temptation of Christ, but that was a Criterion, and not a Warner DVD.
That brings me to my final thought. Considering the fact that Warner actually does a great job at releasing quality DVDs with a decent amount of interesting features most of the time, it seems doubly stupid releasing some of their greatest back-catalog titles like a lobotomized afterthought.
(...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "WE ALWAYS CALLED EACH OTHER GOODFELLAS. . . ", July 10 2004
By A Customer
GOODFELLAS is one of the greatest mob movies ever, perhaps the greatest movie. Everybody has to check this out. It is well-structured and includes some of the most solid performances from some of the greatest actors, like Ray Liotta, Robert De Niro, Joe Pesci, Paul Sorvino, Lorraine Bracco, and others. It is one of the many classics that director Martin Scorsece has to claim, but I think this tops them all. It follows Henry Hill (Ray Liotta) from his childhood days ditching school to work at Pauly Cicero's cabstand, to his rise and fall as a gangster. During which time, it follows the beginning of his loving relationship with his wife, and the trouble that followed after he being drawn deeper into the life of a gangster. You are able to see how much he loves his wife and his children. Hill is the perfect person to follow, because despite the brutal mafia life he has been drawn into, he remains to show signs of compassion, separating him from his colleagues. This film is based on a true story, and is adapted from the novel "WISEGUY" written by Nicolas Pileggi, who also wrote CASINO (another Scorsece film that would follow this, another good movie, but doesn't top GOODFELLAS.) You stay deep in tune with Hill's perspective on everything, because Liotta (as Hill) narrates along with Bracco (as Karen Hill) who describes her thoughts on what she went through. This film was nominated for many awards and earned Joe Pesci an oscar. Finally, a 2-disc special edition that includes more special features like documentaries and commentaries from Scorsece and even from Henry Hill himself, along with ex-FBI agent Edward McDonald. I have yet to see MEAN STREETS (an earlier Scorsece film, which also comes out with a special edition on the same day that this 2-disc edition is released. I have no complaints about buying GOODFELLAS over again, and I wouldn't have a problem buying CASINO over again, should they release a special edition. Anyway, if you like mob movies, even if you aren't keen on them, you will probably still enjoy GOODFELLAS. It has comedy, drama, violence, suspense, and even some romance. Go check out
GOODFELLAS: THREE DECADES OF LIFE IN THE MAFIA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not only best mob movie, but, arguably the best MOVIE ever!!, July 2 2004
By 
"jimmy23" (Wallingford, CT United States) - See all my reviews
This just happens to be my favorite movie of all time. And I'm so excited about having a 2-disc SE. Finally!!
Before I saw this movie, I had already loved Robert DeNiro's acting, and Martin Scorsese's directing. Where DeNiro is always flawless (as he is here), Scorsese really took it to the next level.
The actors perform brilliantly, the writing is top-notch, the narration by Ray Liotta is perfect, the violence is shocking and not over-done. And the music is unbelievable. I wish the soundtrack was also getting the 2-disc treatment.
This is one film that desperately needed a Special Edition, not only to satisfy is large fan-base, but to improve on the two-sided DVD that is out there now. One should never have to flip a DVD over half-way through the movie.
If you like "The Sopranos," you're gonna absolutely love this. Then again, if you like "The Sopranos," you've certainly already seen "Goodfellas."
But, "The Sopranos" ain't got nothin' on "Goodfellas."
I strongly recommend this movie!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Criminal Masterpiece, June 29 2004
This review is from: Goodfellas (DVD)
Scorsese delivers a realistic portrayal of life as a gangster in the tough city of New York, spanning three decades, mixing the glamour and violence to create a world that both gratifies and disgusts the viewer. As you learn that violence and murder was no big deal to these people, it was the only way people stayed in line.
Robert De Niro, plays Jimmy 'The Gent' Conway. who acts as mentor to Ray Liotta's, Henry Hill, guiding him through the cheap steals and hijacks that fund their way of life. Along with Joe Pesci's psychotic portrayal of Tommy and the ever-looming, Paulie, as the boss; you cannot help but like them.
There is no real honour in family of gangsters, it is all about money and once Henry goes behind his boss' back to partake in cocaine dealing with his Pittsburgh connections, it sets off a chain of events that coincide with the end of the gangster era.
Joe Pesci delivers a superb performance, which he deservedly won an Oscar for. His temper and natural violence detracts attention from his diminutive size, who can only be controlled by De Niro, in a quiet but effective character role. I believe that Liotta does a good job as the lead character, his voice-over helping define scenes and situations.
Scorsese is the real master behind the film, through his camera work and plotting to tell a story about a group of people he both detests and admires.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'M WAITING FOR MARTY'S TELLING OF JOHN GOTTI, June 3 2004
By 
Gregory Saffady (Michigan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goodfellas (DVD)
John Wayne and John Ford had the great calvary trilogy in the 1940's. Ford knew the American West like no other, so it was only natural that he immortalize it on film. Ford was idolized by Scorsese (THE SEARCHERS are featured in the movie theatre sequence in MEAN STREETS), and Marty is the undisputed champion of mob movies. Let him emulate the master with his mob trilogy. With 1995's CASINO, now 2/3rds complete. GOODFELLAS is a masterwork that yet again redefined American gangster films (holding the crown until DONNIE BRASCO set its own mark in 1997). The superstar set, both in front and behind the camera are present. There are few aside from Nicholas Pileggi can ink underworld tales and only players like DeNiro, Pesci (brutally horrific as Tommy) and now Ray Liotta (this role made him a star) can bring them to life in all their vileness. Marty's telling of John Gotti would be the appropriate point on the triangle. Just as they did with TAXI DRIVER in 1976, and RAGING BULL in 1980, the Academy again played it safe and denied this Scorsese classic the best picture Oscar for 1990. That's a trilogy Hollywood should regret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well, it's about time!, May 14 2004
FINALLY! It's about time Warner releases this baby the way it was meant to be: in a glorious two-disc special edition. And if the picture above is any indication, it looks like it'll be released in a keep case instead of some flimsy, cardboard set (i.e. Once Upon A Time In America SE, One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest SE, etc.). Best of all: no more having to flip the DVD over after Tommy wants to know where the shovels are! As of this date, Amazon hasn't posted the features of the DVD yet, but here they are:
Cast and Crew Commentary
Cop and Crook Commentary
Awards
Documentaries: "Getting Made," "The Workaday Gangster," "The GoodFellas Legacy," "Paper Is Cheaper Than Film."
Theatrical Trailer
Sounds good to me. "GoodFellas" is a movie everyone likes, so it's a bit bewildering that it took this long to be released properly. Ah, well. Better late than never, I suppose. I wonder if Warner will simultaneously release some sort of Ultimate edition in which the packaging that houses the DVD is a shinebox that has the name "Tommy" on it. *smirk*
P.S. - Alright, Warner. Now how about that Batman special edition?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Quintessential Gangster Film, May 12 2004
By 
Derek Lipman (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Goodfellas (DVD)
Scorsese's "Goodfellas" is a long movie that feels short, thanks to memorable characters, a blazing soundtrack, and expert pacing that only the director is capable of pulling off. The screenplay is so good, that watching episodes of the Sopranos evoke great memories of this film. In fact, any Italian mafia flick that came out after Goodfellas borrows (or steals) at least a little bit from Scorsese and Pileggi. Ray Liotta's narration is perfect. It is as good as Dreyfuss' wonderul narration in "Stand By Me" and is peppered with comedy, poignant emotion, and heart.
"Goodfellas" practically made Pesci's career with his explosive performance as Tommy DeVito. Here, Pesci forever silences the theory that short, little guys can't be tough. Robert DeNiro shines equally as the Irishman Jimmy Conway with his famous "Little Bit" scene.
The supporting cast of characters is top notch in the tradition of Scorsese with Lorraine Bracco, Paul Sorvino, and Frank Vincent creating memorable performances. If you haven't seen Goodfellas, buy it! It changed the way Gangster films were made, as it added a little comedy to the gritty criminal subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cultural diversity?, May 7 2004
This review is from: Goodfellas (DVD)
GoodFellas immerses you in the strange, violent world of armed, ignorant thugs. The Mafia depicted here clings to no pretenses of civility. Everything is about money and power, and no one--not even "made" Mafiosi--are immune from a bullet to the back (or front or side) of the head for just about any reason. Walk a little funny? Get shot. Talk back? Get shot. Bust someone's chops? Get shot. GoodFellas, in fact, spirals into a blood bath of gangster killing ganster for reasons ranging from revenge to keeping mouths shut permanently.
The story is told from the perspective a young Irish-Italian boy who becomes an errand runner for thugs who hang out across the street from his blue collar home. The money, power, and freedom of being above the law are too much for him to resist, and, soon, he becomes a young, murderous thug himself. Ray Liota, who plays this central character (and provides splendid narration), follows this path to its natural conclusion--a cocaine-addled, unfaithful, narcisstic mob informant. The transformation is spectacular to watch, particular in the scenes leading up to his final arrest, complete with overtones of paranoia, a mysterious helicopter that seems to be shadowing him, the creation of an elaborate meal, a remarkable scene between the drug-snorting Liota and his junkie mistress, and a cranky, crazy drug courier-baby sitter.
A word of warning: GoodFellas is brutally violent. People are dispatched, graphically, with guns, knives, and ice picks. Frankly, the story wouldn't be as gut-wrenching or honest without the casual brutality of these animals in full display. It makes the ease with which they kill all the more bizarre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goodfellas [HD DVD]
Goodfellas [HD DVD] by Martin Scorsese (HD DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 31.99 CDN$ 6.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews