countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
463
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: HD DVD|Change
Price:$5.99+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 19, 2016
Classic gangster film. Ray Liotta annoys the hell out of me so I assume that the real person it is based on is annoying as well :-)

LOVE that in "The Family" Robert DeNiro critiques this movie in which he stars. Nice inside joke!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2015
One of the greatest movies of all time!!! This edition is brilliant in every aspect, from the box set, but the most fantastic aspect is the 4K restored picture never seen before, even in the last edition, the sound is great finally with a DTS 5.1 track, and coming to the special features that all the old extras are included in this version, we have a new fantastic and interesting documentary that includes interviews with director Martin Scorsese and cast, a letter written by Scorsese and a wonderful book that includes production notes, pictures and actors information. Great job from Warner Home Video. This edition comes with my highest raccomandation for every aspect
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon November 26, 2007
This is simply a great mob movie. Based upon the best selling book, "Wiseguy", by Nicholas Pileggi, it traces the rise and fall of "gansta" wannabe turned government informant, Henry Hill. Skillfully directed by Martin Scorsese, this film with its all star cast, megawatt performances, and period music soundtrack packs quite a wallop to the senses. Named 1990's best film by the Los Angeles, New York, and National Society of Film Critics, it garnered six Academy Award nominations and earned Joe Pesci an Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor.

In the 1950s, a preteen Henry Hill (Christopher Serrone) began his career as a "gansta" wannabe on the mean streets of East New York, where a small Italian American community thrived. Working with Paul Cicero's (Paul Sorvino's) crew, he worked his way up, doing the penny ante, gofer stuff, until he began more heavy duty involvement. As a young man, Henry Hill (Ray Liotta) took to his life in the underworld like a fish takes to water. He married a nice, jewish girl whom he turned into a shrewish girl, as he lived the life he wanted. His wife, Karen (Lorraine Bracco), also became entranced by the perks available to a mobster

Henry teamed up with Jimmy "The Gent" Conway (Robert DeNiro) and Tommy DeVito (Joe Pesci). Together they stole, lied, cheated, and killed their way through life, until they got wacked or got caught. When Henry, against the express advice of Paul Cicero, got involved with Jimmy in the 1970s cocaine drug trade, it was the beginning of the end for him and Jimmy. The film skillfully chronicles the rise and fall of Henry Hill from wiseguy to goverment informant in the witness protection program..

It is amazing that the actor playing young Henry Hill, Christopher Serrone, resembles Ray Liotta so much, right down to the piercing hazel eyes. He gives a terrific performance as young Henry, expressing all the joie de vivre that young Henry had over being associated with mobsters. Ray Liotta, as the adult Henry Hill, gives an outstanding performance. The viewer senses his absolute love for the life that he lives. He clearly enjoys all the perks of a mobster, his only regret being that he could never be a "made" guy, because he was not fully Italian, as his mother was Sicilian but his father was Irish.

Robert DeNiro is wonderful as Jimmy Conway, low key yet powerful. Joe Pesci gives an over the top performance as the wild, volatile, and totally crazy Tommy DeVito, an out of control wiseguy who has no redeeming value as a human being. He is a guy who does not think twice about killing someone over something trivial. Paul Sorvino is excellent as the mob boss who is all about the family and plays it the old fashioned way. Lorraine Bracco gives the performance of her life as Karen Hill, a woman besotted by the life of a mobster's wife, until she realizes that girlfriends are an expected part of that life. She is sensational.

This is simply a great mob movie. It is a film that the viewer will watch again and again. I, myself , have seen it at least three or four times, and each time is as if it were the first. Vastly entertaining, this film is a worthy addition to one's collection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2015
I purchased this edition of Goodfellas because I had read that previous versions needed the disc to be flipped over mid-movie as it wouldn't fit on one side. With the advent of dual layer discs, this flipping over is no longer acceptable. The copy I purchased all fit on one side, plays beautifully, looks great and arrived at my door in less than a week. I am very happy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon July 4, 2007
Scorcese & Pileggi's masterpiece on the life of Henry Hill as a Brooklyn NY mob wise-guy is great film. While not my favorite Martin Scorsese movie it is a stunning achievement, and one of his very best movies.

As much as the true events of Henry's life have more than likely been dramatized and glamorized to a certain extent, the essence of this film in my observation is that it is still a brilliantly damning portrayal of the characters and lifestyle of mobsters.

The sham of the Mafiosi is exposed - preaching loyalty, respect & principles - but when it comes down to it they are just two-bit criminals that'll stab each other in the back for money or power over others. Each of them has an inflated sense of self-worth and stature that comes with being a "wise guy", breeding with it paranoia that others are not giving them the respect they deserve. The story follows Liotta's character from boy to man as he climbs his way up through the ranks of organized crime. We see all the highs and lows of his life and meet a host of very believable and very undesirable characters along the way. It's a film full of memorable scenes whilst remaining much more than the sum of its individual parts at the same time. The film starts as it means to go on - violent, full of profanity, fast paced and very stylish.

The consistently fine acting by the large ensemble cast (both known and unknown), the cinematography, editing, dialogue, is fantastic. Scorsese and co-writer Mitch Pileggi never loses sight of their main goal - to tell a story. And in that it's really hard to beat this movie. As to the actors De Niro is on his usual top form, Ray Liotta is the best he's ever been, and this is Joe Pesci's definitive performance. Plus you have Lorraine Bracco, Paul Sorvino, Michael Imperioli, and lots of well known faces in small but important roles (Debi Mazar, Samuel L. Jackson, Illeana Douglas, Kevin Corrigan), plus dozens of unfamiliar actors (and non-actors) who are all so good it seems unfair just to single out the "stars". Also keep an eye out for Vincent Gallo in a few scenes. He has no lines, but says a lot through his expressions.

This film draws you in and won't let you out of its grasp at any point. When it finishes you feel exhausted and exhilarated at the same time. If ever the word 'masterpiece' was meant to be used, it was for this film. 'Goodfellas' is (to date) Scorsese's last Great Movie, and one of the very best films of the 1990s. Absolutely essential viewing for any movie fan, this tremendous film is not to be missed! Highly recommended!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2004
John Wayne and John Ford had the great calvary trilogy in the 1940's. Ford knew the American West like no other, so it was only natural that he immortalize it on film. Ford was idolized by Scorsese (THE SEARCHERS are featured in the movie theatre sequence in MEAN STREETS), and Marty is the undisputed champion of mob movies. Let him emulate the master with his mob trilogy. With 1995's CASINO, now 2/3rds complete. GOODFELLAS is a masterwork that yet again redefined American gangster films (holding the crown until DONNIE BRASCO set its own mark in 1997). The superstar set, both in front and behind the camera are present. There are few aside from Nicholas Pileggi can ink underworld tales and only players like DeNiro, Pesci (brutally horrific as Tommy) and now Ray Liotta (this role made him a star) can bring them to life in all their vileness. Marty's telling of John Gotti would be the appropriate point on the triangle. Just as they did with TAXI DRIVER in 1976, and RAGING BULL in 1980, the Academy again played it safe and denied this Scorsese classic the best picture Oscar for 1990. That's a trilogy Hollywood should regret.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2006
This is one of my most favorite Scorsese films. His camera work is magnificent and so is the soundtrack. The actors are briliant. What I loved most about this film was that you learn more about mafia life than you do in anyother mob film. Even "The Godfather" Many great modern directors have used this film as a guide line because of how perfect it is. I highly recomend this movie to anyone.

Cody
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2004
I feel that Martin Scorsese's GOODFELLAS is problably one of the best Italian mob movie ever.
Maybe I am biased, b/c I like the main characters (Robert De Niro, Ray Liotta, and Joe Pesci)
Also, the fact that the movie is based on the real life of mobster Henry Hill (played by Ray Liotta) makes the movie much more appealing.
The movie shows Henry's life as young boy and shows his life from a mob errand boy to his life and downfall as drug-dealing member of the mob.
This is great...enough said. It should be made required viewing.
The film also has:
Lorraine Bracco (Tony's psychiatrist on the Sopranos) as Henry Hill's wife; Paul Sorvino as Paulie (a mob boss); Michael Imperioli (Tony's nephew on the Sopranos) as Spider; and Frank Sivero as Frankie Carbone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2002
NOTE: THE TWO STARS IS FOR THE DVD, NOT THE MOVIE. THE MOVIE DESERVES 5 STARS.
Yes, this review doesn't really concern the movie. Just know that "Goodfellas" is one of my favorite Mafia movies. Everything about the movie is superb, and it deserves 5 stars all the way. So please, DO NOT THINK THAT THIS REVIEW IS ATTACKING THE MOVIE, because it's not.
What this review IS attacking is this terrible DVD. I didn't know I was buying a smaller version of a laserdisk. Why does the movie have to be on two sides??? I don't get it. Yeah, it might be a long movie, but they were able to fit "Casino" all on one side. So what's up with that?
There better be a special or collector's edition coming out soon, because this movie needs one bad. Not just because it's a classic and a masterpiece, but because it needs to be on ONE side! When I buy a DVD, I expect just that.
Other than the movie being on both sides, the DVD really lacks in special features, the picture quality is so-so, and the sound could've been improved in some parts.
Again, "Goodfellas" is a masterpiece in my mind, and it deserves 5 stars. But the DVD is just awful. In fact, calling the DVD "awful" is being too polite.
Warner Bros.: Come out with a special edition, for crying out-loud!!!
If you love this movie, don't get the DVD. Just get it on VHS and wait until a better version comes out. TRUST ME on this one. Unless they have updated the movie and placed it all on one side. If that's the case, please let me know and I will have to re-buy it.
I will write a real review for the movie in the VHS section sometime soon.
Again, the low rating is for the DVD; NOT the film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2004
Tommy was the brutal killer
Henry was the person who would plan/straighten out everything
Jimmy was the one who "Rooted for the bad-guys in the movie" and had lots of money. Tommy, after stabbing a part of the Gambino family in the back of an old Cadillac pays the price of a bullet in the head! Jimmy wants payback getting guns and silencers, and Henry goes to Jail and flushes his lifetime down the toilet boal...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse