biss Up to 40% Off CBC's Canada Reads 2016 Shortlist boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage snsflyour Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars21
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$19.99+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 12, 2006
This new Gilmour album is the best so far, to be frank. He still has is magic touch. When you listen closely, you hear strong but fresh melody.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2016
Absolutely love the album. David Gilmour might have worked for years on this album but it was worth the wait.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2014
David, where were you, on vacation while you did this...While the material is indeed acceptable it certainly not going to break any real commitment records. On an Island should have been left there, David Gilmour simply took the time off while he cut this disc. He did not seem committed to this project at all. Even his last solo effort which really was no great record breaking LP ( at the time ). Only the very First solo effort was where David shone. There he produced a piece of work that could be confused with a Floyd LP easily. He was committed to the project and he had the back up to help him produce the very best possible music out there. Still if you are into ballads and slow tracks ON An Island is not a bad overall body of work it simply has no climax there is no typical Floyd tracking of sound from song to song. No Ethical or Moral hobbyhorse to ride throughout the Disc like so many of the other Floyd CD's have. It has no objective and that is sad.....Spigomars
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2006
This is most certainly a Gilmour album with a definite Floyd influence, not surprisingly of course. Like his previous albums as well as some of Floyd's latest work, one needs to listen a few times before it can be fully appreciated. I have gone over this newest album quite a few times already and it is starting to grow on me. It may even get to be 4 stars by the time I am all done with it. It took several months before I begun to like Floyd's (or should I say Waters') Final Cut. Now it is my favorite P.F. work.
Back to - On An Island. I find the music very relaxing and well put together. I would say that this is most likely a true musical representation of where David Gilmour is with his life, today. That is what I like most about this, meaning that he did not compose something he felt the consumer wanted to hear. He went with his gut and soul. Only one negative comment - The song - Take a Breath - ranks right up there with Floyd's - The dogs of War - which is to say that it's terrible. Other than that, if you liked previous David Gilmour albums, you will enjoy this one.
0Comment3 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2015
Excellent Gilmour: Dreamy, romantic, insightful.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2015
Simply the best.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2006
this album is relly good. this is the first david gilmour album i have soo i thought this was worth all the money i spent on it. so who ever dont have this get it as soon as possible. its awsome. and if u dont have any pink floyd cds get them asap. even tho i dont have any there cds :(
0Comment1 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2006
I'm a huge fan of Gilmour's previous solo offerings. In fact, they're two of my favourite all-time CD's. That said, this CD totally blows. There's no nice way to say it folks. I swear he's not even trying. Boring lyrics and unimaginitive melodies.
You know how some CD's grab you after a few listens ? This is not one of them. Might appeal to some insomniacs out there, but for this kid it's a bitter disappointment.
I wonder what Roger is up to ?
0Comment4 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2006
C'est quand même bon. Le contraire eut été impossible de la part de David Gilmour et cie. Mais c'est pas mal planant, et j'irais même jusqu'à dire pépère. C'est une suite logique venant de Gilmour, mais je suis déçu. David Gilmour, c'est tout un guitariste. C'est aussi un son vraiment unique, pour moi celui qui me fait le plus vibrer.Comfortably Numb est pour moi le summum des solos de quitare. Avec On an Island, on est loin de The Wall. M. Gilmour approche de sa retraite. Quand je me surprend à écouter du Pink Floyd(comprendre Gilmour) en arrière plan pendant un souper en tête à tête avec mon amour....
0Comment1 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2006
This album is so fantastic, nobody can play guitar like this, David Gilmour is the only who are able to do that. Very great album for a fabulous guitar hero!!!
0Comment0 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items