march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars24
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$18.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 12, 2006
This new Gilmour album is the best so far, to be frank. He still has is magic touch. When you listen closely, you hear strong but fresh melody.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2016
Absolutely love the album. David Gilmour might have worked for years on this album but it was worth the wait.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2014
David, where were you, on vacation while you did this...While the material is indeed acceptable it certainly not going to break any real commitment records. On an Island should have been left there, David Gilmour simply took the time off while he cut this disc. He did not seem committed to this project at all. Even his last solo effort which really was no great record breaking LP ( at the time ). Only the very First solo effort was where David shone. There he produced a piece of work that could be confused with a Floyd LP easily. He was committed to the project and he had the back up to help him produce the very best possible music out there. Still if you are into ballads and slow tracks ON An Island is not a bad overall body of work it simply has no climax there is no typical Floyd tracking of sound from song to song. No Ethical or Moral hobbyhorse to ride throughout the Disc like so many of the other Floyd CD's have. It has no objective and that is sad.....Spigomars
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2006
This is most certainly a Gilmour album with a definite Floyd influence, not surprisingly of course. Like his previous albums as well as some of Floyd's latest work, one needs to listen a few times before it can be fully appreciated. I have gone over this newest album quite a few times already and it is starting to grow on me. It may even get to be 4 stars by the time I am all done with it. It took several months before I begun to like Floyd's (or should I say Waters') Final Cut. Now it is my favorite P.F. work.
Back to - On An Island. I find the music very relaxing and well put together. I would say that this is most likely a true musical representation of where David Gilmour is with his life, today. That is what I like most about this, meaning that he did not compose something he felt the consumer wanted to hear. He went with his gut and soul. Only one negative comment - The song - Take a Breath - ranks right up there with Floyd's - The dogs of War - which is to say that it's terrible. Other than that, if you liked previous David Gilmour albums, you will enjoy this one.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2016
Album arrived as described in the time frame expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2015
Excellent Gilmour: Dreamy, romantic, insightful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2016
Toujours à la hauteur de nos attentes!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2016
Item as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2015
Simply the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2006
this album is relly good. this is the first david gilmour album i have soo i thought this was worth all the money i spent on it. so who ever dont have this get it as soon as possible. its awsome. and if u dont have any pink floyd cds get them asap. even tho i dont have any there cds :(
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$10.11