Customer Reviews


429 Reviews
5 star:
 (301)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (39)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this movie
Love this movie and the product came quick and it was as if I had bought it from a local movie store. Would recommend to buy it!
Published 1 month ago by sarah

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Favorite mob movie.
This is my favorite mob movie of all time. Sure, many will argue that the Godfather is superior, but Goodfellas is the film of my generation. Since I love this film so much I have chosen to wait, impatiently, until the special edition dvd is released. I've heard that Warner Bros. will be releasing it in September 2004. My friend has the original dvd, and I have to say...
Published on April 18 2004 by K. Gallett


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Love this movie, June 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love this movie and the product came quick and it was as if I had bought it from a local movie store. Would recommend to buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, Greatest mob film !, April 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Scorsese at his very best. This is the ultimate mob film to watch! Scorsese is one of the best director ever (Casino, Raging Bull, The Departed, etc.) and this movie is one of the proof!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Goodfellas, March 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Interesting to see some of the characters from the Sopranos drama series in this movie although the movie lacks depth relacing to OC activities compared to the Sopranos or the Godfather collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still a phenomenal Movie, didn't notice much difference on blu-ray though., Feb. 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great movie, but it didn't have that great 1080p crisp look that some blu-rays give to older movies, but nothing wrong with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, Nov. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Everybody needs to see Goodfellas, a classic & excellent movie. Getting it on bluray for 10$ was a good deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Goodfellas, Oct. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Goodfellas (VHS Tape)
The plot and cast of were great!!
Never a dull moment
NOT for children:
there are scenes of graphic violence
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WISEGUYS, Oct. 13 2013
By 
Jet Lagged (From the above image, obviously somewhere that does dodgy haircuts.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I read the Nicholas Pileggi ("Henry Hill") book "Wiseguy" when it first came out.

This is the film adaptation. I think Scorsese had to use the title "Goodfellas" instead - since there already was a film out entitled "Wise Guys" (featuring Danny deVito). From what I remember, the movie closely follows the book. Guys, wise or otherwise, were getting "whacked" all over the place...

Brilliant performances from De Niro, Pesci and Ray Liotta (Who plays Hill) et al. Watch out for the little known actor (at the time) who plays the van driver - incidently, one of the first characters to get whacked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FOR HE'S A JOLLY GOODFELLA..., Nov. 26 2007
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is simply a great mob movie. Based upon the best selling book, "Wiseguy", by Nicholas Pileggi, it traces the rise and fall of "gansta" wannabe turned government informant, Henry Hill. Skillfully directed by Martin Scorsese, this film with its all star cast, megawatt performances, and period music soundtrack packs quite a wallop to the senses. Named 1990's best film by the Los Angeles, New York, and National Society of Film Critics, it garnered six Academy Award nominations and earned Joe Pesci an Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor.

In the 1950s, a preteen Henry Hill (Christopher Serrone) began his career as a "gansta" wannabe on the mean streets of East New York, where a small Italian American community thrived. Working with Paul Cicero's (Paul Sorvino's) crew, he worked his way up, doing the penny ante, gofer stuff, until he began more heavy duty involvement. As a young man, Henry Hill (Ray Liotta) took to his life in the underworld like a fish takes to water. He married a nice, jewish girl whom he turned into a shrewish girl, as he lived the life he wanted. His wife, Karen (Lorraine Bracco), also became entranced by the perks available to a mobster

Henry teamed up with Jimmy "The Gent" Conway (Robert DeNiro) and Tommy DeVito (Joe Pesci). Together they stole, lied, cheated, and killed their way through life, until they got wacked or got caught. When Henry, against the express advice of Paul Cicero, got involved with Jimmy in the 1970s cocaine drug trade, it was the beginning of the end for him and Jimmy. The film skillfully chronicles the rise and fall of Henry Hill from wiseguy to goverment informant in the witness protection program..

It is amazing that the actor playing young Henry Hill, Christopher Serrone, resembles Ray Liotta so much, right down to the piercing hazel eyes. He gives a terrific performance as young Henry, expressing all the joie de vivre that young Henry had over being associated with mobsters. Ray Liotta, as the adult Henry Hill, gives an outstanding performance. The viewer senses his absolute love for the life that he lives. He clearly enjoys all the perks of a mobster, his only regret being that he could never be a "made" guy, because he was not fully Italian, as his mother was Sicilian but his father was Irish.

Robert DeNiro is wonderful as Jimmy Conway, low key yet powerful. Joe Pesci gives an over the top performance as the wild, volatile, and totally crazy Tommy DeVito, an out of control wiseguy who has no redeeming value as a human being. He is a guy who does not think twice about killing someone over something trivial. Paul Sorvino is excellent as the mob boss who is all about the family and plays it the old fashioned way. Lorraine Bracco gives the performance of her life as Karen Hill, a woman besotted by the life of a mobster's wife, until she realizes that girlfriends are an expected part of that life. She is sensational.

This is simply a great mob movie. It is a film that the viewer will watch again and again. I, myself , have seen it at least three or four times, and each time is as if it were the first. Vastly entertaining, this film is a worthy addition to one's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Favorite mob movie., April 18 2004
By 
K. Gallett (New Mexico United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goodfellas (DVD)
This is my favorite mob movie of all time. Sure, many will argue that the Godfather is superior, but Goodfellas is the film of my generation. Since I love this film so much I have chosen to wait, impatiently, until the special edition dvd is released. I've heard that Warner Bros. will be releasing it in September 2004. My friend has the original dvd, and I have to say that the transfer is sub par. The sound quality is lacking and the disc must be turned over halfway through the film. If the heresay is true, then September will be a glorious month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie... One Of my favorite mobster movies, Oct. 24 2006
This is one of my most favorite Scorsese films. His camera work is magnificent and so is the soundtrack. The actors are briliant. What I loved most about this film was that you learn more about mafia life than you do in anyother mob film. Even "The Godfather" Many great modern directors have used this film as a guide line because of how perfect it is. I highly recomend this movie to anyone.

Cody
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goodfellas [HD DVD]
Goodfellas [HD DVD] by Martin Scorsese (HD DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 31.99 CDN$ 6.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews